GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy

Nintendo is transforming the way people access, experience, create and share content with the new Nintendo DSi system, the third iteration of the world's best-selling portable video game system.
Average Customer Rating:
8.737
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
3
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 1989%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Review 1 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Best handheld EVER.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/10
Kid Freestyle
I love my XL. For starters, the screen is HUGE. It's perfect for showing my little cousin how to be a Pokemon master! The screen is crisp and bright, and my games look better than ever. I was worried that since the screen is so much bigger than other DS systems that the graphics would be diminished. Surprisingly, the resolution is PERFECT. The sound is good, my only gripe is that the volume control buttons are unlike the DS Lite system, where you had more control (I think) with the volume. This is because DS Lite systems use a single button that slides, whereas DSi systems use two separate buttons for volume control. However, you can CRANK the volume. It seems louder than the other systems, which is good for when you're at a party or loud gathering and you don't have any headphones on hand. There's no GBA slot, so if you're still playing GBA games you may want to invest in a GBA, GBA SP or Gameboy Player. I've only had my XL it freeze up once, and it was while playing HeartGold. This is, in my opinion, the best hand-held that Nintendo has released.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
39 of 44 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hirtmuuuu
himrtymjrym
 
Please wait while more information about hirtmuuuu is loaded.
Additional information about hirtmuuuu could not be loaded.
Awsome
Posted 12/11/10
I love it its way better than a psp
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
I love it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/10
Jessepa1
Well I've had every Nintendo system that's came out I bought it today I wonted to upgrade from my orginal ds that I got when they first came out I can't put it down a lot of my friends told me not to buy it and just get the regular DSi so I decided I would go to my local gamestop and learn more about it i liked that they had a display of the old DSi compared to the XL when I saw the difference in size I had to have it and I loved that they preinstalled 3 of the Brain Age games I think the the screen has a better resolution then my old DS and for anyone that says DS systems and DSi systems r just for kids r stupid there not I have a psp and this DSi XL does a lot more then my psp and the graphics r better then psp also u can hook it up to ur Nintendo Wii the price isn't that bad if ur thinking about upgrading from ur old DS pay the extra $** and by the XL cause when u see how big it is it will blow ur mind
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Not a Giant Leap from DSi, Giant Leap for DS Lite
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/10
Gaming4Gals
In my chain of DS system upgrades, I started out with the original silver DS. Very old school. Next, it broke down over the course of a few years and I upgraded to the DS Lite Metallic Rose. I was really happy with that. Seeing as I bought the lite literally a week before all of the DSi buzz came out, I didn't see the point in buying the DSi. But now that it's been a few years and the DS Lite is no longer considered new, I got the DSi XL. My reasoning for this was, hey - if your going to upgrade anyway you might as well get the latest technology. The pen actually does make a difference, it's much easier and probably will make adults more willing to play. The only flaw I have found is the outer camera side gets fingerprints on it very easily because of the glossiness and that the top screen wiggles a bit when you lightly shake the system. It's pretty good, but I suggest that you infact do put all lot of effort into finding the right case. I read a few reviews on here and the cases didn't seem that good. Then I went to EB Games and found a perfect case, for gaming girls anyway. It's an animal skin imprint leather and the colours perfectly match with the burgundy. Awesome system!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Sooooooooooooo awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/10
random girl
I got one for my birthday and it is awsome!!!!!! Some of the games have bad graphic but they are ok cause they are so fun. my bro got one too he loves it he wanted the regular dsi cause he did not want bronze but he got the dsi xl and the bronze is not really bronze it is like black so for that he liked it. it is such an awsome thing some people say they do not want it cause they want to take it to stores and play it when there moms or dads are looking but it is too BIG but its really big if you have had the regular sized one but if you havent then you will get used to it. P.S. the dsi xl is way better than the regular ds/dsi...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Awesome system. 3ds not worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/11
johnnyrocs
Location: la la land,cloud 9
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i traded in all my games and my blue dsi and it was worth it!!!!! All my friend want the 3ds but its not really worth it i don't understand the concept. And its to much. BUT I LOVE THE DSI XL the full stylus is really good to use for the game art academy. SO if your not to sure between dsi xl and 3ds get the ds xl!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
This thing is gonna be good!!
