GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Portal 2

Portal 2 draws from the award-winning formula of innovative gameplay, story, and music that earned the original Portal over 70 industry accolades and created a cult following. The single-player portion of Portal 2 introduces a cast of dynamic new characters, a host of fresh puzzle elements, and a much larger set of devious test chambers. Players will explore never-before-seen areas of the Aperture Science Labs and be reunited with GLaDOS, the occasionally murderous computer companion who guided them through the original game. The game's two-player cooperative mode features its own entirely separate campaign with a unique story, test chambers, and two new player characters. This new mode forces players to reconsider everything they thought they knew about portals. Success will require them to not just act cooperatively, but to think cooperatively.
Average Customer Rating:
9.255
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (295 reviews)
10 stars
135
9 stars
50
8 stars
9
7 stars
4
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
194 out of 20893%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Portal 2
Review 1 for Portal 2
A fantastic game by fantastic developers!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
goldenpiggy123
Location: Indian Trail, NC
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I loved the Half-Life series and Portal so I became extremely excited when I discovered they were making a sequel to the mind bending puzzle game. This game is way better than the first one. I would recommend this to anyone who loves puzzle games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Portal 2
BUY IT NOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/14
cookoo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the best game I've played in years.This game is a lot better than the first portal, they added a few minor and non-minor things to this game.Compared to Portal, you now have multiplayer! You can play with your xbox friends or you can play with random people. They also added bouncing jell and speed jell. The speed jell, when you walk on it, it makes you go faster to get to farther places. The bouncing jell makes you bounce higher to get to unreached places. I don't want to give away too much detail like a review does, but overall this is one of the top three games in my book. But if your thinking of getting this, its a puzzle game, but the puzzles aren't impossible.If your new to portal, you have a portal gun and your trying to get t point A to point B with only a portal gun and other supplies.And this robot (Glados sorry if i spelled it wrong) is trying to kill you. I'm a long talker, but overall BUY THIS GAME AND POTAL 1!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Portal 2
My second favorite game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/13
Monkeysd724
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is just all around amazing! It has great graphics, the robots are funny, the puzzles are pretty fun, and even though I got it 3 years ago I am still playing it over and over again. It has really good sound quality with a frame drop of 0. The secret areas are also really cool if you can find them. Overall it is my second favorite game that is only beaten by uncharted 2.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Portal 2
Worst game I have ever played!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/13
GameSeeker14
Location: Casper, Wyoming
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Bad gameplay, stupid puzzles, and NO DIFFERENCE from the original Portal make this game a piece of abomination. DO NOT BUY! LISTEN TO ME, DO NOT BUY AT ALL COSTS!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for Portal 2
One of the best games of all time in my opinion
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/13
FictionWriter95
Location: BB, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great for so many reasons; I got 5 days of on and off play my first time through the singleplayer, but loved it the whole way through. As far as the tests, an occasional break is sometimes necessary, but, there really are no tests that made me want to rip my hair out. The story is deep and compelling; it takes no less than a team of writers from Valve to create something this great. But what makes this game for me is it's style of humor; some of the jokes will have you laughing for YEARS after playing this, even if they might be a bit dark. The levels can be dark and forboding, but most of the time you will be focused on the test rather than the sets. You don't even need to play the original, (you can just look up a plot synopsis) and won't want to after finishing this one. The co-op is also immensely fun, though actually a bit more difficult than the singleplayer, requiring a little bit more timing and communication, but that was to be expected. It, too, is also really funny, especially in the Peer Review DLC (which is free). There's not much reason to play the singleplayer again, but I play if I have some free time and don't feel like playing anything else. There is a decent amount of replay value in the co-op, just to see what kind of test-related antics can result. So, as I said, I think this is one of the best games of all-time (minus classics like Pong, Asteroids, etc.) for great story, great characters, great atmosphere, great gameplay, and most of all, great humor.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Portal 2
Best game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/13
Lightzypher
Location: Vermont
As the title says, this is quite literally the greatest game ever created. Between the humor, gameplay, and all of the challenges, you will never be bored. I have play through this game at least 10 times, and I have loved every minute of it. Best game ever created!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Portal 2
Possibly the most boring game I've ever played
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/13
PokeFreak1337
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is possibly one of the most boring games I've ever played. Imagine the tacked on game, Portal, from the orange box. Now imagine it longer (like 5-6 hours), and with more forced jokes. You have Portal 2.
The game is basically a puzzle game where you play in first person and shoot portals to solve puzzles, most of which are like those puzzles from other FPSes but without the combat to space things out. You also encounter unfunny dialogue that tries really hard to be funny, for those who find observational humor mixed in with random dark humor funny. In fact, that's really the only kind of humor you find in the game.
The setting is you are trapped in the aperture science labs, after somehow robots drag you back in an ending which was changed in Portal 1, and run through an even blander lab with even more unfunny jokes. The graphics look like Half Life 2 on the Original Xbox, despite the fact there are far better looking games, and the voices can get a bit annoying. Especially when you hear unfunny jokes that leave you cringing instead of laughing. There is also a plot twist which is obviously not a reference to Dead Space or Bioshock.
