GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Quantum Theory

Experience Syd and Filena's adventurous ascent through a treacherous tower in this action-shooter, presented in an art nouveau style world that is on the verge of becoming post- apocalyptic, which merges the beauty of organic motifs with technology and action-packed gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
6.091
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 1182%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quantum Theory
Review 1 for Quantum Theory
not all that bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/10
affliction377
Location: minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is not as bad as some are saying, you cant compare this game to gow because not many games are as great as gears, but the story is interesting and the game reminds me a little bit of resistance, not sure why but overall i enjoyed the game for what it is a good third person shooter with plenty of action, rent it and play it for a while and see if it grows on you!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quantum Theory
demos not bad
Posted on:9/20/10
EDubs
Location: Okemos,MI
Just downloaded demo last night i have to admit i was skeptical considering this resembled GOW way too much but it wasn't too bad. I playes almost identical to GOW which isn't a bad thing. Grafics are ok not the best i may just rent this one.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quantum Theory
Looks cool
Posted on:8/11/10
GrundyzMoshPit
pre order and you get a Hammerburst ?!?!?!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quantum Theory
Great for the price point
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/11
Use1cc
Location: Torrance, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I agree that if you paid $59.99 for this game you'd be slightly disappointed. Especially if you thought you were buying a GOW copy. GOW it is not. Its more like a $39.99 version of GOW. I paid $16 for QT and I must say its worth every penny. Then again I paid $4 for GOW . Game Stop Rocks!!!
I have over a hundred games and more than half dont get played . However to me they're worth more than 80 cents so I'm not going to sell them back. Quantum theory has the same addictive quality as GOW or COD. Its fun to change guns and kill enemies. This game is not confusing and is just a fun time. The acting sucks and the controls aren't the greatest but C'mon.... For $16 this is a steal!!!
There is so much negative talk about this game which is simply not justified. I bought QT because I'm a GOW fan and I cant wait another 6 months.
Check my recommendations for other price point steals.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quantum Theory
Not as bad as it's rated.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
LordOnion
Location: Deland, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Comparing this game to Gears Of War just isn't fair. GoW is one of the best shooters ever and not many games can compare to it. You have to play this game for what it is. It is a 3rd person shooter in a world ravaged by destruction from war and aliens. It is pretty much your average 3rd person shooter with nothing spectacular or new. But that doesn't make it a bad game. Average games like this come out every year. You can throw the girl Fillena, who is coming with you to attack this living tower. She can stun multiple enemies or do a heavy damage attack on a single enemy. This is not only pretty cool but very affective against larger enemies that are hard to kill. Also, head shots show cut scenes of the head exploding and the body without the head, another positive to the game. One knock and it can be a frustrating one, is when you melee attack it doesn't attack toward the closest enemy but instead the direction you are facing. So if an enemy comes up behind you and you attempt to melee attack them you have to be sure you are facing directly toward them. If not you will starting attacking nothing and you will take damage as the enemy continues its attack on you. I also would like to see a little more weapon diversity. There aren't too many weapons and a few of the ones you can pick up aren't worth even using. I have played a few hours and I still going, so the game isn't too short but I don't know exactly how long. Overall the game is ok and enjoyable. If you are a casual gamer who doesn't get into the story lines to heavily and just enjoys a good shooter then give it a try.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quantum Theory
Wannbe GoW
Posted on:9/18/10
Leland10
Demo is availble, hey at least TECMO was nice enough to release it to show why you should not waste $60, it was horrible!!!!
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quantum Theory
Gears of War??
Posted on:3/29/10
innergamemaster
this does resemble GoW, which is not really a bad thing...people are already hating this game and they never even played it..Seem like it'll be a good game...I'll wait to judge it, but for now it looks like a game I'll buy
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quantum Theory
game is fun
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/11
aprilmayjune
Location: us of a
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok this game is kinda like gears of war ok man im reading all these people say o it copy gears well yes they did kinda so if u can get past that point and look at the game and story then lets start. Character is savage I thought not to much thought on levels and things to fight but still fun and challenging at times all in all a fun game nice change of game. Story was nice i enjoyed it left me wanting more. So if u are looking for something new id recommend it to a friend it’s a fun game and for the price u cant go wrong.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quantum Theory
Love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/11
crystalrosesanders
Location: frederick, md
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I posted a comment on it that described how great this game was. First the controllers are similar to GOW, which makes it easier to hop back and forth to this and GOW. Second the graphics are amazing, especially for a $20 game. Third I like the monsters/demons much better than the GOW ones. Plus, having a hot chick by my side and using her as a weapon is pretty cool too. Definitely a great game while you are biding your time for GOW 3.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quantum Theory
Played the Demo...
Posted on:9/17/10
Dumpl1ng
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Based on the demo, this honestly is Gears of War 2.5. This is almost an exact replica of GoW; I'll be surprised if Cliffy B doesn't sue somebody, lol. Seriously, I really liked this game, and I think it's a great 'tide-you-over' until GoW3 hits the streets. Online remains to be seen. Graphics are tight, controls are good, guy even sounds like Marucs.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quantum Theory
very good! Great for gears of war fans.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/11
xgeargodx
Location: wv
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
recomended. for gears fan very similar to it. great for hardcore gammers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
D4RKN3551NC4RN473
Asheville, NC
 
