GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy

Nintendo is transforming the way people access, experience, create and share content with the new Nintendo DSi system, the third iteration of the world's best-selling portable video game system.
Average Customer Rating:
8.737
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
3
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 1989%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Review 1 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
great system
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/12
steven98
Location: rochester, ny
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is a great system it has good graphics for a hand held and has tons of games this os allot better than the dsi and ds lite
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
3DS is way overated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/12
ddog987
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is perfect it is so kool, like a mini tv for video games get this system its battery lasts FOREVER great system get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Its a bad value get more for your money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
abikeralex
Location: seattle,Wa
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
for 169.99$ get a 3ds does the same but has more stuff to it like the 3d, Netflix, AR games, 3d picture taking, and way more than a dsi XL.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
get this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/11
assasinx12
Location: san diego,ca
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
super cool you should get this instead of a sucky 3ds how did nintendo go from xl to a small 3ds ps. im not hating this is just my opinion
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Awesomest DSi Ever. -DSi XL!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/11
r3tr0kiid
Location: Ohio
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I think this dsi is pretty great! I bought one for myself. The color is amazing and has good quality, same goes for the camera! But it dosnt really matter if you get the orig. dsi or the xl bcuz there mostly both the same but the xl is much bigger. But i perfer the xl!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
3DSFan43vr
Why should I tell you?
 
Please wait while more information about 3DSFan43vr is loaded.
Additional information about 3DSFan43vr could not be loaded.
Well...I have one.
Posted 9/1/11
And I'm planning on selling it.Can anyone tell me if I trade it in for a cheaper 3DS,do I have to include the box?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Pretty Good!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/11
thewookie
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Dsi Xl is a great experience but really needs to explore better in the internet. when they get better internet they will replace computers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Do not buy it get a psp
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/11
House
Location: Temple,Tx
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The ds and dsi systems are not that good there games are mostly E and E10 games so get a psp
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 39 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ImRIghtYoureWrong
 
Please wait while more information about ImRIghtYoureWrong is loaded.
Additional information about ImRIghtYoureWrong could not be loaded.
....
Posted 6/11/12
Lots of people buy Nintendo Systems specifically because of the games for them. Try actually giving a real review next time.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Awesome system. 3ds not worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/11
johnnyrocs
Location: la la land,cloud 9
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i traded in all my games and my blue dsi and it was worth it!!!!! All my friend want the 3ds but its not really worth it i don't understand the concept. And its to much. BUT I LOVE THE DSI XL the full stylus is really good to use for the game art academy. SO if your not to sure between dsi xl and 3ds get the ds xl!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
awesome!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/11
squirt
Location: new hampshire
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this ds works so good it has some issues, but not many. it is great to go on the internet, play games and draw on pictochat. i love it would recomend it for my friends or anyone because it is so great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
the best dsixl
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
lildevil
Location: texas
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it works great and does lots of kool thing the olny thing i dont like is that you have to have wifi to get online
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Best handheld EVER.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/10
Kid Freestyle
I love my XL. For starters, the screen is HUGE. It's perfect for showing my little cousin how to be a Pokemon master! The screen is crisp and bright, and my games look better than ever. I was worried that since the screen is so much bigger than other DS systems that the graphics would be diminished. Surprisingly, the resolution is PERFECT. The sound is good, my only gripe is that the volume control buttons are unlike the DS Lite system, where you had more control (I think) with the volume. This is because DS Lite systems use a single button that slides, whereas DSi systems use two separate buttons for volume control. However, you can CRANK the volume. It seems louder than the other systems, which is good for when you're at a party or loud gathering and you don't have any headphones on hand. There's no GBA slot, so if you're still playing GBA games you may want to invest in a GBA, GBA SP or Gameboy Player. I've only had my XL it freeze up once, and it was while playing HeartGold. This is, in my opinion, the best hand-held that Nintendo has released.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
39 of 44 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hirtmuuuu
himrtymjrym
 
