GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic Classic Collection

Classic Sonic comes to the Nintendo DS for the first time! Sonic The Hedgehog, one of the world's most recognized and successful video-game characters returns to the Nintendo DS in this new collection of his original adventures. Sonic Classic Collection is the complete compilation of the original SEGA Genesis Sonic titles, consisting of the following genre-defining games.
Average Customer Rating:
8.727
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
4
8 stars
7
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 2295%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic Classic Collection
Review 1 for Sonic Classic Collection
Buy this game for the DS!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/10
Blue J
I bought this game about a month ago, and I was impressed when I first played it. The only thing that I hate is that Knuckles in Sonic 2 and Sonic 3 & Knuckles are already in the list of Sonic games, you can't unlock it. It also has illustrations, which is one of the menu topics where you see the drawings of Sonic and his friends. Quality and graphics are the same, and the music is still the same as it was. There are a couple of glitches in the game, so that's another thing about the game that I hate. The point is, it's a great game, and you get to play it on the go for the first time. Thanks, sega, for bringing the classic Sonic games on the DS. I think this is the 5th game where they brought back the classic Sonic games, I'm not sure. I bet that they'll make another one like for the PSP.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sonic Classic Collection
Sonic the Hedgehog review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/10
Sonic classic collection ( best sonic game ) revie
Hello and I'm writing a review for sonic classic collection. I've seen on other review sites that people have not rated this game very good and others have rated it very good. I wandered why so I got the game for my birthday, and I found it very good. It has the original games and the lock-on games. Later on that day, I went to gamestop to buy some games with my money and my dad pointed out the sonic collection game for the ps2 and gamecube, and he asked mewhy those 2 are cheaper than the one for the DS and the only reason I had was cause those ones were older and people won't have those systems. But even though they've repeated this type of game, this is the best, 'cause the controls are better, the sounds better, and (as far as I know) the pictures better also. So, I think the choice is obviouse, that this is one sonic game that you have to get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sonic Classic Collection
Brings Back Memories
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/10
Nahla
I grew up with Sonic. i have had history with Sonic the hedgehog! I'm a huge fan, of Sonic games. This game brings back memories because you can play the orginal Sonic the hedgehog, Sonic 2, Sonic 3, Sonic & Knuckles, and Knuckles in Sonic 2 and Sonic 3 and Knuckles. I love this game, this game brings back memories of my childhood. The bad thing is this game isnt compatible with two players, the one thing they should've done is make this game wi-fi compatible so we can play all over the world. Otherwise, this game is a must for any Die Hard Sonic fan, :) Thank-you Sega for making this game possible, if it wasnt for you... We wouldnt have a great, wonderful game, especially on the DS. Now anyone any age could play Sonic the hedgehog 1,2,3 Sonic and Knuckles, Knuckles in Sonic 2, and SOnic 3 And Knuckles on the go! This is a must play game for anybody!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sonic Classic Collection
All three Sonic games on a handheld? Heck yes!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/10
TheRedFox8
Having only owned this game for two days, I can already say that this game fails to disappoint me. It's exactly what you pay for: the three main Sonic games plus the two Knuckles add-ons from Genesis on the DS. I was thrilled when I learned that Sonic 3 and Knuckles was actually on here. At first I thought it would just be Knuckles in the Sonic 3 levels (like Sonic 2), but no. It was the legendary S3&K. I fell in love with it. The only problems I had with it were the sound, main menu, lack of some features, and the lack of Blue Sphere. I'll cover them one by one. The sound was okay. I mean it has a direct copy of the original music from the Genesis, which was awesome. However, it seems that two sounds cannot play at the same time. An example is Angel Island act 2, when you're getting bombed. It sounds weird. Then sometimes, one sound is played twice at the same time, meaning you get an increased gain in volume, or you get an echo effect. Once you get past this, you just learn to ignore it. The main menu could have been better as well. If you include a handful of illustrations, then why not make an awesome collection of them like Sonic Mega Collection? This doesn't kill the game for me, but it would have been nice. Also, what's with the drowning sound when you select your game? Is it the foreshadowing of impeding doom or what? The lack of the options menu in Sonic 