GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Portal 2

Portal 2 draws from the award-winning formula of innovative gameplay, story, and music that earned the original Portal over 70 industry accolades and created a cult following. The single-player portion of Portal 2 introduces a cast of dynamic new characters, a host of fresh puzzle elements, and a much larger set of devious test chambers. Players will explore never-before-seen areas of the Aperture Science Labs and be reunited with GLaDOS, the occasionally murderous computer companion who guided them through the original game. The game's two-player cooperative mode features its own entirely separate campaign with a unique story, test chambers, and two new player characters. This new mode forces players to reconsider everything they thought they knew about portals. Success will require them to not just act cooperatively, but to think cooperatively.
Average Customer Rating:
9.34
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
10 stars
41
9 stars
5
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
47 out of 5094%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Portal 2
Review 1 for Portal 2
Majestic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/13
higuy
This game is a very fun game with a unique concept and storyline. You use portals to solve puzzles that are challenging but to a certain point. Valve has acomplished a rare combination of being challenging but not to a point where you get frustrated and quit. Once you get through a fun and humorous campaign mode there is a fun multiplayer mode the must use team work. With 4portals at use, if one player decides to anti social jerk and stands in the corner, you not going to get any thing done. Conclusion, this game is a solid 10/10
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Portal 2
Hate it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/13
minecraftmcc
Location: New York , NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I think this game needs a one for it dose not let chile talk and it is not very hard i beat it in 4 hours
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Portal 2
This game ROCKS!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/13
Mojofied
Location: Riverside CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What can I say...THIS GAME ROCKS!!! its fun to play but more fun to play with 2 players. The CO OP is amazing and fun, some of the chambers are hard and take some time. two things you need are a good computer and good internet! I've seen this game played by the Game Grumps as well as other people. the only flaw in the game is some of the chambers are unsolvable untill you find a walkthrough. the coolest part is getting to make your own chambers so you can have others play them, its 2013 and this game will still be great!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Portal 2
BEST GAME EVER!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/13
DoctorPortalMinecraft
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game for my pc with a lack of any gaming consol (please excuse spelling, too lazy to fix) . The game is amazing on a pc! It can get very laggy when glacOS is waking up, but other than that, the game fits perfectly. I changed the controls to that of minecraft (w- forward, s- backwards, a- left, d- right, etc.). Moving around is smooth and the sound is not choppy. Though the game is a lot less quality when my computer is unplugged. It is very laggy and the sound is choppy and unconsistant. But if your computer is working fine, this game is great and I highly recommend it! (I love portal)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Portal 2
worth the $20
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/13
bob2415
Location: virginia, cp
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
when i got this game for pc i wasnt sure if i was gonna like it cause most games i play for the computer are laggy but when i played it i was amazed cause i had no prolems with it it was a crystle clear picture the voices were incredible the puzzles are amazing and the graphics are awsome so i reccomend this game to anyone who loves hard puzzle games p.s. do not play this game unless you have beat the first game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Portal 2
Absolutely amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
Superiorintelx
Location: atlanta,GA
portal 2 is one of the best games i have ever played. the gameplay absolutely superb. the graphics still impress me every time i play it. the soundtrack and sound effects are incredible. i think i have played this game and beaten it about 7 times now. i absolutely adore this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Portal 2
Seems LeGiT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/12
Raybandar
Location: Leesburg, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It was a great game, STILL IS, in fact, both the first and the second! Heartbreaking too..great experience!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Portal 2
Now your thinking with portals
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
Xboxcrazy909
Location: Ga
This is a lot better than the first game. Many more game play hours and a lot more fun in this sequel. This is were you think with portals.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Portal 2
This game is awesome!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/12
thegamer13
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This games is one of the best games i've ever played. I highly recomend that everyone should play this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Portal 2
Someone thoughtfully used their brains.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
Molla
Location: Puerto Rico
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's an outstanding feat when look at it. Portal 2 at heart is a puzzle game that transcends farther than what it should be. The puzzles are fanatically thought up by the guys at Valve. Each one will have you scratching your head, wondering how to solve them and when you do; a feeling of gratification suddenly appears. But that's the magic of the developers flawless level design. Portal 2 has some pretty nice looking visuals, nothing mind-blowing of course. It's running on valves 7 year old source engine, but surprising it still manages to look superb. Some nice physic effects and moody art-direction makes the game recieve the nice graphical treatment. Audio wise, the game is top notch. Thanks to gaming's greatest written screenplay, the dialogue in the game makes each of the actors voice overs come to life in a big way. Wheatly, glados and others add to unforgettable gaming cast. When your done with the 6-8 hour singleplayer mode, you'll be able to play alongside a friend and solve puzzles together. This is a separate mode. Once again, it remains as well written, funny and entertaining as the single player mode. You'll chunk through everything the game has to offer in about 12 hours, but those who continue dive into it's world might find it impossible to leave even after 30. Overall: Portal 2 is the definition of gaming perfection. Well written-funny dialogue, Incredible cast of characters, amazing level design.. we can keep going on. Portal 2 just does a lot of modern games don't do and it doesn't even need explosions to do so. Give you a thoughtfully, unique and perfectly structured video game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Braid
