GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reigns the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace, whilst creatures of evil roam free wreaking chaos and death upon the living.Gabriel is a member of the Brotherhood of Light, an elite group of holy knights who protect and defend the innocent against the supernatural. His beloved wife was brutally murdered by the evil forces of darkness and her soul trapped for eternity. Neither living nor dead she realizes the horrific truth of what is at stake and guides Gabriel to his destiny - and hopefully salvation for the world... but at what cost?Thus, Gabriel must travel the destroyed world, defeating the evil tyrants in order to use their powers to bring balance back to the world. Armed with the versatile Combat Cross - the world's last hope must encounter the three factions of the Lords of Shadow and end their unholy rule.
Average Customer Rating:
8.056
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
10 stars
27
9 stars
20
8 stars
5
7 stars
5
6 stars
1
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
56 out of 7179%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Review 1 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
One of the best games I've played in a long time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/13
Bigalaz11
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One of the very few 10's I've given a game. Sure the gameplay is like God of War, but so what, it's a masterpiece of gaming. The graphics and backdrops are jaw dropping so many times throughout the game, the story is great, bosses galore, super long game so you get your moneys worth, awesome sound and music, fun puzzles and extras. I haven't enjoyed playing through a game so much in years and years. It seriously is that good!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
I love the Castlevania Saga
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/13
Pollard
Location: Phoenix, Az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I really can't put into words how great this game is, while playing this game I just didn't want it to end. Graphics are so good you could eat off of them. The sound is excellent it has that scary erie effect, the gameplay is awesome. This game is under gamers noses and they don't realize it. This is one of my absolute favorites in my library. A true gem.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Starts off slowly, but gets better
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/13
pvnc4life
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I didn't like the first couple of levels of this game at all. I forced myself to keep playing and I'm glad I did. Once you get further into it, this game is pretty fun. I really liked the combat in this game. It's very fast paced and you have to keep hitting and dodging. It doesn't get boring and mundane. I thought the characters and storyline are exceptionally well done and it's one of the main reasons I liked this game. I also liked the environments in each level. They are different and look very detailed. Some of the bosses are fun...and some just aren't. I HATE the giants!! It's also worth noting that the background music fits the game very well.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
very good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/13
Papichulo8812
Location: L.A, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love this game. its very long but the story line is very interesting. soooo many different enemies. this game is worth buying
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Really Impressed me!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/13
Sonata
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i was i little skeptic about the game after hearing that it was a "god of war clone". though it is very inspired in gameplay but there are other mechanics like the light and shadow magic that u have to use constantly for example, among other things that set this game apart from god of war. The game blew me away in every aspect: story, graphics, level design, gameplay, boss fights, voice actors, music etc. and also the game can be quite challenging which is a plus for me. im a fan of the castlevania franchise since super castlevania 4 and im glad i picked this one up, is the best castlevania title i have played in a while in my opinion, recommended to anyone how likes castlevania games or action games/ hack and slash games in general.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Awesome.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/12
HolyWarriorcm
Location: Oshkosh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
IGN Thought the Combat Was Dull But I Dont Think So! a Cross as a weapon to fight evil? GREAT IDEA! :D, I Completed the game on Squire Mode! Cant Wait For the Sequel! :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
A fresh, mature direction for Castlevania
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/12
Electronaut72
Location: Acworth, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Castlevania: Lords Of Shadow is a more refined and mature take on what we know as a 3D Castlevania game. True, it does borrow many gameplay elements from God Of War--such as quick-time events, giant bosses, and puzzles--but these things have become the standard for action games. You also won't find much in the way of classic Castlevania tunes here, as they've been replaced with orchestral compostions like one would expect to hear in a fantasy RPG (although, there IS an homage to the old theme during the music box stage). Still, the spirit of Castlevania is very much intact in the beautiful scenery, characters, and various monsters you'll encounter. Lords Of Shadow is not without it's missteps, though: The titan boss fights are a bit tedious, many of the combos you can acquire aren't useful against the bigger enemies, and there are perhaps a few too many puzzles. Lords Of Shadow comes up just shy of the quality of other action titles such as God Of War, but it's still worth checking out. It's quite lengthy for an action game (I estimate around 12-15 hours for most on the first playthrough) and should certainly please Castlevania fans who stick with it to the end.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
yessss love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/12
Tricia21
Location: MIAMI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I LIKE THE SCENE THAT YOU GET TO UPGRADE UR WEAPON BUT U HAVE TO UPGRADE UR WEAPON ENABLED TO GO BACK AND UNLOCK SOME OF THE SECRET AREA...THE MAIN PART THAT I LOVE WAS THE CHESS GAMES.. THAT WAS SO FUN CANT WAIT TILL PART TWO COMES OUT YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
WATCH FOR ACTION BUTTON DURING MOVIE SCENES
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
CHOPPERJIM
Location: LYNN,MA
THIS GAME IS ONE OF THE BEST IVE PLAYED.LOVED THE GRAPHICS AND STORYLINE.IF YOU LOVE FIGURING PUZZLES,KICKING VAMPIRE,WHAREWOLF AND MONSTER BUTT WITH THE CLIMBING ABILITIES OF UNCHARTED...THIS IS THE GAME FOR YOU.....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
I loved this game and would definitely recommend!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
Lucyismybaby
Location: Kansas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Apparently this game doesn't follow the same kind of gameplay as the older Castlevania games. Well, I never played any of those! I loved this game, it's a great adventure game. The puzzles aren't too terribly difficult overall, I did have to look online for some help with a couple of them though. The graphics are really well done and the ending is amazing. I don't think it has a great replayability opportunity, but maybe that's just me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
the end is predictable
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/11
SuperRamiro
i got this for my birthday, so i playit, is entertained, but the end is predictable, I am not sureif it is a castlevania game, from the beginning is ambiguous in that aspect, perhaps an alternate history
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Not what i expected
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/11
evilguy54
This game is not a castlevania game. It is not set in a castle. It should just be called lords of shadow. Castlevania games are supposed to be set inn a castle. every other castlevania is. This was a huge waste of money. Just save your money and buy something else this game is not a castlevania game.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
PrinnySquad
 
