GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn

FINAL FANTASY® XIV: A Realm Reborn is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) for Windows® PC and PlayStation®3 that invites you to explore the realm of Eorzea with friends from around the world. Form a party and adventure with a multitude of players from across the globe. Forge friendships, mount chocobos, and board airships as you and your companions create your own unique stories in Eorzea. Set out alone or enlist the aid of friends as you undertake epic quests, battle familiar FINAL FANTASY monsters, and acquire unique abilities and equipment. All the classic elements from the series that you have come to know and love are waiting! Embark on the adventure of a lifetime to help reforge the fate of Eorzea!
Average Customer Rating:
6.829
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (261 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
9
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
27 out of 4166%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Review 81 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
New Picture plz!!
Posted on:3/8/13
Kygeno
Location: MS
GameStop take that old picture down plz. People not gonna buy or reserve Final Fantasy XIV A Realm Reborn, because you have wrong picture up.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
albynospyder
pa
 
Please wait while more information about albynospyder is loaded.
Additional information about albynospyder could not be loaded.
Posted 4/8/13
i agree, new pic please
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 82 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
When is this game releasing?!?!
Posted on:2/18/13
DjNamuhni
Location: San Juan, P.R.
I've had my eye on this game for a really long time now...ever since it was announced for the pc...and I've always wanted to buy a ps3 version...well this version has been announced a really long time now...could anybody please tell me if it's going to be released, and when???
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 83 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
First of its kind
Posted on:2/17/13
Redmoon13
Location: Walhalla,SC
This is the first game for the console of its kind that actually looks like it will be amazing. Other games like DC universe was ok, but this looks like a game that will have the same amazing game play that all final fantasy games have had in the past, and the intense gameplay and action. I will be pre-ordering this game, and i hope other FF fans will be as well. I'll see you guys online and enjoy!
Review 84 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Another FF? That's cool, I guess.
Posted on:1/16/13
Kaz8693
Location: California, US
I'd appreciate Square Enix more if they just stopped with the Final Fantasy games for JUST A MINUTE, to finally make and release KINGDOM HEARTS 3. That is all.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 85 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Not impressed.
Posted on:1/7/13
billy09er
Location: Ma.
This game doesn't look like it will appeal to me. It kinda looks like one of those incredibly boring games that you feel like your forced to play just to stay ahead. As a huge Final Fantasy Fan FF2, FF3, FF7, FF9, FF12 are my favorites. FF13 was a huge letdown for me... no level up freedom and no all characters controlled... Maybe i'm just one of those old fans that just needs to let go of the older gameplays. I will await FF15 but im scared for it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 86 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Looking forward to the revised gameplay
Posted on:11/7/12
Yolteotl
Location: TN
First of all, I am like most people where I didn't like the state of the original version at launch. However, after a severe amount of improvements in the previous version I re-evaluated the game when SE did an Adventurer Appreciation recruitment drive that allowed old players to play for free for an extra month this past May and the improvements were impressive considering what they had to work with. A Realm Reborn appears to be even more significantly impressive, with an innovative controller-based user interface, an impressive rebuilt graphics engine, and a much more immersive amount of gameplay. The $60 price-point is just an estimate that GameStop is using (SE has not established a price-point or Release Date), some other price-points mark ARR as $30. GameStop is doing this so that IF the price point is that high ppl wont be alarmed. The subscription is because SE plans on updating the content every month, with a major update every 3 months. Still better to play ~$12/month than micro-transactions or consistent DLC pricing like most games do now, and since it's an MMO u have to choose one of these variances cause of upkeep and updating (and if you achieved Legacy status with the previous version of the game it's only $9/month).
Review 87 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
dont get it
Posted on:10/22/12
Seigwarheit
Location: NJ
this game is the worst mmorpg ever. i preordered it for the ps3 and it still isnt out. i played it on pc and it was awful. it is so bad that it is now free to play because everyone left.
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 88 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Games Awesome
Posted on:10/19/12
Serenold
Location: Manchester, NH
The game really caught my eye when I first tried it after getting my new computer in 2011. I heard a lot of bad reviews for it, but being a Final Fantasy fan, and die hard player of 11 I couldn't resist this. If you look online, and read game informer. They redid the game. It stated something about the owner of the Final Fantasy franchise actually was sad it bombed he hired someone new who fired the in tire crew, and re did it haven't played it for a while, but plan on starting up the old account to continue. I love the way it all is played out there's allot more quests in the game then in FFXI, and the Class change is allot more easier then running back to town realizing you don't like the class, and running back to change or if your in a party, and need a healer right then, and there. Great thing to is you can mix class skills. If you have a warrior type class that's like lvl 30, and a white mage class thats lvl 50 with cure, or cura you can put those skills on the warrior and still heal so it's like having a paladin right then and there. Games awesome I highly recommend it to people who like Final Fantasy, and want to play a good MMORPG.
Review 89 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
How About A Side Story
Posted on:10/1/12
JoMega
Location: Newark, NJ
After all the reviews I heard about the pc FF IV, I never took the chance to try it out until it's Ps3 release(which gave it the years they should've taken to work on it in the first place). And I understand the online gaming is a popular trait since XI, but why don't Square-Enix add an offline story mode to it? W/o an offline sequence, the game will fade off as well as XI(through gaming time zones). I'll be buying IV due to my FF fanship, but I feel as if anything should be worked on, it should be a story(along with created characters and story made party members)...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OokamiShi
West Virginia - United States
 
