GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Deadly Premonition

Deadly Premonition, developed by Access Games, is a third-person survival horror action game which puts you in the role of FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, you will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an array of complex characters pivotal to the unraveling of the storyline's mystery. Suspenseful action sequences will force you to make strategic moves, gliding by enemies in the shadows or engaging them with long-range weapons or hand-to-hand melee combat. Amidst a backdrop of soaring mountains and a town filled with eccentric natives, Agent Morgan must solve the mystery of the Red Seed Murders' and stay alive in a place where supernatural creatures and a folklore killer seek to end his investigation permanently. From the unparalleled atmosphere, music and mysterious storyline to driving vehicles and exploring the entire town, Deadly Premonition will offer you a unique and haunting interactive gaming experience unlike any other.
Average Customer Rating:
7.932
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
10
8 stars
7
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
36 out of 4482%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deadly Premonition
Review 1 for Deadly Premonition
One heck of a ride.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
Loboid87
Location: Kansas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A part of me wants to believe that those responsible for this game intentionally included the things that consumers and critics would see as flawed. The past generation graphics, the head-scratching plot and gameplay. Every little thing was done according to plan.
If that is true, then Deadly Premonition deserves more praise than what it got. Everything about this game feels so weird, yet absolutely brilliant. Like the oddest anime from Japan made into a video game. There are numerous moments during the cutscenes that I laughed because of the absurdity and seemingly intended jokes it makes at itself. Regardless, it does take things seriously in a few areas. Gameplay seems like a mix between Resident Evil 4 and Silent hill. The story itself it engaging all the way through; with a bit of a mystery tv show feel.
If this were any other type of game, it would be just another failure. Somehow, someway, Deadly Premonition defies all odds; making it a hidden gem that I highly recommend to anyone willing to give it a chance.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deadly Premonition
Rewards the Patient Survival Horror Fan.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
Jcomega
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am just going to make this short because honestly this game has been out since 2010. It's on the PS3 though in Japan. I am not 100% sure that an American release for the PS3 is announced but I personally played on the 360. Okay, first of all this Deadly Premonition is a survival horror game like Resident Evil 4. It's archaic tank like controls are liable to have the most average gamer give up on the first level or so. But those who mostly enjoy survival horror games and in-depth story games will love this. Others who blow through the game's story aren't liable to find any excitement here. That's why this game has a cult following. As for the graphics they are PS2 era style but the reasoning for this was originally it was intended for the Wii believe it or not. I don't actually recommend for the casual / mainstream gamer. But if you can appreciate lower budget titles with a cheap pricetag go for this! I've played through this game six times! And it never has gotten old.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deadly Premonition
Must Have!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/10
Vasco21190
This game is not for everyone but personally i like games that keep me interested. Who needs beautiful graphics when you get bored of the 60$ games after 10 mintues. This game runs like a movie and has very interesting and edgy scences. The storyline in this game is so interesting and keep you pondering even when you are not playing. Anyone that like games like RE, SIlent Hill, Eternal Darkness, Alan Wake, and Heavy Rain will love this game. I love the music it add such a great ambience to the story. For 20$ you really can't go wrong with this one. X-Play gave it 4 out of 5 stars. I would give it a 5 out of 5 since the whole point of games is that they keep you interested! if you like crime and muder this is a must have! BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deadly Premonition
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/11
sweetie15552
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When i first played this game I first noticed that the graphics looked like an original xbox game and I had trouble getting into it. But once I gave the game a chance, I was addicted and I would say this is one of the best games I have ever played. It is pretty difficult to find any horror survival adventure games for xbox 360 and if you are a fan of this type of game I definitely recommend it. It has a disturbing and way out there story line that keeps you playing so you can see what will happen next. I particularly enjoyed the heartpounding terror as you held your breath (yes you have to hold the character's breath to stay hidden!) and waited for the raincoat killer to walk past you in your hiding places in several rooms. I only wish there were a sequel or more games like this for the Xbox 360. . .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deadly Premonition
PLAY!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/10
SNAKEBAG
Everyone and there mom needs to play this game. Sure it is flawed in almost every way but it is flawed just the right way to be awesome. The game goes from hilarious to omg i wet myself in seconds flat which makes this game really something special. This game shows you that you don't a huge budget and flashy graphics to make a good game. It is also really really cheap. You must get this game now before you can't find it anymore. This game is definently not for everyone out there but if you liked games like Eternal Darkness then you will most likly love this game. The music in this game is also histerical. It goes from lame cop movie jazz sax solos to orchestras playing erie harmonies. The characters in this game are rediculous and have so much life in them you truley feel they are real it is also compleatly i real time. Moreso even then Fallout. BUY THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deadly Premonition