Posted on:3/7/10
dunl12496j
I preordered mine at gamestop. Halo 3 odst uncharted 1 and tales of vesperia. This thing will deffinately be a hit. I almost bought the dsi but I stumbled accross a news article about its japanese release date. I waited almost half a year but it should be worth it. The larger screens will let you dominate other players hunched over on their tiny little ds lites. And playing call of duty on it should be alot of fun. I bet there will be people who never wanted a ds but will want this one because of the larger screens. The colors aren't the best but they should appeal to older people. My mom said she liked the burgundy color, granted she would only play it to do sudoku and other stuff like that, but she should like it anyway. No GBA spot but who cares? Some people yes but I never found one game I liked on it. With my card and everything I paid practically nothing! And for a more dollars you can have hundreds of more dollars of fun! I preordered it and I can't wait!
Review 7 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Cannot transfer already purchased DSIWARE...!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/10
Jleepr
This New DSI is for the most part a wonderful idea, the bigger screens and bigger body itself is much more comfortable to use than the regular DSI. The screens are very clear and it really does help you see in great details all the coolest features of the different games. Becuase its slightly bigger... your hands dont feel like they are about to fall asleep after holding it for hours. The fact that it comes with all the pre-installed little features and games such as Brain Age Express: Math, Brain Age Express: Arts & Letters & Photo Clock , Flipnotes and the web user is pretty cool. And the bigger stylus is in my opinion one of the best things. The ONLY FLAW that i find in this system is this: You cannot in any way transfer your already purchased DSIWARE games to this new DSi XL! Sadly Nintendo did not think on this part and are therefore affecting the purchase of this system by many people who have spent loads of money on the downloadable games. If you are one of those people... i suggest not purchasing this system as of yet untill Nintendo finds a way to fix this if they do. Its not a good idea to spend ***'s of dollars on downloadable content only to then spend ***$ on a new system that you cannot transfer your content too!I hope this information helps.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Not too Shabby
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/10
Dr K
As an owner of multiple game systems for the past 20 years, I must say that the new DSi XL has some really wonderful aspects that lack in other systems as well as some aspects I so wish it could improve upon. In comparison to the PSP, its graphics aren't even close. But, that really isn't the point of the DS in the first place. It is more of the game interaction that matters the most. The touch sensitivity of the screen is fantastic, the ability to alter images, and its hand writing recognition software is top notch. What makes this a step up from the DSi is the fact that when you take a photo, you have that larger screen to really SEE what it is you took a photo of. It allows for a larger distance from the eyes and still able to see perfectly well due to the new screen size. This allows a better sense of what is going on within the game or activity taking place thus creating a more successful experience. As for functionality, the "internet" browsing ability is fair. Because you are unable to download and install important add-ons such as "Flash" and "Java," MANY kid web sites will NOT work on here. SO, the desire for kids to explore the WEB is really limited and quite frankly, I find it merely a means for access to buy down-loadable content from the Nintendo store than anything else. Merely a means for Nintendo Corp. to make more money. I know that may seem cynical, but, I do not see much real use from a kid perspective. The pre-loaded games it comes with is a huge plus. My son has already spent a great deal of time with them and as a parent, the educational value of those games are great! I could go on for awhile about the details of this system. In short, it is a wonderful upgrade from the DSi and without any reservation, I would recommend this system to any parent or child as its abilities for interactive play with other DSi owners to individual entertainment is top notch and worthy of every cent you spend on it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Not worth it.
