GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals

"Outnumbered. Outgunned. Under Fire. Take control." You have six days. Six days to rescue an entire country plunged into chaos by a brutal revolution. Race against time to control a dire situation that threatens to escalate into global war. You are the legendary and fearless Operations Commander as you take command of the battlefield with your crack NATO squad. The destination is Southeast Asia. The time is now for you to take control...
Average Customer Rating:
7.135
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (338 reviews)
10 stars
50
9 stars
28
8 stars
17
7 stars
10
6 stars
7
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
16
103 out of 15666%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
Review 1 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
Socom 4 so far is looking sharp
Posted on:2/27/11
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
On the subject of the game as a whole, it's coming together in these final weeks before release. The level design, enemy AI, visuals and control basics seem fundamentally strong with 32 multiplayers on screen at once, we will have to see how well socom 4 turns out as a whole package.so far is looking sharp.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
ShadowRouge7
 
Please wait while more information about ShadowRouge7 is loaded.
Additional information about ShadowRouge7 could not be loaded.
At least
Posted 3/11/11
At least zipper changes there game so it doesnt get stale like some games cough* call of duty.
Customer Avatar
PrivatePyle216
 
Please wait while more information about PrivatePyle216 is loaded.
Additional information about PrivatePyle216 could not be loaded.
Givin it a shot
Posted 3/11/11
Of course I'm going to be standing outside at 12am to pick this up.
I dunno why they call it beta anymore though, seems more like a demo. The devs don't really fluctuate the game that drastically like they used to when they gave out beta keys.
Those used to be impossibly private, you had to know someone or be on it first thing it showed up. Now they give em out like hot cakes. Still psyched to try it before I waste $60 though. Buy this game, you'll actually be smarter after you play it. It's not mind-numbing like CoD....even though it's still a fun game.
Customer Avatar
Mayhem28
Plainfield, NJ
 
Please wait while more information about Mayhem28 is loaded.
Additional information about Mayhem28 could not be loaded.
Socom 4
Posted 3/10/11
I've been playing Socom since it came out. The 3rd person is the best the temawork is incredible its the best war game to date there's nothin better than Socom if your a hardcore socom addict like me you can't wait till this comes out im itchin for this game BEST WAR GAME TO DATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!PERIOD
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 2 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
So Far Looks the Best 3rd Person shooter..
Posted on:1/15/11
Devil
Location: MD
I have played all socom series on psp, ps2, and ps3...My favorite one was Socom 3 - COmbined Assault i don't know why people say it sucks thats the best one..then socom 2 was epic 2...I can't wait for Socom 4 this will be the best!!!!!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Socom 4 First Multiplayer Teaser!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/11
xiBuzzifyx
Location: Houston, Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is the first time Ive played Socom in a while and it made me realize how much i miss it. Socom 4 is absolutely amazing. although the campaign was a little short, it was still very fun and enjoyable.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
please sub, thanks!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
Can't Wait
Posted on:3/19/11
Jerms
Location: Houston,Tx
I absolutely love SOCOM and I cant wait for the release of this game.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Spread the Word
4 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
R3lentlessStorm
 
Please wait while more information about R3lentlessStorm is loaded.
Additional information about R3lentlessStorm could not be loaded.
lawl gtfo
Posted 3/31/11
get that garbage video off of a non cod game you attention hoe
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
If not for the game, buy the Gun!
Posted on:3/31/11
Meridious
Location: San Antonio, TX
I am a huge fan of Socom, and I pre-ordered it because of the awsome Gun bundle. Comes with eye camera, both sensor controllers and the machine gun. I had been looking for that gun for killzone, but its really rare to find, and if you buy it buy itself, its like 40 bucks. Buy the bundle! These games were made to play with it! And at 149.95. for everything, its basically for free.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
socom 4
Posted on:3/29/11
Darkstar301
Location: Washington st.
it's an ok game i really hope the story and co-op is better then the online yah i played the beta it needs help and it's way over hiped but it dose have really good graphics plus the run and gunning is stupid it kills the game alot of people just don't understand the concept of war strategy is the key not run & gunning thank you
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
Best of 2011
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/11
Devil
Location: MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Im not sure why are people "hating" on SOCOM 4? When i played it, i had a really good time. ITs my best game of all time. PEOPLE Don't look at the poor reviews or comments they are just haters. If you like shooters you'll like this very much!
Deserves a 10/10.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Black ops Tomahawk kill
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
I hope it turns out well. Which I'm sure it will!
Posted on:4/11/11
Donotabbreviatephrases
Location: New York, NY
I am very enthusiastic about the upcoming new installment in the SOCOM series, and from what I have seen in the beta it will not disappoint.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
speed demon time
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MysKiLLz
NC-Baby!
 
