GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Enter a world where you are in command of Percy Jackson and his allies, as you battle for survival in a world ruled by vengeful Greek gods. Explore the world to reveal the hidden secrets of Camp Half-Blood, the Underworld, and even Olympus itself! Assemble your perfect team, then match wits and strength against fantastical opponents from the pantheon of Greek mythology: including Medusa, Hydra, and Minotaur!
Average Customer Rating:
6.556
6.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 956%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Review 1 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Percy Jackson (Review)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/13
lobothesacred3
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
=========
Story
=========
Story wise the game follows the plot of the movie rather well and only makes a few alterations. These alterations include a boss fight with Ares and the introduction of two new characters in the form of Isaac and Victoria. Another slight alteration is that Luke follows you throughout your journey as well and only betrays you at the end and leads to the final fight we see at the end of the movie.
I tend to find Isaac and Victoria to be a mixed bag as far as characters go. Neither of them have any real depth with Isaac tagging along to make sure the party stays safe and Victoria being added to the group so he can get away from his number one fan girl. And, of the two only Isaac is of any real strategic value since Victoria offers nothing that isn't covered by other characters or characters that have more useful abilities.
=========
Gamepaly
=========
Gameplay wise this game relies entirely on the touch screen. This can be a plus or minus depending on your feeling about the touch screen, but the game pulls off the controls rather well even if you are more fond of traditional controls.
Combat wise the game is a bit of a mixed bag. It introduces an AP system with a gauge at the top of the screen. As it fills up you'll each take turns when your half of the gauge reaches the middle. In the event of a tie your team will go first since it is favored by the Gods. On the plus side this system introduces some strategy to the game since you'll want to wisely select your ability options to make the best use of the gauge while denying your opponent's the ability to get in attacks. On the downside this system makes certain abilities almost indispensable around the end game and especially in the post game content. The biggest offenders in this area are Isaac/Luke with their haste abilities and Annabeth's ability to fill half of the teamwork attack gauge. And, since these abilities make combat rather easy you'll quickly grow bored of the system since you'll be repeatedly using the same tactics rather then changing your moves based on the enemy. Another slight problem I have with the system is that your characters can only have a select amount of abilities open to them at any given time with Percy getting three and everyone else being granted two. This means your ability slots will usually be filled with moves that can be helpful in any combat situation rather then encounter specific.
Another part of the system is the teamwork attack gauge that fills as you use certain abilities. Most of these abilities revolve around buffing are placing useful status effects on your team mates, but a few double up as offensive abilities. In all honesty, though the teamwork attack option is devastating in combat and can crush most bosses in a few hits and considering how easy the gauge is to fill up using certain characters, combat will come to fill like a joke.
On the downside the travel system is rather boring with you selecting points on the map and automatically moving there. On the map will appear certain icons which will indicate plot advancement, random battles, difficult optional battles, and post-game boss fights. Sadly, the travel is rather dull to watch as your character slides from point to point until it reaches it's destination.
Another slight downside is the character growth system. As you gain levels you unlock upgrade points when you reach a certain level and can spend those points to enhance your character. Sadly, you'll often find yourself locked out from spending your points on stat upgrades that you want unless you grind out a lot of levels. I tend to find this the worst part of the system since I can't enhance my attack power unless the game feels that I'm at the right level to do so. Another aspect of this system is the ability to enhance your character by using coins that you gain as you advance through the game. These coins tend to give stat boosts or enhance the damage of attacks of a certain type like fire or poison. Sadly, these effects aren't that noticeable and considering how powerful teamwork attacks are will largely go unnoticed.
=========
Graphics
=========
The game is ugly to say the least. And if that wasn't a big enough problem it reuses character models shamelessly. It sometimes recycles boss monsters as regular enemies in the underworld and just makes the enemy variety feel extremely limited. In fact, the total is easily under 15 if you ignore the post-game boss fights and boss fights with your own team mates.
=========
Sound
=========
Sound wise the game is highly repetitive with a few tracks repeated throughout the game. While none of these tracks are terribly offensive to listen to they'll start to grow old as you work your way through this 10 - 15 hour long quest. Outside of the musical scores you'll also have a few repeated grunts and screams that will quickly grow to irritate you. They serve little purpose and will make you want to turn the sound off even more.
=========
Lasting Appeal
=========
The game offers little in terms of lasting appeal to be honest. The game is so highly repetitive that you'll quickly grow bored of it to be honest and if you manage to slug your way through to the ending you'll only be able to do more of the same. Only you'll gain the ability to take on Zeus and other members of the Greek Pantheon in combat where you'll utilize the same tactics you used throughout the game.
=========
Scores
=========
Story: 9
Gameplay: 5
Graphics: 4
Sound: 5
Lasting Appeal: 1
Overall: 4.86
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
not good
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/12
MasterOfTheSilentRealms
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the gameplay is horrible. you barely do anything. the graphics are bad too. its pretty much a horrible game. i got it then sold it back a week later
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
good, could use some more 'adventure'
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/11
Alpha312
Location: Aurora, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Overall, it's a great game, but there's a lot of fighting, and not much stuff to do really, other than fight. I recomend this game for gamers who love fighting games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lobothesacred3
 
