GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reigns the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace, whilst creatures of evil roam free wreaking chaos and death upon the living.Gabriel is a member of the Brotherhood of Light, an elite group of holy knights who protect and defend the innocent against the supernatural. His beloved wife was brutally murdered by the evil forces of darkness and her soul trapped for eternity. Neither living nor dead she realizes the horrific truth of what is at stake and guides Gabriel to his destiny - and hopefully salvation for the world... but at what cost?Thus, Gabriel must travel the destroyed world, defeating the evil tyrants in order to use their powers to bring balance back to the world. Armed with the versatile Combat Cross - the world's last hope must encounter the three factions of the Lords of Shadow and end their unholy rule.
Average Customer Rating:
8.056
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
10 stars
27
9 stars
20
8 stars
5
7 stars
5
6 stars
1
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
56 out of 7179%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Review 1 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Best Game this Year amd no its not a GoW Clone
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/10
Anonymous
Location: Jacksonville, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Since i picked this up I cant put it down Castlevania Returns too its roots in this re-imagining. The visuals are some of the best I've seen I really like Gabriel Belmont he is a much more eloborate Charecter than Kratos. It is a little slow at first but after the first 30 -45 in youll be hooked. The combatis the bread and butter of this game and no its not a GoW clone, dont get me wrong I loved the GoW series but to say they copied GoW is ignorant cuz Gow is a clone of sevaral games in one Castlevania Lament of Inocence which is one of m favorite CV's is where GoW got its combat but back to the Game in review for those hardcore castlvania fans out there this is not a metroidvania again its taking Castlevania back to the glory days of the NES and SNES but extremely polished and well presented andthere are a lot of references of previous titles and alot ofhomage paid Im only about half way thru but i really recomend this game to those new and old to the series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
worth the buy and a great addition to the series!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/11
cyklonus82
Location: corpus christi, tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I know its kinda late, but after a long break from the game (do to work haha) I finally got back to it and completed it...let me tell you it was AWESOME!!! The scenery and detail of the game is breathtaking...the voice acting is top notch...and the game play is challenging yet still allows any level of gamer to play. You can go from simple hack n slash or throw in some of the really cool combos and light/shadow moves. I have read that this game is a "reboot" of the Castlevania franchise which saddened some fans. But being a fan myself I was not heartbroken at all, there are SO many references to the original story lines that I really thought this was part of them. The ending definitely leaves you on the edge of your seat and wanting more!! Which wont keep you waiting for long because a DLC pack is coming soon that will continue the game where it left off and give you insight on what happened. So in summary awesome game and great addition to your video game library! thanks for reading! Cyklonus82 is my PSN name!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Epic.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/10
McNasty
Location: Gainesville, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
finally, a ps3 game with substance...don't get me wrong, i loved metal gear solid 4, the uncharteds, heavenly sword, and some others, but great games are few and far between. i'm not too familiar with the entire castlevania series, though i'm a big fan of kojima, and once i heard he had his hand in the works of this game, it became a must buy for me. at first glance, it may seem like a bit of a button masher, but don't let that steer you wrong. this game has depth and, like the description of many capcom fighters, it's easy to play, hard to master. it slowly introduces you to wonderful gameplay mechanics and stunning visuals with breathtaking boss battles and action sequences. furthermore, this game has a great length. i'm only a 3rd of the way through it and have probably invested about 15 hours. the story gives you just enough to keep you wanting more at the end of each chapter/subchapter and leaves you questioning the direction it's headed. all the while, the soundtrack fully submerses you in the world that is "castlvevania" and the believable melancholy of our protagonist, gabriel. i'd say "buy" it, hands down, but only if you have the time and focus to fully engulf yourself in this experience.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Epic Journey
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/10
ColumbiaLion
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Despite the negative comments about this game, I have to say I really enjoyed it. It is clear, as many have stated, the mechanics are a mix of previous action-adventure/platforming titles yet it was still interesting to me. I did not get bored of the platforming aspect and the battle components were very fast paced and fun. You take the role of Gabriel Belmont, a member of the Brotherhood of Light, who is fighting the world pervaded by evil spirits controlled by the Lords of Darkness. He is trying to bring back his love Marie and restore the connection between Earth (humanity) and God. The storyline becomes much more complex as it continues and is told in a book-like fashion with an ominous narrator who is following Gabriel.
