GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze

Nintendo is transforming the way people access, experience, create and share content with the new Nintendo DSi system, the third iteration of the world's best-selling portable video game system.
Average Customer Rating:
8.735
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (154 reviews)
10 stars
20
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
4
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 out of 3485%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Review 1 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
The best portable console ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/12
sportman101
Location: Earth
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The screen is huge, the games for it are awsome, and the technology that Nintendo gives it is amazing. You can download countless games on DSI Ware. Not to mention, the touch screen is much better than past DS systems. It even has a camera that allows you to edit your photos.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Not a good system
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/12
Chris713
Location: Houston,Texas
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
The Ds is a good system in some ways. But for gaming, not so good. The games are almost like the GBA games but with just alittle more better graphics. I recommend this product to children. But for hardcore gamers, i perfer a psp over this.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Awesome Game System
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/11
lucario5
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I actually got this for christmas. I could not wait to play it, literally. There have been no glitches or any problems for me yet. Though i have only had it for about 9 months. Pretty cool system and worth whatever the price is. All i can say is, the weight, screen size and the size itself will need a little getting used to. Other than that, it is pretty sweet. P.S: The type i got was actually the Mario 25th Anniversery bundle. But i LOVE it from the bottom of my heart.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Good but wait for awhile and get 3ds
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/11
rekcuf
Location: milkyway, universe
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
come on people, why are you getting this, when august 12th you can get a 3ds, which is modern and they aren't fazeing it out.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Much Better Than The Dsi.Not Sure About The Price.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/11
iRateGames
Location: Los Angeles, California
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I said I'm not sure about the price because it think the DS Gaming Systems should be at less cost.The 3DS is not good because of eye problems so i would recomend the XL. - iRate Games Inc.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
way better than the dsi
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/11
moppy1
Location: ft.texas
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this way bigger and better than the dsi totally worth the extra 20 dollars.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
really cool but...............
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/11
sonicon
Location: okc
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I first got this, I was freaking out! I used to own a dsi and now I have........... a dsi with bigger screens and some games. woohoo. Although I would recommend this to ds or ds lite owners, if you own an original dsi, dont go for it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Great system , lots of fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/11
pokemaster666
Location: SA, TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When i first saw the dsi xl i was already set on buying it , however when i first saw the dsi xl's price tag i was almost sure i would not. so i thought about it and decided that the smaller dsi's shape was too uncomfortable and wanted an upgrade. i am much happier with the xl, but i got a good deal on the trade in mind you. i think it is worth it only if you are unhappy with your ds system or if it is broken, but don't go out and spend almost $200 when you have a perfectly functional ds. now some quick raitings... Screen size: 10/10.... Screen Resolution: 8/10... Sound: 10/10......dsi sound and camera apps: 9/10 .....connection and internet: 9/10..... weight: 5/10 ...........some last minute comments are although it has great ratings it is VERY heavy for a handheld. it reminds me of the sensation i get when i hold the ipad. also the larger styles does NOT fit in the system to my unpleasant surprise.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Very AWESOME game system
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/11
hardcoregamer10101010
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this on my birthday, and I was so psyched! The screens are so much larger, and the pre-installed titles are very good. I also love the larger stylus. It is so much easier to use. Gameplay has never looked better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
It is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/11
Russelljj
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Do you have the nintendo DSI XL? If you do or going to get it, it is awsome it is huge and so cool.You get 2 free in stalled games and a notepad and some app called photo clock.The screen is bigger and so is the hole entire DS system.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Great Handheld for All Ages
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/11
ColumbiaLion
Location: New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Nintendo DSi XL is basically the handheld I was looking for from the beginning. I think the library of games for this system is filled with many excellent titles, so being able to experience them with better resolution and sound is a plus. The screen is much larger than its predecessors and so are the speakers. You have two styli; the traditional size and the XL size. This handheld is best for older gamers who have larger hands but is also suitable for younger ones who simply want larger dimensions. For some reason, the buttons and D-pad remained the same size. Overall, the battery life is good and this made the games I already own that much better. If you are interested in a DS, I would recommend this one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
IT IS GOOD
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/10
dsi12345
Location: chicago
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i love it so much. it has 2 built in cameras. it is fun to play and watch
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Nintendo Wii Red Bundle
8.9 out of 10(71)
 
 
 
Nintendo Gamecube System - Used
8.5 out of 10(6)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Very Good Handheld!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
Dman69
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a very good handheld. Now I don't recommend this if you like to import Pokemon from game to game. I would recommend this if you have bigger hands. It works just as well as any other DS system but, only larger. Overall this is a very good system.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Good, but not for a poke'mon player
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
Hydracc
Location: Riverview, MI
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought the DSi XL for a good, easy to see gaming system, and it is, dont get me wrong. But it lacks a key thing for a lifelong poke'mon player like me; a gameboy slot. I cant download my poke'mon from fire red on my diamond! I have to use my sister's DS lite to download poke'mon, then play the game on my DSi. It's kind of a hastle., which is why i gave this ystem a 6 for functionality. I wouldn't recomend it if you are buying it to play poke'mon all day, but if you play black ops or mario kart, this is a great game. That is why it has a perfromance level of 10; because its a great system overall. I kind of averaged the value of this system because 2 key parts of value are perfromance and functionality.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RxMFalcon
 