Posted on:2/26/10
Akatsuki
Ok heres the thing, on christmas i had just gotten the DSi and i love it. Then they come out with this? So the point of the DSi XL is stupid. It has a bigger screen wich is of no use,it has a huge stylus,(pointless) plus it is a lot bigger than the DSi which makes for less ease of traveling. I guarentee it wont fit in most peoples pockets, and that means people wont go out much with it and that ruins the fun of it being a handheld. Lets not forget the reason handheld systems were made was for TRAVELING, so people can enjoy games on the road or at others houses, and with the DSi XL, that defeats the purpose of a handheld system. So to sum it up i think this is a waste of time and money for anyone. So just save yourself about ** bucks and get the normal DSi. But in my opinion all forms of the DS are great, way back to the first DS which was a brick, but an awesome brick. Nintendo should stop making so many systems and focus on the games instead.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
I like it so far
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/10
LindaSDF
I just purchased it on Sunday. I like the bigger screen for one thing. And I do like having the larger stylus, as I have problems with carpal tunnel. The graphics are not any clearer than the DS lite, but it's way clear enough. I love the cameras and the special effects you can do. The emotes function had me laughing so hard at my own expressions I almost cried! I like that it has a SD port. I just need to get the right card now. The web browser is not the best, but I can do some limited stuff on it, especially posting some pictures on facebook. I haven't really tried a lot of web sites there, or taken it to a WiFi spot outside my home, so I still have to check that part out more. When I emailed Nintendo about my problems they were very prompt in responding and giving good advice. I like the limited Brain Age games. The rest I am still working on, but I'm having a lot of fun with it. BTW, the guys at the store had not seen it yet, when I bought it so I took it out of the box and showed it to them. One remarked that it looked like a "mini netbook".
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cookie23
 
Please wait while more information about cookie23 is loaded.
Additional information about cookie23 could not be loaded.
BETTER THAN THE 3DS!!!
Posted 4/7/11
well i got this system on my birthday witch is march 8 but ths 3ds would come out in a couple of days, so i just picked up the dsi XL . i was really impressed with it because of the bigger screen compared to my ds lite. but then the 3DS came out i looked at the reviews on it on youtube and i was happy i stuck to buying a dsi XL. the 3DS is way tooo small!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
The New DSi XL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/10
coolgamer56
I think that the new DSi XL is a bigger and better ds. It has a built in internet browser which is quite good actually. The screens are much larger which makes your games quite different then a regular DSi or DS lite. It already has 3 pre installed games which is also pretty fun. The thing that I absolutely hate about the DSi and the DSi XL is that they don't have gameboy slots! That is one of the only reasons I still love the DS lite. I'm a pokemon fan and I like to play the gameboy games for pokemon. But besides that I think that the DSi XL is a bigger and better ds like I said. I would recommend to any DSi fan and i would absolutely not recommend trading in your ds lite for it because that will be your only thing for gameboy games besides a gameboy. (: But I have one thing to say to Nintendo. I mean the DSi is still hugely popular and people are still talking about it. Giving out a new product is going to make you run out of ideas. I think you should slow it down a bit. Maybe a new console every 1 1/2 to 2 years? I don't know just saying. :) Overall I would recommend this console for anyone who is a DSi fan. Thanks :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
which one to buy?????
Posted on:3/15/10
Ddias
I'm actually not a Nintendo fan, but since i lost my interest for PSP games, and the fact that a lot of ppl keeps telling me that DS games are awesome, so i decided to buy a Nintendo DS at the end of this month.Somehow, I'm looking for a small/portable/handy console, so i can bring/play it anywhere i want, like when I'm having my cup of coffee in Starbucks, or waiting on the line at some store or restaurant (that's the point of a portable console rite?).Without a doubt, larger screen is way better than a smaller screen; much more comfortable and way more enjoyable while playing a game. I never owned a DS Lite, or a DSi, however, i do agree that the screen of DS Lite is too small, but the size of the DS Lite, actually satisfies my expectations of a small/portable/handy kind of console, The features of the DSi XL are quite catchy, and the huge screen is amazing! but i think the size of the XL is too big, and that's definitely not the type of console im looking to buy (small/portable/handy). Right now i really don't know which one to buy.
Review 13 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
awesome!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/11
squirt
Location: new hampshire
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this ds works so good it has some issues, but not many. it is great to go on the internet, play games and draw on pictochat. i love it would recomend it for my friends or anyone because it is so great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Just Imagine Mario Kart On A 4 Inch Screen! Wow Amazing!
