GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sid Meier's Civilization V

Sid Meier's Civilization® V is the fifth offering in the multi-award winning Civilization strategy game series featuring the famous "just one more turn" addictive gameplay that has made it one of the greatest game series of all time. Become Ruler of the World by establishing and leading a civilization from the dawn of man into the space age: Wage war, conduct diplomacy, discover new technologies, go head-to-head with some of history's greatest leaders and build the most powerful empire the world has ever known.
Average Customer Rating:
7.049
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
20
8 stars
4
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
42 out of 6169%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Review 1 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
The name we trust but the game we didn't want!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
Bdogs
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you played the CIV series from the beginning, this game will remind you of Civilization Call to Power. It has the name Civilization in the title, but it just does not fit in with the rest of the series. Hardcore CIV fans will be highly disappointed. The mechanics of this game is very different from CIV 3 and CIV 4. They seemed to dumb the game down, simplify the ways you can win, discourage huge empires by having steep unhappiness penalties, and streamline the game-play by making it seem very linear. The game has already had 5 patches since launch and it still has a save game bug. Search for "Civ 5 Runtime Error". The only thing that might make CIV 5 a good game, is their mod community. If you never played the CIV series this game might be for you but if you are a hardcore CIV fan you will be highly disappointed. If you must try this game wait until they fix the save game bug and if you are hardcore CIV fan, wait until Rise of Mankind MOD is release, maybe then CIV 5 will be worth playing.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dragonfire973
Skaneateles, NY
 
Please wait while more information about Dragonfire973 is loaded.
Additional information about Dragonfire973 could not be loaded.
Hmm...
Posted 1/4/11
I LOVE THIS GAME... although my CPU is junk. this my be because this is my 1st civ game. if this is the reason then i recomend it to peeps W/ fast CPUs and that are new to civ.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
A great civ experience
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/10
Ghatz
Location: Worcester,MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a huge civ fan, I love it, and this certainly delivers. The main thing I like about it is how different it is from civ 4, I mean the central concept and a few things are similar, but the team that made this really put a lot of work into making a great game. The fact that armies don't stack was weird to me at first but seeing it in game was great. It makes you actually feel like your commanding an army, not just 3 riflemen as the march to a city, suddenly multiply, and then conquer it. The use of money was also cool to me, buying land, instead of just getting it seemed cool and it gave gold a much more realistic use. Overall this is some great fun to be had alone or with some friends, the online, which I never review because online play is stupid, is actually fun when playing with friends, just a word of advice, never play it on marathon, one era will last like 8 hours, its pretty ridiculous.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
A must play for any strategy gamer!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
Radioshack
Location: Rhode Island
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have had this game since is came out. At first I was just in awe because the graphics were fantastic compared to Civ 4. I find the game much easier to play than Civ 4 in many ways. You get can use conquered cities as, "puppets" which allows you to own the city, but not have control over what is built which helps when you have a lot of cities under your control. Also you cannot , "Stack" units on top of another which aids in militaristic strategies because what you see is what you get. Also when you conquer a city you do not have kill every unit stationed in the city to take it over. All your cities also have the option to defend themselves without having someone stationed there(they through stuff at the enemy). Social policies add a completely different way to play your game as well. there is no religion aspect of the game but you can built a temple for the culture boost.
My least favorite aspect of the game is that Leonard Nimoy does not do any voices in the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
Sid Meier's Civilization IV
9.4 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Colonization
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
Civilization IV: Beyond the Sword
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nickelson
 