To me, a person who has played through all the classic titles since the NES days until now, this WAS Castlevania to me because of the overarching themes of the game. The architecture and environments were absolutely stunning, detailed, and rich. They were some of the best worlds I've seen in a game, ever. Also, the boss battles were great in fighting and also who the characters were; they were very intriguing. Besides the gothic worlds, the soundtrack was grandiose and haunting at times which set the theme well. Lastly, the puzzles were great and some were insane! The length of the game was good too. So if you are looking for an action-adventure title, with solid storytelling and game-play I would recommend this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KIDGROOVE777
 
Please wait while more information about KIDGROOVE777 is loaded.
Additional information about KIDGROOVE777 could not be loaded.
Great game!!!!
Posted 3/6/11
I really don't understand y people keep comparing Castlevania with god of war remember Castlevania cane out way b4 GOW so if ne one is copying is GOW not Castlevania but relax there both good games geez. I'm old school so got to give Castlevania a little more credit but still like GOW.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
The Best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
MakanakiXIII
Location: Tijuana
honestly, this Castlevania is not a rip-off of anything, this IS Castlevania returning to its glory as was sentenced in another user review.
Lords of Shadow uses the old style of the clasic castlevania, you go trough diferent ''missions'' there are 12 chapters and each one of them have their own parts.. like, chapter 2 part 6. don't get me wrong, the game is NOT linear. now, the graphics are one of the most beautiful i've seen on this generation, the enviroments are awesome, the music is Epic and the boss battles ar memorable, specially the last one. this is indeed the best Castlevania ever made (for me at least) and it's an excelent way to show who's the boss here. =)
oh, and the limited edition Pwns.
 
My Product Recommendations
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Limited Edition
8.2 out of 10(21)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Very repetetive
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/11
Cooler0890
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is nearly identical to those of the God of War series. It has similar controls, similar combos, similar fights, similar puzzles, and similar death animations. I liked God of War and I like this game, but it is simply too repetitive. A lot of hack-n-slashing, There are a few cool combos and different ways to kill people, but when it comes down to it, all you have to push is square and triangle and things die.
The graphics are superb on this game. At first, I thought that The opening scene was just cut scene graphics, but it turned out that they were the game play graphics. They are excellent
To me, the replay value on this game is the worst part. Everything is very repetitive. I started skipping through all of the cut scenes within the first two chapters. You can imagine what I thought when I saw that there were something like 12 chapters with about 10 levels in each one. I had a sinking feeling when I saw this, and that's when I decided that I bought the wrong game. I am going to sell this as soon as I can.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
An underrated masterpiece.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
ThatGamerGuy1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First of all, this is the first Castlevania game I've ever played so I'm not comparing it to any of the old games. This game is absolutely incredible, it has a gripping and exciting story, a stunning musical score and excellent voice acting, beautiful graphics and very fun and satisfying gameplay. I know a lot of people troll on this game because it's similar to other games but if you judge this game for what it is, it's amazing. Just because it may have been inspired by other games doesn't mean it's bad or that you should hate on it, for example I was desperate for a hack n' slash game to fill the void after I finished God of War III 7 times (huge GOW fan) and this game did so perfectly. A great game any fan of the genre will adore.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cueva
 
Please wait while more information about Cueva is loaded.
Additional information about Cueva could not be loaded.
Posted 6/14/12
Dante's Inferno was fantastic, I strongly recommend playing this if you enjoyed playing GoW.
Customer Avatar
Gameplaya15
 
Please wait while more information about Gameplaya15 is loaded.