The perfect trainwreck.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
Deaththysoul
One of the best game I've ever bought. The graphics are not as bad as people say they are the gameplay is not perfect but fun. However the story is what made the game such a big cult hit with amazing characters and twists. Very deep story around 20 hours or less the game takes but every hour is just as fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deadly Premonition
great sandbox horror
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/10
runedood97
let me just say this game is just plain awsome the charcters are are truly unique and weird and they are a great part of the game and give the give the game its feel and explorig the town is fun the convorsations in the game are great and the writing is awsome the graphics in my opinion are good the trees are weird looking and some background textures arent great but i love the charcter models and ever thing else and the enemies are scary looking and are just plain creepy and the rain coat guy is pretty terrifing the sound for the game is pretty good and the enimes sound weird but scary at the time ad the music is funny but still fit the game and the voice acing is kinnda bad sometimes but 96% of the time is good and the game has some cool features the length of the game is awsome and the achievments are easy just comlet the game on normal and ou will have like 85% of them and there are plent of side missions the basic challenge of the game is hard at times but easy also deppening o the difficulty the controls are kinnda hard to get used to but you get used to them fast and driving is kind of difficult but is still fun and the covorsations while driveing are funny and nice to listen to well bottom line you should buy this game if you like survival horror games or sandbox or are ust looking for aa good stor line the game is amazing but like in all games has its flaws and how can you resist for the price BUY THE GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
trminator12
South Beach, FL
 
Please wait while more information about trminator12 is loaded.
Additional information about trminator12 could not be loaded.
WOW!!!!!
Posted 10/11/10
THIS IS POSSIBLY THE BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!! I'VE PLAYED ALOT OF GAMES AND THIS IS DEF. THE BEST...BETTER THAN CALL OF DUTY: MODERNWARFARE 1 & 2, FALLOUT, EAD SPACE AND WAAAAAYYYYYY BETTER THAN HALO!!!! THIS IS RATED 10 OUT OF 10 FOR ME. THE GRAPHICS ARE AMAZING, THE GAMEPLAY IS SPECTACULAR, AND THE SOUND IS AWESOME!!! I DEF. RECOMEND THIS GAME TO HARDCORE GAMERS!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Deadly Premonition
A thrilling Game that has a unique twist.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/11
DailyDennis
Location: Plano TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played this game while in california at my uncle's place and I have to say that this game is a well deserved hit but also seems very familiar to other video games. For starters the graphics seem to be related to the Resident Evil and Dead space games with the camera always put behind the protagonist, another part i've seen is the movement controls which also mimic RE and DS along with item aquisition with the black window and rotating items. Secondly the way you move through the town is also similar to Grand Theft Auto. However this game also has some unique aspects such as the interactions with the people, Character designs,profiling method as well as plot and music. In summary a GREAT game for those who want to experience the darker side of society and humanity should buy this game and see if you can solve this case =).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deadly Premonition
The melting pot of survival horror
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/10
PaullyPaul
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Deadly Premonition mixes survival horror with elements of RPG, sandbox gaming, and off beat comedy. It's like Silent Hill and Shadow of Destiny with aspects of several other games. It's defiantly not for everyone but about a third of the game in, it's hard to put down. For the price, it's surprisingly long with tons to do and the odd ball music score mixed with the comedic bad acting makes it just as funny as intriguing. I absolutely loved this game even if the graphics are more towards PS2 & Original Xbox. The story defiantly makes up for it. Surprisingly it has an underground cult following and if you can make it all the way through, you'll see why.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deadly Premonition
Mesmerizing......????....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/10
BretTheBest
This game is great. This game is incredible for bucks brand new. It's true the graphics are dated, but there better then any ps2 title. The voice acting is enjoyable with the zany cast of characters. the tunes in can be annoying after sevreal hours of gameplay. The game plays simmilar to resident evil 4&5. But it dosen't feel like RE at all. The driving takes some getting used to, and the physics are very real, which isn't the best. You can complete the game at your own pace, like grand theft auto. Theres plenty of side things you can do like go fishing and collect cards. The game took me about twenty three hours to complete. the game is a mixture of Resident Evil 5 and clock tower 3 and silent hill and spy fox. I really did enjoy this game. If you don like mysteries and storylines, or you care about graphics this game isn't for you. Plus there is only 12 acheivments, easy if you like exploring. (:
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 11 for Deadly Premonition
Nobody Premonitiond This.....
