GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Portal 2

Portal 2 draws from the award-winning formula of innovative gameplay, story, and music that earned the original Portal over 70 industry accolades and created a cult following. The single-player portion of Portal 2 introduces a cast of dynamic new characters, a host of fresh puzzle elements, and a much larger set of devious test chambers. Players will explore never-before-seen areas of the Aperture Science Labs and be reunited with GLaDOS, the occasionally murderous computer companion who guided them through the original game. The game's two-player cooperative mode features its own entirely separate campaign with a unique story, test chambers, and two new player characters. This new mode forces players to reconsider everything they thought they knew about portals. Success will require them to not just act cooperatively, but to think cooperatively.
Average Customer Rating:
9.358
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
10 stars
43
9 stars
6
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
50 out of 5394%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Portal 2
Review 1 for Portal 2
Breath of FRESH AIR!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
InMiDlIfECrYsIs
Location: Mobile, AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Portal 2 is a masterpiece created by Valve and the follow-up to the "Cult Classic" Portal. This game is amazing from beggining to end. If you're a fan of puzzle and adventure games this is the game for you!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Please remember to check out my Youtube channel! and also RATE COMMENT AND SUBSCRIBE :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Upper Perk
Best Game I Own
Posted 5/14/11
The whole game is amazing. I never played the original but this game is so entertaining. I love the Co-op levels and the single player level. They actually make you think (Sorry if that sounds mean), most other games are just shooting people and trying to destroy things. This game actually has a point, and that point is to make you THINK.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Portal 2
Someone thoughtfully used their brains.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
Molla
Location: Puerto Rico
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's an outstanding feat when look at it. Portal 2 at heart is a puzzle game that transcends farther than what it should be. The puzzles are fanatically thought up by the guys at Valve. Each one will have you scratching your head, wondering how to solve them and when you do; a feeling of gratification suddenly appears. But that's the magic of the developers flawless level design. Portal 2 has some pretty nice looking visuals, nothing mind-blowing of course. It's running on valves 7 year old source engine, but surprising it still manages to look superb. Some nice physic effects and moody art-direction makes the game recieve the nice graphical treatment. Audio wise, the game is top notch. Thanks to gaming's greatest written screenplay, the dialogue in the game makes each of the actors voice overs come to life in a big way. Wheatly, glados and others add to unforgettable gaming cast. When your done with the 6-8 hour singleplayer mode, you'll be able to play alongside a friend and solve puzzles together. This is a separate mode. Once again, it remains as well written, funny and entertaining as the single player mode. You'll chunk through everything the game has to offer in about 12 hours, but those who continue dive into it's world might find it impossible to leave even after 30. Overall: Portal 2 is the definition of gaming perfection. Well written-funny dialogue, Incredible cast of characters, amazing level design.. we can keep going on. Portal 2 just does a lot of modern games don't do and it doesn't even need explosions to do so. Give you a thoughtfully, unique and perfectly structured video game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
World of Goo
 
 
 
Braid
5.5 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Portal 2
AWESoME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/11
Ogters
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Portal 2 is so awesome I literaly craped my pants.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Wheatley
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Portal 2
Just Perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/11
Kolbe
Location: Winnipeg
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Thre words: GAME OF THE YEAR. Incredibly funny, amazing storyline, best ending, sweet gameplay, excellent graphics. My favorite game yet. NOTE: It might be REALLY hard if you haven't played the first, which is not a big deal cuz the orange box is like less than 20 bucks
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Portal 2
Awesome upcoming game.
Posted on:3/22/11
xiBuzzifyx
Location: Houston, Tx
This game is even better than the original Portal. While i haven played this game yet, I've had a mysterious dream, dealing with custom bots and GLaDoS. I got to play a demo over night and was extremely thrilled. This game will be amazing.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
3 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
P3NGu1N
Largo, Florida
 
