GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reigns the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace, whilst creatures of evil roam free wreaking chaos and death upon the living.Gabriel is a member of the Brotherhood of Light, an elite group of holy knights who protect and defend the innocent against the supernatural. His beloved wife was brutally murdered by the evil forces of darkness and her soul trapped for eternity. Neither living nor dead she realizes the horrific truth of what is at stake and guides Gabriel to his destiny - and hopefully salvation for the world... but at what cost?Thus, Gabriel must travel the destroyed world, defeating the evil tyrants in order to use their powers to bring balance back to the world. Armed with the versatile Combat Cross - the world's last hope must encounter the three factions of the Lords of Shadow and end their unholy rule.
Average Customer Rating:
8.018
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
16
8 stars
6
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
44 out of 5580%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Review 1 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/14
dblperk
Location: Nampa, Idaho
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Awesome combat system puzzles and graphics. Great storyline, game is addictive. best hack and slash game I have played.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
GREAT game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/13
Bungus
Location: Washington
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just finished this game, and I just had to write a review about it. I loved this game. Its great story, amazing graphics, incredible story, beautiful soundtrack, fun gameplay, and many other things make this game one of the best I have played in a long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER MADE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
LordAlucard95
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game was one of my personal favorite games ever made. it was challenging at some parts of it but i beat it in 3 to 4 days after christmas and i was and yet i wasn't surpised by the ending because my friend got it the day it came out and i think it made some sense that the main character Gagerial turned out to be in the ending credits to being the prince of darkness DRACULA. I can't wait for lords of shadow 2, but i wish that you are playing as alucard but maybe if you beat it as gaberial you will get the choose to play the whole game over again was gaberial or alucard. THEY SHOWED ALUCARD AT THE END OF THE FIRST TRAILER ABOUT CASTLEVANIA LOS2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Lords of Shadows
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/12
Dontbite
Location: West palm beach
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Although the game's story differs from the original canon series, this is not a Castlevania that should be pushed away because of it. The game is beautiful in many ways. The sound is perfect (actors voices and music), the graphics are great as well, combining awesome animation with real-looking people and beasts, and the gameplay is also something to fully enjoy. I've seen people complain about the fact that the player can't control the camera, but personally I think that it gives the game the original Castlevania style, by making you see only what you should, and at the same time, hiding important items out of the frame, which makes you look for them so you don't miss them. And sometimes the game moves in such a dynamic way that mekes you feel some kind of adrenaline in battle. The game also has puzzles and the option of gaining experience points to buy skills that makes the main character, Gabriel, more powerful. And of course awesome boss battles. The only thing that looks off the game is the fact that we don't spend most of the time in Dracula's Castle, as most of the Castlevania series, but this is for obvious reasons that I will not tell for the sake of those who hasn't play the game. And finally the story, many can find it frustrating because is not the very original story that people have been following since the NES, but the story is so amazing that you stop caring about that fact and just wanna see how it ends. So buy it, you won't regret it, is really REALLY good.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
AWESOME GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/12
LordAlucard95
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
castlevania lords of shadow was an awesome game but i only had it for like a week and im wondering if it is worth trading in Halo Reach Limited Edition and a few other games for it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/12
R1cky
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game was amazing can't wait for the 2nd game. The story was a little confusing especially the end cause it never tells you what actually happened to Gabriel no I'm not going to tell spoilers lol.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Great Vampire Werewolf Slayer Game highly Recomend
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/12
DarknessisRIsing714
Location: Anaheim,Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I picked up this game believing it would be decent but to my suprise it was an actually pretty good game i love the dark gothic style to the castles and surrondings has an errie feeling to it plus the story line has many twists and turns that have you on the edge of youre seat highly recomend to other gamers! I will be pre ordering lords of shadow 2 without a doubt
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/12
R1cky
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game was amazing and so fun!!! I played it on the hardest difficulty on my first try it was kinda easy but still amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
get this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/12
rudyvampirekiller
Location: manchester NH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Best castlevania ever. just got this game 2 weeks ago, didn't get it before because of the stupid reviews. if you where born after 1995 you should get COD and play multiplayer online (waste of time) .... if you are a castlevania fan get this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Frustrating, Annoying, and BLAH at best.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
MrsShakey
Location: Fayetteville, NC
First I have to say that the storyline isn't Horrible, but I'm saying this very tentatively because I have never played any of the other castlevanias so to a fan it may be the worst thing ever.
BUT, the storyline gets pushed aside when the frustration of not being able to control the point of view of the character takes over. I very much Hate when games do that. I find it lazy on the part of the game makers. Though I can get over it if the storyline Good & can distract me from that issue, like Dante's Inferno, which this game did Not do.
