GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Vanquish

Directed by Shinji Mikami, the creator of the Resident Evil series, comes Vanquish asci-fi shooter of epic proportions. The story of Vanquish takes place on a vast spacestation in a near future world where nations war over the planet's remaining energyresources. Against this backdrop, players take the role of Sam Gideon, a governmentagent kitted out with a futuristic battle suit. A versatile fighter with a huge arsenal ofweaponry at his disposal, Sam also has an array of martial arts skills that he can use totake down his robot enemies.
Average Customer Rating:
9.256
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
17
8 stars
6
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 4398%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vanquish
Review 1 for Vanquish
Short but a lot of fun!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/10
LordOnion
Location: Deland, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am not a hardcore gamer and don't know what if any buzz came with this game but it is worth a play. It starts right out with action and it doesn't slow down until it's over. The graphics are awesome and the cut scenes aren't too long to get irritating. The cut scenes get to the point and then get you back to the action. Gameplay is great and the controls are not hard to get used to either. There is a decent amount of unique weapons but I would think there could have been a few more to make it a little more fun. There is a shotgun in the game and I don't think I used it 1 single time. Too many enemies that take too much firepower to use anything that slow and with no range. The only con to the game is the length. It is probably a 6 hour or so game and that doesn't really leave any replay value. I would recomment his game if you can get is used or rent it. It really is a fun play.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vanquish
Very Good Overall
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/10
Glowstyx
Location: San Diego, CA
The game is very good to be a japanese-made shooter (nothing against japanese, they're just not known for making good shooters). The graphics are very smooth and give out a sophisticated feel to the game. There is a good amount of weapons you can use although i would've liked to carry more than 3 weapons at a time, since the suit copies the weapons and u just "transform" your current weapon to the next. The storyline is not that good and is filled with cliches, starting with the name of the character...sam...no, not fisher. You will feel like snake in a halo world while fighting gears of war style. Voice acting sounds "too" familiar. Snake?...Snaaaaakeeee. Also there is hardly a soundtrack to the game. The good thing you can change language tracks. Oh yea, bullet-time is included with the ARS suit. =]
In conclusion, even though it has some flaws and cliches, the gameplay and graphics totally make up for it. I recommend the game if you're looking to shoot things with style.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Vanquish
Full of promise, but falls short of expectations.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
Goosestaphor
Location: lexington, sc
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is a fast-paced shooter filled with energy. With the capabilities of the ARS, you are able to perform unreal actions and really take advantage of the entire battle area. The problem lies with the movement of the character, the feel of the weapons, and the mass bombardment of cutscenes. Speed must have been the most prominent idea pushed when developing this game; most other games deal with clunky, heavily armored characters. The frustrating part of the game is the lack of vertical movement. You find yourself continually blocked by barriers no taller than your waistline. The only way to change levels is to find a ladder, stairs, or an elevator. The weapons are also a little less than satisfying to shoot, possibly because everything being shot is an robot that explodes with electric burst. There is also a cutscene every five minutes. It's a minor problem that can be skipped, but it halts the gameplay. Good game for price, but I plan to take advantage of gamestop's return policies with this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 4 for Vanquish
Vanquish
Posted on:9/12/10
CrAzYgAmEr
Location: Florida, FL
One of the best demos i ever played. I am absolutely buying this when it comes out.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vanquish
Best game in a long time!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/11
DreadfulN1ght
Location: Tennessee
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Excellent game, wicked bosses, great graphics! It is a fairly long game with new material, great story line and cool fighting features. I played this game for a week, did not get bored and still play it every once in a while. Go buy it and enjoy it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vanquish
No other like it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/11
oSilentxSnipero
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked this up a few days ago because i was bored of all my games and no new ones were coming out, so i took a shot because it looked cool, i had no idea what i was in for. From the moment i put it in, i couldnt stop playing it, the gameplay was amazingly fast pace (but is slowed down at times by your slides and slow downs), and the music is very fitting for the game. The only con i have about this game is they dont do a great job setting up the storyline at all, yes i know your their because of san fransisco, but why is thier a city on the wepon when all the things their are robotic? Yes after playing the game for a while i descovered why by obsurving closely to the surroundings, i just think they could have done a better job telling us at the start with a cut scene or something. Over all though it is a great game that is one of my personal favorites so far, if you have the money to spend definatly get this game, it plays like no other game out their.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vanquish
Fun third-person shooter with SEGA twist.
