GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies

Before setting off on their adventure, players can create their own heroes, deciding how they would like their face, hair and clothing to look. As the story unfolds, players become stronger, smarter and more powerful, and can customize companions who join their group. Players will have fun discovering more than 1,000 pieces of clothing, armor, weapons and other items that will provide them with a unique appearance and special abilities. Players can also change the class of their character at any time, choosing from a variety of vocations that will affect their abilities and strengths in the game.
Average Customer Rating:
9.472
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
10 stars
64
9 stars
19
8 stars
3
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
87 out of 9196%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
Review 1 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
Buying it again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/13
Anonymous
Location: Rhode Island
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had this game and I ADORED it, but then my sister lost it for me along with Pokemon Heartgold. I was so angry at her, and I never bought either game again. Tomorrow I'm trading in seven games and this is going to be the FIRST thing I buy. I reached either Gleeba or Swinedimples (whichever is the later one) last time, but a save error set me back to the other one. So excited to get back!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
Best Freaking DS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/12
ty1516
Location: Greensboro,NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This take dragon quest to a new step best ds i played its amazeing it just what i wanted hands down if you like rpg this is a must have
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
Dragon Quest!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/12
Bunniesareawesome
Location: Malibu, CA
I have played this game for over twenty-four hours, and yet I still haven't come even close to beating it! The story is unique, and the gameplay itself is awesome. I often find myself grinding for hours just looking for stuff. A cool part of the game is that you can change your warrior into a mage if you want, and if any attributes stack between two classes you can continue it. JRPG's know what their doing, because I honestly can't find myself ever having played a bad one. This is a fantastic time killer and all in all a great game to just play when your bored. Don't think, just buy it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
A really good Dragon Quest
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/12
LinkZelda8576
Location: Woodward, OK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love the ability to customize your character, and the armor actually changing their clothes look, and the very extensive amount of gameplay. The only downfall is that the game gets a bit slow at times, but the overall gameplay is great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
The game that made me re-love JRPG's
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/12
NeonYoshi11
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After reading about 20+ reviews and asking questions in various game forums, I finally decided to purchase this. I beat the Main story about a month ago and have yet to play the post game but I decided to write this review now.
This game is awesome. This is the game that made me re-love Rpg's and now I'm hooked on them.
Some people don't like the story, I like it a lot. I loved how each town had it's own issues and problems that you had to help with. It made the world feel like it was an actual place were people weren't just generic, but each town's citizen actually mattered some how.
The Battle system is awesome. Simple, and fast battles help this game move along at a good pace and is much appreciated. The music is pretty good. It's not Final Fantasy Quality but some of the songs are well done and some are just kind of ehh.
The graphics look real good for a DS game. I'm more into Art Style than actual graphics and the ART style they chose in this game is awesome.
90% of the time I knew exactly were to go and when I didn't I jumped on Gamefaqs for a few minutes to figure it out.
The Best part is probably the customization. I love being able to customize my game experience how I like. I didn't care that my other 3 characters didn't have a story, they were cool looking and that was good enough for me.
The characters all change looks depending on the gear you get so that is extra incentive to buy other gear/armor.
The money is not just flowing in this game everywhere so your weapons and armor purchases must be made wisely.
You can grind it you want and I found I had to here and there. I prefer to be slightly over lvl'd compared to under-leveled, so I did a bit of grinding where I may not have needed to.
The Main story took me 71 hours to beat. I know most people beat it in 30-45 hours but I loved this game so much I took my time with it. I went everywhere and anywhere I could just do experience everything about this.
Dragon Quest 9 is one of the best games I've ever played. I almost forgot to mention the Post-game content. There are tons of Dungeons/Grottoes to explore, each with their own Boss and drops at the end. I've actually only done one and was waiting to do the rest once I completed the Main story.
From what I hear I'll have another 200-400+ hours of game content and anywhere up to 700-1000 to fully complete everything in game.
That is just insane for a game that is priced at $18.00 used at GS.