2 was disappointing. Although I heard that you can access it by glitching, it would have been nice to include it. You can't enter anymore codes or just listen to the sound test. Is that too much to ask for? Similar problem with S3/&K. The competition mode was awesome. I know it would be tough to have two player (which would be EPIC), but why scrap it entirely? The racing game was actually pretty fun, and I missed it immediately. The last thing I have to pick at is the lack of Blue Sphere. If you include two out of the three possible Sonic games unlocked by Sonic and Knuckles, why not include all three? Having access to the literally millions of blue sphere stages would have made it perfect. Well, that's my review. For the price it is now, I would recommend it to anyone who wants to play the original Sonic games on the road without lugging a Sega Nomad around. I hereby give the game a 9/10.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonic Classic Collection
Classic Games FTW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/10
Chaoticmicah
Location: Las Vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Now they need to do Super Mario All-Stars and it'd be all set! Seriously I love Sonic since i was a kid in the 90s. Though it lacks the Blue Sphere game when you lock sonic 1 in S&K I love this collection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
USA
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
looks cool classics
Posted 9/4/11
i love old sonic! i seen this at SAM,s i wood remind it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sonic Classic Collection
sonic is a blast
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/11
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
sonic is a blast to play.any sonic fan will enjoy this game.if you have a ds then you need this .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sonic Classic Collection
old school sonic- on the go!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/11
1012killer
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
What seems like the original genesis games on the ds have some features removed. The 2 player mode has been removed from sonic 2, and the save option doesn't go to where the option was selected- you have to start over! Besides, why not include sonic spinball and sonic 3d blast. Plus, there are no unlockables (well, almost none) and the only lasting appeal is to play either game again. you would probably spend 100 hours or more to beat this game. If you don't have xbox live, virtual console, etc, then this is the game for you!
 
My Product Recommendations
PlayStation 2
9.6 out of 10(8)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonic Classic Collection
Sonic will live forever
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/14
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sonic will live forever no matter how old you are. If you are young and are learning the Sonic history or you like me and have been a Sonic fan since you played your first ever Sonic game. This has 4 great sonic titles. Sonic 1 2 3 and add Sonic and Knuckles to the pack and there you go. The great Sonic has made it back this time the ds. Great hero. Great games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for Sonic Classic Collection
Back to square one... (Good thing actually)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/11
Ninjaboy1212
Location: Vero Beach, Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Do you remember playing Sonic the Hedgehog 2 on the Genesis when you were 4/5/6 years old and loved the game? Remember always falling into the purple stuff in Chemical Plant Zone? Remember playing the start of the Sonic series and having to go somewhere and not being able to take the game with you? Thanks to SEGA that dream has been achieved... This game has accomplished very well. It brings back the start of the series (Sonic 1,2,3, and Sonic and Knuckles) and also with those... The lockon feature has been returned for those many Knuckles fans to play Sonic 2 & Knuckles... and even Sonic 3 & Knuckles has been brought back, not some dumbed down version of it, I mean the full, complete, legendary Sonic and Knuckles 3... Now there are some downsides to it... Classic Collection has been known to have some "technical hiccups", which by that I mean: In Sonic 2 when you lose your rings, sometimes it may slow down the framerate which surprises me with the power that the DS has, the other tech issue is in the Sonic 3 and Sonic 3 & Knuckles in the special stages everything moves all weirdly which causes the level to be harder to beat.. The one big thing I question is why'd they have to make the touch screen pause the game and completely ignore the Start Button to use for pausing the games? and also the drowning sound when you start up a game... Is it like foreshadowing something? And also one tiny issue with the sound in Sonic 3, when 2 separate sounds play at the same time (like a bomb and a flare) it may echo or something for like a second but anyone can ignore it... Those are the only errors I can say about the game... I can't say anything bad... I grew up playing Sonic games my whole life, my first ever video game was Sonic the Hedgehog 1 for the Geneses when I was 4... Well I hope you consider buying this game... Its a true refreshment to the classics and if you don't want it, get it for someone like a little brother or son, they'll get to see what the beginning was like....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonic Classic Collection
