GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Deadly Premonition

Deadly Premonition, developed by Access Games, is a third-person survival horror action game which puts you in the role of FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, you will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an array of complex characters pivotal to the unraveling of the storyline's mystery. Suspenseful action sequences will force you to make strategic moves, gliding by enemies in the shadows or engaging them with long-range weapons or hand-to-hand melee combat. Amidst a backdrop of soaring mountains and a town filled with eccentric natives, Agent Morgan must solve the mystery of the Red Seed Murders' and stay alive in a place where supernatural creatures and a folklore killer seek to end his investigation permanently. From the unparalleled atmosphere, music and mysterious storyline to driving vehicles and exploring the entire town, Deadly Premonition will offer you a unique and haunting interactive gaming experience unlike any other.
Average Customer Rating:
7.932
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
10
8 stars
7
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
36 out of 4482%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deadly Premonition
Review 1 for Deadly Premonition
Looking forward to the Director's Cut.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/12
LadySakura
Location: New York, NY
To some Deadly Premonition looks like a lousy game for a lousy price. Do not underestimate this game! The controls, yes even I will say it suck severely especially while trying to drive! The storyline is very quirky and the characters may seem stiff at first but change drastically as the story carries on.
I do not recommend this game to people who are not into quirky, unique games! Give the game a chance and you might just become entranced with it. I would say if the controls are that much of a bother to any gamer then wait for the director's cut.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Deadly Premonition
This game is a combo between three diffrent games
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/12
kentbbygurl52
Location: Greenville , South Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a combo of three diff games ! It has a little of Alan Wake in it and Resident evil and condimed in it! I did bet it
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deadly Premonition
The perfect trainwreck.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
Deaththysoul
One of the best game I've ever bought. The graphics are not as bad as people say they are the gameplay is not perfect but fun. However the story is what made the game such a big cult hit with amazing characters and twists. Very deep story around 20 hours or less the game takes but every hour is just as fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deadly Premonition
Love at first chapter
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/12
N9nlives
Location: Sterling, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The voice acting is shabby, the graphics are basic, and to say the combat is simple would be an overstatement. With all that said, this is one of my favorite games. I bought this game after seeing multiple mentions of it in Game Informer, and I was looking for a non-expensive first horror survival/psychological thriller game, growing bored of my extensive collection of RPGs. Once the story line of this budget-title game really kicked in, I was immediately hooked. Murderer in a small rural town sounds cliche, but when you investigate crime-scenes and all of the sudden, unexplained red tentacles cover the walls and you are surrounded by eerie pale, black eyed zombie-like beings, seemingly attempting communication saying things in ghostly voices like "Where are you" and "Don't want to die" while contorting themselves and shoving their arms down your throat is, well, hopefully enough to spark your interest. I haven't yet completed the game, I'm a bit over half way done, but I will tell you, the plot, the hilarious characters (you will love Agent York, the playable character), plot twists, and the quirky music are what makes this game. There is no jump out of your chair frights, but if you are an open-minded, dedicated gamer, not picky about games as long as they entertain, then I promise this game will be full of sweaty palmed moments, eyes wide open, exclaiming expletives aloud, and sighs of extreme relief.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Deadly Premonition
Don't even think about it
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
JakeDaniel
Location: Denver, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Stop right there. Don't even think about it. This game is terrible. At the very first cut seen of the game you will find that it is very hard to take the game seriously. That would not be a problem if the game was fun but it isn't. The combat system is terrible and you never feel motivated to keep playing the game. Please take your money elsewhere.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deadly Premonition
20Hr Open World Survival Horror.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
Azezel
Location: Springville
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I really enjoyed this game there are some serious moments and some random moments. In this whole game I only noticed two whole glitches. One was when I got into my car the character went through the windshield and started the ignition. The second was a character whenever you got close to them they supposedly would fly around the screen. The only problem with the game is that the graphics of the body and the animation can be pretty stiff. But the faces of everyone in the game surprised me. I didn't like the way the melee weapons worked in the game but the guns were alright. I only had problems with a monster in the game called a "Crawling Shadow" Depending what weapons you have it can take at least 20-30 mins.
The final boss battle I gave up when I finally took out his HP because I had no idea what to do but when I tried it again I got it done pretty fast. Some of the food and guns in this game can be pretty expensive Crackers can be 31$ and Coffee can be around 91$ But you pretty much get lots of money when you complete a mission. You can replay chapters in the game like you replay missions in Devil May Cry 3. In this game though you have to complete the replayed chapter to have the items you bought or found to save into your save were you're currently at in the game. This is my first Survival Horror game and I really enjoyed it.