Please wait while more information about MysKiLLz is loaded.
Additional information about MysKiLLz could not be loaded.
it's JUST OK
Posted 4/18/11
I've been on Socom since day one and Now this new version of it is different but ok. Not going to be the best title of the spring/summer but will entertain me for awhile.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
Ignores SOCOM tradition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/11
KingPin82
Location: Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
SEa, Air, Land...this game was all about LAND. What happened to the missions at sea, like taking over an oil rig or parachuting into a campaign? The missions in SOCOM 4 are very redundant and all you do is shoot tons of guys who love to throw grenades or shoot RPGs. I love to judge a game based on its story mode and this violates what SEALs are all about...STEALTH. It is impossible in SOCOM 4 to complete a level using stealth, its inevitable someone will eventually find you, with the exception of the "quiet" missions using your female ally. Commanding your team and allies was weak, remember when you can have them deploy frags or breech doors. What about using the headset to command your team. I remember that was what made the first SOCOM unique. It made you felt like a true operative. I think the creators of SOCOM are forgetting what made them popular and they are trying to mimic other games which is...well...STUPID. I love SOCOM, but if they keep this up I will never purchase the game again.
 
My Product Recommendations
SOCOM II: U.S. Navy Seals
8.9 out of 10(8)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
Way to short for 59.99
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/11
Hiney
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off, my big gripe is that i beat this game, due to having a day off, in one night. 7 hours and 26 minutes. Unacceptable! They wanted to make itnstand out and get it out of the 4-6 hours of gameplay we see often. Really, 90 minutes more? RENT IT! I think 30 minutes were cutscenes. Gameplay- Wasn't too bad, I'm not a big critic on bugs/glitches because well I just like to play the game. The movement was acceptable, except when it came to tryin to get to cover quickly. You would have to turn and face the wall/car/pop machine u wanted to use. Petty I know. NOBODY is going to actually read this so I won't go into many details. Graphics- nothing to write home about. Cartoonish and just generic looking. Nuff said Lasting appeal huh? Well, I got bored going into the secod to last mission. Needless to say, I didn't even finish a mission on custom campaign. So yeah, not so much on the lasting appeal. Sounds- Probably the best part. Only because well. I had the volume down pretty low.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
llama5oo
 
Please wait while more information about llama5oo is loaded.
Additional information about llama5oo could not be loaded.
Posted 5/14/11
i read it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
Finally
Posted on:11/6/10
BPatches701
Location: Alton,IL
A lot of people are hating on this Socom but as long as the base gameplay doesn't change Socom has a chance to be a popular game again. Some of you may know the PS2 DID HAVE ONLINE and SOCOM 2 was remarked by many even today as the best shooter to ever live across all platforms. The downfall came with cheaters if you hear someone say it sucks it is most likely they ran into someone who was hacking the game but on the PS3 it's nearly impossible to hack a game and they have a good patching system to fix things that can get broken. (It's up to the developer of course) but now that this game is bringing in some mainstream elements it may just be the next Socom 2 regardless what the "Hardcore fans" say. And to the guy worried about the Move controller don't worry because this game was built around the Dualshock and the Move was an afterthought so you can almost bet the Move will have glitches that the DS doesn't.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
withWes
 