Please wait while more information about lobothesacred3 is loaded.
Additional information about lobothesacred3 could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
Posted 9/13/13
While, I agree that this game contains a lot of fighting it isn't of the type that I would recommend to fighting game fans. This isn't some sort of complex fighting game that relies on mastery of the controls but a turn-based RPG that utilizes an AP system that favors strategy. Albeit you can get by with a minimal amount of strategy using basic attacks, healing abilities, and buffs that raise the teamwork attack gauge.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Lame, bad graphics
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/11
Viper101
Location: Texas
The game was just pushing a few buttons on the screen and watching something happen. The graphics were blurry and stupid. Hated it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Pretty cool
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/10
hotstuff101
Location: ks
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the graphics aren't that gfreat but the game is super fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Percy Jackson and the Olympions: The Lightning Theif
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/10
Dangbacon22
I would not recommened Percy Jackson: The Lightning Theif, I bought this game hoping that this would be a fun game but I was wrong. I normally would have passed on this game but there were many good reveiws that said that this game was fun and a must buy so I bought it. Popped it in my DSi and I was not impressed. The game was very difficult, and first enemy is a Wingeded Godess boss battle. Although it has only 60 HP the game starts getting harder in the first 15 minutes (depending on how fast you play video games) which was not a good sign. Another thing I did not like was that the gameplay was slow and not entertaining. Your attacks are weak and it takes forever to knock out a single enemy, and the only thing you can do is tap the touch screen to defend yourself. But you will need to have very quick timing to block a fraction of damage you take. I would have stopped playing this game about a half an hour after I started but I was hoping that something fun would happen like I would get some new attacks or powerful characters but all I got was a water jet attack for Percy and that does 6 damage. (When most enemys health starts at 60 HP in the beggining) I have nothing against Percy Jackson, I loved the Movie and Books. They were all funny and full of action, but I guess I took my chances and bought this game new. Which means i cannot return it if I openned the case, or I could get 6 dollars for trade-in value. I made a mistake and bought this game I did not like so I am telling you to vot buy this game so you do not have to waste 30 hard earned dollars on this game. ~Dangbacon22
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
9 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Better Than Expected
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/10
tacticalspy7
When I went to Gamestop and bought this game new, I did not know what to expect. I put it in my DSI and it was love at first sight. I literally could not put the game down. You go around fighting through people on the quest for the Underworld. You learn new attacks along the way and even get new characters. The storyline is great but the length of the game isn't the best. Well, it didn't seem long to me because I would play it for hours non stop. You can not make a game much better than this one. Sure all you do is fight monsters and what not but the gameplay is incredible. It has an excellent use of the touch screen and the storyline keeps you on your toes at all times. If you die fighting, the consiquences aren't very bad. All you need to do is just restart a battle or two. This game is definetly a must have.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
A Must Have For Percy Jackson Fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/10
haloguy
When I got this game I thought it was gonna suck. I mean, it's for the DS! The Spiderwick Chronicles DS game was terrible. I put it in, played it, and it is ADDICTING!!! I love it! The game has a great challenge and length and it is really fun and addicting to play! You play as Percy, Annabeth, Grover, for some reason Luke, and some guy named Isac who wasn't in the book or movie, that might be why he sucks in the game. The game is addicting and your play it for hours on end. The Percy Jackson series, dare I say it, is better then Harry Potter. It has more adventure, action, and depth to it. Harry Potter is good, but it's too dark and serious. Percy Jackson does have it's dark moments (the end of the titans curse) but HP has too many. So this game is addicting and if you like the Percy Jackson series, you'll like this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
dolphinboy
 
Please wait while more information about dolphinboy is loaded.
Additional information about dolphinboy could not be loaded.
Number 1 Contributor
I AM AHUGE PERCY JACKSON FAN!
Posted 6/27/11
THIS LOOKS SO COOL AND I CAN'T WAIT TO GET THIS AND CHOP OFF MEDUSA'S HEAD!
Customer Avatar
percyfan101
camp half blood
 
Please wait while more information about percyfan101 is loaded.
Additional information about percyfan101 could not be loaded.
love percy jackson
Posted 12/14/10
i love percy jackson. its awesome! i hope its as realistic as the book because the book was better than the book. playing luke... ugh that must be a nightmare...maybe were playing kronos! ahhh! (kronos taking over lukes body is horrible!) yet i hate luke very much!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Awesome game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/10
yoyogamer45
Let me just start off by saying this is ONLY a DS game. You can't really expect that much from handheld systems. But I have to admit this is wicked fun! The graphics are pretty good, the storyline is okay, but all in all it's just great and fun. You get to play as Percy, Grover, Annabeth and Luke. The whole game revolves around you fighting everything you encounter. It is fun, because you can level up and everything to! You get points for every time you strike an opponant and you try to kill them by lowering there health. It is VERY addicting and will keep you playing for hours. This game is by far one of my favorite DS games. When I bought this I was thinking, wow they only made this for the DS? But it's great! I still want them to make this game on the 360, PS3, Wii or stuff that make it cooler and the storyline better and look cooler. But hey, if you want it to be on bigger consoles, then buy this DS game and maybe if they see it has good sales, they will make the future movie games of this series on different consoles.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
upset
Posted on:1/31/10
Anonymous
This movie has been looking pretty bad. He has the watch which turns into a shield and he doesn't get that until another book. Plus it looks like Percy and Annabeth kiss in this movie and I don't recall that in the book. And I'm very upset they only have this game for DS, who plays DS anymore
1 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Can't wait.
Posted on:1/30/10
Devon Vargas-Velez
I read every single book also and it turned out to be one of my favorite books ever. The game looks like it captures the books very well. I can hardly wait
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Epic?
Posted on:1/27/10
Tetris Master
I have read all of the books also and personaly I believed they rock but I don't know if the video game will too. I looked at the images and the graphics don't look good and it does not seem to capture the adventure and fun of the book. I probably will not buy this game.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
theif
Posted on:1/17/10
hrdcore gamer
i read all the books 2 and thought they were great i expect the same fom the game and movie.
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
This will be awesome
Posted on:1/17/10
Daniel r
I have read all of his books and they are awesome, the movie looks epic, and this videogame is going to rock
1 of 3 found this review helpful.