GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wii Classic Controller Pro Black

Simple. Intuitive. Easy to use. The Classic Controller Pro is designed to work together with the Wii Remote controller on the Wii video game system. Created for accessibility and comfort, the Classic Controller Pro blends design elements from game systems such as the NES, Super NES, and Nintendo 64 providing seamless play control for a wide range of games.The Classic Controller Pro is primarily used for playing Virtual Console games on the Wii Shop Channel (not compatible with Nintendo GameCube games). Also look on the back of Wii Game Disc packaging to see which games use the Classic Controller Pro.
Average Customer Rating:
9.582
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
10 stars
38
9 stars
11
8 stars
6
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
55 out of 55100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Review 1 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
do not throw it or drop it fulley plastic !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
cs26
Location: baton rouge
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it works good mw3 way easier when using normal controller to me.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Improves upon the already great Wii Classic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/12
Electronaut72
Location: Acworth, GA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The original Wii classic controller was excellent, but this pro version improves upon that design by adding side grips and spacing the thumb sticks further apart. Also, the cord now protrudes from the top instead of the bottom. That's right, this controller isn't wireless--you'll still have to plug it into a Wii remote for it to work (that means for each player you'll need one of these AND a Wii remote).
Even though it looks modest compared to the other systems' stock controllers, the Classic Pro is very functional. I was able to bust out complex combos in Tatsunoko Vs. Capcom within seconds of picking it up. I can't confirm anything about it's durability yet, but my initial impression is that it'll take a decent amount of abuse before buttons start sticking, ect.
The Wii Classic Controller Pro is without a doubt THE controller you want for fighting and other arcade-style games. It's not too pricey, either...so there's really no excuse for Wii owners not to have at least one of these in their arsenal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
You are gonna need one.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/11
Haydeo
Location: Tucson AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This controller comes in handy for the player who has classic games downloaded to the virtual console, or finds it easier for some games as opposed to the Wii remote, and nunchuck. For the price of twenty bucks, how could you resist? I still prefer to use my old Gamecube controllers because I find them a little more comfortable than this but they are falling apart, so I needed this. I only have two little complaints, it feels like the buttons are in the wrong places. The A and B buttons need to switch places, and the Y and X buttons need to switch places as well. When I played with this for the first time I found myself scrambling to find the B and Y buttons. I got use to it but I still don't like it that much. Also the cord that plugs into the Wii remote is awkwardly long. It seems just weird to have a two foot long cord coming from the controller to another controller you don't know what to do with. Other than that though this is a very good controller that is a must for Wii owners. Again for $20 how could you resist? Just remember to look on the back of the game case to make sure you can use this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Great controller!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/10
wii4life
On April 20th the classic controller pro released with Monster Hunter Tri and sold separately.The Controller itself is very comfortable and is a spin off of the Sony PS2 and PS3 controller. The comfort is extraordinary, with great room between your hands and the analog sticks. The newest function of the controller over its predecessor,the Classic Controller is that the "Z" buttons aren't in the middle of the controller this time but extended out of the upper right and left of the controller. This controller works with any game that uses to Classic Controller including- Super Smash Bros. Brawl,Monster Hunter Tri,Mario Kart Wii,and Wii ware and virtual console games as well. So please Wii owners pick this up if you want a comfortable and functionable controller for your Wii.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
PRO is not an understatement
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/10
CaliFan
first off the classic controller had some good features that made almost all retro gamers jumping for joy, giving us those old fond memories of playing nintendo and super nintendo games but with the PRO its stirring my very gamer soul into new joys that i never thought exsisted.The pros of the controller, it actually provides great comfort and is lighter then the original classic controller so no more hand cramps from playing my favorite classic games on the Wii for hours. the con is that durability seems to have dropped since its made from lighter materials but should survive a few drops here and there but doubt it will survive being thrown across a room, something am not willing to test. Overall the controller is definitely an upgrade to what it was before in almost ever aspect expect the durability but other then that anyone who is using the Wii to play the downloadable games (NES,SNES, N64,etc...) from the market place this is a must have! Not to mention at a reasonable price too so why are you still reading this go and buy one now!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
The Pro that gets an impressive upgrade!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/10
Nykkes2XL
During the lauch of the Wii back in late 2006, nintendo releases the original classic controller that can play virtual console games, and specific wii titles that is compatible with it. But soon, wii owners have complained that the wire was at the bottom of the controller and the mysterious middle button on top of the controller that no knew what it was had no sense of using it. With the release of the Classic controller Pro, it has manage to fix all the solution of the original controller. It included hand grips, new rows of shoulder buttons, cancelled the mysterious middle button, and dual analog sticks are a bit away from each other. I have enjoyed long hours of gameplay with it and it never had a problem again. This is a must for wii owners and its best played with virtual console games and wii titles that supports it. PLAY LIKE A PRO!!! My choice of controller for the Wii.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
good for blackops
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/11
bunnyman153
Location: plymouth, ma
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i bought this controler to play call of duty blackops more easily than with the nunchuk. it works exilent and i can accually get kills now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
The Gamecube Reborn
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/12
CDC13
Location: Aurora,CO
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is awesome because it reflects on its old friend the Gamecube Controller and gives itself a new edge to modern gaming with the Button Layout, the Feel of it, and the look of it is cool. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a new experience on the Wii and is tired of looking dumb throwing your hands all over the place with the Wii Remote and Nunchuck.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
15 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamer31298
WI
 
