GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reigns the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace, whilst creatures of evil roam free wreaking chaos and death upon the living.Gabriel is a member of the Brotherhood of Light, an elite group of holy knights who protect and defend the innocent against the supernatural. His beloved wife was brutally murdered by the evil forces of darkness and her soul trapped for eternity. Neither living nor dead she realizes the horrific truth of what is at stake and guides Gabriel to his destiny - and hopefully salvation for the world... but at what cost?Thus, Gabriel must travel the destroyed world, defeating the evil tyrants in order to use their powers to bring balance back to the world. Armed with the versatile Combat Cross - the world's last hope must encounter the three factions of the Lords of Shadow and end their unholy rule.
Average Customer Rating:
8.018
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
16
8 stars
6
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
44 out of 5580%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Review 1 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Not your childrens Castlevania.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
B1ackHarT
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've heard alot of people say this game isn't Castlevania. Well, that really depends on what generation you grew up in. Since I've been playing Castlevania since it came out for NES, I would disagree. It's got alot of the elements the older side scrolling games had. This game is in a class of it's own, and in my opinion doesn't copy any games on the market, since this game franchise is older then any games on the market. Pros - Great grafix, the sound is superb, the controls and combat system is really easy to get along with. There are four difficulty settings, 2 for casual gamers and 2 for hardcore, plus completing each level on the "trial" setting can offer more achievments. Also Patrick Stewart stars as Zobek, your right hand companion. Cons - Alot of backwards level playing, completing tedious levels over and over once you've gained the ability you need to access a secret area. Finding yourself in situations where one hit and you're dead and you might be in a boss fight, or just fighting regular monsters, but there is a lack of staying at max health / items like all other Castlevania games. You have no control over the camera, there is no free-look so it's easy to miss caches and hidden areas. Button mashing in cut scenes? Wow really, this is just silly, a cut-scene is your reward for going through 1hr+ boss fights, which I assure you on knight / paladin difficulty every boss fight is an hour or longer. The game has two discs, I could careless what the reason for this is, but it's 2011 and I can't remember having to switch discs on a console game since playstation 1. Either way, it's a great game, goes a little too quickly on easy / normal difficulty moves at a decent pace on knight / paladin difficulty.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charliel48
Camden South Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about Charliel48 is loaded.
Additional information about Charliel48 could not be loaded.
Great Game!!!!
Posted 7/4/12
ok first off let me say, this isn't the NES or SNES or Playstion 1. Stop trying to compare the Castlevania on NES to Castlevania on xbox 360 or PS3. That's like comparing Super Mario Bros. to Mario Galaxy. This is the new generation system and I think they did an excellent job with this game. Yes the controls are a little fustrating but the storyline and gameplay is great. Lots of beat em up style of play. This game is by far or maybe greater than the Original castlevania game. It's also a long long game. Almost long as Final Fantasy 8. On 2 disk. I love that and I feel like I'm getting my money worth. Great game and pick it up.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Frustrating, Annoying, and BLAH at best.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
MrsShakey
Location: Fayetteville, NC
First I have to say that the storyline isn't Horrible, but I'm saying this very tentatively because I have never played any of the other castlevanias so to a fan it may be the worst thing ever.
BUT, the storyline gets pushed aside when the frustration of not being able to control the point of view of the character takes over. I very much Hate when games do that. I find it lazy on the part of the game makers. Though I can get over it if the storyline Good & can distract me from that issue, like Dante's Inferno, which this game did Not do.
Coming in a close second in the frustrating part of this game is repetitive nature of it. Every battle, may it be small monsters on a level or the Boss, is basically the same. I can deal with button mashing games, like Dante's Inferno, but again Storyline has to be good...which this one is lack luster at best.
I am playing it now & honestly don't if I can finish it because it is That frustrating...and I'm the type to finish a game no matter what.
