GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wii Classic Controller Pro Black

Simple. Intuitive. Easy to use. The Classic Controller Pro is designed to work together with the Wii Remote controller on the Wii video game system. Created for accessibility and comfort, the Classic Controller Pro blends design elements from game systems such as the NES, Super NES, and Nintendo 64 providing seamless play control for a wide range of games.The Classic Controller Pro is primarily used for playing Virtual Console games on the Wii Shop Channel (not compatible with Nintendo GameCube games). Also look on the back of Wii Game Disc packaging to see which games use the Classic Controller Pro.
Average Customer Rating:
9.574
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
10 stars
37
9 stars
11
8 stars
6
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
54 out of 54100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Review 1 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
takes sometime to get you to it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
keybladelover
Location: Georgia GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its a good idea for old game like on the 64 besides super smash bros 64 but I've just been so use to the game cube controller and i think if i had sometime before the game cube controller or even the game cube and had spent time i think i could of gotten use to it but it fells like a ps2 controller but im not use to it in my smash game i mean its amazing for mario all star limited addition and all but its not the first thing i would pick out i mean its better then using the wii remote or numchuck but not as good as my good old game cube controller i mean its got a great design but i though it would probably go like a game cube you know just plug it in not to my wii remote but you can also use this at the title screen watch fells alot better then the wii remote alot alot alot more but all i gotta say is that if your used to the classic controller its fells alot better to move around with this but if your used to the game cube controller get it instead
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/12
nax2466
Location: new albany,IN
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a good addition to any wii collection. You need a classic controller for some games and it adds to some games value. The controls are better than the gamecube controller. Even if you have a good gamecube controller I would get this. I would try to find the limited edition gold controller from Goldeneye. The gold controller looks cool, but if you can not find it the black one is fine.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Just Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/12
RagingFlames
Location: Clifton,NJ
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Okay now let me tell you its flaws- It could be a little less expensive Takes A While To get used to the design/structure I Used To Always Stand Up When I Play The Wii...Now I Can Sit Down! It DEFINATELY decreased my leg pain and sore feet. The Design could be a little simpler but not a big problem. It Looks Amazing....Makes Your Game Collection More Impressive. A MUST for the wii. *Note-Doesnt Work on ALL Wii Games
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Awesome for the new Wii.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/12
Partyperson
Location: Maryland,MD
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a must have for the new Wii if you like virtual console games. Because this new Wii doesn't have a gamecube controller slot and it can't play Gamecube games.So it is perfect for the new Wii.=)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Must have for Wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/12
drdreisawesome
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you have a wii this is a must have for it. it makes it feel like you are playing an Xbox or Ps3. i love how it is compatiable with most games and 2k 12 for wii just got a heck of a lot funner.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
super good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
supergamer11
Location: mn
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
best thing i ever bought for the wii but you cant play it with every game. its just like an xbox controler but the letters a in a diffrent spot
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Blacks Always better than white
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/12
SILENTxEPIDEMIC
Location: High Point, NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its looks cool it feels nice and the z button are easier to access And it lets me be able to play me favorite classics.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
The Gamecube Reborn
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/12
CDC13
Location: Aurora,CO
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is awesome because it reflects on its old friend the Gamecube Controller and gives itself a new edge to modern gaming with the Button Layout, the Feel of it, and the look of it is cool. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a new experience on the Wii and is tired of looking dumb throwing your hands all over the place with the Wii Remote and Nunchuck.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamer31298
WI
 
Please wait while more information about gamer31298 is loaded.
Additional information about gamer31298 could not be loaded.
Posted 2/6/12
can u use this for MW3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
im used to ps2 controller so i liked it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
zayzay5855
Location: miami florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its great if your used to ps2 controllers but it only works for games that have the icon on the back of the case
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LycanOfDark
 