5.5 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Portal 2
Great game--but don't download from here
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/12
berserk83
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love the game itself, but had some issues with gamestop's download service. Besides taking over nine (9) hours to download, it also started having problems only two days after I got it. It started freezing and randomly exiting whenever it felt like it. Went to the download support and they passed the buck to Valve. I had Steam validate my game cache and one of the game files came up corrupted. Steam automatically replaced the file and all now seems to be well. My advice: get a hard copy of the game on a disk. It will download faster from the disk than over the internet and you won't have problems with corrupted files.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Portal 2
Let me just say...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/29/12
LegendofJimmy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I do not count Valve as a game development company but more of an art company! Portal and Portal 2 are just... amazing! Words can't describe the feeling you get when you play this games! Just amazing, really, amazing! It's challenging at first but once you get used to it, it's addicting! The gameplay will make want to play it for long periods of time, the graphics are great, and it will make you laugh at points. Great games!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Portal 2
Buy It Now
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/12
ItalianPopcorn
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is one of the best games I've gotten in about 2 years. it is a very challenging game so it lasts for at least 6 weeks. You will have fun even when Glados is laughing at you and calling you fat.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Portal 2
amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/11
dragonfett
now i havnt played it on pc but i beat both modes on xbox...im adicted to it. the sounds problem is just one part (as far as i know) where if you did what i did you are still in a funnel thingy and GLaDOS talks about the next part early and it is funny its got all the original stuff from turrents and cubes to the new mobilty gels new characters and MuLtIpLaYeR.and its comidy still intertains me im getting pc versoin soon and i hear thears cheats on pc O.0
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Portal 2
A challenging puzzle game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/11
Porygon
Location: Pleasanton, CA
As we all know, the original Portal made in 2007 was a first-person puzzle game designed to test one's ability to solve problems and progress to the next chamber. It originally featured Chell, and GLaDOS( short for "Genetic Lifeform and Disk Operating System"). There were also references to other characters like Dougal Rattman.
Here, we have the sequel, coming roughly four years later in 2011. The series keeps its roots; it is a puzzle game. You get a handheld portal device, in which you can create 2 portals to walk through, or have objects pass through, and utilize the two portals in a way in which you will be able to complete the test chamber. Well, that is in the beginning, at least. If you're somewhat slow, like I am, you can spend about thirty minutes thinking of ways to complete the various puzzles, starting from very simplistic to very complex and vexing. The controls are very similar to those of first person shooter games.
With this sequel, new characters are introduced. When the game starts, you meet Wheatley, who follows you through the beginning levels. Cave Johnson...or rather, his pre-recorded messages, guiding you through Aperture before GLaDOS was activated, and Caroline, who was GLaDOS before her brain was inserted into a computer. As you go progress, you'll see how characters develop, and how Aperture goes into the state it is now.
I would go on, but I think you should experience the rest yourself.
If you like first-person view games, and if you happen to like puzzles, this may be the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Portal 2
Perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/11
NicktheName
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Valve have outdone themselves once again. Portal 1 was great. Portal: Still Alive was better. But Portal 2 was the best. Amazing graphics, sound, and story. Just perfect.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Portal 2
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/11
Richie9100
Location: Florida, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Compared to Portal 1 This game has, better graphics, better game play, cut scenes, more than just ordinary tests, and perfect for the PC. I recommend this for anyone who loves a challenge and strategy, this game is much more longer with incredibly intensive chambers. You will definitely LOVE this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
logan19
 
Please wait while more information about logan19 is loaded.
Additional information about logan19 could not be loaded.
Awesome
Posted 8/19/12
If you are a geek and like science buy this game. I've beaten it 5 times.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Portal 2
The perfect sequel
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/11
Ultrachaos
If you were disappointed in the first game, look no further, Portal 2 fixes almost all of the problems of the first game. A richer story, alot more levels, co-op, and some great new puzzles.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Portal 2
PC version Is not good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/11
ps3suxalot
I played the pc version and it sucked i bought the game matched it to my computer put it in and it took an hour and a half to install hen it was verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy laggy. i returned it (not very easly either) and got it for xbox it was awesome, just not for pc.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Portal 2: The Official Guide
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 36 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Grimnir
Croton-on-Hudson NY
 
Please wait while more information about Grimnir is loaded.
Additional information about Grimnir could not be loaded.
Laggy Game
Posted 1/1/12
You shouldnt hate the game because it has lag. That only means that your computer's proscessor isnt good enough or you dont have enough RAM.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Portal 2
Best. Game. Ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/11
Jrjy3
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is completely awesome. MUCH better than the original Portal. There is MUCH more gameplay, and the game takes an unexpected turn somewhat close to the end which makes the game even longer and more fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>