So, Don't waste your money.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
This game is amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/12
Jrizzle239
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game itself has such a compelling storyline. Im playing through the game on the Knight, which is the hardest mode possible to play on without beating it first. The game is 2 discs and its really long which i love. Most games now-days end too quickly. I can see my self spending a LOT of time on this game. You finish a level and then it shows you that you've only completed 27% of it. There are a lot of secrets, upgrades, characters, everything! this game is very under priced for how good it is
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Arise, Prince of Darkness...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/11
TheThree4
Location: Tennessee
God seemingly has lost faith in humanity and a spell has been cast to seperate the heavens and the earth. It is up to Gabriel Belmont to follow a prophecy to collect the peices of the Godmask to either save humanity or do with it as he wishes. The story pulls you ever deeper as you move from disc one to two. Perhaps the closest platforming to God of War as it gets, the Combat Cross and the Gauntlet you wear on your hand provide for a full book of combos and magical attacks. The gameplay looks repetitive, but never feels like it. The mythical beasts you encounter along the way prove worthy at any difficulty. While you watch Gabriel grow stronger, you begin to wonder just who really is the more evil at heart. The hero, or the villians?
 
My Product Recommendations
Prince of Persia Bundle
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
GREAT REBOOT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
psykat
Location: TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Some reviews said this has nothing to do with Castlevania. They were wrong. The lead character is a Belmont. There ARE Vampires in it. You do have a form of whip. You get to use daggers and you can revisit places later on in the game when you have more powers ect. That being said. The graphics are amazing! The controls are pretty tight also. The musical scores shines in this game as brilliant as the vistas in many scenes. It is taking notes from God of War yes but is that a bad thing? I highly recommend this game to GOW fans AND Castlevania ones also!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Very Good Game!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/10
AndroidRewster
Location: Post Falls ID
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay to begin with, Castlevania Lords of Shadow is very different from the rest of the Castelvania series. It's not a 2D pixel graphic game, it's a 3D, third person adventure game. Konami had wanted to go back to the original feel of being a lone warrior, slaying monsters with your whip. The actual feel of the game reminds me of God of War, or Devil May Cry. It's cinematic, stylish combat and Puzzle Platforming offers much challenge on an epic 2 disc story. The Trials offer lasting fun, and multiple playthroughs, followed up by the secrets, and adventuring. Honestly, I believed the story to be a LARGE stp up from the recent Castlevania's which were basically "Hey let's go kill Dracula!" Gabriel Belmonts wife was recently murdered by an evil force that rules the land. So, Gabriel set's out on the quest to defeat the Lords of Shadow, and collect fragments of a mask powerful enough to bring the dead back. And so the adventure begins! I would reccomend this to anyone looking for deep story, well-done combat, and fun platforming. Thanks, Bye!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dan9912
fl
 
Please wait while more information about dan9912 is loaded.
Additional information about dan9912 could not be loaded.
best game ever
Posted 11/18/10
do not ask me why this is my favorite the gameplay is awesome the grahics are awesomw the story is good gabriel bellmont is awesome no problems about the game i do not care about the camria that is all
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Looks and Sound Amazing!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/10
Cricket
Location: Spencer, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This Castlevania has a great story to it! The fight seqences in it are fun and the music is great too! I haven't played through all of the game yet but the game sucks you in from the very beginning! The graphics in my opinion are also great too! If you like a good story game and you love to play Castlevania games then please don't hesitate to buy this game as soon as possible!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Castlevania Meets New Generation
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
Anonymous
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Any classic gamer knows of the whip lashing, monster slaying Castlevania series. Classic 2D sidescroling action at its finest. Many thought it impossible to make Castlevania into a decent 3D game ( Castlevania 64 and Castlevania Curse of Darkness were failures). However, Castlevania Lords Of Shadow shows its worth on the next generation consoles. From the graphics, to the whips, its all here, with a good familiar style of gameplay. At first, you may think youre playing God Of War, but the second you pick up a secondary Knife weapon, youll give a smirk and say "Oh yeah, this is Castlevania." Good fresh gameplay, superb graphics, and truly stays true to the classic Castlevania, this game is worth the 59.99. The only sma complaint is that it may feel a bit to similar to god of war, but hey, what 3D explorer doesnt?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Castlevania Impressions
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/11
VA1N
Location: Baltimore, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Castlevania: Lords of Shadows (from here on out, Castlevania) is not the most original of games. It's combat is heavily borrowed from God of War, but don't take that as a bad sign. There's been a lot done in gaming over the years that make original forms of combat or item management hard to innovate. So, borrowing ideas or methods from other games becomes the norms. As long as you borrow and add your own twist, things are ok in my book. And that is what Castlevania does, it borrows the combat (namely the whip like attack vs. Kratos' chains) and builds upon it.