Please wait while more information about Nickelson is loaded.
Additional information about Nickelson could not be loaded.
Question
Posted 8/26/12
This may sound stupid and yes I know it tells you what OS you need, but will it work with MAC OSX? Please reply
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Solid Game - Exactly as I expected
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/10
gamer76
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I haven't had a single glitch with the installation or gameplay for Civ V. It's a new game, so one should expect that it will not run as quickly or the graphics won't pop as much on an older platform. My system is a Core2 duo 3.0ghz with 4gb mem, Windows 7, and a 8800GT 512mb Video card. I'm running it in DX10 mode with no problems. To those complaining about Steam...the driver behind this is to help reduce software piracy. The publisher needs some way to ensure that their product is not being copied and redistributed. Measures such as this will allow them to keep putting out the games we love to play. The new tiled format of the 'board' really adds a lot to the game. I've found that the change to not allow units to stack actually makes the game more fair in that the AI doesn't show up with stacks of units and run through your cities. Not having to build a road on every upgraded square is nice too. Don't hessitate to buy, solid game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Civ V improves without losing any of it's charm
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/10
DeadlyPrivate
Location: Colorado, Denver
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Remember the last game where you spend all night playing it without even wondering or caring what time it was? With Civilization V, that is quite common. The Series is mainly about trying to grow from a small little town to a gigantic empire while fending off attacks from barbarians and other Civilizations. One of the things that is differerent from the other series is that instead of having a Square based playing ground (A big chess board so to speak), it now relies on a hexagon shaped playing ground. The change is rather subtle as it now makes it more realstic to look at, and it helps make it feel less convoluted. Also the ability to stack units on top of each other is gone, which makes the game harder...which is a good thing I must add, as I find it rewarding to actually put Crossbowmen behind the calvery, and have them give support as they charge against a city. And I also am glad that they improve the combat, as I remember one instance in the last games that you could potentially kill off a giant Sherman tank just by simply having him be attacked by Men with BOW AND ARROWS. Now, it is based on many factors which I feel is how War really works. A massive addition to this game is City-States: A City that is not looking for conquest and just simply trying to survive. There are many variations of the City-States, and each one can ether be convinced to join your side or be blown to pieces by your artillery. I found it incredibly helpful to simply try for a cultural victory (Winning by building Social polices that will help your Cities and Units in many ways you want), and you need protection. Give enough gold to a City-State, and they will protect you and declare war on anyone who doensn't like you. Sadly, The AI is strangely lax as they tend to declare war on City States and on others for no logical reason. And sometmes, when you are trying to convince a Leader from declaring War, he will ask for peace by making you give him almost all your cites and troops just for that promise of peace...Yeah Right! And also, the Multiplayer is often buggy, and usually your expiernce is just waiting for players to join and for the game to connect properly. But, this entry in the long lasting series is worthy of being called "The best Strategy game of 2010"
 
My Product Recommendations
Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Warlords
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
19 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
civilization evolved
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/10
hoss
Location: dayton,ky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i am an addict when it comes to civ, i first played civ when civ 3 came out. civ 5 has many changes that make this game even better but there is some missing parts from civ 4 that should have carried over such as religion, being able to know who is friendly towards you and who is not, and a specific government type for your nation. i have read the reviews that speak of bugs and what not but on my computer i have had no problem running the direct x 11 version of this game other than when i load up my tiles are not defined but all i have to do to fix that is move my screen over the tiles and that fixes it. the elements they added to the fighting is phenominal it makes you actually plan ahead when you are at war, my best moment playing was when i was rome and the french, iriquious, and siamesse all attacked at the same time, it was intense. what really makes this game so much better than previous is the new unit "GIANT DEATH ROBOT" if you make these units before anyone else you will dominate the battlefield with the greatest unit in all of gaming history.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Civ V
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/11
bang133
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Civilization V does makes great improvements in regard to gameplay and graphics, while failing to truely take Civilization V to its full potential. First off, the combat gameplay in Civ V is easily the best part of the game. In past Civilization games, combat was only a challenge in the begining because after the player was able to build up a good military, he/she could stack units and basically create one big super unit. Combat was then focused around cities and the terrain didn't really matter. With Civ V, the player can no longer stack units and the placement of military in regards to the terrain is vital. This adds a new level of strategy compared to previous games that really helps to keep gameplay interesting after the first quarter of the game. In addition to gameplay, the graphics of Civ V are also great. Terrain looks much more realistic and each unit actually looks like a squad of soldiers instead of just one guy. Battle animations are much better than in previous games and are more enjoyable to watch. Although the graphics are top notch, you really need to have a great computer to be able to run this game. Yes, technically the minimum tech requirements say you only need a duel-core CPU, 2GB of RAM, and a 256MB video card. You should treat the recommended specs as the minimum requirements. While the gameplay and graphics are much improved from previous Civ games, some elements of strategy and diplomacy have been inexplicably removed from the game. For example, it is no longer possible to trade technologies with other AI players. This is a major problem for the diplomacy system because the player with the most technology tends to maintain that lead without having competition. In addition, the new feature of the "city-state" is incredibly weak. It takes a ton of resources and investment to gain favor with a city-state and the benefits of doing so are terrible. Diplomacy with a city-state is kind of a joke because the player can only choose to make a donation of gold to gain favor, or declare war on that city-state. There are no diplomatic alliances, no optional trade agreements, no protection pacts; really just not much to do with them. City-states feel like lesser AI civilizations that aren't worth the time. I have also found that the new technology tree progression isn't effectice because of the lack of AI technology trading. Something like mining might be required to learn a technology like armor making. If you are focusing on your military, obviously you would make armor making. However, you can't just learn mining after a couple of turns. First one might have to learn farming, which leads to construction, which may lead to some other random technology you don't need, which finally leads to mining, which you need to make your troops armor. Naturally there will be something else later in the game that you need and then you'll be forced to start the process all over again. Since you can't trade technology with other Civilizations, you have to learn it all yourself. This ulitmately creates a big slow down in the game that delays whatever your current end goal is. In conlusion, Civilization V makes some decent improvements from previous games but simplifies the game a little too much. Overall, I wouldn't generally recommend Civ V.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Eliian
 