Please wait while more information about LycanOfDark is loaded.
Additional information about LycanOfDark could not be loaded.
Posted 1/10/12
Well it isn't like they are gonna make you guess whether or not you can use it for your games. And the games it can be used for are worth the buy, like Monster Hunter Tri.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Improves upon the already great Wii Classic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/12
Electronaut72
Location: Acworth, GA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The original Wii classic controller was excellent, but this pro version improves upon that design by adding side grips and spacing the thumb sticks further apart. Also, the cord now protrudes from the top instead of the bottom. That's right, this controller isn't wireless--you'll still have to plug it into a Wii remote for it to work (that means for each player you'll need one of these AND a Wii remote).
Even though it looks modest compared to the other systems' stock controllers, the Classic Pro is very functional. I was able to bust out complex combos in Tatsunoko Vs. Capcom within seconds of picking it up. I can't confirm anything about it's durability yet, but my initial impression is that it'll take a decent amount of abuse before buttons start sticking, ect.
The Wii Classic Controller Pro is without a doubt THE controller you want for fighting and other arcade-style games. It's not too pricey, either...so there's really no excuse for Wii owners not to have at least one of these in their arsenal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Overall, a very good first-party effort, but....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
ZeroAgent0
Location: Kaiserslautern, Germany
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If someone were to ask me if this is an improvement over the original Wii Classic Controller, I would have to say yes, and no. Yes, it's MUCH more comfortable to hold than the original Classic Controller, due to the addition of the grips on the bottom, but I prefer the button layout, albeit only slightly different, of the original.
I'm not a fan of the shoulder buttons, especially when playing SNES games. The bottom 2 shoulder buttons are the ones I keep trying to hit while playing SNES games, but Nintendo chose to use the top 2 for the original L/R buttons on SNES games. Just a minor compaint, but it matters when you accidentally hit the wrong button, which wasn't an issue with the original controller.
Also, while this controller works great, it feels cheap and flimsy in your hands. If they would have made the housing of the controller just a wee bit sturdier, it wouldn't feel as bad.
Bottom line, even though it's not perfect, it's still a much better option than most of the lousy, third-party controllers out there.
Also, all you new-schoolers can stop comparing it to the PS and Xbox controllers now... Go find yourself a Super Nintendo controller, and you will see where the roots of this, and most modern console controllers truly lies. The Wii Classic, Xbox and PS controllers all use the same basic design created by Nintendo for the SNES. The Wii Classic controller is simply an SNES pad with analog sticks, and 2 extra shoulder buttons.
Just a little gaming history for you young ones. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
do not throw it or drop it fulley plastic !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
cs26
Location: baton rouge
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it works good mw3 way easier when using normal controller to me.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
IT'S ABOUT TIME!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/11
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love this controller. It works like a normal one, and believe it or not, it is WAY more comfortable than a 360 or ps3 controller. The only problem is that most games don't use it...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/11
TravisCreveling
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
useing the wii classic controller is like playing wii games with a ps3 controller
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/11
pacmanlover
Location: USA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
works prfixly! fills confy in ur hands way better than a ps2 conchroller it has a good fill and grip fills right in ur hands! its realy good works awsome for the VC and good value and it is deribil u cant brack it if u tryed it is awsome i love it! buy it if u have a wii and it will work on wii U as well. its sweet. i love it! :) :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
Llinkz
Location: New York, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is a great addidtion to ur wii if u have call of duty black ops because it gives u more control and gives u easier gameplay and lets you pown some noobs !
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
works good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/11
funman99
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It looks really wierd ,but it comfortable for the hands. It good for game that you dont have to move your arms!!!! I WISH MICROSOFT WOULD MAKE A HALO FOR WII AND PS3!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Fantastic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/11
MegaBit95
Location: Beaumont, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller really helps. Great for shooters and for people who don't like to use the Wii Remote and Nunchuck setup on certain games (like myself). My only problem with it is that it needs triggers, not just buttons on the top, and not every game can be played with it. Still, an awesome controller and well worth the price. I might get another one for my other Wii Remote! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Great controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
Gabe98
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I really like this controller and i use it on a lot of my sport games like NBA 2k and FIFA 11
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
00710
California, Los Angeles
 
Please wait while more information about 00710 is loaded.
Additional information about 00710 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 8/9/11
finally an american who plays fifa 11
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Really Helps
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
EJay
Location: Miami Gardens, Florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is a godsend. Perfect for games that require quick thinking and fast movements like CoD. This totally changed my opinion about the Wii. Being an Xbox 360 fan, you can see why I was skeptical about this console but when I found out about this, I was thrilled. If you're not into the whole point and click thing with the Wii then get this controller; or atleast the original classic controller.
P.S. I have never used the original classic controller but from what I've heard, its the same as this one without the extended hand grips.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>