Posted on:3/9/10
Guido 101
I am so excited to get the DSi XL! I have already pre-ordered the burgundy console with over-night shipping! It is not pink it is wine red colored. I saw the display box in my local Gamestop store. I have read a lot of things on these posts about the screen looking blocky but I have checked out the official website and it does not look blocky compared to the DS Lites. I just can't wait to play Mario Kart and Zelda Spirit Tracks on this bad boy! We are not talking about a “slightly bigger" screen but a whole other inch. I know it would not make a difference on a big TV but going from 3 inch to 4 inch is a huge difference on a small screen. Also the battery life lasts an extra hour on the brightest setting compared to the DSi’s. Oh and I love the color too! I can’t wait for March 28th to roll around! Thanks for reading and I hope you are excited to get this too! Oh and by the way a lot of people say it is for older people but I am a seventeen year old guy who is extremely excited for the XL! Good job Nintendo for making a product for all ages!
Review 15 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
the best dsixl
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
lildevil
Location: texas
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it works great and does lots of kool thing the olny thing i dont like is that you have to have wifi to get online
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Its pretty good!!! XD
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/10
ILOVESUSHI
The DSi XL is pretty good actually!!! I'm very pleased with it. It's very similar with the DSi, but just bigger! But, it just seems so much better and so much more awesome!!! The screens are 93% bigger than the DS lite! That's almost double!!!XD Take note that it doesn't have a GBA slot. First off, with the design and graphics. It's a bit big...you can't fit it in your pocket or anything, so its good for gaming at home...but it's not like you absolutely can't take it anywhere else right?! The graphics look just the same as the DSi in my opinion, not really much difference. Sound quality is perfect. It's all the same as the DSi. I'm just going to tell you right now...if you are looking for your 1st DS system, get the DSi XL. And again...its the same as the DSi just bigger and better!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kitten1222
 
Please wait while more information about kitten1222 is loaded.
Additional information about kitten1222 could not be loaded.
the nintendo dsi xl is the best game ever!!!
Posted 1/30/11
with the nintendo dsi xl it already comes with 3 games in it you can go on the internet you can look things up you can take family photos and way more i love it i think that it is the newest best game in history and i really mean that
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Sad but Happy
Posted on:3/13/10
blacky900
Unfortunately, I just spent all my money on that PSP Go. The go was ok but when i heard about the DSi XL, i immediately wanted it. The 2 larger screens are amazing and obviously more easier to see. I use to have the plain ole ds lite and i really enjoyed it until i got bored of its older features. This is a must buy for all nintendo fans out there. I know im certainly gonna save my money up to get one of these because i like to get all the new handhelds out there. im not much of a console person so this is why this product attracts alot of attention my way.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
Dsi XL
Posted on:3/27/10
Phelpyr0
I have had the ds lite,dsi,and tomorrow a XL, yes i know abot the 3ds and i still want this i believe in nintendo, besides the screens are definitley worth the extra 20 dollars
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
3DS is way overated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/12
ddog987
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is perfect it is so kool, like a mini tv for video games get this system its battery lasts FOREVER great system get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo DSi XL - Burgundy
woopty doo
Posted on:2/24/10
luvpenguins97
big woop, dsi is still better i think, so what if it has bigger screens, little screens dont matter to me, i own a ds lite, but i am saving up to trade it in for a dsi, but even now that this new system is coming out im still getting a dsi, i dont like this one very much. all it has different is built in games and web browser, you can download the browser on the dsi, plus you can buy a points card and download games to the dsi, this one doesnt even have nice colors, the dsi has fun, colorful, bright, cool colors, plus i heard they are coming out with a yellow and lime green dsi soon,plus all those planning to buy this, dont waste you money, its probobly not all its made out to be,plus i heard nintendo is planning on making a new handheld platform soon, it called the ds 2, cant wait to see what this will be, but i will still probobly stick to the dsi, 1 its cheaper, 2 its got cool colors. 3 its got all i need.4 anything else will probobly not be as good as the dsi and will be a big waste of money, well this is all my oppinion, im sure everyone else has thier own, but take my advise, dont upgrade from your dsi to this.BIG WASTE OF MONEY. thanks for reading
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>