Please wait while more information about D4RKN3551NC4RN473 is loaded.
Additional information about D4RKN3551NC4RN473 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Lies
Posted 2/10/11
This game may be similar to Gears but it is worthless. After devoting days to play both Gears of War games, I thought like you did until I played this abomination and realized that it disgraces Gears of War and everything the COGs have done to protect their existence. This game isn't recommended for TRUE Gears fans or even people new to Gears or anybody! This game belongs in the garbage with Vampire Rain.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Quantum Theory
Really?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/10
ZLATumor
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first saw this game, I thought to myself, "WOW! A post apocalyptic third person shooter, highlighting a grungy voice main character, wearing huge armor, based solely around cover-based combat! What an Idea!" ...As you can tell, I'm a huge fan of the GoW series. Fan is an understatement. I believe that "Gears of War" is the greatest game ever created, and I play it at least once a month to satisfy my male cravings to kill and win... So when I saw "Quantum Theory" I had to get past my first reaction of uncontrollable rage at the mere thought that someone would ever dare try to duplicate what can only be described as "the standard of cover-based, third person shooters". But I quickly got over it and grew excited. Duplication is highest compliment there is, and since GoW3 isn't due out for another seven months, it would be nice have an appetizer to prep myself for the main course. Now that I've got that off my chest, Let's talk Quantum Theory. ...Quantum Theory is "Exactly" what I thought it would be ...A complete rip off of the coveted GoW series. ...I'll start with the GRAPHICS: The cinematic scenes are very nice and well detailed, while the in-game sections make you happy that 90% of the game takes place in dark places. Movement is choppy, edges aren't smooth, and enemies look too pixeled. The main character looks like Marcus Fenix was swallowed and later regurgitated by the Hoard, but other then that...Great Job!!! SOUND: The voice acting is ridiculous at best. It seems that you can't: Shoot, Run, Aim, Duck, or Breathe without someone having to spout out some useless comment. In GoW, dialog was reserved for cut scenes only; while in-game comments were limited to when you picked up items, you were running low on ammo, or when someone got into you direct line of fire. This game seems to say to the player... "Look at me, I sound like like Marcus Fenix. Really I do. Don't believe me? Listen! La La La La La. See?" Comments are used entirely too often and are completely unoriginal. They've replaced, the "Sweet" with "Mmmm...Ammo" and the "Nice" with "All Mine". I can't comment too well on the narration since I never did fine that perfect game setting where you can hear both the voice and the game effects at the same time, but I assume that it isn't anything to write home about. GAMEPLAY: It plays like GoW, minus the flawless duck and cover system. It aims and fires like almost any first or third person shooter. Characters run like GoW, and the overall mechanic works, BUT if you're gonna steal sooooo much from such a great game, why not just take it all? It's like you raided your best friends fridge, took everything for yourself, but decided to leave the almost empty bottle of ketchup behind because you didn't want to feel too greedy. When bunked up against an obstacle in GoW, you have the option of either backing out, blitzing around, climb over, or safely moving from one obstacle/corner/door-frame to another. In this game, you can either step back, step out, or climb over...THAT'S IT! Its easy when playing this game to get wrapped up in the GoW atmosphere, and for a second forget where you are, think that you can move safely from location to location only to step out of cover and take a lethal shot to the face. At least Dark Sector (the second best third person shooter ever created; easily overlooked and under-appreciated due to it's lack of good multi-player option) proves that flawless GoW duck and cover system duplication is achievable. ...OVERALL: If you're a fan of the Gears of War series, I would either rent the game, or buy it used (so you can beat it and return it within the alloted 7 days), and build your own opinion. It accomplished what it should... It was a good "Hold me over" until GoW3 hits in April 2011. Cheesy as it was, that game was fun most of the time, but it really makes you appreciate the attention to detail that the makers of Gears of War take when designing a perfect game. ...ONE LAST SHOT: And if you're an exclusive PS3 player, you should definitely play this game. It's as close as you're ever gonna get to the flawless and angelic "Gears of War" .
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
7 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
crystalrosesanders
frederick, md
 