Finally for the DS
Posted on:2/19/10
Ultimate_Ninja no Jutsu
Ah this brings back memories. The days of playing these games on the "Sega Genesis" or "Sega Gamegear" Never in a million years did I think I'd be playing Sonic on a Nintendo system. Now, the Virtual Console has these games, it's like playing Sonic on the NES. But with THIS I can feel like I am playing them on a hand-held system like I used to play on the "Sega Gamegear" and now feel like I'm playing on the "Gameboy" or what hand-held is now the Nintendo DS. I'm gonna go to Gamesop today, so I'm gonna go and PRE-ORDER this today
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sonic Classic Collection
Almost the same thing as Sonic Jam
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/14
ANIMEJHART2009
Location: Oak Creek, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I can only remember like it was yesterday. It's ALMOST the same as sonic jam, only it's something like sonic world, and it's in 3D. I used to play Sonic Jam on SEGA Saturn all the time. it was fun. But this time it was Sonic Classic Collection and it has 4 Classic sonic games just like sonic jam, but on Sonic classic Collection, it didn't have sonic world where you can do what you want in it. it just has 4 sonic games in there. and that"s fine. but it has 2 already lock-on games, like Knuckles in Sonic the hedgehog 2 and Sonic the Hedgehog 3 & Knuckles. but it doesn't have blue sphere on it, just 6 sonic games in there. I like Sonic classic Collection. It's Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Sonic Classic Collection
Sonic classic on nintendo DS??
Posted on:12/5/09
segalover025
Sonic team is trying really hard to get back to the aganst mario. These new games Sonic and Sega All Stars Racing,Project needlemouse, and this. I hope these games help Sega and Sonic Team. I CAN'T wait till these games come out. its only a couple of months from now.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonic Classic Collection
yeah
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/11
jake345
Location: mcallen
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is fun !!! but i had a lot of trobule with saving my game in sonic 3 . plus the grapchps are the classic sonic graphics but i would be nice to see 3d .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonic Classic Collection
coming back
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/11
captainamericaman
Location: chesterton indiana
these 4 great sonic games are back and amazin this is a amazing ds game you need coming back and better than ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sonic Classic Collection
Sonic forever
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/14
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is cool cause people my age(25) know who is all remember the games and played the games. The good old days right? Now Sonic has shown up again to remind us and to show the younger people out there that he still owns the Green Hill Zone and the battle has just begun between Sonic and all the villains he comes in contact with. 4 games in one great deal and great game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for Sonic Classic Collection
Nothing but the Classics
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/12
Dman17
Location: San Francisco, Califronia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
These are the 4 best Sonic games ever made and if you are a fan of the Golden years of Sonic and your always on the go then this is perfect for you! I higly recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sonic Classic Collection
great game but gets old after awhile.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/11
firax88
Location: mpls mn
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is the reason i like the sonic games. if you havent played the sonic games before use this to introduce you!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sonic Classic Collection
Confusing
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/11
wiigamer
This game is hard to control. Sega should have put a little bit more effort into this game. It's still a decent game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sonic Classic Collection
Retro Time
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/13
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this has all 4 sonic games and it is good. not the most overrated game out there buy good. sonic is sonic so if you know sonic then you know what to except from sega. good game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Sonic Classic Collection
Perfect gift
Posted on:2/7/10
Anonymous
I can't wait to get this, i already pre-ordered it for my husband and i know he will love this, he is a huge sonic fan, especially the original from Sega. It will be an awesome gift for him! Of course i will be sneaking it away time to time to play too!
1 2 next>>