GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

L.A. Noire

Amid the post-war boom of Hollywood's Golden Age, Cole Phelps, an LAPD detective is thrown headfirst into a city drowning in its own success. Corruption is rampant, the drug trade is exploding, and murder rates are at an all-time high. In his fight to climb the ranks and do what's right, Phelps must unravel the truth behind a string of arson attacks, racketeering conspiracies and brutal murders, battling the L.A. underworld and even members of his own department to uncover a secret that could shake the city to its rotten core. Using groundbreaking new animation technology that captures every nuance of an actor's facial performance in astonishing detail, L.A. Noire is a violent crime thriller that blends breathtaking action with true detective work to deliver an unprecedented interactive experience. Search for clues, chase down suspects and interrogate witnesses as you struggle to find the truth in a city where everyone has something to hide.
Average Customer Rating:
8.427
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (490 reviews)
10 stars
126
9 stars
89
8 stars
39
7 stars
21
6 stars
17
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
3
259 out of 32380%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for L.A. Noire
Review 1 for L.A. Noire
AWSOME
Posted on:4/5/11
minnybones123
Location: PA
ok let me put this straight my dad even thinks i should get this game instead of grand theft auto because come on your on the good side instead of being a freckin drug dealer your a cop
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for L.A. Noire
Roy Earle made the game good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/11
Tannertan
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Epic game!The story is good but kinda short :( BUT STILL A GOOD GAME!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Paul Blart: Mall Cop
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for L.A. Noire
Cover of Night - L.A.Noire
Posted on:4/17/11
sde71
Location: Eugene, Or.
Check out the cool prelaunch music trailer!: Cover of Night - L.A.Noire on youtube.com
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Cover of Night - L.A. Noire
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for L.A. Noire
No multi and no Piano gun....mixed feelings
Posted on:5/12/11
DocRictofen
Location: Goldsboro, NC
not gonna come here and lie....Im okay with the game being centered on the story...Bondi's done a ton of great work on all aspects insofar as I can tell and it looks like it'll be not just be perfect for but also maybe even demand multiple playthroughs!!!! which I can get behind since I've only been able to bring myself to run through the stories of Rockstar's other games only once.
But on the other hand not being able to get the piano gun ( a very nice looking Thompson) is gonna kinda suck.....but for that I guess I only have myself to blame... Being how I am a power up rewards member but didn't go and preorder soon enough....but that little bit aside I think I'll be able to deal with not having 1 fancy gun
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Call of Duty: Black Ops Escalation Map Pack - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
8.1 out of 10(129)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for L.A. Noire
good for da few hours
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/11
quicksilver1324
it is good for a few hours but there is no online play after you beat the game thats it
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for L.A. Noire
It's unique!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/11
Shizznic
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok so, this is not a average Rockstar game. This is way different. I think that is neat. The attention to detail in this game is relatively important throughout the whole game but in my opinion most things are simple. This game is not for everyone though, truth be told it is repetitive and it is kind of slow but I like detective work. if you don't like paying attention don't get the game because you need to if you want a free roam game look somewhere else. There is an aspect of it here but it's not a true free roam seeing as there is little to do other than your assigned missions. But all of these things I don't care about really. yes, disappointing a bit but the real beef I have with this game is that the story is complete garbage. Your constantly changing departments and partners and the cases are so short that you only get about half an hour of gameplay. These things don't ruin the game for me though because LA Noir is unique and maybe when the price goes down it would be a great buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for L.A. Noire
Change is Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/11
xXAgEnTOrAnGeXx
The game is different. Different isn't always bad though. It is not GTA, or Red Dead, but is its own thing. You go case by case, and in the beginning there is no free roam, but just solve the first few cases and you will be able to solve crimes at your own will. Free roam is different, because you can't just whip your gun out and shoot. You can only aim and shoot when you find danger. You travel with a partner, and the hand-to-hand combat is pretty cool too. There are some 20-25 cases to solve in the main story. That doesn't sound like a lot, but most will take around 45 minutes to an hour if you are playing them for the first time. There are also 40 side cases. In free roam you can take calls from dispatch and handle it with your partner. The game is pretty sweet. Don't buy if your just looking for some shooting action. The game is built around mystery, but when you get to the action, it is amazing. Chasing suspects on foot is my favorite. It's good for a change by catching criminals, when you usually are the criminal in a game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for L.A. Noire
Good game, but nothing to go crazy over
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/11
SwissMiss
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I haven't played the game all the way through yet, but after the first few cases I've started to realize that there's not much complexity to the game as far as sidequests and other things you can do. The graphics are amazing, yes, the game feels almost like a movie. The sound is magnificent and they really captured the feel of the 40's. But despite all that, just solving mysteries and responding to the occasional dispatch gets boring after a while! I feel as though compared to the incredible amount of things you can do in GTA and also Red Dead Redemption, this is a bit of a letdown. You can pick up as many or as few clues you want, at the end of the day there's minimal skill required to solve cases. In my opinion, the character of Cole Phelps sort of falls flat, as there is little to no chance for you to determine his actions or his characteristics. This makes it hard for the gamer to connect with him. Definitely not a bad game, but I'm not going crazy over this. GTA and RDR are much, much better.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for L.A. Noire
Game of the Summer
Posted on:5/16/11
Gyrojojo
Location: Cairo
Brendan McNamara, the writer, director and creative head at Team Bondi said that the original memory space was 6 or 7 disks but they've compressed them down to 3 which is still pretty amazing. The motion capture technology they've used in the game will not disappoint. There's also a difficulty setting for gamers that wish to take things a little tougher than the standard neutral feel that R* had always used. I'm anxious to see what rain and night will do to the face of a witness or suspect as they try to spill the beans. L.A. Noire will be the game of the summer with 20+ hours of play and even more with replay value and unlockables. A sandbox game without multiplayer may be a drag to some but the replay value of the game is worth the next play through and so on. What I find interesting about large, engrossing sandbox games is the amount of detail that was put in, the physics of the game engine and zone mechanics. The cause and effect of a crime, and, thankfully, the developers haven't forgotten any of that.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for L.A. Noire
Best Detective Game Of All Time
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
Anonymous88
Location: Daphne, AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you have EVER been a fan of detective games, especially the old point-and-click adventures on pc in the 90's, then L.A. Noire is a must have.