The combat in Castlevania is one of the biggest draws and something you'll be doing a lot, so thankfully it works well. You hit one button to do normal attacks, while another does a weaker area attack. After slaying enemies, you'll earn experience and can unlock additional moves. Health is earned by finding gems to put in an amulet. When you have 5, you get an upgrade. You also get two forms of magic that you can switch on during battle. This gets a little confusing but bare with me. As you attack people, you build up concentration. When your concentration is at max, enemies begin to drop orbs. If you are hit, you lose concentration and have to start over (usually 5 hits or so build up concentration to max.) You collect orbs by pressing R3 or L3. R3 builds up your shadow magic which makes your weapons do more damage. L3 builds up Light magic which gives you health for every hit you perform (invaluable in my opinion). You switch on the magics by hitting the bumper buttons when you have the bars filled. You can turn them off when you want so the game gives you incentive for not getting hit, you are your own health pack. I really like this feature and it works well. This goes hand in hand with the "building your own upon an existing idea." The combat is very God of War-esque, but this adds a little flavor on top to make it their own.
The game is not entirely about combat though. You will have other obstacles you will need to overcome on your way to the end of the game. Puzzles are placed throughout the game which have you turning levers and moving things. I'm not a big puzzle gamer, but I did enjoy the ones so far. They aren't too tough (at least not yet) and the option to forgo experience in lieu of getting the answer is a nice feature. I've only had to use that once on a crank puzzle that had me at wits end. If you have the internet handy though, the puzzles are all online somewhere.
Besides puzzles, the other game mechanic you will run into are Titan battles. Titan's are basically humongous enemies that require you to memorize a path up their body to destroy weakpoints before tumbling the beasts to the ground. They are graphically impressive, but that's about all. I found myself loathing the second one I hit because it's not all that fun. You just memorize a path up the body and then hit X repeatedly as you bash the weak spot. When they try to whack you off, you move out of the way. If hit, you have the repeat everything (except the smashing since you already did it) and continue up the body to the head where the final weak spot is. It's not bad, it's just not that great. I've done two and I'm not sure if there are any more coming since the previous one I bested was considered "the last Titan." Hopefully that's true.
The story in Castlevania is actually quite good so far. You play as Gabriel Belmont, a warrior of Light who is tasked with bringing down the Lords of Shadow. Recently, Gabriel's wife was killed by the forces of evil so he is fueled by not only righteous fury but cold hearted revenge. You'll begin the journey in a small village being attacked by Lycans (werewolves) and make your way through a forest to meet the old god Pan. Pan will set you on your journey to destroy the Lords of Shadows and your tasks begins. I'm almost finished the first disc (Xbox 360 version comes on two discs, PS3 has one blu-ray) and the story is very good. Some big plot events are taking place and the pace of the game is great. Story buffs, you won't be disappointed.
Something that adds to the story and makes it more believable is the excellent voice work. Konami has spared no expense in getting amazing voice talent. Gabriel, the main character, is voiced by Robert Carlyle, whom you may know from Trainspotting and the Full Monty. Another character in the story, Zobek, is voiced by Patrick Steward of Star Trek fame. The rest of the cast may not be as familiar by Hollywood's standards, but they are all fantastic in their own right. From the gruff voices of the Lycan lords to the seductive vampires, it just works. You'll be thoroughly engrossed in the story thanks to their roles.
Another high point of the game is the graphics. You will see some truly breathtaking vista's and painstakingly detailed rooms on your journeys to defeat the Lords of Shadow. I played both the PS3 and the 360 version of the game and didn't notice anything that would separate the two. I didn't investigate down to the pixel, only through playing.
So, suffice to say the game is a blast based on all the positive's I've listed above. It is, but don't get me wrong, it has it's hangups too. As any action game, the combat can get repetitive. You'll be killing enemies in one area only to move to another and have to kill another horde before moving on. This is just the nature of these types of games and if you aren't into the constant battles in action games, this game isn't going to sway you with any new features. Sure, it has the magic that I spoke of earlier but that's not a game selling point, just a nice bonus.
Another downside to the game is that it's a Castlevania game in name only. This game could have been called Vampire Hunter and been fine. The Castlevania name only depicts that the franchise is going in a different direction. So far, I think it's succeeding and with the announcement of the sequel in the works, we'll be seeing more.