Additional information about Gameplaya15 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/6/11
You should play dante's inferno
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Complete Ripoff
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/11
l5lLionMassacure
This game simply raises your hopes and anticipation only to strike them down. This game has some of the best graphics out today, however that is not enough to make a decent game. the combat is copied from God Of War and is fast yet not really necessary. you can easily aquire only 2 or 3 combos and make it through the game with ease, the enemy units will have the same attacks over and over again with large units always using a shockwave and fling units constantly using sweeping attacks. some of the bosses are complete imitations of Shadow of the Colossus. Although this game can last around 10-20 hours those hours will be filled with irritation and anoyances with invisible walls and terrible camera angles. the story is barily here: with little dialogue and cutscenese that are so unimportant that you can skip every one with out missunderstanding the terrible plot. this game lacks imagination, creativity, and originality.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Heck yes!
Posted on:5/9/10
Skat
I am so glad a 3D castlevania game is finally being developed by studios with great track records. While some might say the last great castlevania game was symphony of the night... I say to you.... Have you even played the amazing gba/ds castlevania games? I think not with the exception of a few 2d games and a couple 3d games.... The castlevania series is amazing! The talent on lord of shadows looks to continue the trend...
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Castlevania: Lords Of Shadow (PS3) = AWESOME!
Posted on:4/24/10
XChoco_TacoX
I have been a fan of Castlevania since the original Castlevania (NES). The last great Castlevania game I've played and one of my favorite games of all time is Castlevania: Symphony Of The Night (PS1) after seeing the promo trailers of the NEW Castlevania: LOS I have to say I am impressed. My thing was that I was hoping for something like like Castlevania: SOTN but, if they can make this work (and so far it looks amazing) I will be happy! I've noticed the comparisons to the God Of War series and I say this: what's wrong with that. Considering the Castlevania games on the PS2 were okay at best what's wrong with using a proven winning formula?! as long as the graphics, music, and gameplay are up the Castlevania standards that I love I'll be happy to purchase this one the second it comes out!:)
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
This is a brilliant game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/10
zerohijk
Location: fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of the best games ive played all year the whole thing just blew me away great music ,amazing story some of the best graphics ever with an amazing artstyle.The boss fights in this game are so epic and awsome .If your thinking about geting this game do yourself a favor and pick it up asap
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow is brilliant!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
LifeLongGamer
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's a shame that this game got overlooked by the majority gamers, it's truly amazing, people are such sheep nowadays that they'll only buy games with universal acclaim as if that means you'll automatically think it's great, people shouldn't take reviews too seriously as some will be bribed to give high scores and at the end of the day all reviews are just a person's opinion! Not fact. Anyway rant over, Castlevania: Lords of Shadow has amazing graphics and art-style, beautiful musical score and amazing voice acting and great gameplay. The games length is about 17-20 hours and has a lot of re-playability in that you'll have to re-play parts to reach previously un-reachable items. Boss fights and set pieces are epic and the titan fights are truly a sight to behold. Buy this game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Admeko
California
 
Please wait while more information about Admeko is loaded.
Additional information about Admeko could not be loaded.
Not Brilliant - Horrible
Posted 9/14/11
This game was terrible if your actually a Castlevania fan after so many years. Been playing it since the original one came out, and for a reboot, it was horrible. It copied God of War way to much, and wasn't copied that well. It's a medicore game, not for hardcore gamers. It's for casual gamers. I've been a hardcore gamer for years, and I know my stuff. You must be a fan boy of the game or something, because it deserves 7/7.5. It's good, but it isn't brilliant. And it doesn't deserve to be called Castlevania.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Side scrolling is NOT dead.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/10
allofmynicknamesweretaken
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really have mixed feelings about this one. As everyone has said, it's definitely a God of War copy. The storyline is actually decent, but that's about all this game had. The giant boss fights are exact copies of Shadow of the Colossus. You climb them, stab their vitals, you win. This game CAN get difficult (even on normal difficulty). The fighting system really isn't all that well. Evasive dodging can be a huge pain and is extremely likely to fail, and there really is no point to block. Combo's are really unnecessary in this game also, you really just need to spam the square button and then roll and repeat. To be honest, I'd much rather play the DS titles or the classic titles (Such as Symphony of the Night) then this one. I would have been extremely content with this game if it kept the side scrolling action. All in all if you're a fan of Castlevania, you should just rent this one. This is a game I think I'll pass up on.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Herron
Indiana
 
Please wait while more information about Herron is loaded.