Please wait while more information about Eliian is loaded.
Additional information about Eliian could not be loaded.
Civ Fan
Posted 11/1/11
Wow, thanks for the review. I have heard that if you are looking for an "improved version of Civ IV" that you would be disappointed. Still a pretty good game if looked at individually.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Change is inevitable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/10
Simsational23
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been a hardcore lover of the Civilization series since it first came out on the IBM around 15 years ago. The ability to research technologies, build armies, send ships into space, or expand your culture around the world is nothing new, but this game puts a fresh spin on things. It has been simplified so that people not familiar with the series can jump right in and have fun. For the hardcore people like me, it isn't everything I wanted but at the same time I do understand and appreciate it's appeal. The creation of policies to help guide your civilization was a nice touch. You can make your people live with freedom and liberty or create a totalitarian regime based on military strength and domination. My only real complaint about the game is the victories themselves. There used to be a video or something when you won, but now it's just a picture and that guy talking, doesn't feel like I accomplished much. I love the addition of Mods to shake it up a little, and I do agree with a lot of these reviews in that it doesn't live up to the series, but on it's own, it's one heckof a fun game if you have a good enough computer to run it properly.
 
My Product Recommendations
Civilization III
 
 
 
Sid Meier's Civilization IV
9.4 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
Rome: Total War Gold Edition
9.8 out of 10(24)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Real....... AWSOME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/10
Nintendofan
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played this and it is awsome! Having to learn certain techonologies to get to a new Era which each reveal some new units like the Medevial Era opens up Knights and Pikeman. The graphics are cool but they could be better, I mean the rivers are way to, uh, bad? I also like that the units walk around by acutally walking instead of teleporting there by walking in place; I also love that the boundaries can be grown and mold it the way you want it if you have enough gold! The inclusion of city -states and more units and buildings makes te game more deep. Overall, this game is the best and is highly reccomened for civilization fans and is totally different from other civilization games.
 
My Product Recommendations
Sid Meier's Civilization IV
9.4 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Good Overall Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/10
Damianfirehawk
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This Game is great, takes all the aspects of the pervious games and adds new things. Its does take a good computer to run this product, so dont buy it if your computer cant run it and then claim its a bad game. Game is great if you can run it. BUY IT!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/10
trurock5
Location: Charlotte, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
great game! the new improvments such as no stacking is great! The game is both perfect for those who are new to strategy games and for those who are experienced civ players. The graphics (expetionaly in the intro) are phenominal. The only reason this game did not recieve a 10 of 10 from ime is that at times it can be the slightest bit laggy. This problem does not harm the overall experience however. I highly reccomend this game to anyone who enjoys strategy games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Excellent Series, but missing one old feature...
Posted on:9/20/10
DrSpaceman
Location: CA
In the original the people rewarded you with an addition to your palace or mansion...that was awesome.
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charles119
 