Please wait while more information about PrinnySquad is loaded.
Additional information about PrinnySquad could not be loaded.
Posted 7/11/12
Castlevania games never started in the Castle. They started outside of the Castle. Symphony Of The Night started up in the castle and from there after, all following Castlevania's began within the Castle.
Customer Avatar
MothaBrotha
Megaton
 
Please wait while more information about MothaBrotha is loaded.
Additional information about MothaBrotha could not be loaded.
uh
Posted 6/8/12
uhh, castlevania games originally started outside of the castle...
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
An underrated masterpiece.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
ThatGamerGuy1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First of all, this is the first Castlevania game I've ever played so I'm not comparing it to any of the old games. This game is absolutely incredible, it has a gripping and exciting story, a stunning musical score and excellent voice acting, beautiful graphics and very fun and satisfying gameplay. I know a lot of people troll on this game because it's similar to other games but if you judge this game for what it is, it's amazing. Just because it may have been inspired by other games doesn't mean it's bad or that you should hate on it, for example I was desperate for a hack n' slash game to fill the void after I finished God of War III 7 times (huge GOW fan) and this game did so perfectly. A great game any fan of the genre will adore.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cueva
 
Please wait while more information about Cueva is loaded.
Additional information about Cueva could not be loaded.
Posted 6/14/12
Dante's Inferno was fantastic, I strongly recommend playing this if you enjoyed playing GoW.
Customer Avatar
Gameplaya15
 
Please wait while more information about Gameplaya15 is loaded.
Additional information about Gameplaya15 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/6/11
You should play dante's inferno
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
FOR HARDCORE GAMERS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
jjsbrowser
Location: San Jose, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Castlvania Lord Of Shadow has been one of the greatest games I have played this year, if you never heard of the Castlevania series I would recommend any of the games to anybody. The graphics and sound to this game are gorgeous, my only grip with this game is the controlls they don't seem to function very well and blocking an enemys attack can become very frustrating. I beat this game on Knight difficulty and it was hard but still fun, I like that there are certain challenges after you beat a level to go back and play some more. I highly recommend this game for anybodys game library.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow is brilliant!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
LifeLongGamer
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's a shame that this game got overlooked by the majority gamers, it's truly amazing, people are such sheep nowadays that they'll only buy games with universal acclaim as if that means you'll automatically think it's great, people shouldn't take reviews too seriously as some will be bribed to give high scores and at the end of the day all reviews are just a person's opinion! Not fact. Anyway rant over, Castlevania: Lords of Shadow has amazing graphics and art-style, beautiful musical score and amazing voice acting and great gameplay. The games length is about 17-20 hours and has a lot of re-playability in that you'll have to re-play parts to reach previously un-reachable items. Boss fights and set pieces are epic and the titan fights are truly a sight to behold. Buy this game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Admeko
California
 