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/10
GameAnalyst
What can i say.... You get what you pay for. At least i can say ****** bucks was well spent. To start off graphics are mid, im an all the way type, when it comes to graphics so i rated it a six.....its not yet as smooth as the new {RE}. The controls are simple, maybe as simple as if you were playing the controls of {RE}, in this game their is a lot of influence of other past games such as Silent Hill mixed up with a little of Resident Evil, and a not yet their 360 version of the upcoming new realease of Ps3's new Heavy Rain..... The challenge of the game is well off as any other game thats made for you to uncover hidden facts that are to obvious to miss.... As far as the length the of the game i have not yet finished it i just started it yesterday, and as far as the beging it is slow but once your in the storyline it gets interesting.... their is an open enviroment that i liked in the game that also enables you to use a vehicle to get around to your destination..As far as the spooky incounters its a good game to spend a lot of time on..... not one of the best but good for the price........
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 12 for Deadly Premonition
BEST GAME EVER!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/10
WARMONGER55
I have to say this might be the best game that I have ever played. Its like when you first watch bruce campbell in evil dead and you think that it might be the chesiest movie ever made then you get to the end and you realize that it is a work of art in an unpolished shell. That is exactly what this game is, the graphics are that of a good psp game and the controls are exactly like resident evil 4. The game consists of the what seems like the same four songs played over and over again at what seems like the most inappropriate times. And these are the only bad things about the game and they do not hurt the game in any way they only inprove on the gamplay and experience of this magnificant work of art. The things that this game excesss at is that you can pretty musch interact with everything in the game, you don't like your beard, shave it off but be prepared to wait a couple of days for it to grow back. Don't like the slox cop cars that you get in the beginning go to the junkyard and purchase a new one and get ready for the fun part you actually get to put gasoline in your car and wash it so that it does not get dirty or go down in performance. Also you can purchase new clothes because each day that you wear them you have to get them drycleaned for they become dirty. This game pretty much has every thing that you could want in a game, it gives you all of the responibilities of a grownup without getting up out of you chair. My only wish is that this game could have been bigger production with better graphics but this is still the best game i have ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sweetie15552
 
Please wait while more information about sweetie15552 is loaded.
Additional information about sweetie15552 could not be loaded.
Amazing
Posted 5/8/11
After I bought this game i read a lot of bad reviews about it and really didn't play it... Recently i decided to try it out again and couldn't stop! It was addicting! And for the price it's a very good game with a lot of variety: You can drive a vehicle (functioning headlights, wipers, and turn signals.) There are puzzles, shooting, battles, and a strange but intriguing story line. My only complaint s are: the map... would have been nice to have like a GTA sort of deal where you could mark on the larger map where you were going and follow it... Sometimes the small one in the HUD was confusing but once i got used to it, it wasn't so bad... AND the graphics lacked a little for being a newer game - looked more like a PS2 game... But the great story and play make up for what it lacks in graphics... Overall I would def recommend this game... I was actually kind of sad after I had finished it cause I wanted to keep playing!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Deadly Premonition
Odd & Amazing: A Deadly Premonition Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/11
StokedRider
Deadly Premonition is quite the strange game. While being completely abysmal in its gameplay and graphics department, it completely delivers despite those 2 huge negatives. Similar to horror games from the Dreamcast era; the two oddities that sprung to mind while playing Deadly Premonition were Illbleed and D2. Both of those games also suffered in more than a few ways, though they were still two of the best experiences I've ever had. I think that describing Deadly Premonition as an "experience" more than merely a "game" is the right way to go.
