GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Vanquish

Directed by Shinji Mikami, the creator of the Resident Evil series, comes Vanquish a sci-fi shooter of epic proportions. The story of Vanquish takes place on a vast space station in a near future world where nations war over the planet's remaining energy resources. Against this backdrop, players take the role of Sam Gideon, a government agent kitted out with a futuristic battle suit. A versatile fighter with a huge arsenal of weaponry at his disposal, Sam also has an array of martial arts skills that he can use to take down his robot enemies.
Average Customer Rating:
9.087
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
16
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vanquish
Review 1 for Vanquish
this game is wicked awesome!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/10
hunster
Location: west grove, pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I would so recommend to anyone who's into gunning some machines down to the ground. If someone would actually want to play this they would have a blast and would stay on for hours.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Vanquish
tons of action, alot of fun, great gameplay
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
jburnum
Location: michigan city, in
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Addictive game play, sliding around taking out the enemies is just awesome. Plus it has achievable trophies, they're not impossibly hard, if you're a trophy hunter.You will enjoy, if you care about the way a game plays, and this one plays excellent. Lasting appeal may be lacking, but that is arguable. I have replayed for the trophies, and still enjoy going through the game more than once.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Section 8 - Prejudice
8.3 out of 10(6)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vanquish
Don't compare this game to anything else
Posted on:10/17/10
Orchestra
Location: North Carolina
I'm typically not a big fan of fps games on the console but this game does justice where 100's of other games have failed. Pick up the demo and start with the Tutorial !! The tutorial does an amazing job of introducing the movement and combat AND there is a story element to the tutorial that is fantastic.
Graphics are A+, The combat is smooth and flows fantastically in a fast paced intense action 3rd person shooter. The combat is 3rd person but its really tight so it feels First person, and you can sight in with your weapon and not lose functionality of movement. The design is flawless and the cover elements and avoidance movement abilities are easy to use and flow naturally with the characters movement.
Any Multiplayer FPS lover will feel like they are in an intense 32 man server during combat situations, even though you are playing the single player.
This developer needs a pat on the back, best demo of this genre i've played ever, and i play them all! Well done Vanquish Team !
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vanquish
The most fun I've had with a 3rd-person Shooter.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/11
SolidusV2
Location: Racoon City
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just finished this game today and I have to say this: I. Am. Amazed. It reminded me of Gears of War with a nice touch or Devil May Cry. I felt so satisfied when hoards of robots exploded as I mowed them down in slow-mo. I never ran into any graphical glitches and the frame-rate never dropped. The animations suited the character's perfectly (I especially love the ability to light a cigarette to distract enemies). The gameplay is fast and heart-pounding. At times Vanquish can be frustrating on the harder difficulty settings, but, that is easily looked over. I love how the game switches missions from simple "Take out enemy" missions to boss fights, to rescue missions, and quick time events. I'm not too fond of the story, but it's not bad in any sense. I'm pretty sure it was meant to be more of a Devil May Cry over-the-top styled game anyways. So, the story was probably a bit cheesy on purpose. I would recommend this game to fans of fast-paced shooters. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vanquish
Played Demo..cant wait!! LOL
Posted on:9/15/10
FuzzBusta
Gears of war + army of two + halo = Vanquished...GET THIS GAME!!!!
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KurtesiDaTruth
Decatur, Georgia
 
Please wait while more information about KurtesiDaTruth is loaded.
Additional information about KurtesiDaTruth could not be loaded.
Similar to Lost Planet 2 but BETTER
Posted 10/19/10
Demo is real good, I've pre-ordered it but for those who thought it was going to be like gears of war, not at all. This game is most similar to Lost Planet 2 if you ask me. Graphics wise, the mech's, movement and control scheme. I love it though, you don't have as many restrictions as a Lost Planet soldier.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Vanquish
Your heart won't resist this much action
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/12
Molla
Location: Puerto Rico
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's really hard to find a shooter now-a-days that I can say is close to flawless within it's genre, but Vanquish is such game. Vanquish's quick, heart pumping action elevate it's game-play ahead of the pack, while delivering a short, but thrilling experience. You won't care much about the forgettable story and cheesy writing, because the game never attempts to take itself seriously. What you will enjoy is it's game-play. Vanquish boasts a small, but effective arsenal. From a shotgun to a rocket launcher. The game allows you to upgrade the weapons all throughout it's 7 hour length... 7 hours? Yes, it's short, but if you're a gamer that values quality over quantity than you'll spend many more hours with the highest difficulty setting and challenge mode. The visuals will keep you hooked. It's art direction while bland, gives the game a rather futuristic and distinct look. But the animations and overall scale of the game, make up for it. It's a great looking game. The audio is up to par. The electronic music matches perfectly, while the audio design is top notch. Overall: If you like shooters and love action games, you must play Vanquish. What it delivers in 7 hours, very few action games can match.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vanquish
Sega is back
Posted on:9/24/10
GunnerSarge
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
For anyone who doesn't know much about Vanquish one thing you should know is the developer. The developers of vanquish are the minds behind the creative, fast paced, action thriller Bayonnetta. Vanquish is a blast and really actually breaks the genres boundaries in every way. Instead of being able to pull out a second gun off your back why not just have your gun change for you from a sniper to a shotgun. If anyone has played Bayonnetta you remember witch time where everyone slowed down. Vanquish does this as well but now your suit is has jets in it and while shooting it creates a slow down effect. Vanquish will end up doing how red dead did starts off not hyped up and few weeks before release you'll hear great reviews and wanna try it out. I already played the demo 4 times and it can be difficult which is always a plus.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rynozilla
Travelers Rest, SC
 
