GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Vanquish

Directed by Shinji Mikami, the creator of the Resident Evil series, comes Vanquish a sci-fi shooter of epic proportions. The story of Vanquish takes place on a vast space station in a near future world where nations war over the planet's remaining energy resources. Against this backdrop, players take the role of Sam Gideon, a government agent kitted out with a futuristic battle suit. A versatile fighter with a huge arsenal of weaponry at his disposal, Sam also has an array of martial arts skills that he can use to take down his robot enemies.
Average Customer Rating:
9.087
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
16
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vanquish
Review 1 for Vanquish
A quality game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/13
Pollard
Location: Phoenix, Az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a game that is under a lot of gamers noses, the gameplay and controls are tight. The graphics are very clean. The choice of weaponry is nice as well. Its good to see Sega still making good quality games for the masses. This is a nice third person shooter and if you like third person shooters or just shooters period you need to add this game to your library today. Fast paced action. Just buy it!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Vanquish
High Octane Fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/13
scifidude93
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was impressed when I saw gameplay footage from E3 back in 2011. It looked liked a lot of fun so I decided to reserve it and got it the day it came out. It did not disappoint. The game is very fun to play and is a non-stop adrenaline rush. SEGA really did a good job on this game. If you got $20 laying around and want to try something different, go ahead and get this. It's underrated and a blast to play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Vanquish
the best underated shooter EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/13
Anonymous
Location: mesa az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this third person cover shooter is simply the best shooting game ive played since ps3 launch, ive played most of them. it somehow went under the radar its nonstop shooting from start to finish, is simply amazing. if you like shooters youll love this, from beginers to hard core gamers its the best out there, it leaves you at awe and wanting more from the other shooters, action packed shooting, mele, hand to hand all in one, leaves other shooters in the dust.. a must have for any shooter fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Vanquish
A sleeper hit!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
PS3gamer72
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A lot of people may have never even heard of Vanquish. it wasn't exactly marketed well and that's unfortunate because SEGA has a potential franchise at hand with this gem. Vanquish offers up some of the most explosive, high-octane shooting achievable in a video game dispite clocking in at a mere four hours. Sound design and music is top-notch and voice acting is above average, but not great. Outside of the main story the only other content consists of six "tactical challenges", none of which are very long at all. Nonetheless, the game is well-paced and bursting at the seams with style. It feels very satisfying to mow down mechanical abominations with a stream of bullets and the story is passable enough to usher players from one epic set piece moment to the next. Bosses are, for the most part, epic and well-designed. That's the reoccurring theme with Vanquish-sky-high production values. Platinum games really poured their heart and soul into crafting one of most enjoyable third-person shooters in recent memory and it's a shame that Vanquish's sales don't reflect all of their hard work. A short length is the only flaw holding Vanquish back from true greatness. At such a low price point now, gamers WILL be getting their money's worth for their investment. FINAL SCORE: 89/100.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 5 for Vanquish
Your heart won't resist this much action
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/12
Molla
Location: Puerto Rico
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's really hard to find a shooter now-a-days that I can say is close to flawless within it's genre, but Vanquish is such game. Vanquish's quick, heart pumping action elevate it's game-play ahead of the pack, while delivering a short, but thrilling experience. You won't care much about the forgettable story and cheesy writing, because the game never attempts to take itself seriously. What you will enjoy is it's game-play. Vanquish boasts a small, but effective arsenal. From a shotgun to a rocket launcher. The game allows you to upgrade the weapons all throughout it's 7 hour length... 7 hours? Yes, it's short, but if you're a gamer that values quality over quantity than you'll spend many more hours with the highest difficulty setting and challenge mode. The visuals will keep you hooked. It's art direction while bland, gives the game a rather futuristic and distinct look. But the animations and overall scale of the game, make up for it. It's a great looking game. The audio is up to par. The electronic music matches perfectly, while the audio design is top notch. Overall: If you like shooters and love action games, you must play Vanquish. What it delivers in 7 hours, very few action games can match.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vanquish
best sci-fi shooter in a while
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/12
SciFiShooterGuy
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome - it is definetely one of the best 3rd person action shooters in a while. The one problem i had was that the game was kinda short.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vanquish
Prince of Persia with guns
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/12
AJCk19
Location: Buckeye State
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Pros: difficulty setting, slide and slow motion, humor, fast packed tps
Cons: melee weak, no online, very short, customize non existent
Worth buying if you are going to play every difficulty setting, rather than that you should just rent it.
Things that I'm not going to knock it hard on is the weak melee and no online. Mostly because it is a third person shooter (tps) and the slow motion mechanic would be hard to pull off on a multiplayer/online environment. In this game if you decide to melee just once then you overheat and have to recharge. Which means no sliding or slow motion mechanics until it is charged.
This game is definitely fast paced with fun features like the sliding boost and having the ability to slow everything down. Even the amount of time to beat this game is fast which would be about 5 to 10 hours. So basically one sitting or at max a day unless you want to play every single difficulty setting. Oddly enough it does have this replay value feel to it. Even though playing through several difficulty settings isn't really consider replay value in my books.
