GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

100 Classic Books

100 Classic Books transforms the Nintendo DS family of products into a library of timeless literature, highlighted by 100 works from authors such as William Shakespeare, Jules Verne, Jane Austen, Mark Twain and more. You can adjust the size of text, place bookmarks and even download new content via the Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection service (broadband Internet connection required).
Average Customer Rating:
7.727
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 100 Classic Books
Review 1 for 100 Classic Books
Amazing, if given to the target audience.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
VocaloidFan4Life
This game has mxed reviews. Why? Because the wrong audience bought it. Most classics are meant for adults and young adults, so most books here arent meant for kids. Plus, most books these days arent considered works of art. Modern books are greaat, but these, are just a few of the best of the best. The target audience was avid readers from about 12 to 112. If you dont live for reading like I do, this isnt for you. If you ARE part of the target aaudience this game was meant for, CONSIDER THIS GAME A GIFT FROM GOD, GET OFF YOUR COMPUTER, AND GET THIS GAME NOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Classic Books
Great Collection of great books.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
nintendega
Location: columbus, oh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great collection of books. It has books from authors like Mark Twain, R.L. Stevenson, Arther Conan Doyle, Charles Dickens, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Stephen Crane, Jane Austen, Emily Bronte, Lewis Carol, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Rudyard Kipling, William Shakespear, Leo Tolstoy, and many more. And if you have Wi-Fi connection you can download six more books for free. You have the option to have peaceful background music (anything from sounds of a waterfall or a cafe or the sound of fire crackling or just classical music.) if you don't wanna hear it just turn the sound on the DS off. If your a reader like me than this is deffinatly a good deal. Plus $20 is a great deal considering that if you went to like Barnes & Noble and bought all the books in this collection you'd be spending like over $200! So if you're a reader than deffinatly get this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Classic Books
Great for big readers
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/11
rhino01
Location: amarillo tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is great for long trips and such.Wouldnt suggest it to intermeadiate readers
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for 100 Classic Books
Missed the mark
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/11
jekel
I was so excited when I first saw this and just had to buy it. Unfortunately I was disappointed with the books that made the list. Yes these are classic but some chosen have just lost their appeal. What about Catcher in the Rye, To Kill a Mockingbird, Grapes of Wrath. I would have loved to see these on the list in place some others.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Classic Books
Perfect for on the go!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/11
Gamersean
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have to admit that I don't read alot. And when I read, I read kind of slow. That didn't stop me from buying this. It mad me curious and I didn't feel like playing a regular game at the time. I felt like I wanted to read. 100 Classic Books is exactly what it says it is. It has 100 of some of the most classic books out there. I just wish it had some of the Lord of the Rings or the Hobbit. For $20, it is a steal if you are a avid book reader. And to all the little kids out there and the kid that made the review under me, these books are not supossed to be funny, modern books! These are classic, older books. It is a must own for your DS library!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Classic Books
Bad.... Just.....Bad
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/11
WWEdude
Ok let me start off that this is the WORST learning game ever. I mean the books are HORRIBLE. I was expecting lots funny books but these are boring books. I have to say though, the sound is pretty good. It wont last long though.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Classic Books
I love books!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/10
pearpearthe14th
Well, I guess you could say I am a bookworm. I read ALL the time. And I am constently running out of books to read. So when I saw this game I was like, "Wow! 100 books to read... And it's only 20 dollars!" And I brought the game home and started reading right away. I really like the 'quiz' feature, which tells you which book you should read. And I love the backround music which you can set to fit your mood. (example: beach, rainforest, summer night) The only problem I had with this game is that I am a teenager, and the books, (even the children's) are sort of difficult to read seeing as most of them were written a long time ago. But overall, I would recomend this to everyone who loves to read. But just be warned, there isn't alot for teens.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Classic Books
Wrong Avenue
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/10
Forced Fable