Additional information about Herron could not be loaded.
So much more than a GOW clone
Posted 11/11/10
After putting several hours into this game and absolutely loving every minute of it I quite frankly have to say that this game puts so much more into it than just a GOW clone. Maybe on normal this game can be somwhat similar due to combat being easier but on paladin there is the need of stratagy to get through it. All combos must be used so to those saying the combo list is pointless I urge you to challenge yourselves. This game is beautiful and challenging (the trials are at least) and if you want tto full experience this masterpiece of a game go buy it. With a story line taking over 12 hours to beat and replayability as high as it has it is well worth its price tag. Dlc is already in production as is a sequal so go play it and enjoy everything it offers. Don't go by what everyone else says is wrong with it. You'll be pleased with it if you like action and adventure games.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/11
lugongard
Location: seal beach CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
castlevania lords of shadow- your gabiel a man who works for the name of the lord and sent to shin the light of world from it's darkest time GAMEPLAY- the gameplay in this is new from the other previous castlevania titals but simular to god of war and dante's inferno but it suprisingly works well and upgrades are avalible to ur weapons but u can beat the game without doin much to it the battles can be a little clunky meaning the battles feel a little thick and unballanced at times making it a lil repetitive and unwelcome. SOUND and MUSIC- the sound design and music is nothing short of amazing the sound of it feels like ur in the action and the music is possibly some of the best coming from a game and the company really put there time into it. the voice acting is top notch and very well performed although gabriel sounds a little like orlando bloom GRAPHICS- the game is great nice and sharp the graphics are nice and again the company put in a lot of time and effort into it but some tare and texture pop in accure but now so much whare it becomes a bothersome with great lighting and enviorments it really makes u wanna take in the beauty of the art work OVERALL- this game is great with a great story and a suprisingly long game you'll get ur money worth of buying this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/10
Warmachine
Location: WV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been a die-hard castlevania nut since the good ol' nes days, played, own(or owned lol) and beaten every castlevania in the series, even creating a fan tribute game and remixing the old castlevania tunes to heavy metal, and this is QUICKLY becoming one of my favorites, be it 2D OR 3D!!!!! it sucks you in, and it doesnt let go! only thing that may stop you is a little thing like sleep lol. played it for few hours today and plan on wasting my entire day off tomorrow sinking my fangs into this fantastic game! Judging by what i've seen so far, the story grows, the monsters get meaner, the bosses get bigger and it looks like this is gonna be a doosie, not you're typical 3-4 hour game that everyone is used to beating here lately, im talking days people! I would recommend this to ANYONE!!!! get it! you wont be disappointed! - Matt -B.M.C
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
What can I say?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/10
Darrell
Location: Georgia
Great game. I have not played any Castlevania game since an old arcade side scroller too many years ago to count. LOVED this game!! The only comparison I am going to make to GOW is that this game is unbelievable just like GOW. I was impressed throughout the entire game. Great game play, excellent graphics, good story and everything. I was sucked in from the beginning (no pun intended...).
Great mixture of hack and slash along with great puzzles to solve. You never get bored with either being overdrawn too long. I just completed it after playing off and on since release date. Lots of goodies to go back and collect after finishing levels. Long enough to make it worth your money. I will hold on to this one to play it over and over again.