Please wait while more information about crystalrosesanders is loaded.
Additional information about crystalrosesanders could not be loaded.
I love it
Posted 2/23/11
First the controllers are very similar to GOW, which makes it easy to hop back and forth. Second the graphics are amazing!! Especially for a cheap game, and personally I like the monsters/demons better than GOW. Third I love have a hot girl by my side in combat. This game isn't suppose to be GOW, or they would of called it that. If you are bored with GOW 1 and 2 and biting your time with GOW 3 this is a great game to past that time.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Quantum Theory
Don't believe the hype
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/11
D4RKN3551NC4RN473
Location: Asheville, NC
This game may look and feel like Gears of War, but don't be fooled. It's just another game that is nothing more than a shameless clone that takes the style of game play from an amazing game series (Gears of War) and completely messes it up. Quantum Theory, I'll admit, isn't the worst game I've played (Vampire Rain being the worst ever) but it is down there at the bottom of the barrel. Don't waste your money; there are a lot of better $20 games that you can buy like Gears of War 2 Game of the Year Edition, or you could just put that $20 towards Gears 3 or Bulletstorm.
 
My Product Recommendations
Bulletstorm
6 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
Gears of War 2 Game Of The Year Edition
9.6 out of 10(38)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quantum Theory
Played Good
Posted on:9/17/10
kungfumonkey
Location: New York
I recently downloaded the demo and played it and enjoyed it. Nice graphics and effects and gameplay for a demo. Even if much is not improved on the final product, ill be happy playing this game. Check it out and give it a chance.
 
My Product Recommendations
Halo Reach Limited Edition
9.6 out of 10(100)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quantum Theory
Demo is out
Posted on:9/15/10
mosh
Just played the demo and the demo is not that good.Needs much improvement on targeting but just not that good of game.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quantum Theory
very much worth getting!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/11
xgeargodx
Location: wv
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is like singularity with a mix of gears of war so it would be a perfect game to add to your collection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quantum Theory
A pathetic Gears spin-off with good graphics
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
Zmoney
Location: clermont, florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In the terms of gameplay, this is among the bottom three in means of entertainment. This game takes Gear's mechanics and adds a few aliens. The aiming system, controls, cover system, and guns look just like the GOW systems. The highpoint is the graphics. They are amazing and detailed. Buy GOW and forget this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quantum Theory
This game is god awful
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/10
TonyHawk
Location: Caifornia
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
if you want my opuinion buy Gears of War this game is basicly a sad excuse of acopy of Gear sof War and for the price Gears of War is you minus well save a few bucks and buy Gears of War it has better game play better graphics and BETTER STORY LINE than this piece of filth i wish i can give this game a 0
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Quantum Theory
LOOKS GREAT!
Posted on:3/29/10
TOOL
I really like the way that this game looks. It does resemble Gears, but at the same token it does have its own look. The only thing I am worried about is I hope you don't have to do a whole lot of co-op with the female character. It should be mostly just him and you should be able to pass the game with out her.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Quantum Theory
the next big game
Posted on:5/12/10
BG Chronic Ownz
this game looks like gotter but alot better and i cant wait atill it comes out i pre-order it and i cant wait atill it comes out in july
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>