Coming in a close second in the frustrating part of this game is repetitive nature of it. Every battle, may it be small monsters on a level or the Boss, is basically the same. I can deal with button mashing games, like Dante's Inferno, but again Storyline has to be good...which this one is lack luster at best.
I am playing it now & honestly don't if I can finish it because it is That frustrating...and I'm the type to finish a game no matter what.
So, Don't waste your money.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
This game is amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/12
Jrizzle239
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game itself has such a compelling storyline. Im playing through the game on the Knight, which is the hardest mode possible to play on without beating it first. The game is 2 discs and its really long which i love. Most games now-days end too quickly. I can see my self spending a LOT of time on this game. You finish a level and then it shows you that you've only completed 27% of it. There are a lot of secrets, upgrades, characters, everything! this game is very under priced for how good it is
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
worst castlevania
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/12
wooseley
Location: reno,nv
this game was pathetic they went for graphics instead of good gameplay purely pathetic game hope they do better next time or they will lose alot of fans of the series including me ive been playing since the first nintendo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Not your childrens Castlevania.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
B1ackHarT
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've heard alot of people say this game isn't Castlevania. Well, that really depends on what generation you grew up in. Since I've been playing Castlevania since it came out for NES, I would disagree. It's got alot of the elements the older side scrolling games had. This game is in a class of it's own, and in my opinion doesn't copy any games on the market, since this game franchise is older then any games on the market. Pros - Great grafix, the sound is superb, the controls and combat system is really easy to get along with. There are four difficulty settings, 2 for casual gamers and 2 for hardcore, plus completing each level on the "trial" setting can offer more achievments. Also Patrick Stewart stars as Zobek, your right hand companion. Cons - Alot of backwards level playing, completing tedious levels over and over once you've gained the ability you need to access a secret area. Finding yourself in situations where one hit and you're dead and you might be in a boss fight, or just fighting regular monsters, but there is a lack of staying at max health / items like all other Castlevania games. You have no control over the camera, there is no free-look so it's easy to miss caches and hidden areas. Button mashing in cut scenes? Wow really, this is just silly, a cut-scene is your reward for going through 1hr+ boss fights, which I assure you on knight / paladin difficulty every boss fight is an hour or longer. The game has two discs, I could careless what the reason for this is, but it's 2011 and I can't remember having to switch discs on a console game since playstation 1. Either way, it's a great game, goes a little too quickly on easy / normal difficulty moves at a decent pace on knight / paladin difficulty.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charliel48
Camden South Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about Charliel48 is loaded.
Additional information about Charliel48 could not be loaded.
Great Game!!!!
Posted 7/4/12
ok first off let me say, this isn't the NES or SNES or Playstion 1. Stop trying to compare the Castlevania on NES to Castlevania on xbox 360 or PS3. That's like comparing Super Mario Bros. to Mario Galaxy. This is the new generation system and I think they did an excellent job with this game. Yes the controls are a little fustrating but the storyline and gameplay is great. Lots of beat em up style of play. This game is by far or maybe greater than the Original castlevania game. It's also a long long game. Almost long as Final Fantasy 8. On 2 disk. I love that and I feel like I'm getting my money worth. Great game and pick it up.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Frustrating, to say the least.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
B1ackHarT
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There is no exploration, period. The game is completely linear & the hard . expert modes are not enjoyable at all. If you've ever played a 2D side scrolling version of Castlevania on NES and been so frustrated you wanted you break the cartridge, welcome to LoS. That and putting 'Castlevania' in the title are the only things this, and previous games have in common. Lack luster to say the least, seriously disappointed. I'm a huge Castlevania fan, and a gaming nerd period. It really doesn't take much to make me happy, with that being said this game was completed begrunginly so.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
One of the Worst Castlevania Games
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
Fish
Location: Kelso, WA
If you've played the 2D, old-school Castlevania games, then you should rightfully expect a lot from this next-gen title, yet unfortunately it does not deliver.
Apart from the generally average graphics, the story here is awkward, ridiculous and off canon from the other games; the ending in particular frustrated me with how completely insane it was. The game just pulled you out of it from the beginning.
Gameplay was also suffering. It felt nothing like the better games before it. No exploration elements, or multi-room travel that satisfied, as well as some infuriating boss fights that took upwards of 40 minutes to complete.
Lords of Shadow just felt like a put-off slogging through to completion. Not fun.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
B1ackHarT
North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about B1ackHarT is loaded.
Additional information about B1ackHarT could not be loaded.
Posted 12/31/11
okay this is 2011, the "next-gen" thing died along time ago, ofcourse it's next-gen, and has been since 2003. Obviously the bar is set high for games, and this game delivered.
Customer Avatar
Tomplexthis
Tucson, Arizona
 
Please wait while more information about Tomplexthis is loaded.
Additional information about Tomplexthis could not be loaded.
?