Some might see the humor in the game as a negative, but at least it has some sort of humor instead of being dry and stale. I would have gladly traded it in though to have the option of customizing Sam's suit (main character on the front cover box). You can upgrade the weapons, 3 of which were available for preorder or you can download it for cheap. These 3 weapons are the boost machine gun, laser canon, and anti-armor pistol. You can't take along with you or upgrade the enemy's weaponry/machinery, but you can use them. There are only 2 in the game; stationary machine gun and 2-legged giant robot.
List of weapons: assault rifle, heavy machine gun, shotgun, sniper rifle, disk launcher, rocket launcher, lock on laser, lfe gun, hand grenade, emp emitter.
P.S. Best ending credits ever and I hope they make a sequel. I highly enjoyed it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vanquish
Great game but suffer a major problem
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/11
Kent12525
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love the RPG action in this game except in the challenge mode they don't have save zone which means if your character die, you have to start all over again which is a MAJOR problem. Other then that, Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vanquish
awsome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/11
NINJAWARRIOR22
Location: Grandville, Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is a really good game, and its pretty cheap
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Vanquish
tons of action, alot of fun, great gameplay
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
jburnum
Location: michigan city, in
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Addictive game play, sliding around taking out the enemies is just awesome. Plus it has achievable trophies, they're not impossibly hard, if you're a trophy hunter.You will enjoy, if you care about the way a game plays, and this one plays excellent. Lasting appeal may be lacking, but that is arguable. I have replayed for the trophies, and still enjoy going through the game more than once.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Section 8 - Prejudice
8.3 out of 10(6)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vanquish
they should make vanquish 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/11
hung97
Location: long beach,ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is one of the beastiest third person shooter i have ever played a trust i'm picky with games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vanquish
Epic Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/11
Msplaya17
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The gameplay was nice and fluid and the graphics were amazing (at lest on the ps3). The plot was pretty interesting, it did leave some holes in it, but other than that it was an awesome game. Round of applause to Sega for this game, loved it. The game is rather short in my perspective, but had non-stop action from beginning to end. I sure hope to see a sequal to this game, or something to at least finish off the big cliffhanger.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vanquish
Mass effect without the RPG theme
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/11
Notedeath
This game is pretty similar to mass effect i find. just that it doesn't have the RPG world, which is not a big deal. even the music sounds so similar. But it lacks multiplayer, that's the big thing for me. But overall the campaign mode is very fun, graphics are top notch, and I would recommend this to anyone who loves TPS and the sci-fi world.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vanquish
Awesome game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/11
mikami
Location: Los Angeles,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game was awesome. The gameplay was amazing, and the graphics were cool. But the game was too short and the story wasn't that good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Vanquish
The most fun I've had with a 3rd-person Shooter.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/11
SolidusV2
Location: Racoon City
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just finished this game today and I have to say this: I. Am. Amazed. It reminded me of Gears of War with a nice touch or Devil May Cry. I felt so satisfied when hoards of robots exploded as I mowed them down in slow-mo. I never ran into any graphical glitches and the frame-rate never dropped. The animations suited the character's perfectly (I especially love the ability to light a cigarette to distract enemies). The gameplay is fast and heart-pounding. At times Vanquish can be frustrating on the harder difficulty settings, but, that is easily looked over. I love how the game switches missions from simple "Take out enemy" missions to boss fights, to rescue missions, and quick time events. I'm not too fond of the story, but it's not bad in any sense. I'm pretty sure it was meant to be more of a Devil May Cry over-the-top styled game anyways. So, the story was probably a bit cheesy on purpose. I would recommend this game to fans of fast-paced shooters. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vanquish
Awesome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/11
automatic818
Location: Norfolk, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game just never lets up on the action. Even the cutscenes have parts where you're going to have to be ready to make an input in order to pull-off the right actions. Overall an awesome game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vanquish
Short, but underrated
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/10
Wehe
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game seems like it would be so....generic...but man it isn't even close to generic. I have never seen a game with gameplay like this. The story left a lot of loose ends...a lot, but that only hints to the fact that there will most likely be a sequel, especially with the way it ended. I loved the combat system, the weapons were fun and some were very unique. (like a disk launcher that kind of boomerangs and explodes) The suit as a feature that in a way slows down time for a short period of time when you are heavily damaged. This games only flaw is that it's very short, expect to beat it in 10 hours even on hard difficulty. There is another difficulty called God, but...I didn't even bother. Rent this one, unless you want to shell out 40 bucks. for a game that will last you 3 days.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vanquish
this game is wicked awesome!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/10
hunster
Location: west grove, pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I would so recommend to anyone who's into gunning some machines down to the ground. If someone would actually want to play this they would have a blast and would stay on for hours.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Vanquish
this game is awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/10
Anonymous
Location: San Antonio.TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome and this game is like a halo for the ps3 and i would recommend it to pro gameplayers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vanquish
VANGUISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/10
Iiwantmedalofhonor32
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played the demo of this game and it is awesome you get two slide on the floor its like he has jets on his boots i love the guns in this game but the gun that dissappoints me the most is the shotgun its so weak i hope in the real game they make it stronger than it is in the demo but other than that this game is one of the best futuristic shooters i have seen in awhile its like a playstation three version of halo but so much better lol to me
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>