Well, there you have it. My first impressions of Castlevania: Lords of Shadow. I'm impressed by the game so far and I'm having a blast playing it. It's a very long game too, coming in just short of 20 hours with most people that complete it. Your enjoyment of it will be directly linked to how much you like action games and the supernatural (vampires and werewolves, not so much aliens). So, if have already played the game or are thinking of picking it up, let me know. Also, ask away if you have any questions.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
$40 Game, $60 price tag
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/10
Grimm
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One thing is imminently obvious from the very beginning of play: this is a God of War / Dante's inferno type game. You've got a long chain weapon and two basic types of attack: weak, wide area crowd control, and strong, linear direct attack. If you've played God of War or Dante's Inferno, this should be old hat (Inferno a bit more than GoW, actually). This isn't necessarily a bad thing... just indicative of the game type. Outside of combat, it's somewhat similar as well... platforming using your weapon as a tool and the occasional puzzle. That's all well and good. Is it something that, in retrospect, I'd be happy to pay $60 for? Nope. Add in the pre-order bonus shirt, and I'm happy with it, but unless you're a major fan of Castlevania, or the GoW gametype, wait for the price to drop a little.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AlucardClone
TX
 
Please wait while more information about AlucardClone is loaded.
Additional information about AlucardClone could not be loaded.
Game of the Year Contender!!
Posted 10/12/10
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow is by far the best game I have played this year. The gameplay all around is polished and top notch and in my humble opinion puts God of War and Dante's Inferno to shame. I just want to shout for the world to hear "The King of video games has returned!" Now for the details. The game is twelve chapters long and in each chapter there are several stages or levels. The level set pieces are amazing and constantly have me entranced in their graphic glory. Many pay hommage to past locations found in many Castlevania games. The set pieces remind me of the best scenes from an epic movie like Avatar for instance, but instead of having smaller scenes in between these epic moments Lords of Shadow just keeps throwing them at you. The game tells an entrancing story that sucks you in. What was the best fantasy book or novel you've read? I will always say the Hobbit. Lords of Shadow gives me the feeling I had when reading my first Tolken novel. The story and voice acting are that good. The game does such a wonderful job keeping the Castlevania feel. Whether it be in the combat, the ui, or the story. One of the nicest additions the team at Mercury Steam was able to include is the ability to adjust the ingame combat display. If you have ever played Symphony of the Night you know how important the relics were to that game and what kind of enhancements they made to the gameplay. Examples were that you could have the game display the health bars of the enemies and so on and so fourth. Well, in Lords of Shadow after the first level the majority of the stuff can be turned on or off depending on your preference. I like it on because it gives me that Castlevania Symphony of the Night feel. I like seeing my damage numbers and the amount of experience I am getting. I am sure others will like take the more realistic route. If your a Castlevania fan I highly reccommend you turn it on. As far as setting it apart from God of War and Dante's? I feel those games are excellent action games, but Castlevania has always taken the best of the Action genre and the best of the RPG genre, and the best of the platforming genre and incorporated it into a clean and polished package that was all its own. I feel like the team at Mercury Steam was able to achieve this with Lords of Shadow. I can't wait for some DLC, and the next game.… The game sets up the next games in the series for some serious encounters with Lord Dracula himself. The majority of the negative reviews and trolls just showing up to post once and then leave. This game deserves all the credit it can get and more. It is by far the best game I have played for several years if not the best game of all time in my opinion. It might fall second to Arkham Asylum. Attempting to describe the scope and quality of this game is near impossible Mercury Steam really put in the time and effort with this title and it shows in eveything from the level design, art direction, and overall quality of the title. This is truly a master piece and you must experience it to fully understand how good a game it really is. I just hope it gets the credit it deserves so we can have a sequal.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
What games should aspire to be.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/10
Dave2514
Location: Atl, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As the title says, this game is what all titles in this genre should aspire to be. There is a fantastic story behind the game, that's the first crucial part. Second, there are some amazing game mechanics involved in this game, the fighting style is quick and totally controllable and customizable. Practically limitless fighting styles to choose from given what they've developed. Those are the 2 main things that EVERY game needs. 1 A story worth telling, 2. a game that's FUN to play.