Also the driving in the game can be pretty troublesome until you get used to it. It's not like Saints Row where you can crash into anything and it breaks. It's worth a try and even if you can only find it used you still have the 7 day trial to get your money back if you don't like it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Deadly Premonition
Rewards the Patient Survival Horror Fan.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
Jcomega
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am just going to make this short because honestly this game has been out since 2010. It's on the PS3 though in Japan. I am not 100% sure that an American release for the PS3 is announced but I personally played on the 360. Okay, first of all this Deadly Premonition is a survival horror game like Resident Evil 4. It's archaic tank like controls are liable to have the most average gamer give up on the first level or so. But those who mostly enjoy survival horror games and in-depth story games will love this. Others who blow through the game's story aren't liable to find any excitement here. That's why this game has a cult following. As for the graphics they are PS2 era style but the reasoning for this was originally it was intended for the Wii believe it or not. I don't actually recommend for the casual / mainstream gamer. But if you can appreciate lower budget titles with a cheap pricetag go for this! I've played through this game six times! And it never has gotten old.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deadly Premonition
Extremely memorable and brimming with charm
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/12
KeroroCanti
Location: Alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
While not the best game in the technical department, Deadly Premonition is by far one of the least generic games I've ever played. The characters and story are goofy but interesting, and there are some truly surprising twists along the way. Other games rely on being polished while trying nothing truly new. Deadly Premonition is a bit clunky, but one of the most charming and inspired games you will ever play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deadly Premonition
No redeeming qualities
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/12
kurgun
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I can't think of anything good about this game. The graphics are terrible, bottom of the barrel for a Next Gen system. The movement is a joke and don't coincide with the camera angels whatsoever. The beginning is a good example of why you should avoid the game. The guy you play as is an FBI agent, who apparently has a voice in his head that speaks to him. So he crashes his car, and he just brushes it off like nothing happened. Then as he escapes his car, as it's on fire, he casually walks in front of it and his first thought is, let me light a cigarette. Who would do that after a crash? Next is, you get out of the car and apparently the FBI rewards people for crashing their cars, you have some badge you gather, and do this throughout the game. The enemies are extremely dumb and slow, who walks backwards arching their back reaching out to you, while making incoherent statements? Then when they are finally killed they ramble on about not dying and drag that statement out, just stupid. The graphics are weird, the cut-scenes look like everyone suffers from Parkinsons in the game. I just don't get how this game was even licensed on the 360. If you like survival horror, don't get this, unless you want a good laugh at how pathetic it truly is. Rent it first.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deadly Premonition
Could be better
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/12
Squeeters
Location: VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I like the story and the premise of the game. But the controls leave A LOT to be desired. Aiming can be a pain especially when you have multiple enemies coming at you. The movement controls take some getting used to especially when you are on going up and down stairs and the camera does its long-distance view. And the game likes to think you are holding the joystick to the side even when you havent even touched it, the pause menu is the most noticeable with this when the cursor suddenly goes crazy when you tapped it just to select an item next to it. And then there is the graphics. For a 360 game, it looks more like an early PS2 or late playstation game. This game would've been amazing in my opinion if the developers would've just taken a little extra time with it and made it look and function better.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for Deadly Premonition
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/11
sweetie15552
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When i first played this game I first noticed that the graphics looked like an original xbox game and I had trouble getting into it. But once I gave the game a chance, I was addicted and I would say this is one of the best games I have ever played. It is pretty difficult to find any horror survival adventure games for xbox 360 and if you are a fan of this type of game I definitely recommend it. It has a disturbing and way out there story line that keeps you playing so you can see what will happen next. I particularly enjoyed the heartpounding terror as you held your breath (yes you have to hold the character's breath to stay hidden!) and waited for the raincoat killer to walk past you in your hiding places in several rooms. I only wish there were a sequel or more games like this for the Xbox 360. . .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deadly Premonition
A thrilling Game that has a unique twist.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/11
DailyDennis
Location: Plano TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played this game while in california at my uncle's place and I have to say that this game is a well deserved hit but also seems very familiar to other video games. For starters the graphics seem to be related to the Resident Evil and Dead space games with the camera always put behind the protagonist, another part i've seen is the movement controls which also mimic RE and DS along with item aquisition with the black window and rotating items. Secondly the way you move through the town is also similar to Grand Theft Auto. However this game also has some unique aspects such as the interactions with the people, Character designs,profiling method as well as plot and music. In summary a GREAT game for those who want to experience the darker side of society and humanity should buy this game and see if you can solve this case =).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deadly Premonition