Please wait while more information about withWes is loaded.
Additional information about withWes could not be loaded.
Zipper Ineractive
Posted 12/14/10
This game looks promising! I am not sure but the Socom:Confrontation game was pretty bad not having offline play and the servers being bad to my knowledge. I am pretty sure Socom 4 will be way better and will live up to be what socom was on the PS2 and PSP (Socom FTB) Zipper Ineractive knows how to make their Socom games and I believe they should be the only ones making them. That being said I cant wait to get it so I can master it and be one heck of a player like I am on the other Socoms :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
****SoCoM 4 beta news****
Posted on:3/4/11
DCULzeroAnd1
Location: downtown u.s.a
On 3/15/2011 there will be a private beta that goes live.
Beginning on 3/22/2011 PlayStation Plus members get access to the beta. On 3/29/2011 anyone with a beta code included with Killzone 3 will also have access to this beta. Starting 4/5/2011 the beta will be freely downloadable to anyone via PlayStation Network.
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
y3shy
Berlin, CT
 
Please wait while more information about y3shy is loaded.
Additional information about y3shy could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Thank you!
Posted 3/20/11
I was just about to post if any one knew the date of when the beta was going up, thank you for the info!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
Great Military Realism for SpecOps
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/14
FlyNavy
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am by no means a gaming expert, but I spent 30 years in the US Navy and the accuracy of details into weapons, effects and overall operational realism is outstanding. Many of the ops are incredibly difficult at advanced levels but merely lend credence to the "fog of war" military operations sustain.Great game !
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
Great Game
Posted on:4/3/11
FLABOI
Location: ORLANDO,FL
I been waiting for this game since i heards about them releasing a new socom. Confrontation was a HUGE FAIL and thankfully socom 4 is nothing like it, I been playing the beta since the 29th and since then thats all i've been playing. If your unsure wait till the beta goes public if it already hasn't then go pre-order. Like every game it does have its negatives my only issue is the camera being way to close to the character and the second issue would be control movement from left to right seems to catch a little dead zone then speeds up so sometimes you over shoot your target but other than that I thinkg the game is great. Thankfully Zipper put the beta out so they can hear us out and take action on some of the issues the game has before release date.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
A MUST GET!!!
Posted on:4/14/11
L2WxFliZ
Location: Dallas, NC
ok so ive been playing the beta alot as of late and i have to say this game is great! the 32 player seems like its gonna be over whelming but as i played it it was the total opposite its like 4-5 small battles going on at once the guns are amazing they sound so realistic and it really feels like a real battle especially when bullets and nades are flying past your head overall i say its a must get for any PS3 owner but a deff pickup for any shooter fans im very excited for this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
20 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GRimmjOW
Massachusetts
 
Please wait while more information about GRimmjOW is loaded.
Additional information about GRimmjOW could not be loaded.
Not so good beta
Posted 4/18/11
Screen shots are one thing but when you play this game like i did in the the beta you get frustrated with the camera angle and the frag throwing sux and setting up the guns, also dual primarys for all.... i did not like the way this game felt when i played it. confrontation has better gameplay but in this game ppl actually die when you shoot them. i'm not a big fan of cover mode either, why would they make it easier to camp. i will not buy this game till it is under 25 bucks. the only 3 plus points are, no cheaters, bullets kill, and a campaign mode. other than that i give it 2 out of 5 stars
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
PLEASE OH PLEASE!!!
Posted on:5/28/10
Vida-6
I must say out of all the Socom games my favorite ones have been Socom 1 and Socom 2 AND HOPEFULLY SOCOM 4 will be even better. I loved Socom 1 and 2 because of their single player missions, and yes I liked playing online too. But for SOCOM 4 I'm really hopeing that not only does it have single player missions but MULTIPLAYER CO-OP because of the fact that it would really be COOL!!! to play with friends and family in the same household on the same t.v. (like resident evil 5, split screen where we can separate and not be stuck to each other) for example during a mission 1 player can secure a building and while doing that the other player can be securing another building or we can have the option to stick together. Because I can always either player the single missions myself or play online. So PLEASE OH PLEASE let there be multiplayer co-op!!! I hope that I made sense and I hope that the creators of this game will see this post.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
Solid Game
Posted on:4/10/11
JNecrosis
Location: Cincinnati
I do not know if the people who hate this game are not skilled at shooter games or what but this game is solid. There are a few kinks in the game, like game lobbies and joining friends or clan members, but overall it's a great game. It's a realistic shooter game (unlike COD) that requires tactics, cover, and of course the bum rush into the enemy base. It continues to amaze me how tactical you HAVE to be to be any good. The respawn portion of the game is good but the classic socom is where it's at. I think they attempted to implement a respawn to please the COD fans. They did good with that too. It is a respawn with a mixture of COD and socom. The gun mods are a nice twist too. The more you use a certain gun, the better it gets. The two maps that they have shown us have been marvelous and the gameplay is addicting. Can not imagine 7 more. I would give the graphics an above average rating as well. Preorder this game, find a few people online you enjoy playing with and can communicate with and it will beat your expectations. Do not listen to the negativity.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tarhee757
Va Beach, VA.
 
