GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn

FINAL FANTASY® XIV: A Realm Reborn is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) for Windows® PC and PlayStation®3 that invites you to explore the realm of Eorzea with friends from around the world. Form a party and adventure with a multitude of players from across the globe. Forge friendships, mount chocobos, and board airships as you and your companions create your own unique stories in Eorzea. Set out alone or enlist the aid of friends as you undertake epic quests, battle familiar FINAL FANTASY monsters, and acquire unique abilities and equipment. All the classic elements from the series that you have come to know and love are waiting! Embark on the adventure of a lifetime to help reforge the fate of Eorzea!
Average Customer Rating:
6.905
6.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (262 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
9
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
28 out of 4267%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Review 81 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Save your money - Stay away.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/13
AccountBanned
Location: Florida
I like to review games if they're either a) really amazing or b) really horrible. Today I'm reviewing a horrible game. Final Fantasy XIV A Realm Reborn had true potential to be something great but if it'll ever reach any potential then it'll be a slow journey. The developers have attempted to create this game from the original Final Fantasy XIV and transform it into a more successful version. It is far better than the original but still lacks in so many departments. As an MMO, the only real word that comes to mind is "Boring". If you want to level up characters, kill a few bosses over and over and over (literally hundreds of times) in order to advance and become stronger in the game to which eventually servers to purpose then this is your game. The customer support is absolutely awful as Square-Enix has truly lowered the bar of what should be expected when you pay a monthly fee for a game. There's constant issues with hackers and people attempting to annoy you by selling in-game currency for real money and little to nothing is being done about it. Also, as a PS3 player you will be discriminated in the game by parties who only allow people with a PC to play with them as there are some major flaws with PS3 compared to PC. Do yourself a favor and don't bother spending the money on this game or the monthly subscription fee for a server that is simply lacking. There's other companies that would appreciate your money and have a quality product. Good luck!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Grimmjow08
Eorzea
 
Please wait while more information about Grimmjow08 is loaded.
Additional information about Grimmjow08 could not be loaded.
Misdirected finger
Posted 6/1/14
After reading your "review", all I am seeing are complaints about players and the customer service center of SE, but not the game itself. The levelling of the game is well paced the first time through, and the boss fights are fun and innovative, as well as challenging, something other MMOs can't say most of the time. Please, if you're going to leave a review about the game, leave a review about THE GAME. Have a nice day
A Realm Reborn player.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 82 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
bull.
Posted on:7/14/10
Lolwut
If I'm gonna buy the game for that price then I am not going to pay extra. This is not the 360, it should be free.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 83 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Looks the Same
Posted on:7/9/10
Im2fast4you33
This looked exactly the same as FF XI, accept for the cut scenes maybe. Had the same races and everything. Unless they did a complete overhaul, of the leveling system, battle system, traveling, and add the ability to actually solo anything, no thank you. Im a die hard final fantasy fan, but XI was horrible. A rare drop was almost non-existant. I suffered to lvl 40 with not a single weapon drop. Gold was almost impossible to get. And ya cant say it was becuase i wasnt playing in a party cause the only way to play that game is too get in a party with 5 people, find a corner, and beat the crap out of something for 10 minutes till it finally dies, not to mention losing a 10th of your XP everytime you die. Neway, looks too much like De ja Vu to take my chances with it
Review 84 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
What!?!
Posted on:7/17/10
minty9
You have to PAY to play!?! Rediculous!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 85 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
FFXIV Super Beautiful and Super Boring!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
TheRageCarrier
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The launch on PC was a disaster and and it's the same thing your getting on PS3 so here we go. The game is ridiculously beautiful. I ran it maxed out with no lag. Unfortunately that was the only thing keeping from uninstalling this pile of trash. There is NOTHING to do in this game. There is no auction house, no mog house or whatever the heck it was called in XI, the crafting system is clunky and antiquated it also has no recipe list leaving you with the fun of clicking on random mats going I wonder what I can make with this!). The controls and combat are a massive improvement from XI but the games a 100% grind fest. You are limited to the amount of leve quests you can do per day for crafting and job leveling. Which means if your a hard core gamer you will be grinding trash mobs all day long to continue advancing at a poor rate. I have friends that in hopes of future content have leveled past 20 etc.When I ask them "So what are the dungeons like? etc" They can't really give me an answer because all anyone really CAN do is grind trash mobs for trash mats to grind out your profession. and with no real auction house good luck selling that junk. The profession system while slightly more interesting than your average MMO is also completely inefficient compared to your average MMO. FF-XIV is like a launched beta rather than a completed game. So months from now if and when they decide to add some content I may go back and take another look at it. Until then... DC universe might be cool..or I can just play Cataclysm at least that's completed.
Oh yeah and storyline there really isn't any. And what little you do get is few and far between. (I don't care about storyline but some of you do)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
daveh1230
 