Posted 10/19/11
I havent had the chance to play it but the biggest thing to this castlevania is that they are redoing the series, the entire story has been rewritten due to this, thats why it is off canon, the demo of the game seemed fairly good, i liked the graphics they look awesome, it seems like itd be hard, and the music is castlevaniaishy, but not as good as the 2d ones, a true castlevania fan knows the 3d ones to be sort of lame, but curse of darkness was awesome, i just want to play this one because it looks interesting
Customer Avatar
ProphetOpeth
 
Please wait while more information about ProphetOpeth is loaded.
Additional information about ProphetOpeth could not be loaded.
Posted 9/10/11
What you, and many other people don't realize, is that originally the game was only supposed to be called Lords of Shadow. Castlevania was added on later as a marketing ploy. This is why it's not a 2D side scroller like the originals. This game has been bashed several times due to this, and people overlook the fact that it has a solid story line (Patrick Stewart narrates extremely well), solid gameplay, and an amazing soundtrack to boot.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 16 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Arise, Prince of Darkness...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/11
TheThree4
Location: Tennessee
God seemingly has lost faith in humanity and a spell has been cast to seperate the heavens and the earth. It is up to Gabriel Belmont to follow a prophecy to collect the peices of the Godmask to either save humanity or do with it as he wishes. The story pulls you ever deeper as you move from disc one to two. Perhaps the closest platforming to God of War as it gets, the Combat Cross and the Gauntlet you wear on your hand provide for a full book of combos and magical attacks. The gameplay looks repetitive, but never feels like it. The mythical beasts you encounter along the way prove worthy at any difficulty. While you watch Gabriel grow stronger, you begin to wonder just who really is the more evil at heart. The hero, or the villians?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
ending wasnt great...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/11
thor10
Location: Camarillo,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i think lords of shadow was an awesome game...some people didnt like it because the gameplay was similar to god of war...whats wrong with that??you think god of war is the only game that can have that type of gameplay?? there is nothing wrong with that gameplay..all three god of wars are awesome...the thing i didnt like about this game is the ending..i mean i know they were just probably trying to do something different for once but i mean com on..belmont becoming dracula?? didnt see that one coming..i just think its stupid that belmont became dracula..its not supposed to be that way lol..but i really didnt mind it that much..just gotta wait and see what they do witht h next game...the graphics are amazing too..the gameplay is also awesome......i wouldve given it a higher lasting appeal and overall rating if the ending wasnt like that...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Lords Of Shadows
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
BlackReaper
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ya i noticed Some things were taken from other games like god of war and such others. The game play is comfortable for both systems graphics for this game blow most out of the water, the story-line it self is as dark and twisted as i thought just from the name. Sounds and voice overs were well done its a semi long game but i like better than G.O.W but opinions vary
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Superskills12
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about Superskills12 is loaded.
Additional information about Superskills12 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/10/12
well you sound like it's the first in the series no thie castlevania games were origninally on the nes
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Its hardly worthy of the name "Castlevania"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/11
thelonius
Location: america
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is not castlevania. Its a mis-mash of a slew of other successful games. The fighting is taken from God of War the climbing reminds me of uncharted and they borrow from Shadow of the Colossus in such a blatant manner its almost embarrassing. This game lacks all of the things that made castlevania such a terrific franchise in the past. If you've never played castlevania and like most of the big games that come out, then you will probably enjoy this. If you are a die hard fan you will feel betrayed. I feel if the game was simply called Lords of Shadow and I bought it with little or no expectations I would have been happier with my purchase. My expectations were to high for this one and Castlevania let me down. All that said the graphics are gorgeous. It is probably one of the best games to watch the environments are breath taking and the attention to detail is stunning but its a two sided coin. You quickly realize how little of these beautiful environments you are allowed to explore. Furthermore the scenery is not always what you would expect from the Castlevania universe. When I'm climbing ancient ruins in an Indiana Jones esq jungle its easy to forget i'm playing Castlevania.
I hope in the next installment the developers become aware that what they had is what made them great and attempting to appeal to a larger audience will strip them of their identity. Symphony of the Night was a double-edged sword for the franchise. They created a new standard they would struggle to top for years to come and have yet to even match.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Two Epic Discs You Must Get Into
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/11
danishruyu
Location: Atlanta
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has reached the level of one of the best and most notable Action-Adventure games in history. The game has passed beyond my expectations. One of the biggest parts of this game was the music which gave an epic tone towards the Castlevania franchise. The game itself is long and difficult to play. This game is meant for anyone, not just Castlevania fans, but anyone because of the game's quality as a success. The graphics were rich in detail and might as well surpass te graphics of any video game in the near future. The only slight issue is the story which starts out weak in the beginning but gets stronger as the game progresses. This game is a must have game for anyone interested in a challenge like this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>