Please wait while more information about gamer31298 is loaded.
Additional information about gamer31298 could not be loaded.
Posted 2/6/12
can u use this for MW3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Bring The Classic Feel With The Pro!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/10
Nykkes XXX8
Before the classic controller pro was released in america, there were a few people who have bought the Japanese version online. They say it was more comfortable than the original classic controller and I wanted to be sure if it was true or not. So on the actual release date, I was happy and decided to buy one in black. So after playing a few games like super smash bros brawl and mario kart wii, Its Impressive and it is really more comfortable than the original classic controller. It has a better design with the new hand grips and a row of shoulder buttons, great functionality, and perfect responsivness! My one negative side is that its still wire to connect to the bottom of the wii remote. But it doesn't matter. Overall, this is truly the best controller it has to come for the Wii. PLAY LIKE A PRO!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Much better than classic controller!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/10
Tubby Chan
I got this controller in the monster hunter tri bundle and i was definitely worth the extra money! Its more comfortable than the normal classic controller but seems to be made of cheaper plastic than the normal one. I like it with the extra grip and everything else but it seems like one of nintendo's cheaper quality controllers. This controller is lighter than the regular one so it's barely notice while playing. Another good thing is no hand cramp ups like the regular one! For the regular users of the original controllers, this one might take a couple minutes to get used to the new feel. This controller has 2 new buttons that are used for diving/swimming in MH3. White wiimote owners beware, this controller is black so it doesnt go all to well with the white wii motes :P (get a white one if you like matching colors). This controller is a must get for action games for the wii now and best pick for Monster Hunter Tri!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Play like a pro anytime
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
shackattack
Location: Richmond, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have been playing black ops forever with this controler. it feels really nice and plays well. I think its a lot better like this cause you can aim better and it makes you feel like your playing Xbox 360 or PS3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tinkerbell
 
Please wait while more information about tinkerbell is loaded.
Additional information about tinkerbell could not be loaded.
Posted 12/28/10
I have two questions....Does the controller hook up to the front of the wii? My second question is....Do you have to pay a subscription to play Black Ops on the wii?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
takes sometime to get you to it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
keybladelover
Location: Georgia GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its a good idea for old game like on the 64 besides super smash bros 64 but I've just been so use to the game cube controller and i think if i had sometime before the game cube controller or even the game cube and had spent time i think i could of gotten use to it but it fells like a ps2 controller but im not use to it in my smash game i mean its amazing for mario all star limited addition and all but its not the first thing i would pick out i mean its better then using the wii remote or numchuck but not as good as my good old game cube controller i mean its got a great design but i though it would probably go like a game cube you know just plug it in not to my wii remote but you can also use this at the title screen watch fells alot better then the wii remote alot alot alot more but all i gotta say is that if your used to the classic controller its fells alot better to move around with this but if your used to the game cube controller get it instead
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
worth it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/11
dkrx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the classic cotroller pro is very nice and sleek... PERFECT for Black Ops and GoldenEye007 alot harder with wand nuchuck controller
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Really Helps
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
EJay
Location: Miami Gardens, Florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is a godsend. Perfect for games that require quick thinking and fast movements like CoD. This totally changed my opinion about the Wii. Being an Xbox 360 fan, you can see why I was skeptical about this console but when I found out about this, I was thrilled. If you're not into the whole point and click thing with the Wii then get this controller; or atleast the original classic controller.
P.S. I have never used the original classic controller but from what I've heard, its the same as this one without the extended hand grips.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Great controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
Gabe98
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I really like this controller and i use it on a lot of my sport games like NBA 2k and FIFA 11
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
00710
California, Los Angeles
 
Please wait while more information about 00710 is loaded.
Additional information about 00710 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 8/9/11
finally an american who plays fifa 11
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/11
AwesomeGuy55
Location: Granger, IN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its so much more fun playing black ops with my friends. if u have probs using the wii controller in call of duty it makes it easier and mo fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
Llinkz
Location: New York, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is a great addidtion to ur wii if u have call of duty black ops because it gives u more control and gives u easier gameplay and lets you pown some noobs !
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Greatest controller!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/10
papucho44
Location: Deal, NJ
This controller makes me feel like I am playing Xbox 360. Its great for all games especially Call of Duty: Black Ops, and Madden. On Black Ops you get the real feel for the game. On Madden its much easier to locate receivers and make better plays. Overall... GREAT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Awesome for the new Wii.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/12
Partyperson
Location: Maryland,MD
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a must have for the new Wii if you like virtual console games. Because this new Wii doesn't have a gamecube controller slot and it can't play Gamecube games.So it is perfect for the new Wii.=)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wii Classic Controller Pro Black
Awesome and Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/11
XXxBlackOpsxXX
Location: New York, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I Bought for GoldenEye 007 and it was amazing and same with black ops for Wii. It works great with 1st person shooting games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>