Please wait while more information about hirtmuuuu is loaded.
Additional information about hirtmuuuu could not be loaded.
Awsome
Posted 12/11/10
I love it its way better than a psp
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Sooooooooooooo awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/10
random girl
I got one for my birthday and it is awsome!!!!!! Some of the games have bad graphic but they are ok cause they are so fun. my bro got one too he loves it he wanted the regular dsi cause he did not want bronze but he got the dsi xl and the bronze is not really bronze it is like black so for that he liked it. it is such an awsome thing some people say they do not want it cause they want to take it to stores and play it when there moms or dads are looking but it is too BIG but its really big if you have had the regular sized one but if you havent then you will get used to it. P.S. the dsi xl is way better than the regular ds/dsi...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Not a Giant Leap from DSi, Giant Leap for DS Lite
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/10
Gaming4Gals
In my chain of DS system upgrades, I started out with the original silver DS. Very old school. Next, it broke down over the course of a few years and I upgraded to the DS Lite Metallic Rose. I was really happy with that. Seeing as I bought the lite literally a week before all of the DSi buzz came out, I didn't see the point in buying the DSi. But now that it's been a few years and the DS Lite is no longer considered new, I got the DSi XL. My reasoning for this was, hey - if your going to upgrade anyway you might as well get the latest technology. The pen actually does make a difference, it's much easier and probably will make adults more willing to play. The only flaw I have found is the outer camera side gets fingerprints on it very easily because of the glossiness and that the top screen wiggles a bit when you lightly shake the system. It's pretty good, but I suggest that you infact do put all lot of effort into finding the right case. I read a few reviews on here and the cases didn't seem that good. Then I went to EB Games and found a perfect case, for gaming girls anyway. It's an animal skin imprint leather and the colours perfectly match with the burgundy. Awesome system!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
The New DSi XL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/10
coolgamer56
I think that the new DSi XL is a bigger and better ds. It has a built in internet browser which is quite good actually. The screens are much larger which makes your games quite different then a regular DSi or DS lite. It already has 3 pre installed games which is also pretty fun. The thing that I absolutely hate about the DSi and the DSi XL is that they don't have gameboy slots! That is one of the only reasons I still love the DS lite. I'm a pokemon fan and I like to play the gameboy games for pokemon. But besides that I think that the DSi XL is a bigger and better ds like I said. I would recommend to any DSi fan and i would absolutely not recommend trading in your ds lite for it because that will be your only thing for gameboy games besides a gameboy. (: But I have one thing to say to Nintendo. I mean the DSi is still hugely popular and people are still talking about it. Giving out a new product is going to make you run out of ideas. I think you should slow it down a bit. Maybe a new console every 1 1/2 to 2 years? I don't know just saying. :) Overall I would recommend this console for anyone who is a DSi fan. Thanks :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
I love it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/10
Jessepa1
Well I've had every Nintendo system that's came out I bought it today I wonted to upgrade from my orginal ds that I got when they first came out I can't put it down a lot of my friends told me not to buy it and just get the regular DSi so I decided I would go to my local gamestop and learn more about it i liked that they had a display of the old DSi compared to the XL when I saw the difference in size I had to have it and I loved that they preinstalled 3 of the Brain Age games I think the the screen has a better resolution then my old DS and for anyone that says DS systems and DSi systems r just for kids r stupid there not I have a psp and this DSi XL does a lot more then my psp and the graphics r better then psp also u can hook it up to ur Nintendo Wii the price isn't that bad if ur thinking about upgrading from ur old DS pay the extra $** and by the XL cause when u see how big it is it will blow ur mind
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
I like it so far
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/10
LindaSDF
I just purchased it on Sunday. I like the bigger screen for one thing. And I do like having the larger stylus, as I have problems with carpal tunnel. The graphics are not any clearer than the DS lite, but it's way clear enough. I love the cameras and the special effects you can do. The emotes function had me laughing so hard at my own expressions I almost cried! I like that it has a SD port. I just need to get the right card now. The web browser is not the best, but I can do some limited stuff on it, especially posting some pictures on facebook. I haven't really tried a lot of web sites there, or taken it to a WiFi spot outside my home, so I still have to check that part out more. When I emailed Nintendo about my problems they were very prompt in responding and giving good advice. I like the limited Brain Age games. The rest I am still working on, but I'm having a lot of fun with it. BTW, the guys at the store had not seen it yet, when I bought it so I took it out of the box and showed it to them. One remarked that it looked like a "mini netbook".
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cookie23
 