Please wait while more information about rynozilla is loaded.
Additional information about rynozilla could not be loaded.
developer
Posted 3/17/13
The developer isn't Sega, it is a company completely different, Platinum Games. Some of the members of Platinum Games were a part of Clover Studios before it got shut down by Capcom. Sega is the publisher.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Vanquish
Short, but underrated
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/10
Wehe
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game seems like it would be so....generic...but man it isn't even close to generic. I have never seen a game with gameplay like this. The story left a lot of loose ends...a lot, but that only hints to the fact that there will most likely be a sequel, especially with the way it ended. I loved the combat system, the weapons were fun and some were very unique. (like a disk launcher that kind of boomerangs and explodes) The suit as a feature that in a way slows down time for a short period of time when you are heavily damaged. This games only flaw is that it's very short, expect to beat it in 10 hours even on hard difficulty. There is another difficulty called God, but...I didn't even bother. Rent this one, unless you want to shell out 40 bucks. for a game that will last you 3 days.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vanquish
imressed for the first time in a while
Posted on:9/17/10
kimimaro
Location: village hidden in the leaves
this is one of those games that finally exeeded my expectations,fun non-stop actio gameplay/anime with bunch of robots style...ihvbeen missing this simple and not that popular,yet very fun to play games
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vanquish
they should make vanquish 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/11
hung97
Location: long beach,ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is one of the beastiest third person shooter i have ever played a trust i'm picky with games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vanquish
Awesome.
Posted on:9/30/10
Seizou
Location: Florida
Not gonna lie. When I first saw the trailer for this game, I knew it was gonna be awesome. It was even more awesome when I played the demo. I only hope that it will have multiplayer or co-op. If none of those, sadly, this might just be a rental for me.
Still, nevertheless, it definitely looks like a game worth playing.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vanquish
this game is awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/10
Anonymous
Location: San Antonio.TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome and this game is like a halo for the ps3 and i would recommend it to pro gameplayers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vanquish
Over the top and very cool!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/10
H0M3RC1D4L
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I checked the box "This game is perfect for - Hardcore Gamers" but in reality, it would be great for both hardcore and casual gamers. The action is over the top and allows immediate accessibility to any style of play, but the longer you play it, the more you'll discover just how deep the scoring and combat systems can be. If you like Halo and Gears of War, imagine combining the two, with an arcade style pace, and you are getting close to understanding what this game is like. It's great to see Sega putting out quality titles like this and I hope this is only the beginning of a new franchise!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vanquish
Something new
Posted on:9/13/10
Irockatlife
I played the demo for this the other day and this game looks to be very promising. Fast paced, non-stop action is what this game is all about. My only problem is there was no lock on :/
Oh, by the way, 360 games in my experience have NEVER looked better than the PS3. I'm not a fan boy, i have both consoles. But if your PS3 doesn't look as good as your 360, maybe you should get some HD cables xD
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vanquish
OMG
Posted on:9/26/10
GeneralOO5
Location: San Jose, CA
THIS GAME WAS SOOOOO SMEXY WHEN I PLAYED IT. I was yelling moans of awesomeness when I was just playing the tutorial alone, and when I played the story....*no comment*. Words cannot describe fully. It's needs to be played to understand it. I see no reason why you shouldn't buy this game unless you have hate cyber-commando soilders with battle-suits, The Matrix, and AWESOMENESS.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
martin415
 
Please wait while more information about martin415 is loaded.
Additional information about martin415 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/29/10
how many players OFFLINE
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Vanquish
Words cant describe how awesome this game is...
Posted on:9/26/10
iamthewally
Location: austin, tx
First I hate to admit when I saw a video of Vanquish, I thought this was going to be another Gears of War knock off... I was wrong, very wrong. I d/l'd the demo and was in shear aww as to how badass, awesome and stunning this game is. Everything flows so easily; the rocket booster, to the time slow, to the evading and combine the "fast paced, always on edge gamplay"... IMO its perfect, Vanquish wins my vote and I will be definitely reserving it today!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vanquish
Epic Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/11
Msplaya17
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The gameplay was nice and fluid and the graphics were amazing (at lest on the ps3). The plot was pretty interesting, it did leave some holes in it, but other than that it was an awesome game. Round of applause to Sega for this game, loved it. The game is rather short in my perspective, but had non-stop action from beginning to end. I sure hope to see a sequal to this game, or something to at least finish off the big cliffhanger.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vanquish
GOW eat your heart out!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/10
timetoplay
Location: 47512
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Sega hit a home run with this one. Played the first half of the game and enjoyed ever second. Pros: Great Graphics (shows off the ps3), Gameplay was difficult at times, but brutal and fun. Sound little bit better than average. Controls were accurate and easy to learn. The main thing was the boosting, frackin awesome, you are like a skateboarder with jet’s attached to your butt, lol!!! A.I. was very well down, good balance. Cons: little more varity with the enemies, but good. Melee attack was effective against a single enemy, and then your suit would overheat, run away, lol!!! Squad based tactics would have been nice, like, suppressive fire on a gun turret or something like that, but simple, nothing like socom, just a few commands. Summary: get the damm game, worthy of your ps3 collection or any other console
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Vanquish
Pretty awsm
Posted on:9/9/10
tarantinorulz3
Location: Nassau, NY
ok, first off this game is nothing like Halo in one way AT ALL! Second, i played the demo for thus game, and its really fun. The graphics are pretty good and there is alot of cool action. im not so sure about the story but this game looks pretty promising. the 1 problem i hav is that u only fight robots it wud b rlly great if u cud fight robots and humans, but its still works fine. I will probably be buying this game
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vanquish
Super Cool
Posted on:8/16/10
Marly T
I will definately buy this even if it is like Halo. If Halo is so awesome, what's wrong with that. I've never played Halo and will never buy an X-box for any price so....I guess I'll play this.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>