That being said, this game takes you through untold numbers of enemies, each totally distinct from the previous. Each with their own weaknesses, each with their own fighting styles, and you find new enemies on practically every level of the game. The world is immersive, the architecture and game design is near flawless, and the talent is top shelf. Again, this is what all game should aspire to be.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Entertaining game thats worth your money
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
Psycom
Location: Montreal
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Premium title thats worth playing. Excellent graphics, tight controls, addictive gameplay that will keep you playing for hours. Bottom line, get it!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
freaking awesome game
Posted on:9/26/10
castlevaniafan
Location: new york
This game looks amazing it look like the castlevania franchise got a major reboot i pre order it and i cant wait.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Very good game but not Castlevania
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/10
JayJAY1151
Location: Gaitherburd, md
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I just finished playing this game and it has to me to the point that I want to write a review to get the word out, I AM DISAPPOINTED. As far as graphics go the game is absolutely gorgeous, but thats where it stops, this is NOT castlevania, all of the elements that make Castlevania what is it are missing. 1st there is the actual Castlevania...its missing where is the renowned castle? I mean seriously its what the title is named after. Draculas true identity per this game? I'm 50/50 about that it throws off the belmonts vs dracula a bit, the Grim Reaper was an absolute joke, a reboot of the series? no way, Ive been playing Castlevania since the 1st one for nes, no way can I throw away all that history, Richter, Trevor, Simon, Alucard etc. not to mention the time put in trying to figure out the timeline lol, lastly the game play, the camera views are just as bad as lament of innocence the controls I actually found were worse, so many times did Gabriel want to go in awkward directions, the music from lament of innocence was much better, house of scared remains alone is better then any tune on LOS, the sub weapon system of Lament of innocence was much superior not only were there alot more but the orbs multiplied it and made it that much more jaw dropping, also the story telling i didnt like much either, the whole "book chapter" thing is uninspiring\, yes lament of innocence used a cheap teleporting thing to get you to level but it gave you a feeling of actually being in the actual castlevania castle....friggin Eyyy, am i the only one that feels this way? vampires and supernatural creatures does not castlevania make, castlevania is deeply rooted and easily recognizable, this is a ggod game but should have been name something else, definitely not castlevania
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Instant classic to add to the Castlevania vault
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/10
GukeNuk3m
Location: Tonopah, NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Excellent game, fun, addictive, intense scenery, blissful soundtrack and easy to jump into. Yes i know everyone thinks God of War and Dantes inferno... but those were great games as well, why should that style of gameplay be limited from any potential greatest hits? All that aside as a die hard Casrlevania fan, this is well worth the effort.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Might be the best game of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/10
DatDamnWombat
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is an all around great game.....One of the best I have ever played. Great story, beautiful graphics, and amazing gameplay. The only bad thing about this game is the fixed camera angle, it does take a little bit of time to get use to but its honestly not a big factor. I would recommend this game to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
uh-oh
Posted on:2/11/10
marcus234
This game just might be better than god of war just maybe im not jumping to conclusion but this is one everybody is sleeping on cant wait for this game from the same makers of metal gear im siked for this one!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Castlevania Forever!
Posted on:7/16/10
Transfan77
This game looks incredible and this will be a day one purchase for me from Gamestop. I have almost every US released castlevania game since its debut on the NES and i am very excited for this newest title in the franchise. The story to this one looks very promising and interesting and i already see this one keeping me up countless nights, i think the game will release in Octoboer and it cannot come son enough. If you are even mildly interested in this game i say pre-order it now from Gamestop to help Gabriel in the fight!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
ending wasnt great...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/11
thor10
Location: Camarillo,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i think lords of shadow was an awesome game...some people didnt like it because the gameplay was similar to god of war...whats wrong with that??you think god of war is the only game that can have that type of gameplay?? there is nothing wrong with that gameplay..all three god of wars are awesome...the thing i didnt like about this game is the ending..i mean i know they were just probably trying to do something different for once but i mean com on..belmont becoming dracula?? didnt see that one coming..i just think its stupid that belmont became dracula..its not supposed to be that way lol..but i really didnt mind it that much..just gotta wait and see what they do witht h next game...the graphics are amazing too..the gameplay is also awesome......i wouldve given it a higher lasting appeal and overall rating if the ending wasnt like that...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
A little God of War and Dantes
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/10
MAddogtank
Location: OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was a good game didnt really follow the traditional Castlevania but thats cool. Gotta like change in the video game industry. I think overall this game wasnt too bad. There were somethings that need to be changed. For instance as another reviewer said the camera r good awful. Defintely a good buy but make sure to keep the game guys the DLC for it is on the way and if anybody watched the aftermath of the credits all i got is one word: Dracula.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>