Please wait while more information about daveh1230 is loaded.
Additional information about daveh1230 could not be loaded.
This is the death of good games
Posted 1/8/11
This is why I stopped playing FF games. I have played and owned every game up until they went on-line. Seriously, you pay $50 -$60 dollars for a game and then a monthly fee also? Not me. I will never pay a monthly fee to play games period.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 86 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
2.0 will be worth IT!!!
Posted on:8/20/13
PMDawn
Location: San Jose, CA
Listen everyone...I had an opportunity to beta test Final Fantasy XIV AAR 2.0. I was very surprised of the gameplay. After reading reviews, watching clips, and hearing from others who purchased Final Fantasy XIV 1.0 I was completely skeptic. It's been awhile since I actually enjoyed playing a Final Fantasy game. I was really disappointed with the XIII series, but that's anther story. Playing the beta version had me stuck playing for hours. I don't want to spoil it for people, but after spending a couple of days playing the beta I was sold and reserved my copy right away. I never been sooo....excitied to play an Final Fantasy game until now!!!
Review 87 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Looking forward to the revised gameplay
Posted on:11/7/12
Yolteotl
Location: TN
First of all, I am like most people where I didn't like the state of the original version at launch. However, after a severe amount of improvements in the previous version I re-evaluated the game when SE did an Adventurer Appreciation recruitment drive that allowed old players to play for free for an extra month this past May and the improvements were impressive considering what they had to work with. A Realm Reborn appears to be even more significantly impressive, with an innovative controller-based user interface, an impressive rebuilt graphics engine, and a much more immersive amount of gameplay. The $60 price-point is just an estimate that GameStop is using (SE has not established a price-point or Release Date), some other price-points mark ARR as $30. GameStop is doing this so that IF the price point is that high ppl wont be alarmed. The subscription is because SE plans on updating the content every month, with a major update every 3 months. Still better to play ~$12/month than micro-transactions or consistent DLC pricing like most games do now, and since it's an MMO u have to choose one of these variances cause of upkeep and updating (and if you achieved Legacy status with the previous version of the game it's only $9/month).
Review 88 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
its gonna be sweet
Posted on:8/20/10
Anonymous
this the reson why i bought a ps3 yee diggg???
5 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 89 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
It's Been Resuscitated
Posted on:8/20/13
Jynx
Location: Smyrna, DE
The original game flopped. Legacy players know that. New players know that, the market knows that. After playing Phase three and four of beta, and seeing the improvements, new players WON'T know that. The game has grown up in the recent years, going from its dismal beginnings to something well worth investing in. It's beautiful. The environment, the characters, the monsters... All of it is beautiful. At one point in time, I stared at my screen while it thunder stormed. Rain poured down, lightning flashed, the works. This is definitely not the Final Fantasy XIV of yesteryear. It is, indeed, reborn and back better than ever.
Review 90 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Pay To Play Is Weak Idea
Posted on:7/6/10
Murda-MeL