The idea for this effort is worth it. The form used however, is not. The Nintendo DS was not ment to read books on. It is a gaming platform. There are several other avenues one could take to read e-books. All of them have the ability to erase a book once you are done reading it, and reload a new one in its place. Although 100 books is enough to saturate someone that does not care what they read, but enjoys all forms of literature, it is not enough of a selection for someone who has particular tastes. A majority of the consumers in the DS market do not buy the device to read books with. It is a gaming device after all. Attempting to place books on such a device, with the size of the screen (which would either cause very, very tiny print, or the need to turn twice to three times as many pages as the physical book would have) and the size of the device in its entirety, I do not believe this idea will go far, at all. With the amount of e-readers already out there, and the relatively cheap cost of a soft-copy book, consumers will not find this appealing; the DS is a gaming device (even IF all that some people play on it are SIM based games), not an e-reader.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Classic Books
Wonderful Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/10
Bookworm57
Amazing game. I love being able to change the background noise to things like the beach, summer night, or nothing at all. Graphics are very good, making it easy to read your books. The selection of books is wonderful, though I wish it had C.S. Lewis or Tolkien. It is also nice that you can download more books to read (if you have WiFi). The Book Guide is another awesome feature where the game's book owl gives you a "quiz" with questions such as, What era would you like to read from, or does it matter if the author is male or female. I really really like this game. I would definitely recommend it for any book lovers out there (especially if you can't find the time to go to the library whenever you want to read a good book). It's also nice that you get over a hundred books for around 20 bucks.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Classic Books
Nice game for people who like to read and are on the Go
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/10
TJCalandra
This is a very good game for anyone who likes to read and are on the go. Alot of different titles and with the ability to share between game systems and download service. I give this a program/game that worth the money. Good for Students the use, for those who travel and do not want to carry alot of books. This is a smaller version of the portable readers that Sony or Kindale have put out. You start with 100 books in your libarary with different catogories like classics, non-fiction and Sci-Fi classics. There are many different authors that you can choose from and he can read about the author before reading the books for alittle insight about the time the book was written. You will be able to download from the WII, Wi-FI or using your wireless from your DSI system for future novels. Good Idea.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Classic Books
EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/10
aly58991
when i first heard about this game, i laughed and said "who in the world would want to buy that" but the more i read into it, the more i saw that these books were actually pretty good, and itw as a great tool to have at my fingertips at such a great low price. with the sound effects in the back round, it makes a calming environment for you to just sit down and read a great book. i highly recommend this to everyone, just because it is reading, doesn't make it any less fun!!! i think everyone will enjoy it if they give it a shot! plus you cant go wrong with the low price! It has books for all ages, and it isnt only 100 classic books, but there are FREE books you can download on nintendo wifi!! overall, this is a great value. i highly reccomend it to people of all ages!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Classic Books
I so want this!
Posted on:6/11/10
MissVicki
I can't wait to get this. I've been wanting to read a lot of the books this has. I have to say that 100 books for less than $20 is a steal. I like to either read or play a DS game as a way to unwind before going to bed. With this, I'll be able to do both.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Classic Books
This should be good
Posted on:6/9/10
ThorThunder
When i saw this is was on nintendo.com and i was really suprised, and happy.I'm glad that you can now use the ds for more than games. it would be great if nintendo would just let you by books for your dsi from as a dsi ware item, but they sadly don't. can't wait for it to come out so i can buy it. And if i were you i'd buy it too.(that is an order not a request)
Review 14 for 100 Classic Books
Cool
Posted on:6/2/10
BookNerdy
I really want this, i love books, a lot, & my mom is proablly gonna let me get it...im so excited
Review 15 for 100 Classic Books
AWESOME!!!!
Posted on:6/1/10
12archie12
so excited about getting this!!! when i first found out about this from a site i was like cool i hope it comes to america i have always wanted to read some of these books now i can and for only 20 dollars that itself is a good deal not very often you find a ds game for 20 dollars new also dont forget the books are cheaper than regular ebooks so this is cool buy this item
Review 16 for 100 Classic Books
its about time
Posted on:5/21/10
wiz64
if you ask me its about time we people who like to read have something to do on the ds i mean cooking and playing games is fun but sometimes i just want to read a good book on my ds it will be a very nice change of pace if you ask me and having 100 books plus books from wi-fi i know im going to pick this game up and i think other kids should as well
Review 17 for 100 Classic Books
Now you can read a book on your gaming system!
Posted on:3/26/10
BRATKISS
I ordered the European version of this 'game.' It has 100 classic books in an easy to read format. It is a nice addition to your DS collection. Good choice if you are considering a Kindle. Your parents will probably happily but it for you and they may even use it!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.