Positives:
- A Wonderfully Absurd Story - Unlike many games these days, Deadly Premonition doesn't play it safe in its narrative department. The narrative is so well done. It goes from creepy, to hilarious, to somewhere in the middle, constantly throughout the meaty single player campaign.
- A Cast of Oddities and Awesomeness - Needless to say, Deadly Premonition has quite the eccentric cast of characters. All of the voice acting is spot on. You'll actually grow attached to these characters.
- An Open World That Truly Feels Alive - I must say that the open world design of Deadly Premonition was the right way to go. Citizens will go about their daily business. Important characters, not just random NPC's, will go driving around, go to get a bite to eat at the diner, etc. This is a living and breathing world.
- A Lengthy Single Player Campaign - It took me upwards of 25 hours to complete Deadly Premonition, and that's not even getting 100%.
- A Soundtrack Worth Dying For - The soundtrack in Deadly Premonition spans many different styles, but all of it only adds to the quirky atmosphere of Deadly Premonition.
- Some Decent Character Models - While Deadly Premonition is no beauty, its characters -- especially the faces -- look pretty nice overall.
- $19.99 - It's a great budget title.
Negatives:
The Gameplay is Mediocre - I honestly wouldn't say the gameplay is bad, as it's totally serviceable, but it's quite clunky.
Graphics That Aren't Cutting Edge - Deadly Premonition looks like a title from last generation, but with an HD resolution.
Despite two major elements being below par, I highly recommend this gem. If you can get past some poor design decisions, you're in for a treat with Deadly Premonition.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deadly Premonition
just a girl looking for Horror in all the wrong places
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/10
X 2 the PG
I love survivor horror and live for that hold your breath, heart palpitating feeling while struggling to survive through a nightmare infested game, so when this game came out I had to try it and for the price, who could resist. I really should have though. The controls are clunky, you can’t really pan and why the developers didn’t make it so you could walk or run and shoot is seriously wrong and no it doesn’t add to the challenge it just makes it annoying. The graphics are very early PS2 not at all what you expect to see from a new game on XBOX 360. The game itself isn’t very challenging but the storyline is somewhat intriguing or wait maybe that was the dream I had when I dozed off with control in hand, (yes I was that bored). It tries too hard to be freaky and surreal with some cheesy sounds and constant fog, but the only thrill I got was when I would stop playing it. For me the game was a big disappointment, but if you can deal with the negatives I mentioned then this game will hit your sweet spot, if you can’t then take your money and put it towards another game or that sweet accessory you know you’ve been looking at.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deadly Premonition
Even with its flaws still an amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/11
Anonymous
Location: OKC, OK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
For the first time since the good old Silent Hill days I have found a survival horror game that doesn't hope that jump scares will keep you playing. This a budget game and yes, it shows, but what it lacks in next gen graphics it makes up with good characters and a very good story. Be warned, this game has some gameplay issues, but don't let that stop you from enjoying a game that is quickly becoming a hit with underground gamers. And for the low price, how can you? Look past the wonky gameplay, the old PS2 looking graphics and you will find a real gem of a game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deadly Premonition
Well for ***** I guess it is okay.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/10
spacepup
I can honestly say this is the first time I have ever returned a game. The graphics are ps1 era at best. The controls are very basic and the third person view is not all that great. I could not get into the storyline at all really it just seemed to me it was trying to do a silent hill meets x files. The sound is marginal at best. Voice acting is nothing to get excited about. Interface is marginal at best. This game would have probably been awesome back when Silent Hill or RE came out back in the PS1 days. But for a 3rd generation console this game is very very weak. I am not saying that graphics should always be ME 2 or anything but at least get into the ball park of the era. Also the movement of the character and environment is very jerky and laggy. I would not recommend this game to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deadly Premonition
Old-School Survival Horror
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/10
YoungLiver