I don't believe Gamers an Fans of FF should have to pay to play. 1 your purchasing the game for 60 bucks plus tax. 2 You have to pay for your internet connection, if your a parent you have to pay for your electricity bill. all of this costing well over the 2oo dollar mark. Now they also want Adults an Young adults to pay to play. This is the dumbest Idea I seen in the years of gaming. If your going to make a MMoRPG , you have to also except the fact that its going to be payed by millions of players.(So you don't need a pay-2-play fee for online MMORPG) A Small 1 time fee I could understand, but if to pay monthly is just a RIP OFF!! I'm hopping this is not the case , Cause I been a huge fan of FF for a very long time. Jermel aka Murda-Mel PS3
Review 91 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
SE has done it again
Posted on:3/22/10
Anonymous
They never fail to disapoint me with any of their FF games. XIV will probably be the greatest FF title aside from XIII and of course the best looking MMO. The environments and character designs are gorgeous I can't wait to see more. The new battle system looks to be more fun and challanging along with the new class/skill system Also you guys complaining about monthly fees they are there for a reason. How do you think you get content? How do you think the employees get paid? Actual customer service. Those 'free to play' games aren't as free as you may think. Why do you think F2P games have an item mall? THAT money is what pays for the game to be free. By having a monthly payment, you get more content and better customer service. That simple.
Review 92 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Very interested
Posted on:5/10/13
TimothyJake
Location: Blah.
I haven't played an MMO on console since Phantasy Star Universe Online, (which I found to be quite entertaining, despite others opinions) So this being an amazing upgrade I hope would be refreshing. I never really got to getting a nice computer to run other MMO's, so one on console will be good enough. I bought a ps3, this being a huge factor in that choice. With the summer release being announced a week ago, this should be coming in the next month or two.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 93 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
if you have played all FF online this is for you
Posted on:11/30/11
LANDRAM
Location: madison in 47250
ok so its heard so what thats what makes it fun/grate with out it being heard it wold be lame there for i say thay did a allsome job on this game all the other ones befor this one were to easy!! THIS FF IS FOR HEARD CORE FF/GAMERS #1 real play all the FF online games befor this one!! becas if you play this one and not the others you wont know the story(knowing the story will help you play this game!!! real #2 its a MMORPG so play with others have fun be nice and help thos that need it that way you have more players that will help you back.... (what gos around comes around) as thay say in life that is!!!! real # 3 if you follow this reals you will have fun and you will have lots of players to play with,this game have over 1,000,000 players as of now,more keep comeing so there will allwas be new plays to play with and to lvl up with so dont give up have fun if its to heard thin go online and goggle info, ask in game for help, jist dont give up there is alwas a way to get past a part in any game thank of this game as life if you are stuck in a job you dont like what do you???? most talk to there boss some find a new job,, no one stops working and never works agin there for i say this hase miny grate points to it!!!!!!!! i give it a 100/100 for the way its made and the thanking that was put in to it!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
FINAL FANTASY XIV
6 out of 10(100)
 