The gameplay is VERY similar to the old school point-and-click adventures, but with some newer sandbox twists. During investigations, you are free to roam around a nearly full scale 1940s Los Angeles, collect hidden items, find hidden vehicles and even answer calls from dispatch that lead to optional side missions.
Throughout the course of the game, you will play as an on-the-beat patrol cop and work your way up to being a detective. While you are a detective, you will be assigned to various desks in the department, such as homicide, arson, traffic and vice, so you will be able to play through all kinds of cases.
The graphics and sound of L.A. Noire are top notch. They are way too many actors to count in the game from film and tv and their performances are just as good as on the silver screen. The music and sound effects are also very well done. It's like you're playing a movie.
Overall, L.A. Noire is a must have if you're a fan of detective movies, tv shows, books or games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
crisilo
 
Please wait while more information about crisilo is loaded.
Additional information about crisilo could not be loaded.
hey
Posted 3/4/12
the game is region free?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for L.A. Noire
Haters Be Hatin, but this game is incredible
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/11
LuckyLuke
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
I don't understand how anyone could give L.A. Noire a rating less than a 9. It's truly one of the most intriguing games I have played. The storyline keeps you hooked and wanting more from your first case. This is not a shoot 'em up action game for the most part; this is a detective game that focuses on facial animations to determine if a suspect is lying or not. I personally found the interrogations to be extremely satisfying although when you don't branch a question correctly and you get immediate feedback, my heart usually dropped. The parts where you do get to chase a subject are tense and firefights are satisfying. The setting is beautiful. 1940's L.A. is perfect to the T. If you can't figure out how to get from point A to point B in the game you can google map it and it'll show you in game too because it's a perfect recreation. Overall excellent game that can't be missed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for L.A. Noire
Game of the Decade!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/11
Type0
This is one of the best games I have ever played! Rockstar really out did themselves with this one. I loved the story in this game it had twists and turns, excitement and suspense everything to keep you at the edge of your seat! LA Noire to me felt like the first season of a TV show. Each case was an episode with new allies and enemies and was a story on their own but with the main story laying just beneath. Each case or episode slowly continues the main story right up to the end of the game or season. I am comparing the game to a TV season because I do not think that this is the end of LA Noire it is just the beginning to a great series that fans will follow and enjoy. Another reason it is like a Tv show is that the plots, characters, graphics and gameplay intertwine so well that it seems like your watching a movie. Don't get me wrong you play a lot, your not just sitting there doing nothing, you are the detective! You have to find clues and piece the evidence together to find the criminal. Of course there is fist fights, gun fights and car chases that put the action into the game. One more thing is that people say this game is very repeatitive, well I don't think it is. Each case you do is different and lots of fun. Plus the story is so addictive that you want to keep playing just to see what happens.So try LA Noire out it will not disappoint you!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for L.A. Noire
Repetitive Bad Mechanics
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/11
Phoenix319
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is nothing what I wanted. Just wanted solid interrogation mechanics, decent shooting mechanics (yes they sucked), Realistic things a Detective would do (Push for the truth, not oh ok then I screwed up), and a Deep Story.
I got none of that, Interrogations were simple, bad, and didn't make sense. Fail a question in the interrogation and you know you are screwed. Story was as deep as the box it came in. I do like the attention to detail though on evidence but again if you screw up because you got bored of picking up combs and bottles you are screwed. Realistic yes but they should have thought "Maybe we shouldn't put so much useless stuff in the looking for evidence parts."
