GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cabela's Monster Buck Hunter with Gun

Arcade-Style Hunting for the Entire Family!Take on your friends and family to see who can bring down the biggest Bucks across North America!
Average Customer Rating:
7.143
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Monster Buck Hunter with Gun
Review 1 for Cabela's Monster Buck Hunter with Gun
Surprisingly fun game, surprisingly good gun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/11
Niick
Location: Mesa, AZ
THE GAME: This game has fun arcade modes, and a career mode that is slightly more serious, but is still fun for more casual players. The career feels almost effortless in later levels but it feels this way because you feel like you've gotten that good at the game, not that its too easy. There is a fair selection of guns, gear, and also 2 bows. However, after about 1/2 way through the career mode, everything is unlocked so there isn't as much incentive to play all the way through. I wish there were more guns though. But, its still fun at this point to play around with all the new guns and gear. Oh yeah speaking of gear: TO USE CALLS IN THE GAME, USE THE LEFT BUTTON ON THE D-PAD! (atleast for the Top Shot control scheme) The game does not give instructions on how to do this. Arcade mode is what you would expect, tons of animals moving very quickly. it is easier to switch weapons in arcade mode, and theres no gear to deal with, but you can't choose which rifle or shot gun to use. Still a great game though. The graphics are surprisingly good for a Wii game. The controls are smooth, I never noticed any major glitches. Sound is great, animals, calls, guns, ect all sound accurate. -----------------------THE GUN: The Top Shot accessory is a blaze orange plastic shotgun that the Wiimote and Nunchuck fit into. There are rubber pieces that hold the Wiimote in place tightly, but not too tight. The space for the Nunchuck doesn't have any rubber around it, so the Nunchuck isn't held in place as well as the Wiimote. Behind the Wiimote, there is a sliding door that covers the part where the Nunchuck plugs into the Wiimote. This can be cycled like a pump action shotgun to make a satisfying clicking sound. Below this, there is a nice cord reel which works quite well. The wrist strap is also a nice touch. Finally, the gun breaks in half much like a breaker barrel shotgun. My one complaint about the gun is that the controller is all the way at the front, which can make pressing some of the buttons awkward occasionally. But this a great gun overall. I have not tried the Wii Zapper, but I think this is better as far as I know.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Cabela's Monster Buck Hunter with Gun
Not worth it
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
DinoFred
Location: Anchorage, AK
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The only good part of the game is the top shot challenge, the career part really sucks because you don't go and hunt. Everything is right in front of you and you just go and shot everything you can. Not worth the money, get other Cabela's games, not this one.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Monster Buck Hunter with Gun
POINTLESS!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/11
GamePlayer3
This game is comepletely pointless. I am a hunter and this is nothing like hunting. All this game is is mindless shooting, it doesn't even matter where you aim. All in all, this game SUCKS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Monster Buck Hunter with Gun
best arcade game in history!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/11
DJFabMix
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game was so fun i play it on paties like every month i have so much fun with this game it was number one on my christmas list!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Monster Buck Hunter with Gun
Great for short time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/11
Crashnjax77
Location: Jacksonville, FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Ive played this game 3 times and got bored with it. Of course im a big kid in my 30's. But this game would be perfect for the younger kids of 1 to 10yrs old. Graphics are standard for standard tv's obviously. Sound is avg as well. I really have no cons to offer. other than big kids steer clear, and let the lil ones have at it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Monster Buck Hunter with Gun
Fun arcade style game at a great price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/10
RetiredDrillSergeant
Location: Oakdale, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game/gun combo as a present for my step-daughter and "just wanted to make sure how to set it up" so played it. My wife and daughter also played it and I keep on playing with it. It starts off extremely easy and progressively gets more challenging. You need to complete hunts to unlock freeplay and other levels. Should provide with lots of hours of gaming time. Enjoy!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Monster Buck Hunter with Gun
Amazing game pack for the price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/10
dancebeachbum
I always wanted to buy one of these cabela's shooter games for the wii, and I was just planning on buying the wii zapper instead of buying something like this. But I decided to give this game pack a try. I'm really glad i did, the gun that comes with this game makes you feel like you're in the arcade playing it with your friends, rather than sitting at home playing it on the wii. The game itself is really fun, there's quite a few different modes, there's even one where you can challenge your friends to try to beat your score! There's also a career mode that has a different kind of gameplay that challenges you to find things like you would if you were hunting out in the forest. I would recommend this game pack to anyone who wants to buy a deer/animal arcade shooting game, its well worth the price!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
24 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DHarman
Trinity, Florida
 
Please wait while more information about DHarman is loaded.
Additional information about DHarman could not be loaded.
Very disappointed
Posted 2/8/11
Do not buy this game if you plan on wanting to play with mulit-player.
The package is false....you cannot use up to 4 controllers. YOu have to share one controller between players. Not the game as advertised. I contacted Activision and their Customer Service is very unfriendly. They say to return the game even though I had to play it to see that you can not play multi-player. The packaging is false and where the package shows 4 controllers, you can only use one to share. NOT THE GAME AS ADVERTISED.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)