Please wait while more information about Charles119 is loaded.
Additional information about Charles119 could not be loaded.
3 games late dude
Posted 9/30/10
I cant remember if it was in the second Civ game but it was not in the 3rd or 4th game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Pretty nice game, but I feel it severely lacks.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/10
Zenith881
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played this game since release and I have found it to be quite exciting, and it is worth the buy if you are willing to sacrifice key features that existed in civilization IV. The games hex-grid and combat design are awesome, the idea of having a spaced out overwhelming army is simply much more understandable than having 10-20 units on one single tile. Also the worker design is "okay" I wouldn't recommend using auto workers simply because the game lacks the feature for turning off the workers ability to improve on already improved tiles. Another great feature in the game is that you can no longer build infinite roads, you must pay for these roads and upon gaining certain policies(which I find to be an awesome added feature), you can lower the total cost of your road maintenance, roads now have more strategic importance. I feel that the game has very great performance, but simply lacks great features. Some features that I feel were important from Civilation IV, would be espionage, religion, vassal states, and a easy to understand reputation system for the AI players in the game. They've also added map feature which I believe take away from strategic advantage and I would under normal circumstances consider cheating, such as the ability to see where players are expanding long after exploring the section of land to which they have extended themselves. They're is no real trading advantage seeing as you can no longer trade technologies, while I can live with that, I feel it important that if you really want to trade a technology with another player, you should be allowed to. Permanent war has been included for if not everyone, the AI. There have been instances where I have wanted one friendly AI to cease fighting with another friendly AI, but the option wasn't available simply because they were in a state of permanent war. There is a lack in map features that I found were pretty useful in civiliation IV, on continental maps you could choose how many continents there were, the size, and if you included island, you could change there sizes as well. These are also some small bugs that I do think influence gameplay, but not on a great scale. Overall I feel the game is good, but I also feel that it is severely lacking.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Oh Happy Days
Posted on:3/20/10
Anonymous
Now in my 30s I started gaming on the Commodore 64 and Apple IIc. Kings Quest 1 was the most amazing thing I had ever seen. But I became an addict when I first played Civilization I. I cant count the hours I played in high school. Then in college it got even better with Civilization II, probably the single best version in the series. I got the numerous new versions that followed as soon as they came out. Civilization went different ways with the various tangents it went off on with each iteration. Each had its own different quark but none "felt" like Civilization. Civ IV finally got back closer to the classic addicting pattern, however just not there. So here I am waiting in anticipation for CIV V. Please get back to the classic model. Undoubtly I will buy it, with crossed fingers. I am sure it will be an 8 out of 10, but here;s hopping its a homerun.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Not the old game but not improved, just worse
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/10
patriots72
Location: sanford, fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This new version is no where near as good as the previous versions. Instead of working on the things that didnt work in the older versions they changed many things and dumbed it down a lot. No more big armies, at any levels but the lowest you have to follow a very specific process to survive until the modern era. At that point you will finally have enough gold, sciense, culture, etc. to expand. However, it only takes a couple of bombers and one land unit to tediously take over the world. You will spend many hours clicking 'next turn' with nothing to do. You better have a tv or another computer to play something on because there just isnt much to do in this game. The AI will give up after it reaches the modern era and never does a very good job to begin with. If you played previous games in the series or never have I would suggest sticking with or purchasing civ IV as an alternative.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
its a good game all-round, but long game sessions.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/11
futuremarine
Location: orlando, Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
alright, first of all, all the civ. games are pretty good games. civ. 5 was a nice addition. the changes, such as the hexagon tiles, add a nice tactical twist to the game. Sid also brought back the multiple unique units in civ 5.... unlike civ. 4 where each faction only had 1 unique unit. um... it's a pretty good game all round, no "bad" language that i've come across, the zoom-in(particularly in the moments of battle) is not as much as it could be, the individual games are very long, i cant say anything about the online multiplayer, because i dont play online. you cant pick your faction leader, like in civ 4(example: you cant choose between washington and lincon(yea i know i spelled that wrong)). the graphics are really good. all round good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
Civilization IV: Beyond the Sword
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Amazing! Definitely NO bugs
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/10
RonnieD
Location: Boston
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing right from the beginnig cinematic. The gameplay is long lasting and can be pkayed many different ways so that it doesnt get old. You can spend several hours pkaying this game and have fun. From the earlier review that sais there were bugs, I have played this game for hours on a computer that was high end 2 to 3 years ago and it runs perfectly with no glitches or anything. Granted that on my graphics card the graphics arent amazing as portrayed in screenshot but it is still an upgrade and you need to take your computer back because this game had a lot of hours taken into its creation and it runs smoothly.
 
My Product Recommendations
Sid Meier's Civilization IV
9.4 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Willtj93
Wagoner oklahoma
 
Please wait while more information about Willtj93 is loaded.
Additional information about Willtj93 could not be loaded.
Great game but a question
Posted 3/13/14
Ive played this on friends computers and its a really good game you get lost in it and time dissapears but if i bu y this via gamestop will i be able to install it on a computer because im planning on buying a new one once i get the money
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/14
ExtraDonut25
Location: Oregon, OR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've played hours and hours of this and it never gets boring! Great game for people who like fun rts games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
AMAZING!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/10
AJM76
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off, not sure what that other guy is talking about "full of bugs"...just because you're having an issue, doesn't mean the rest of the world is. The game is an amazing piece of strategy gaming. I'm running it on a 2 year old machine with the minimum specs and it's running smoothly. Gameplay wise, Civilization 5 improves upon Civ 4. The new grid based map makes flanking/combat way more realistic and strategic, and the user interface is great. Everything is streamlined (but NOT dumbed down) so that all of your information and choices are easy to see and access. Visually, the game pops with vibrant color and great land textures. The soundtrack is great as well. I bought the game day one and played for 7 hours straight, it hooked me immediately.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sid Meier's Civilization V
PLAY IT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/14
Joshuajhjh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is absolutely amazing! Addicting if anything. Not to challenging. Delegation may be a bit confusing at first. Easy way to kill time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>