GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Record of Agarest War Limited Edition

Soul Breeding! Tired of just living through one lifetime in typical RPG titles? Then witness the Soul Breed system! Choose a bride at the end of your adventure and give birth to the hero of the next generation! Newly Engorged with Content! Enjoy an enhanced version of the game based on the Japanese release of Record of Agarest War: Reappearance! Hot pix included! Exclusive Trophy and Achievement Support! The North American version of Record of Agarest War is the only version in the universe, and all the other places too, to have trophies and achievements!
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
Review 1 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
Japanese Super Hit Finally comes to America
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/10
Kr1msyn
Record Of The Agarest War Was Released Quite a while Ago in Japan and it Finally made its way to American Consoles after being a huge hit overseas. The Game Relies on Turn Based Grid Style Combat during fight scenes. Attack Selection is similar to that of Final Fantasy Tactics. One Nice Feature is the ability to place other party members into Link position and perform devastating linked attacks. The Music is Japanese style as is the voice overs. Character Customization is well done giving you the ability to customize each armor and weapon you accquire and the skills you obtain Even character formation placement for up to 6 active members. Don't Pay much mind to this Dating sim element there is no nudity and its only there so that you may continue your adventure as your child once the game is done. This game is a must play if you're a fan of Japanese Anime or Turn Based RTS/Rpgs like Final Fantasy Tactics or Spectral Force.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
An epic SRPG with a touch of dating sim!
Posted on:4/9/10
Stunner
Record of Agarest War is a massive SRPG that spans five generations where the player will experience five different heroes in a tale of love and war. Aside from fighting against the imperials, players can make a choice to "date" among the available girls in each generation. With enough "love rate", the player can marry the particular girl and produce an offspring for the next generation. That offspring's stats will be based on its parents' stats. Thus, introducing the unique Soul Breeding System. Record of Agarest War also features Monster Guild that lets player capture monsters and enemies and recruit them to your party. Don't like them? Then fuse two monsters together. Or trade in monsters for items and weapons. Blacksmith Guild lets the player upgrade their weapons or combine two weapons to create a more powerful one. Gallery Mode lets the player view images during their progression and also unlock secret arts for your viewing pleasure.
Review 3 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
Actually worth the 60 $ =D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/10
DylanTwilight
I was skeptical about buying this game but that changed. Originally it was the pillow case, cd, and mousepad kinda pushed me to buy it. (FYI on the mousepad the characters breasts are gel wrist supports so they are elevated) i started playing and i wasnt wowed cuz of what ive read up on, but like any game it gets better, funner and easier when you get into it. I like the sprites, in other words the 2d characters but if u dont you may be able to get around that. the strategy game play is ur simple map with a grid, different maps and formations can be obtained. Battle can be fun when you get into it and you know what your doing, the battle music is actually really good and in my opinion makes up for some of the ground lost for the 2d sprites. Now the dating sims element =], it is always fun to have this kind of gameplay especially with anime. Mostly what it is, is there will be some events, like 1 girl wants help cooking, or they are all having problems so u gotta pick wut girl to help and ect. Another way, and this way can stink cuz u dont exactly know how it will affect your relationship status with the three girls (a generation) so say u can go around to a town or go thru a town and battle ur way to ur destination, so it will increase or decrease their affection with you. ive read that it is hard to get the girl u want becuz u dont straight choose it depends on who feels most for you, but i havent had any problems, the 1 i have had is there will be an event on the map and it involves 1 of the girls, that u can choose any choice in it and u will like buy something for that character and their affection will increase automatically. If you like JRPGs then i recommend this being a SJRPG. If u like rpgs in general i still recommended trying it, and since it comes with the extra stuff for the same price of a new game why not? Dont judge the game without playing it =] 10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
pillow case?!