Please wait while more information about tarhee757 is loaded.
Additional information about tarhee757 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
They just don't know
Posted 4/12/11
The Socom series was around before the MW series & will continue to sell well, thank you for your input. Those that don't know will definitely miss out.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
Not like the other SOCOM games :(
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/11
blkwolf8479
Location: Howell, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been playing SOCOM since SOCOM 2, and I love the tactical aspect of SOCOM games. Unfortunately, like several others have pointed out, this installment falls short. I will give credit, Zipper tried to make up for that lousy excuse of a SOCOM game that came out done by a pretty low-par company *cough* slant six *cough*. I waited a while for SOCOM 4 to come out after I wasted my money on Confrontation and found out the you cant play the PS2 SOCOM's online anymore without a major headache. The graphics on this one blew away the previous socom for the ps3, not real crazy about the fact that Zipper made the offline campaign so short. I am hoping the online play will be good, but since PSN is still down I guess we will have to wait a bit for that. I just hope that it wont be like COD where you have a bunch of people just running around and shooting like idiots.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
SOCOM 4
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/13
alanawesome
Location: san diego
SOCOM 4 is here on PS3 , A saga then was famous on PS2 comes here with a real game on PS3 (Confrontation was very Ok) , but SOCOM 4 is one of those games then only reminds me how franchises forget everything and try to copy new styles , and its because this game is basiclly a Call Of Duty in third person , which could be goog but SOCOM systematic was the tactical action and thats what makes the franchise famous on PS2 , the campaing give to us around 8 or 10 hours of action gameplay with stealth missions and also you can create your own missions with the map , enemies , difficult and more and play it online with your friends , the online on this game is pretty Ok but for me was nothing really new , becuase like i said , this game is CoD in 3rd person , but i spend some hours playing it and it was just good but not more , SOCOM 4 is really better then Confrontation and , but i really hope Zipper could return to the tactical action and stop using action.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy Seals
A MUST OWN¿
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/11
KYD302
Location: TRF,MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm sorry but to all you who bash this game It's not COD get over it nobody cares to here you complain thats its not a run and gun game like the COD series is, S4 is a great game with a good story mode, the game runs smoothly alot better then the beta did which is what most of you are complaining about the beta wasent the final game and keep in mind them patch's or updates we get fix our games and to those who say mag2 its not even close to mag mag is a challenging game which requires team work and dosent have the lame perk system COD has online is a blast i wish there were more game modes online but hey it's a perfect game and you have the option of 3rd person you dont have to run around scoped in any one who enjoys the Tom clancy style games or previous socom games will fall in love with the game after getting used to it and dont be cheap get the FULL DEPLYMENT version playing with the move and the sharp shooter is a blast. BUY THIS GAME ASAP!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
MAG
9.4 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>