Deadly Premonition will definitely appeal to fans of the PS1 Resident Evil titles, Silent Hill, or Alone in the Dark. The controls are a bit hard to get used to after years of playing titles with FPS controls, but after a while they fit like an old glove. The only real gripe I have with the controls is that driving is very frustrating. Turning at low speeds feels like driving a cruise ship while turning at any speed over 30 can send you flying off the road. The graphics are not fantastic, but do a good enough job. The best thing about DP is the story and characters. They make the characters in Twin Peaks seem almost normal. I'll just say that DP is bizarre, but in a good way. The conversations are wacky like they are in Shenmue, which is enough reason for me to play this game. I haven't finished DP yet, but the story so far is very Twin Peaks like other reviewers have said. If you're too young to remember Twin Peaks, I feel sorry for you. So, play DP. If you like it, you'll probably like Twin Peaks. Also, the price can't be beat. Instead of wasting $** on the latest Will Ferrel movie, buy DP NEW for $** and have fun. It's well worth the price of admission.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Deadly Premonition
Must buy game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/10
Shinrgele
You start out the game as a FBI agent named York who is investagating a murder in the fictional city Greenvale.. The game is similar to the TV series Twin Peaks and I must say if you are a fan of the old school Resident Evil, Silent Hill, or Clock Tower you will like this game, You can also do many side quests such as fishing which can bring in food, medkits, ammo and other things also you can throw darts in a bar or drive around in police vehicles using the lights and siren almost has a feel of GTAIV free roam.. You also have to shave, eat, sleep and buy coffee to stay awake and keep a neat appearance. Some other parts you can play Zach "Yorks alternate personality" Playing as Zach takes the game in a completely different direction, and is what earns the "Deadly Premonition" a spot on the list of survival-horror games. Playing as Zach transports the player to another strange dimension that is inhabited by shades, and monsters, as well as creepy environments that will remind most gamers of the "Silent-Hill" series. This will often mean searching through creepy rooms for clues, combating strange monstrous beings, occasionally fleeing in a blind panic, or simply hiding until the monsters go away. There is also a mode similar to clock tower where you have to hide from a monster with no escape just hiding, but im not going to give it all away!! But like others said this will be a classic and for the price it is worth every penny so get it!! Sorry for so long positive but I could write A LOT MORE POSTIVE THINGS!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deadly Premonition
Incredible deal
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/10
Blasphem0
When I 1st picked up this game i had high expectations, and I can now confidently say they've been met an surpassed by far. Great depth, characters, and relevance to a certain television series that ran awhile back. It's also the 1st game that my girlfriend has gotten into so deeply that she still craves for more daily. Controls are a bit old-school(i.e one analog to turn and another to move forward) so it's not a run an blast'm up, but it works effectively in exploring your surroundings and interacting with people/objects. i would highly recomend this title to anyone craving a good murder mystery, with a bit of horror thrown in and surrealism to add the perfect topping to the cake. Show your support for titles like these, and we can expect more in the future. I'm already crossing fingers for a sequel/prequel.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Deadly Premonition
No redeeming qualities
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/12
kurgun
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I can't think of anything good about this game. The graphics are terrible, bottom of the barrel for a Next Gen system. The movement is a joke and don't coincide with the camera angels whatsoever. The beginning is a good example of why you should avoid the game. The guy you play as is an FBI agent, who apparently has a voice in his head that speaks to him. So he crashes his car, and he just brushes it off like nothing happened. Then as he escapes his car, as it's on fire, he casually walks in front of it and his first thought is, let me light a cigarette. Who would do that after a crash? Next is, you get out of the car and apparently the FBI rewards people for crashing their cars, you have some badge you gather, and do this throughout the game. The enemies are extremely dumb and slow, who walks backwards arching their back reaching out to you, while making incoherent statements? Then when they are finally killed they ramble on about not dying and drag that statement out, just stupid. The graphics are weird, the cut-scenes look like everyone suffers from Parkinsons in the game. I just don't get how this game was even licensed on the 360. If you like survival horror, don't get this, unless you want a good laugh at how pathetic it truly is. Rent it first.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>