If you even kind of like RPG's......Get this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
This is one of the best games I've ever played :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
Nimuk
Location: NY
This game is one of the best games I've ever played. The story is fun and filled with twist. The fighting is fun with a bunch of weapons to choose from. The characters are realistic and nice looking. All the different outfits and armor are super fashionable. The villains are are cool and so are the good guys. This is the game that relay got me into RP games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
BEST ADVENTURE GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/12
Geniusqtm
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game, it is a lot of fun and allows me to explore different vocations. It is a very fun game and I would truly recomend this for anyone who is into adventure and challenge
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
Great game. Best rpg ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/12
boxer17573
Location: usa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you have ever thought of getting this game but didnt, that is a bad choice. Good game and once you beat it the game gives you 20 new maps. each mounth the game has a new map based on that month.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
My Favorite Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
Nyay
Location: U.S.A.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is my favorite game. All I did was go to Gamestop, traded in a bunch of my old games, not knowing what game to get. Then, the salesperson suggested this game. I wasn't sure at first, then I tried it. Best game ever to me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
Good, but Could be a LOT better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
Chrimardix
Location: Hamilton,MO
I got the game and got it used. it would freeze up and i had ceep startin over, so i'd get the game new if i were you. and the multiplayer you heard about, that's only if other people have the game, and u've got 2 uze wi fi. i got action replay dsi and got a bunch of codes for the game, so you should get that 2. after a wile the monsters u got 2 fight are hard 2 beat, like a spider with a skull for a head,as of 4-7-12, i hav not beetan it. so think, think, and think some more over it. i'd get it, cause if you're really good at it you can have a lot o' fun. like i said, i'd get it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/12
Xnaut1617
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was very cool, and the characters in the game are more customiable than any other game I have played. And the Wi-Fi is cool too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
It's ok
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/12
Xnaut1617
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The main reason people buy this game is because you can create your own party characters, which is fun to play around with. The story isnt so great and the gameplay is typical dragon quest.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
A Locksmith review- Dragon Quest IX
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
Locksmith
Location: Unknown
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
RPGs. What do people think of them now? Now it's just "That's what Noobtubers use.". Now of course, you have to appreciate old RPGs to like this game. Once you're past that, you're taken on a magical adventure that will be in your mind forever. Your a Celestial (Angelic Creatures that defend Earthlings) Apprentice whom lost their wings in an incident and is now mortal. I was mesmerized by the game itself. I felt apart of their world. From falling down to Earth, and Fighting Corvus, I was entertained. The Graphics are simply cute anime-ish graphics that compliment the game. The sound mainly it either text popping up in a text box or music. Gameplay is bare-bones RPG. You run across a map. You fight monsters. And you have team members. The real star is the side-content. Once you've beaten the story, you think it's over. THINK AGAIN. There are MANY side-quests,and weapons,and monsters that you've never seen. With all of this on your plate, you're looking at atleast 100 hours of gameplay. Plus a Navi-like fairy whom is actually entertaining. This has been a Locksmith review.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
FUN
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/11
ZARK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game after tons of research and LOVED it! Ultimate customization, alchemy, dungeons, treasure maps, swords, hats, and the whole nine yards! Very fun game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
Amazing game that will keep you busy for months
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/11
Ryu13
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first saw this, I was skeptical about getting it. Now I'm extremely glad I got this. It was about a year ago that I bought this game, and even now, I'm not done completely. There are so many quests to do, and so many items, weapons and clothing items to collect. Don't worry, there is an end! But it doesn't stop there. Playing with your friends can help a lot. It looks especially good on a large Nintendo DSi screen. There are some scary sequences, but it doesn't really contain much inappropriate content. The music is very fun to listen to; very moving. I always love to listen to it. One thing I do not like is that it can get repetitive sometimes. But that is really a minor issue, because I really get bored easily. Overall, this game is very fun. I would suggest it even if you don't like RPG's (role-playing games). This is a good game to start off playing, even if you've never heard or played the Dragon Quest/Warrior series. You will be stuck on it. I guarantee that.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Dragon Quest Monsters Joker 2 Official Strategy Guide
5 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels Starry Sky Official Strategy Guide
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
My Favorite
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
Elizaveta
Location: Salem, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game. So far it's been my favorite out of the DQ/W games made! I love the ability to change armor and it for it to actually appear on your character. This game is so personalized! You began as an angel ready to start out on your guardian career when something screws up- I'll let you play to find out! The controls are easy enough, even for me! I'm typically just a watcher when it comes to games but this one was perfect for me. It keeps advanced gamers satisfied and I even got my sister (eight) hooked on it! I prefer this one over VI, too. All in all, it's an amazing game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/11
indianajones
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Best DS game ever! But you can't really choose what to say, you can only say yes/no
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
Best looking RPG on the ds
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/11
RPGfanatic1233
Great game great game-play great graphics Great music although the actual musical score could have been a bit better. The story could have been a bit stronger but the pacing moves so fast that you dont really notice. You are constantly going from one location to the next and dont have time to get bored. I love the script translations with all of the references to our cultures legends and tall tales and actually found myself laughing out loud a few times. Great game and worth the hype.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/11
pacmanlover
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
good story. good online. fun. good grafix. awsome its art must buy DS game for all RPG Fan! its super good! :) :D ;) it makes me happy and i cant stop playing it! amzing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/11
blackstar445
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you love japanese roleplaying games this is the game for you its challenging but fun.i love customizing my characters. great game great music
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>