Please wait while more information about RxMFalcon is loaded.
Additional information about RxMFalcon could not be loaded.
Everything Awesome! But one problem...
Posted 5/21/11
A great upgrade if you dont have a dsi already. I had a ds lite before this and I wont say there wasnt problems at first. 1, ALOT BIGGER, I am used to keep my lite in my pockets with still room for other things. But now the XL takes up almost more than a whole pocket no matter how deep your pockets are your gonna see it sticking out. 2, (for lite owners) For like a week even though I was enjoying it it took some time for my eyes to adjust to the WAY Bigger screen. It Awesome IF you dont already have a dsi because otherwise its the same thing only bigger.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
BEST THING EVER!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/10
bane12
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This thing is like the best portable game system. who said PSP is better? I was going to buy a PSP, but I was convinced to buy the DSi and it was the best decision ever. It's not only big so it feels more comfortable to hold, but you can actually see the people on those big screens. The graphics are okay for the games I bought and it was pretty cool. It comes with a lot of apps and three installed titles with no extra cost. You can buy some cool mini games from the DSi shop and they are so cheap with the maximum price is like 20 bucks which is only like if you buy a real game. The games are pretty cool too! If you're restricted to T and below games, you have pretty good luck. All the beast shooter games are rated T so... BUY THIS SYSTEM! IT IS MORE PWNSME THAN THAT PSP!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
HUGE!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/10
Sunshine2000
My dad got the bronze DSi XL like 2 months ago. And when we first opened up the nintendo DSi XL, not the box, it was huge! The screens were really big! But I don't get why they didn't make the buttons any bigger. Ok, the DSi XL comes with a regular stylus and a bigger stylus. And it comes with 3 pre- installed titles (Brain Age Express: Math, Brain Age Express: Arts & Letters, and Photo Clock). It works with regular DS games, and you can also download cool games from the DSi Shop. There are other applications such as: Flipnote Studio, DSi Sound, Pictochat, DS Download Play, DSi Camera, DSi Shop, and DSi Browser. On the DSi XL there are lights which tells you the amount of batterie you have left. If it's blue, it has a good amount of batterie, if it's red, it means it's running out of batterie, and blinking red means it is about to die(unless you're online). Thats all I have to say.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Nintendo DSi XL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/10
hit 90000000000000000000
first of all let's all give a big shout for nintendo. Now let's discuss this handheld console: everything just got bigger.. it's basically a dsi with larger screens and a bigger stylus , considering that i have had the original DS and the DS lite for over 3 years now, i have decided to see what's new.. and so i bought the XL , i am incredibly impressed until now, this console plays music, takes pictures, browses the net etc... there is even a dsi shop where you can download games on your dsi XL using nintendo points.. I do NOT regret buying it, in fact i am VERY impressed, considering that the selection of games is huge and yu have so many games to choose from, kingdom hearts 358/2 days, megaman zero collection, dragonquest, drawn to life, the legend of zelda: spirit tracks, dragonball origins 2.. and so it continues..from puzzle to shooter games, you can find any type of game you want. The DS games are not only for little kids, they are for teens and adults as well. I probably play the DS as much as i play my xbox 360 . Now before you rush to the store and get the DSi XL I have some things to tell you : if you have a DSi do not i repeat do not get the XL, why? because it's basically a bigger console that's it. If you have the original DS or the DS lite, get this now!! beleive this will blow your mind away. The design is great, the functionality is amazing, the graphics are pretty good compared to the previous models, the performance is astounding and the sound is good as well, overall i recommend this 9/10 because for me there is nothing called a perfect console, i have only 1 issue with this game.. there isn't a gameboy slot, but i don't since i don't play gameboy games anymore and if i want an old game i'll just look in the dsi shop.. go get this NOW if you have a DS lite. i hope my review was helpfull and thanks for reading it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Poke'mon Games
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/10
AniGamerNews
Ok its a fun version of the DS and is ultimate controling for the Nintendo DS titles... but... If your like me a pokemon fan. Im sorry but I wouldn't recommend this. If you like transporting your pokemon to a GBA to a DS like for say... Leaf Green to Heart Gold. Its going to be likely impossible to do that without a GBA slot..I kinda regreting tradeing my DS Lite because of that. Other than That the DSi XL is great. Still back to he concept of Poke'mon because i know this is one of the most popular titles for DS games. When your playing Pokemon HeartGold or SoulSilver and your playing the minigames in it, The controlling is way better thanks to a bigger screen. I would honestly look like im playing a Sega GameGear next to a Gameboy Colour! HaHa! Anyway thats my review and check out more review on my youtube channel. Just type AnigamerNews on the youtube search engine. ByeBye!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
awesome product!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/10
nintendo dsi ftw!
I was going to get the psp 3000 before i read about it, but, when i read googled the nintendo dsi xl, read some info and watched youtube videos of people unboxing it and giving reviews for it, I decided to get this instead! worth every penny, i even bought some games for it also. the games are: mega man zero collection, NEW super mario brothers, mario kart, and mega man star force leo. I got namco museum, but it was given to me by one of my friends! I so plan on getting more games later on, im not sure which games yet! if anyone can recommend me some games for this, please tell me! I like fps, rpg and action games like the new super mario brothers. the reason i got the DSi XL is because im not interested in the 3d ds system thats coming out next year, although it will be the common thing in the future, 3d is not my thing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo DSi XL - Bronze
Nothing is better than this...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/10
Game Game 34
First the colur is awsome bronze the sound is just excellent and now it is even bigger than the dsi the picturs come out great and you are able to mess with them and when you buy it you get flip note brain age math and languse and arets 3 bulit in games that is great the qwality of the games is better bexuse of the bigger screan and the sound is better it has a longer batery life then the dsi and you get a cool pen for the screen it is 93% bigger than the dsi so it is heveyer which is the only draw back and if you hold it for hours your hand start to hurt so you should not do that the game picture is easy to see sice it is bigger its design is very distintive with its bronze top and it lighter bronze bottom and it has the rounded edges which is nice so if you want to upgrade to the new XL it is the best idea ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>