Please wait while more information about cookie23 is loaded.
Additional information about cookie23 could not be loaded.
BETTER THAN THE 3DS!!!
Posted 4/7/11
well i got this system on my birthday witch is march 8 but ths 3ds would come out in a couple of days, so i just picked up the dsi XL . i was really impressed with it because of the bigger screen compared to my ds lite. but then the 3DS came out i looked at the reviews on it on youtube and i was happy i stuck to buying a dsi XL. the 3DS is way tooo small!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Not too Shabby
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/10
Dr K
As an owner of multiple game systems for the past 20 years, I must say that the new DSi XL has some really wonderful aspects that lack in other systems as well as some aspects I so wish it could improve upon. In comparison to the PSP, its graphics aren't even close. But, that really isn't the point of the DS in the first place. It is more of the game interaction that matters the most. The touch sensitivity of the screen is fantastic, the ability to alter images, and its hand writing recognition software is top notch. What makes this a step up from the DSi is the fact that when you take a photo, you have that larger screen to really SEE what it is you took a photo of. It allows for a larger distance from the eyes and still able to see perfectly well due to the new screen size. This allows a better sense of what is going on within the game or activity taking place thus creating a more successful experience. As for functionality, the "internet" browsing ability is fair. Because you are unable to download and install important add-ons such as "Flash" and "Java," MANY kid web sites will NOT work on here. SO, the desire for kids to explore the WEB is really limited and quite frankly, I find it merely a means for access to buy down-loadable content from the Nintendo store than anything else. Merely a means for Nintendo Corp. to make more money. I know that may seem cynical, but, I do not see much real use from a kid perspective. The pre-loaded games it comes with is a huge plus. My son has already spent a great deal of time with them and as a parent, the educational value of those games are great! I could go on for awhile about the details of this system. In short, it is a wonderful upgrade from the DSi and without any reservation, I would recommend this system to any parent or child as its abilities for interactive play with other DSi owners to individual entertainment is top notch and worthy of every cent you spend on it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Its pretty good!!! XD
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/10
ILOVESUSHI
The DSi XL is pretty good actually!!! I'm very pleased with it. It's very similar with the DSi, but just bigger! But, it just seems so much better and so much more awesome!!! The screens are 93% bigger than the DS lite! That's almost double!!!XD Take note that it doesn't have a GBA slot. First off, with the design and graphics. It's a bit big...you can't fit it in your pocket or anything, so its good for gaming at home...but it's not like you absolutely can't take it anywhere else right?! The graphics look just the same as the DSi in my opinion, not really much difference. Sound quality is perfect. It's all the same as the DSi. I'm just going to tell you right now...if you are looking for your 1st DS system, get the DSi XL. And again...its the same as the DSi just bigger and better!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kitten1222
 
Please wait while more information about kitten1222 is loaded.
Additional information about kitten1222 could not be loaded.
the nintendo dsi xl is the best game ever!!!
Posted 1/30/11
with the nintendo dsi xl it already comes with 3 games in it you can go on the internet you can look things up you can take family photos and way more i love it i think that it is the newest best game in history and i really mean that
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Cannot transfer already purchased DSIWARE...!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/10
Jleepr
This New DSI is for the most part a wonderful idea, the bigger screens and bigger body itself is much more comfortable to use than the regular DSI. The screens are very clear and it really does help you see in great details all the coolest features of the different games. Becuase its slightly bigger... your hands dont feel like they are about to fall asleep after holding it for hours. The fact that it comes with all the pre-installed little features and games such as Brain Age Express: Math, Brain Age Express: Arts & Letters & Photo Clock , Flipnotes and the web user is pretty cool. And the bigger stylus is in my opinion one of the best things. The ONLY FLAW that i find in this system is this: You cannot in any way transfer your already purchased DSIWARE games to this new DSi XL! Sadly Nintendo did not think on this part and are therefore affecting the purchase of this system by many people who have spent loads of money on the downloadable games. If you are one of those people... i suggest not purchasing this system as of yet untill Nintendo finds a way to fix this if they do. Its not a good idea to spend ***'s of dollars on downloadable content only to then spend ***$ on a new system that you cannot transfer your content too!I hope this information helps.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Dsi XL
Posted on:3/27/10
Phelpyr0
I have had the ds lite,dsi,and tomorrow a XL, yes i know abot the 3ds and i still want this i believe in nintendo, besides the screens are definitley worth the extra 20 dollars
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>