An enjoyable game if you can deal with some issues
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/11
Celtic1962
Location: Deltona, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a classic example of a game being much better than the sum of its parts. It has poor gameplay and presentation yet manages to be strangely addictive due to its compelling story and interesting characters. Unquestionably inspired by the 90's TV show Twin Peaks, the protagonist is an FBI agent investigating a murder in the Pacific Northwest where everything is definitely not as it appears. The graphics are sometimes worse than PS2 quality and the voicework tends to be very uneven, though the background music can be decent. The biggest issue is that at times the controls can be extremely clunky and unintuitive, which is unforgivable even if it is a budget title. To a certain degree this is at least offset by the fact that most enemies will not cause much harm so there won't be too many "game overs". Still, if this game had decent controls it would have been a much better experience. Unfortunately I can't really go into detail about the story as that would obviously spoil things so I'll just mention again that it is interesting enough to overcome the negatives. If you enjoy an open-world adventure-style crime solving game and not get too frustrated over technical problems this could be worth a look..
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Deadly Premonition
Different and in a good way
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/11
AedanBlackheart
Location: Hades
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I don't want to give too much of the story, but you really need to pay attention and you will understand. The graphics aren't that great. but in the long run it doesn't even matter because the story is really unique. This game is very funny, and not meant to be taken too seriously. There's a lot of bonus things to do, things to unlock, places to visit and explore and there is no other game like this that I've ever played. This game reminded me a lot of the tv show twin peaks and I found the main character to resemble me a bit. The game is light-hearted and meant to be fun. Overall this game was very unique and I enjoyed it, also the achievements were fun to get and look at because the pictures were food lol.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Deadly Premonition
Love it or hate it
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/11
playxboxguy
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was surprised by this game I actually enjoyed it after overlooking the Atari 2600 graphics and the EXTREMELY clunky controlls , this game is not for everyone , if your not into murder mystery you should pass on this , the city is fairly large with free roam to handle tasks at your own leisure . All in all it wasnt a bad game but I still cant get used to the vehicle handling , anyone who played this game knows what im talkin bout ,
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deadly Premonition
One heck of a ride.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
Loboid87
Location: Kansas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A part of me wants to believe that those responsible for this game intentionally included the things that consumers and critics would see as flawed. The past generation graphics, the head-scratching plot and gameplay. Every little thing was done according to plan.
If that is true, then Deadly Premonition deserves more praise than what it got. Everything about this game feels so weird, yet absolutely brilliant. Like the oddest anime from Japan made into a video game. There are numerous moments during the cutscenes that I laughed because of the absurdity and seemingly intended jokes it makes at itself. Regardless, it does take things seriously in a few areas. Gameplay seems like a mix between Resident Evil 4 and Silent hill. The story itself it engaging all the way through; with a bit of a mystery tv show feel.
If this were any other type of game, it would be just another failure. Somehow, someway, Deadly Premonition defies all odds; making it a hidden gem that I highly recommend to anyone willing to give it a chance.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deadly Premonition
Not for Everyone
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/11
PostmodernD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I will not lie, this is a very niche title. It is a budget title made to appeal to a certain audience. The tongue and cheek tone of this survival horror game will be lost on some, but if you are one of those it was meant for, it is hard to do better. The sound is excellent, much of the music is catchy and you may find yourself humming it as you walk the streets. The voice actors range from average to very good, but none of them are so bad as to take you out of the experience. Were the game truly shines is its story. If you are a fan of paranormal detective dramas, this is the best. Fans of shows such as Twin Peaks will instantly recognizr this game as a homage to the series. Were this game will loose people, however, are very important areas for any game. The graphics are a generation old at best, as is the gameplay. Combat is clunky and the textures will make you think you are playing an original xbox title. However, a budget title for $20 gives you a free roam experience, an epic story and plenty of mini games. Expect playthroughs to last anywhere from 5-15 hours depending on your playstyle. This is one of my favorite titles and I urge everyone to give it a chance. Its worth a rental to see if your into it and worth a buy if it keeps your interest.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Deadly Premonition
Odd & Amazing: A Deadly Premonition Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/11
StokedRider
Deadly Premonition is quite the strange game. While being completely abysmal in its gameplay and graphics department, it completely delivers despite those 2 huge negatives. Similar to horror games from the Dreamcast era; the two oddities that sprung to mind while playing Deadly Premonition were Illbleed and D2. Both of those games also suffered in more than a few ways, though they were still two of the best experiences I've ever had. I think that describing Deadly Premonition as an "experience" more than merely a "game" is the right way to go.