Posted on:9/28/10
gamenerd
Location: California
Sega has the basic third-person shooter elements with the ability to slide with jet packs and travel quickly from cover to cover and boost into enemies and have a "super" melee attack. The game is very fun and you can really do a lot of cool things. One of my favorite things is the slow motion when you are on your lowest health level. Although if you want a more American shooter, this isn't the best bet. The demo makes it clear that Vanquish is a SEGA game, meaning, it has a lot of Japanese gaming elements. This title reminds me very much of Bayonnetta, an action brawler that SEGA published earlier this year. Vanquish also exceeds in visuals, the character models are very detailed and everything in the environment looks great. Overall Vanquish is looking to be a fun game, I am not particularly excited for it but I know that it is fairly hyped.
Below are some recommendations that are similar to this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vanquish
A great game from Sega!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/11
polafication
Location: Milford, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I picked up Vanquish because it was made by Sega and PlantinugamesINC, the same people who made Bayonetta (which is another great, fun, and amazing game!) which I highly enjoyed and recommend as well.
The graphics in this game are top notch, the story line is really good, the voice work is good and hysterical at times, and this is one crazy fast paced shooter. It's almost like Gears of War in ways you carry/use weapons, coverage, etc, just a more fast paced game play, crazy bosses, and LOTS of enemies. It took me about 5 hours total to beat the game, but it was very rewarding. Currently I'm replaying the game on the hardest difficulty and it's more interesting because you have to be more alert and pay more attention to your surroundings and enemy locations.
This is a great game for people who are into 3rd person shooters like GOW, or sci-fi shooters like Halo. Don't think this game will be a let down because of a short story because it's not. It's a very interesting story that has you on the edge of your seat, makes you laugh, and gets you involved with beautiful cut scenes.
I hope they follow up with a Vanquish 2 and I'd simply only suggest a longer story mode and online/offline co-op.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vanquish
Unbelievably Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/11
AnonymouslyConfused28
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I tried the demo for this game I was not blown away at all. But I traded in some games and decided to give the full version a spin. I have to say it was a good decision. Platinum Games hit the nail on the head with this game. The sound effects are amazing on surround sound. Graphically speaking this game is about as good as it gets. The art design is beyond superb. Gameplay is a third person shooter with a cover system. The cover system works similar to another popular game. This game though moves at a faster pace and is not only flashy but very cinematic. The action can be pretty over the top. Basically it is plain fun. Controls are great as well. The story leaves something to be desired but on occasion you will run into some seriously funny comments throughout the game. The game is not real long but I think it is one a person is going to want to come back to a few times after the initial run through. There is multiple difficulty settings and if you are not very good at shooters it has a casual difficulty so I think just about anyone could play this game. If you have been playing shooters for a while now you might want the difficulty up a bit.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vanquish
A Great Game
Posted on:9/29/10
TheSilentOne
Location: Places, Places
I'd have to say, for once I am actually excited for a game made by Sega, I haven't been this excited since I first played Bioshock actually. This game looks like it's focusing on something most shooters these days haven't been focusing on, story and gameplay. While I tend to stay away from this genre of games this might actually be worth the money. I don't care if there is or isn't a multi-player, I'm setting this as a priority before any other game I'm getting. Modern Warfare two was a disappointment, Halo Reach was still far too focused on multi-player while their Campaign story was vastly improved. But this might be worthwhile.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
VinG
 
Please wait while more information about VinG is loaded.