Please wait while more information about P3NGu1N is loaded.
Additional information about P3NGu1N could not be loaded.
I get to play with friends that have PS3!
Posted 3/30/11
I have (obviously) a gaming PC, and I've always wanted to play with my friends on PS3 (I've already played along side xbox gamers on Shadowrun and they sucked lol) anyway whats better than playing coop with my friends on the console? Killing 'em in a fps.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Portal 2
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/11
Jerms
Location: Houston,TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Portal 2 is one of the best games that I have ever played.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Torabytt. Check us out. :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Portal 2
Science class to the max
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/14
EndlessMello
Location: Bland, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Portal 2 is a gem unlike any other. Continuing from the story plot, you wake up in another cryo chamber then meet a humorous artificial intelligence core named Wheatley who plans on making you escape. Now, single player is not a thing that all people enjoy in video games, they prefer to compete with or play with a friend/enemy. Portal 2 lets you compare ranks within test chambers you complete in single player by time and amount of portals you use. Even though you can compete you could also cooperate with players. In co-op mode, you and a friend play as Atlas and P-body, two robots powered by AI cores that don't know anything, You work with GLADOS (the villain from the previous game) to help unlock the cryo tubes to save the other test subjects. You could even high five players for a good job. To conclude, Portal is as funny as Seth Macfarlane, Epic as Chuck Norris, and mart as Steven Hawkings (and I'm not exaggerating).
Note: there is more to the game, but that just spoils the fun :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Portal 2
A masterpiece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/14
Jacobee
Portal 2 is an amazing game, period. The innovative puzzles introduced in the first game have returned with even more elements (like lasers, gels, and "Aerial Faith Plates"), exponentially increasing the mind-boggling fun. The puzzles truly get your brain working, and finding the solution is always a pleasure. And as if the clever gameplay wasn't enough, the game picks up where Portal left off with a movie-worthy story and a cast of brilliant characters. Almost all of these characters harbor interesting and flawed personalities, and each and every one of them is hilarious in one way or another. Seriously, Portal 2 is as much a game about humour as it is a game about puzzles. The game's graphics and music are decent, and its lasting appeal is strengthened greatly by a co-op multiplayer mode (which I admittedly have very little experience with), and the option to create your own test chambers and share them with others. That last feature is immensely entertaining, if only to experience the brilliant creations others have made. I honestly cannot think of a major flaw in Portal 2. Perhaps the dark humor that it presents can be a bit off-putting, but if you're able to stomach that then I recommend this game wholeheartedly. It's worth its price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Portal 2
So very good!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
Anonymous
Location: pittsburgh,pa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had really really high expectations for Portal 2, because the first game was so good. They did not dissapoint, this game is on the must buy list! The graphics are top notch, the story is better than the first, the voice acting is funny and great to keeps the story moving. I have yet to play through the multi player stuff however, the single player is enough to justify the price. The game play is pretty much the same as the first with a lot more tools and some of the puzzles will take you a while to get through unless you are some sort of genius, they took the info from fans of the first and added a lot of that to this game to make it great. This game is for any type of gamer the hard core have challenge modes the casuals can play through single and multi player the game is just a lot of fun and easy to pick up and put down even my 6yr old likes it. Hurry up and buy it :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Portal 2
One of the best games I've ever played!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/14
Pnd0724
Portal 2 is my favorite game. Everything about it is amazing. This is a must have game! It is still a great game to this day!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Portal 2
My mind has been blown.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
Thatnerdguy
Location: My PC, obviously.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First thing's first: If you have a PS3, get the PS3 version. It comes with a free steam copy of the game. Anyway, Portal 2 didn't meet my expectations, it blew them out of the water. Valve has created a masterpiece.The gameplay is tight and polished. The physics are spot-on,and there are no discernable glitches. The music and voice acting are unbelieveably good. The Single-player campaign is a little short, however. It takes only 10-12 hours to fully enjoy everything it has to offer, but then there's a separate co-op campaign. The co-op is awesome,but you absolutely need to do it with a friend. Trying to play with a total stranger using a chatbox to do all the talking is a pain. You need your friend either within shouting distance or a microphone to be successful here. All in all, you need to stop reading this babble, and click that buy button up there . ^^
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Portal 2
my question is
Posted on:4/8/11
shoal
Location: Clovis, CA
my question is a very simple qestion will there be cake
 