Positives:
- A Wonderfully Absurd Story - Unlike many games these days, Deadly Premonition doesn't play it safe in its narrative department. The narrative is so well done. It goes from creepy, to hilarious, to somewhere in the middle, constantly throughout the meaty single player campaign.
- A Cast of Oddities and Awesomeness - Needless to say, Deadly Premonition has quite the eccentric cast of characters. All of the voice acting is spot on. You'll actually grow attached to these characters.
- An Open World That Truly Feels Alive - I must say that the open world design of Deadly Premonition was the right way to go. Citizens will go about their daily business. Important characters, not just random NPC's, will go driving around, go to get a bite to eat at the diner, etc. This is a living and breathing world.
- A Lengthy Single Player Campaign - It took me upwards of 25 hours to complete Deadly Premonition, and that's not even getting 100%.
- A Soundtrack Worth Dying For - The soundtrack in Deadly Premonition spans many different styles, but all of it only adds to the quirky atmosphere of Deadly Premonition.
- Some Decent Character Models - While Deadly Premonition is no beauty, its characters -- especially the faces -- look pretty nice overall.
- $19.99 - It's a great budget title.
Negatives:
The Gameplay is Mediocre - I honestly wouldn't say the gameplay is bad, as it's totally serviceable, but it's quite clunky.
Graphics That Aren't Cutting Edge - Deadly Premonition looks like a title from last generation, but with an HD resolution.
Despite two major elements being below par, I highly recommend this gem. If you can get past some poor design decisions, you're in for a treat with Deadly Premonition.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deadly Premonition
great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
lolrus
Location: South of Heaven
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay. I first want to state that i am not actually very far in the game. well... i'm about halfway through. the game is EXTREMELY bugged out though, and as a lot of people said, it looks like a high quality PS2 game... on the 360, released in 2010. kind of... i dunno.. outdated much? the trees are TWO DIMENSIONAL. the game plays badly too. the driving is sloppy as anything, blah blah blah. Look, as much as im bashing it, i actually love it. this game is quirky. I love it. "FK.... in the coffee..." is a famous line from early DP. ............WHAT? He's looking in his cup of coffee and its swirling, and he sees the letters F and K. I dont get it, and its great. The game's quirkyness just keeps you in. it grabs you by the teeth and makes you want to play it more, despite its flaws. but its so great that it actually MAKES you forgive these flaws. now this game isn't for everyone. if you're into Gears of War and such, it probably isnt your kind of game. If you liked the survival horror games on PS2, like Resident Evil 4 or Silent Hill 2 or something, you will love this game. And it brings in elements that frankly, I just dont think many, if ANY video games do. Its an OPEN WORLD HORROR game. my two favorite genres. and it incorporates a small town, and everyone in the storyline, running around, doing their daily chores. you also have to feed and sleep the protagonist (who's name is York) and while driving, talks to his schizo-counterpart Zach, about those 80's B-Movies you probably forgot about. Like "Attack of the Killer Tomatoes". this game is great. and it was $20 new, WHEN IT FIRST CAME OUT. Great price, great game. I suggest it to most gamers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deadly Premonition
Are kidding me?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/11
Gamenerd92
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When this game was released at nineteen dollars upon its release I was asking questions. I went to Gamestop with an open mind thinking this game was going to be something great by the looks of the cover. Turns out when I got home and put it in my Xbox it didn't want to play. It turns out my Xbox was probably giving me a warning. Stay away the gameplay and music is horrible.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 33 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BlackMamba
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about BlackMamba is loaded.
Additional information about BlackMamba could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
it's your 360
Posted 12/24/11
I'm sorry how does that tell you if the game is bad. Now your saying "the game" caused your 360 to not play it. Did you ever once think about how it could be your 360. Once again you say stay away from a game you DIDN'T play. It's doesn't work like that.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>