Additional information about VinG could not be loaded.
publisher/developer
Posted 10/15/10
The game is being developed by Platinum games and published by Sega. Just FYI.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Vanquish
i'd say that all around its beast
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/10
atomic11098
Location: illinois,IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I like the game , but there are like 300 missions .and i got it wednesday or yesterday and i have over 16 achievments it is alot like real war with the hiding behind barracades. but YOU CANT JUMP. but you can get a disk launcher( a circular saw launcher) and hack the enimies in half with it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vanquish
Everything You Look For In a Shooter, Excellent!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/11
johnboy80
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A an enthusiast of shooters, especially 3rd person, the game has everything I could hope for. Graphics are off the charts. Smoothness of play and high speed action with a high replay value. The slide mechanic is amazing and a definite highlight. For fans of third person shooters or any kind of action shooter, this is a sure bet. You do use cover in this game but you won't be behind a bunker for long as you slide around at breakneck speed trying to get that perfect angle of attack or flanking position. Good selection of weapons and plenty of ammo. Right up there with Gears of Wars series, but much faster action. For twice the price it would be a steal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vanquish
A rare game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/11
DanteSparda1
Location: florida, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Vanquish takes shooting games to a whole new level, a very good thing that i've never seen in a shooting game is that you can use the slow down time technic, and that guys is a big plus on my book because it makes you even more stylish than it is. Another good thing they added is the extremely fast weapon swiching and the new upgrade your gun technic. And if you're not yet convince take a good look on Sam's armor and level desing it deserves a 10 out of of just for that, but this game has only one flaw that the characters dont grow on you as you play the game. But even with this flaw this game still gets a 10 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vanquish
Demo Impressions
Posted on:9/9/10
miniSMURF
Location: Newtown, PA
I played the demo and this game is tons of fun. The controls can be a bit clunky but hopefully tht will be fixed in the final version. Also, the game can get very hard and frustrating. If you're like me, you can't stand to play through the same level fifteen times, this game was a very enjoyable experience but the developer may be a bit too focused on a cinematic experience rather than a rock solid third person shooter.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
5 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vanquish
Epic!
Posted on:10/16/10
VentedGlitchMaker
Location: ---
Okay, I honestly just started getting into this game a day or 2 ago... and I have to say, this looks like a truly original shooter with game-play and graphics that far exceed it. I can't wait until the release, it was between Black-ops and Vanquish and I have to say that Vanquish looks like something that hasn't been seen before. Seriously, listen to the music in the trailer... EPIC!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vanquish
You shoot me,I blow you up!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
Kasrkin
Location: Kindred,ND
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Very good game! It is ALOT longer than most of the new games. I love the graphic and the characters. The boss levels are hard if you play it once,but if you play it again you will probobly still die...several times. I would recommend this to any 3rd person shooter lover. I hate third person shooter but that did not stop me from buying this awsome game. Get it,Play It,Beat it,repeat!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vanquish
Gears of War on crack
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/11
BLACKLINGO
Location: Kent, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I wouldnt say its completly better then the Gears series...but almost as good. Have you even been playing gears and wished Marcus Fenix could move faster? Or at least be able to fight increasingly epic bosses? Then this is your game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vanquish
Outstanding!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/11
Endgame
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
great game, if you are into shooters this is the game for you! great graphics and the story line is excellent, draws you in, you never want to quit playing. I highly recommend this game if you need a break from "BLACK OPS" like I did.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KINGJ477
 
Please wait while more information about KINGJ477 is loaded.
Additional information about KINGJ477 could not be loaded.
GREAT GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 6/18/11
When I first played ten minutes of this game I was hooked.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Vanquish
NANO LIKE TECHNOLOGY.......
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/10
JonR1
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Awesome game for a one player........if this had two player co op so i could be the guy with the super gattling gun.....it would be perfect......and i would have rated it higher on lasting appeal......other wise awesome game..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vanquish
Graphics make the game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/12
Marksman937
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you have a Hdmi cabel this game puts it to full use. The graphics are amazing the game play is great and the storyline keeps you playing. This game is about 7-8 hours long and is amazing its a buy.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>