Please wait while more information about Admeko is loaded.
Additional information about Admeko could not be loaded.
Not Brilliant - Horrible
Posted 9/14/11
This game was terrible if your actually a Castlevania fan after so many years. Been playing it since the original one came out, and for a reboot, it was horrible. It copied God of War way to much, and wasn't copied that well. It's a medicore game, not for hardcore gamers. It's for casual gamers. I've been a hardcore gamer for years, and I know my stuff. You must be a fan boy of the game or something, because it deserves 7/7.5. It's good, but it isn't brilliant. And it doesn't deserve to be called Castlevania.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Game of Epic Porportions
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/11
Waescrower
Location: somewhere, USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved this game. I would recommend it to any one that likes hack and slash games with a little bit of challenge. It offers up a bit of difficulty with out making you mad to the point of cursing the game and everything else. The only real problem that i found with this game was the epilogue otherwise the game is beautiful and only furthers to add to greatness of the entire Castlevania series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Horrible Sequel
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/11
Skincarver
Location: Miramar,Florida
Copied God of War WAY to Much and wasnt even copied well.Boss battles require a timed button press to finish off thats simply ridiculous and a complete waste of time.Combat is repetitive and fighting "colossal" sized opponents becomes a problem with camera angles as well as simple jumps.Lament of Innocence and of course symphony of the night were both superior sequels to this.Hideo Kojima ruined the franchise for me and should never be allowed near established properties that arent his ever again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
PrinnySquad
 
Please wait while more information about PrinnySquad is loaded.
Additional information about PrinnySquad could not be loaded.
Posted 7/11/12
Lords of Shadow is a reboot of the series and has nothing to do with previous Castlevania titles. Let's be honest here, i would prefer this game over Heavenly Sword, that being my opinion. You want a copy cat of your Beloved God of War, rent Heavenly Sword and you're all good ;D
Customer Avatar
Admeko
California
 
Please wait while more information about Admeko is loaded.
Additional information about Admeko could not be loaded.
Really?
Posted 9/14/11
You think they copied God of War way to much and wasn't copied that good? Actually, your right. It's suppose to be a reboot of the series but seems like they wanted to copy a popular game and put 'Castlevania' on it. It doesn't have anything to do with the game series. -_-
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 18 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Freakin' Sweet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/11
Bruinsfan
Location: Midland, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I dislike the fact that you have to climb all over the bosses when you reach them, but other than that I really love it. I enjoyed the blue and red powers that you obtain. It really helps you out in some tough situations. You can also purchase new attack moves as the game goes on, but you really only use those against smaller enemies. Once you gain more powers and play throught levels, you can go back to previous maps and beat mini missions that will get you more trophies. I reccomend this game to almost anyone. I never played the other Castlevanias, so I don't know how well the story follows the other games, but I assume pretty well.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Very repetetive
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/11
Cooler0890
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is nearly identical to those of the God of War series. It has similar controls, similar combos, similar fights, similar puzzles, and similar death animations. I liked God of War and I like this game, but it is simply too repetitive. A lot of hack-n-slashing, There are a few cool combos and different ways to kill people, but when it comes down to it, all you have to push is square and triangle and things die.
The graphics are superb on this game. At first, I thought that The opening scene was just cut scene graphics, but it turned out that they were the game play graphics. They are excellent
To me, the replay value on this game is the worst part. Everything is very repetitive. I started skipping through all of the cut scenes within the first two chapters. You can imagine what I thought when I saw that there were something like 12 chapters with about 10 levels in each one. I had a sinking feeling when I saw this, and that's when I decided that I bought the wrong game. I am going to sell this as soon as I can.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Meh.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/11
jbl8199
Location: Johnstown, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I thought this one was a little dull. I got bored about halfway through and decided to sell it. The first couple of levels were pretty good, but it just gets a little repetitive after a while. Besides, I didn't like how they were trying to copy God of War with the gameplay. Castlevania just needs to go back to it's 2d roots. Those were the days when this series was fun.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>