There is no replay value. Once you play it the first time it goes back on the shelf, especially once the jokes stop being remotely funny. There is a co op mode, but it's also forgettable, you need party chat to talk to the other person, and after playing it for 15 min the game will go back in the case.
Please save your money. I'd only recommend this game to hardcore Portal fans who will buy anything with Portal on it. Anyone else should avoid at all costs.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Portal 2
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/13
senorswagger28
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is awesome the graphics are great and the storyline is great. i love portal 2. the game is awesome and i have had 100s of hours of fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Portal 2
My favorite game since pokemon
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/13
Altodo
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I didn't get portal till well after its release. But when i did i felt really glad i did. The puzzles in each room are interesting. While some maybe pretty easy, some took me a bit of playing around to figure out. Portal is not for you if you if you can't take some time to figure things out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Portal 2
Hey I think i'm Smart
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/13
Rafa12
Location: ny
This game will make you feel so smart after figuring out all the puzzles trust me if your one of the dum ones not to be rude it will make you feel more smarter trust me this game is very tricky and this game makes you stop and think most of the time and its just a great game it really helps and at the same time it is fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Portal 2
In My Top 10 Games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/13
Sprow
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game was one of the best games I ever played. This game has the best story i ever played and is the best co-op game i ever played competing with Border Lands. The co-op in this game is so fun. The game includes the overall challenge of completing it. I can put 4 hours each day for 5 days and almost finish the campaign. Then I can play co-op with a friend, after that do the challenges and it comes with free DLC. GET THIS GAME PLEASE, DONT EVEN THINK JUST BUY IT.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Portal 2
Very fun, very puzzling
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/13
Coolyo
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is my favorite puzzle game, and E 10+ game, but there isn't many of them. This game is well built with a great story and great co-op. It's very entertaining, but if you are stuck on a puzzle, you may get very mad. So don't be afraid to look up walkthroughs! Awesome game, 9/10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Portal 2
Amazing game for people with the brain power
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/13
Farshizll
Location: San Jose, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Portal 2 was a great spin off of the first installment of the series. It is filled with brain aching puzzles given by a computer GLaDOS that you will have to defeat.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Portal 2
Amazing gameplay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/13
imdifferent99
Location: nova scotia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have seen this on youtube ext. yet i haven't bought. never knew why but i have fallen in love with this game. I feel sad that this game wont get as much attention as it used to. but yeah i recommend this game to hardcore gamer's as it gets seemingly hard after a bit
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Portal 2
You can never have enough of a good thing?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/12
Crackmandan
Location: San Francisco, Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Portal 2 delivers exactly what people expected and more...much, much more. The gameplay is fantastic the graphics are crystal clear, the sound is crisp and the puzzles seem to increase in difficulty as you follow along the incredibly humorous storyline.
Allow me to vent on only one aspect of this game that forced me to give this game an 8 instead of the 10 that I thought it deserved. First off, the new addition to the puzzle theme like the gravity wave presented the gamer with a long list of new tests to complete. That long new list is exactly the problem and I found myself repeating the phrase, “this has got to be the last level!”
After several puzzles later I began to feel as if my enthusiasm for the game was wearing off due to the lengthy and time consuming nature of the new levels. So in short my only gripe was that Portal 2 seems to go on and on. In addition to the length of the game the puzzle evolved from somewhat difficult to the ridiculous.
I hope my review has helped some of you gamers out there to decide if this game is right for you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Portal 2
just about the games i like.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
lorddevius
Location: sarasota,florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i would definitely recommended this game to ever one i know portal 2 is @m@zing and so is mw3 and black ops 2.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Portal 2
Portal 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/12
Agent4798xxx
Location: Harrisburg PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I borrowed this game from a friend and I must say I loved it. Being a big Call of Duty fan and a big Zelda fan, this game seemed a little strange at first but I quickly got used to it. Basically you go from chamber to chamber solving puzzles with your portal gun, that shoots orange or blue portals. Go through blues you come out the orange, and vice versa. The game took me about two nights to complete because of the number of times I got stuck in the game so it's good time wise. The graphics are amazing as well as the songs (THAT GET STUCK IN MY HEAD) the humor of the characters adds quite a bit of quality to the game. All in all it's a great game and very clever. If you like this one check out the first one which is basically the same thing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Portal 2
Absolutely Ridiculous
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/12
LovelyThickLady111
Location: wilmington, nc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game should not be rated so high. It is pointless, extremely difficult and just a poor story line if any. The graphics are amazing however. I would not waste my time playing this unless you like puzzles or if you are able to remain calm when having to redo something over and over again.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Portal 2
Frekin awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/12
starstiker
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
best puzzle game ever made. awesome split screen and 1 player mode.
the robots are awesome as really awesome and and they look like a turet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Portal 2
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/12
Eggplosions
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great, definitely a must buy. The puzzles are very challenging, and characters' constant sarcastic comments make it even better. The soundtrack is pretty good as well. The only thing is that I don't find it to be as replayable as some other games. I mean, its a puzzle game, so not necessarily the type of game you would play 10 times. However, after beating singleplayer there is DLC and Co-op to play. If you haven't played the first one yet, you should. Not only is it just worth it to play, but some things that GLaDOS says to you may not make too much sense without the storyline of the original in your head. Overall, great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>