My Product Recommendations
Portal
8.4 out of 10(17)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
30 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Portal 2
I loved it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/11
MrAustinFTW
Location: Durham, CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I absolutely loved every aspect of the game. I love how ValvE goes into so much detail about everything and includes the Ratman Dens in the Portal series. The only thing I didn't like about it was the lack of cake.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Portal 2
Twice the Fun is Nice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/11
PoultreyWolf
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Well this game does live up to expectations both from Valve, and it being Portal's squeal. One does not have to have played Portal, to become emerged in the game. It is very gripping and quite the puzzler. I feel those who haven't played any Portal before, will have more difficulty than those who have played Portal, but you will pick it up in no time. If you are on the fence with this game download Portal:First Slice. It's a demo of the original Portal and will give you some insight into the game play and layout.This is definitely a game worth checking out and trying. Gives you puzzles and FPS view. Cant get much better than that.
 
My Product Recommendations
Portal
8.4 out of 10(17)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Portal 2
Valve Has Done It Again!! Another Great Game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/11
BPaige834
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay, first off i was a huge fan of PORTAL when it first came out and was in love with it. It was a great game and it had a lot of challenges. The problem with PORTAL is that the game is a little too short and you could easily beat it in one day. Now When I heard About PORTAL 2 I was going crazy!! This game is amazing. It has amazing graphics, a humerous cast, great puzzles, and it is a lot longer,unless you play it nonstop. A new feature in PORTAL 2 is that there is co-op mode where you can work with a friend. I haven't tried it yet, but will soon. Another great thing about PORTAL 2 is that it is for all ages. This one doesn't have a lot of blood anymore so it is great for younger kids. If you are any gamer then you should get this game!! All that I have to say is Valve has done it again!! Another great game!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Portal
8.4 out of 10(17)
 
 
 
 
Portal 2: The Official Guide
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Portal 2
Amazing GAME!!! :D <3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/11
Buttercup
Location: Florida!
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i have this game at home and im in chapter 6. its an amazing game and its good for people who love puzzle solving shooters. It has a very nice storyline and it has some good graphics! Overall, who ever likes these types of games should totally get it. My cousin has the first game, i started getting obessesed with portal 2 even though i never played the first one i played it at my cousins house but he never let me finish, but he showed me the ending a long time ago before i played the game at his house myself. this game is amazingly beautiful, the test turn from easy to a bit challenging. But overall, This game is amazing and i recommend it for people who love these type of games. idk how people could say this game is boring. i hope there is a Portal 3 sometime in 2012, i would be the happiest girl ever.
 
My Product Recommendations
Portal
8.4 out of 10(17)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Portal 2
The long awaited sequel to the smash hit!
Posted on:10/23/10
AMSCPU
Location: North Haven, CT
This game has to be one of VALVE'S biggest games yet!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Portal 2
Cant wait, saw the previews
Posted on:1/3/11
Shut176
Location: Bloomington, MN
I can't wait to do all the new things. check out youtube and search portal 2 to know what your getting before buying. The cake is... NOT a lie.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Portal
8.4 out of 10(17)
 
 
 
MAG
8.3 out of 10(563)
 
 
 
 
 
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RockmanEXE
 
Please wait while more information about RockmanEXE is loaded.
Additional information about RockmanEXE could not be loaded.
New Skins
Posted 1/16/11
I'm willing to bet that the community will get a hole of the skins, and they'll be on skin sharing sites within 24 hours of release.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Portal 2
Assume the party escort position, again
Posted on:2/20/11
Albireo6972
Great looking game, played Portal for a long time now, along with all the extra content that was made for it on PC. Don't really care about the skins, as the PC version will always have the ability to mod. So to sum this up, cant wait for the game, PC version is better than any system version.
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Portal 2
Spectacular!
Posted on:7/24/10
LilRobot
Valve has never let us down with their games, including classics like Half-Life! Portal was quite the challenging game, twists and turns everywhere, and not to mention our favorite: GLaDOS! She threw you into those chambers, but you knew how to deal with it. Portal 2 will NOT be a disappointment. Can't wait!
15 of 21 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>