I don't hate it but I am disappointed with it. The only other guy I know who doesn't agree with me is an employee at Game Stop that said "A good mechanic doesn't blame his tools, you are just bad at the game." after I said the mechanics are sloppy and just bad. I give it 6.5/10 for me but that's just my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for L.A. Noire
Something new
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/11
Lazylucasarts
Location: Toronto
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Well I really have to say that this game is a step in a new direction. The graphics on the faces and the animations behind the expressions is almost perfect. You can actually look at a characters face and tell if they are lying or not. That said, you should also know that your entire character progression depends on this. The save system sucks though. You never know when the game is saved and I have had it restart cases because of this when I quit the game and came back. There is no manual save feature so you really just have to guess weather you can safely exit the game or not. I personally like to be able to save my game and exit when I want to, but according to Rockstar I should revolve my life around this game and when I progress a case enough. Kinda early 90s on that little bit there. Also they seem to have created a very large world to play in but there is nothing to do in it that doesn't relate to what case your on. Not really a free roam game, just a really big gameworld.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 15 for L.A. Noire
Nice
Posted on:4/30/11
Gamer598
Location: New york
I'm really excited for this game. I have been waiting since December for this game and it comes out in only 2 weeks. When I get it, I am going to play is so much! Thumbs up if you are excited or Thumbs up if you pre ordered the game from yours truly, Gamestop! Thank you gamestop so much for giving us 2 pre order bonuses instead of 1 from other retailers.
24 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for L.A. Noire
listen to me rockstar...
Posted on:1/2/11
wiseman111111111
Rockstar games is by far my favorite developer. They never ever disappoint. In my opinion Red dead redemption is one of the greatest games ever made, for the graphics, the story, the characters, The game play, the multi player, the dlc packs, and the land scape. Red dead was the best and more than deserving of the game of the year award. It would have won the game of the decade award. And of course the GTA series. Gta paved the way for open world shooters every where. GTA is the only series that Is Loved by all. There is the call of duty vs Halo debate but after everyones done fighting they all play GTA because its ALWAYS FUN. Thats why im so excited for L.A. NOIRE. But ive heard some rumors that it wont be an open world sand box game. Im not saying they are true but if they are, DONT... JUST DONT. Im not saying to not focus on the story but make it open world cause if you dont its going to anger a lot of people including me. youve never disappointed us before dont start now. stick with what you know and make it like red dead and GTA4!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for L.A. Noire
Not really "open world"
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/14
Perkinator
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game recently because it was under 10 dollars and it was made by Rockstar. I thought it would be like Red Dead but i was wrong. You are pretty much bound to the missions. you cant ride the trains or buy guns or anything like you can in GTA or Red Dead. The good part is that the city is absolutely HUGE. it actually take 10 min to travel from one side of LA to another. And this game is really boring there is barely any action, and when there is, the outcome is pre-decided. For a person who enjoys Open world games and the creativity that comes with it, i would not recommend this game.But for under 10 dollars it is maybe worth a try.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 18 for L.A. Noire
Multiplayer is not needed
Posted on:5/11/11
NeighborJoe
Location: Illinois
My thoughts of this game is outstanding to say the least...I've had it pre-ordered since I first heard about it, and So far I am litterally counting the days till its release date. No multiplayer is not a big deal to me if its true, 1 reason is that the story will be saturated with so much realism and such rich campaign that the MP wont even be an issue for myself. What ever the cause of your gaming addiction lol this game should be a honest contender for Game of the Year in my opinion. Rockstar and Team Bondi have come together for a truly new gaming experience. Thanks Rockstar
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for L.A. Noire
Okay game if it's what your looking for
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/11
Oger368
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I feel like this game was way overhyped. When everyone heard Rockstar Games was coming out with a 1940's detective game, they expected shootouts, armed robberies, and action. If this is what you're looking for, don't get your hopes up. L.A. Noire focuses on investigation and problem solving. Because of Rockstar's Red Dead Redemption and GTA series, the game fell a little flat by many gamers who love the action and free roam that Rockstar does so well in. The gameplay is average as there is not much action aside from the seconds of chase scenes or shootouts, because they are not difficult to succeed in. The investigations seem kind of handed to you and don't provide a fulfilling feeling when you solve them. Although L.A. is huge, there is not very much to do besides stop petty crimes and drive around collecting things. If you want action and a challenging game with a variety of things to do, search elsewhere.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WutupKneega
 
Please wait while more information about WutupKneega is loaded.
Additional information about WutupKneega could not be loaded.
Posted 11/30/11
Great review. Lots of help. Saved my money.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for L.A. Noire
Heavy Rain/Mafia II mesh?
Posted on:12/24/10
kdee
Considering how many FPS's there are in the world, its going to be a nice change playing a legit detective series. Being a 360 owner i was so disappointed not being able to play Heavy Rain, and was forced to resort to watching a play through. Im hoping that rockstar takes some influence from HR and incorporates it into theirs. I love rockstar and RDR is one of my favorite games, so hopefully they can once-again assert themselves atop the sandbox totem pole. Def. going out on opening day and getting this.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>