 
 
Final Fantasy XIV Collector's Edition
6 out of 10(137)
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 31 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thatguycloud
Wisconsin
 
Please wait while more information about thatguycloud is loaded.
Additional information about thatguycloud could not be loaded.
derp.
Posted 12/27/11
1) This game is NOT from any other Final Fantasy that I have ever played, so the story isn't going to matter. It's not even relevant to XI other than the races.
2) Just because it's an MMORPG Final Fantasy does not mean it's for "heard core" players. I actually barely touched 11 and I'm rather enjoying this game on PC. It's very casual, and relaxed.
3) It took me a while to figure out the quests so I will agree with you that it's frustrating. But honestly, if you read all the dialog, and the quests more than once you're pretty much going to figure out where you're going to need to go.
4) Awesome sound track, I loved the cut-scenes that my character is even involved in and makes noises in. (No pun)
I think this is an awesome game for MMO'ers that are used to Final Fantasy XI, as far as new players.. Well you're going to want to start with your friends. I hope this comes out fairly soon on PS3, I'd love to play with the girlfriend fairly soon. Both our copies pre-ordered and all.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 94 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
A Must Play MMO
Posted on:8/23/13
Anonymous
Location: 'Merica!
Honestly, this game has to be ONE OF the best MMORPGs to date. Sure it has it quirks, but it's still young and quite frankly ten times better than v.1. A see a lot of people who post and say this game is nothing special but one of it's main features is in fact a rarity of it's own. Even in the beta phase where we were all given limited and cut pieces of the story, there was so much to do! I'm trying not to give anything away here, and I'm sure you know what bits and pieces I'm referring to by reading other reviews and watching videos. Bottom line is this; play the game, at least once.
Review 95 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Eager Anticipation
Posted on:5/31/13
MoonHowler
Location: New Jersey
Having played 1.0 from alpha to the shut down, I can say 1.0 started horribly, truly it was a mess. However, once Yoshi-P got a hold of the game it began to get massive improvements that made it actually enjoyable. Having seen what he did to the horror that was 1.0 before it went down gives me very high hopes. What's more, he keeps his soon-to-be player base up to date with previews and Q&A every month via live letters. From what I've seen from the game so far, it is amazing. They should be releasing an offline character creator around E3 also I believe and I know they already have a game benchmark for those who want to preview what the new game looks like.
Review 96 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Why?
Posted on:7/20/11
HungryHippie
Location: Paris, KY
I've played every single Final Fantasy game since the first one was released on the SNES (not the PS1, mind you) up until they started releasing the online versions. Even though I haven't played any of the online ones, I feel as though they have lost their wonderful ability to captivate the player through its great plot. The turn based game play is a bit of a hassle in some respects, but when they started using the turn based system that was very similar to Kingdom Hearts, it began to signal a transition in the franchise that I didn't like.
Why, may I ask, can't Square Enix continue with the tradition that has brought them so much success?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ThiefGold
 
Please wait while more information about ThiefGold is loaded.
Additional information about ThiefGold could not be loaded.
Posted 8/2/11
Not a big deal, just lettin' ya know that the first Final Fantasy was on the NES not the SNES. ;)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 97 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
MMORPG Terrible
Posted on:11/24/11
swiff
Location: Utah
i played this for PC, with my wife and my best friend for about 3 months. hoping and praying it would get better. i cannot say it got any better, in fact the last time i played it about 2 months ago i could NOT even get past the tutorial quest with how much they BUTCHERED it . just keep in mind this is an MMORPG not an RPG. its been out for a year and its awful. i was an avid fan of FF but this was their last chance. never again
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 98 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Great game lousy servers
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/13
ImSlaughteringU
Location: Cookeville, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game play is beyond amazing. Personally better than anything Square-Enix has produced in some time. The servers have had many issues since release but I keep telling myself that that is due to such a high success rate. I can barely log in with my main character because of these server issues. However, we have been assured that by Square-Enix that they are going to fix the proble. We will see. But so far well worth the buy and I have never bought a MMO that requires a membership. This is my first. That should tell anyone how much I like the game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 99 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
who knows
Posted on:5/29/13
keybladelover
Location: Georgia GA
this game does look very interesting final fantasy has been more miss then hit lately but hey maybe you have to go to rock bottom before things look better i mean look at 13 and 13-2 i want to say i like the characters but i can't but again this does with out a doubt look like something ill try out and beat before i give a full review
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 100 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Very Excited
Posted on:7/30/13
LoveRPG
Location: West Chester, PA
I had the privilege of participating in phase 3 beta on PS3 for 5 weeks. The game is visual amazing. The game play is easy to learn but will take time to master. The developers have stated main storyline will get you to 50, the max level on one job. I played Lancer to 35 (beta max) and enjoyed the job. It was great for soloing while I used Duty Finder to do amazing dungeon runs. Crafting and gathering were exciting once I understood the complex interactions between all the skills and traits. This game as a lot of content and SE will add more in time. Gear up and hope to see you on the battlefield!
<<prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>