Posted on:2/20/10
ZOEY VS THE ZOMBIE
SOLD! i don't usually use a pillow (don't have one) when i sleep, but i do play a lot of video games so when i read that you get a pillow case with this game and this game looks like its Japanese animated and a dating sim with rpg action ( i don't know leave me alone) but it looks nice and i guess i will have to buy a pillow now.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
Well Worth the Package!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/10
Stunner
The Record of Agarest War is a huge SRPG with an added mix of dating sim and its unique soul breeding system. Here are the lists of pros and cons. Pros: - Limited Edition comes with a mousepad, pillowcase, game and ost all in a huge box - Beautiful character designs and image gallery - Sharp HD sprites - Deep items and weapons creation system - Monster Guild for catching and combining two monsters to form a different one or trade in monsters for rare items and weapons - Aside from having achievements, there are in-game "achievements" that reward you with rare items and weapons for completing certain tasks - Game spans five generations where the next son's stats and appearance is based on who you marry - There are dating sim elements where you can raise your Affection Level by choosing the right conversation and paths to take - Multiple endings with new game plus - This is a really long game, enough to fulfill your enjoyment for at least 80 hours Cons: - Using sprites seem outdated for the current gen consoles - Gameplay can be repetitive since there are battle points set all over the map - No English dub - Each generation becomes more challenging thus required grinding and thought out strategy - Stages are plain and empty, could have been done better - No animated cutscenes except for opening and ending
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
First Otaku game.
Posted on:2/23/10
Kenji-socho
Wow,if this doesnt scream Otaku,I dont know what will. Im so getting this lol.
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
Generations-Remember Phantasy Star?
Posted on:2/24/10
Skybase
Phantasy Star III - Generations of Doom. First game I remember ever offering multiple generations of RPG goodness! you'd finish the first part and feel like it was a worthy game, only to be offered a second generation, depending on who you married. Not only once, but 2 times leading to 3 generations of gameplay. Although I haven't read up much on this game and just heard about it today, it looks to deserve a little more attention. I will definitely be reading up on this title a bit more, and perhaps get my hands on that.....mousepad.
Review 8 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
A Dream Game for anime lovers and hardcore SRPG fans alike
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/10
Vibe
Record of Agarest War is one of those indie hard to find "I've never heard of that" games. At first glance it appears to just be a poor attempt at a dating sim; atleast that's how it's been advertised, but it is nothing like that in the least. There is a bit of a dating sim element in the game but the majority of the game revolves around intense strategy and leveling your characters in the right way to give them the advantage. You gain levels and you also will recieve PP which is used to raise certain stats on your characters, Strength, Intelligence etc. The combat itself is very reminicent of games like Disgaea and Final Fantasy Tactics and if you liked those games you will love this. While the graphics are nothing to run home about they are nice even if the majority of them are no greater than PS2 but gameplay makes up for it's lack of shine. It should be noted that during story events the character drawings that talk do look very nice and the evironment itself is 3D and lush; it is the character models that are outdated but I personally enjoy the way they look because it gives it that classic feel. If you love anime you'll love this game regardless, the language is already set to Japanese with English subtitles and if you are a hardcore SRPG fan you will enjoy this as well and may find it quite challenging especially if you start out on Hard mode instead of normal. Give this game a shot it's not widely known but it seems like it has Sleeper Hit written all over it so go out and give it a try.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
Don't Beat it, til you try it
Posted on:2/16/10
Camdude
Look this game is so awesome and it is not that vulgar with it's T for teen rating and It's gameplay looks sweet I am looking to buy it when it comes out and Others out there that are already in disgust with ths game then you need to take and deep breath jump in freezing water and see if you think that doing the swim really was explicit or a new experiance
Review 10 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
To heavy an edit.
Posted on:2/23/10
Vonalray
After lookin at the pre-view vids and screens, this game just dosent seem to live up to what it advertises as. All nudity in the game is heavly pixilated, which kinda ruines the reword for wooing a girl for 6 hours, and the combat has been shown to be standard fare. Even for a 2-D game, its not very pretty.
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
Looks like classic goodness to me.
Posted on:3/28/10
Anonymous
The censored vid that Vonalray was talking about is a joke advertisement, the game is T rated and doesn't have any nudity in it. After wasting a week of my life on FF13 I need some REAL jrpg goodness, I'm defenetly picking this up.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Record of Agarest War Limited Edition
Give life to a new hero in your own image?
Posted on:2/16/10
Aesir
Woow this game sounds interesting! After you finish your adventure and you have the chance to give birth to the hero of the next generation! a legacy..is what we want in life and this game can give us just that! I'll preorder it!