Overall, excellent choice for your PS3. One of the best out there for this system.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
A fresh, mature direction for Castlevania
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/12
Electronaut72
Location: Acworth, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Castlevania: Lords Of Shadow is a more refined and mature take on what we know as a 3D Castlevania game. True, it does borrow many gameplay elements from God Of War--such as quick-time events, giant bosses, and puzzles--but these things have become the standard for action games. You also won't find much in the way of classic Castlevania tunes here, as they've been replaced with orchestral compostions like one would expect to hear in a fantasy RPG (although, there IS an homage to the old theme during the music box stage). Still, the spirit of Castlevania is very much intact in the beautiful scenery, characters, and various monsters you'll encounter. Lords Of Shadow is not without it's missteps, though: The titan boss fights are a bit tedious, many of the combos you can acquire aren't useful against the bigger enemies, and there are perhaps a few too many puzzles. Lords Of Shadow comes up just shy of the quality of other action titles such as God Of War, but it's still worth checking out. It's quite lengthy for an action game (I estimate around 12-15 hours for most on the first playthrough) and should certainly please Castlevania fans who stick with it to the end.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Best rip-off ever!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/10
Marreck
Location: Canal Winchester, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Castlevania series has had a long and sorted history. We have seen many excellent variations and unfortunatly, an equal amount of not so excellent games. (N64...ugh). This game lacks the real Castlevania feel. The majority of gameplay takes place in open environments rather than the traditional castle dungeon environment. Having said that, this game was a pleasant surprise. the environments are very detailed and absolutly beautiful. The score is beautiful and very "Castlevania": The gameplay is the bigest surprise. Think God of War meets Drakes Fortune meets Shadow of the Colossus. The puzzles are challenging, and sometimes difficult to figure out where even to start. Some minor insturctions would have been nice, though the game will give you the answer for a small fee of upgrade points. Overall, the game was very fun, had a decent story narrated by Patrick Stewart, and had fun and varied gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 19 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Castlevania as it was orginaly ment to be.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/10
Anonymous
Location: Atlanta georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am 26 years of age and am a college student here in atlanta at spsu. I am currently sick with the flu, but decited to get this a few weeks ago and play it on a cold day or when classes finish. Do you remmeber playing castlevaia on the suepr nintendo? As a child you may rememebr the awe of the enviroments. The deathly chill of the swamp, the sting of Medusa's deathly gaze, the coldness of Frankienstiens undergroud lair, and even the halloween feel of the stables in level one. The feel of the waterfall passage and themusical score that to this day is one of the best in classis gaming, besides Earth bound, chrono trigger, super metroid, or even sercet of mana. Rememberth feeling of thouse games? The innovation? Well all tha comes to play here in Lords Of Shadow. The game is the series AS IT WOULD BE IN REAL LIFE. It is no longerf or kids, but for the adult in us now as we have grown older. It IS how the game would be should you actually have to go trhough this in life. The soundtrack, gaming, graphics, adlisit a relistic feel, that can present the fear of resident evil games, or the revenge wanted of the legacy of kain games. The controlls are ALOT like Lament of innocence and there for plays kinda like a zelda game......It is a REEBOT of the series so it can be as it should. the story of a man, when faced with the injustices of life, and how deals with thouse trials. Castlevania lords of shadow is a worthy collection to add to your castlevania collection as you will ,as I do now, sit through a whole new and different experiance, that will leave you breathless and wanting a sequel. The game plays well and is worth the cash and can't wait for more like this...it's just like an well rounded piece of music well feat out, well rehearshed, and well done~please note i was always a fan of super castlevaina...and this may prsent a factor why i like this...it is just like it...:)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Hideo Kojima's greatest blunder
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/10
TheStriderKiwi
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
have you ever imagined a game that was supposed to be based off of a great video game series being made and then having nothing to do with the series? well that's castlevania lords of shadow. This game is more like a sequel to Dante's Inferno or God of War since the fighthing and combo system is exactly like their's only worse. This game glitched on me twice thus making me having to restart the level each time. The climbing aspect is like Uncharted 2's only it's a lot more faulty. Plus there are several increasingly frustrating moments in the game that scream out bad programming. But the worst part of the game is the story. Besides the fact that the main character is a Belmont, the game uses a couple characters from the more recent castlevania titles, but they are absolutely nothing like how they were originally. Plus the story gets confusing and ends up being a complete mess by the end (this is Kojima after all). This is undoubtely the worst castlevania title I have ever played and unless you are not already a fan of castlevania I highly recommend that you avoid purchasing this game ever.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fackeln
Atlanta
 
Please wait while more information about Fackeln is loaded.
Additional information about Fackeln could not be loaded.
This is not a Hideo Kojima game
Posted 10/11/10
Hideo Kojima had very little to do with this game. Spain developer MercurySteam developed Lords of Shadow.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>