Please wait while more information about OokamiShi is loaded.
Additional information about OokamiShi could not be loaded.
Everyone needs to give this game a 2nd chance.
Posted 10/6/12
The game has been rebuilt from the floor up to the ceiling, and they're now raising the ceiling even more. They pulled over one of the key developers ( Yoshi ) from Final Fantasy XI. He's focused all his energy on pretty much starting this game over from scratch and rebuilding it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 90 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
My Opinion
Posted on:9/17/12
knives
Location: Laveen, AZ
The Release of FF XIV (14) - was horrible. there was so many bugs/glitches that you could not even enjoy the game.. Don't forget about the very SLOW PACED battle system. Also having to go through 4-9 menu tabs for small option you had to do and doing long keys for one small macro to move your "map". BUT that is ALL IN THE PAST. Look up "Final Fantasy Letter I/II" <- it's 2 different videos. It explains ALMOST EVERYTHING that they have changed.. Literally building from bottom to top. Making a entire new engine for the game and adding "limit break" which means you do not have to "wait" for the "TP" to stock up to use a move. You can now use them @ start of combat PLUS it is now stackable by "hitting enemies". which was not there and also adding "market place" which was not there EITHER. This game had a bad start.. but now due to YOSHI P taking over.. he has worked his butt off for the past 9 months? and making sure that all the "feedback" from the players are being met. All from the issues to the suggestions. His very open minded and is willing to meet every one of your expectations.. - I'll be playing this on the PS3 version. I just pre-ordered cost me 59.99. -- Now they'll be adding monthly fees due to the HUGE remake of the structure in the game. I'm not sure how much it will be but it will not be permanent. Well i do not think so. Either way i estimate to be about 2-5 dollars a month. Anyone who uses the internet can most likely make up 5 bucks in 28-31 days. -- Theyre have been battle/graphics/monsters/UI improvements. literally from 0% to 100% rebuild. "New sheet of a paper" as some might say. Now the 2.0 will have ALOT of new features in it. Some mini games and also with PVP(person vs person) But they will not come out right off the launch of 2.0 probably a month or 2 after it is released. Time flies by so do not worry too much about it. This game is will be great and will still be getting improvements as we play it. -- enjoi and sorry for this LONG WALL TEXT. -- 88 (o o)7
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MP4LIFE
Las Vegas, NV
 
Please wait while more information about MP4LIFE is loaded.
Additional information about MP4LIFE could not be loaded.
Posted 10/1/12
great review. As a current player I can agree with almost everything said. There is now a 3rd Letter from the producer. The subscription free's your talking about are way off. It's gonna be $12.99/mo for regular players and I believe $8.99 or $9.99/mo for Legacy members. Other than that almost everything is spot on the money.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 91 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Disappointed....
Posted on:8/25/12
Cleo
Location: Chicago, IL
I love FF13 and all but i was really hoping that they would release FF Versus 13 with Noctis... Im very disppaointed at Square Enix right now Final Fantasy 13-2 wasn't even that good..
0 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MP4LIFE
Las Vegas, NV
 
Please wait while more information about MP4LIFE is loaded.
Additional information about MP4LIFE could not be loaded.
Posted 10/1/12
This is FFXIV not XIII. Please keep posts for reviews to reviews of the game. Your review has nothing to do with XIV.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 92 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Just saying...
Posted on:8/16/12
TheDude159
Location: Somewhere
supposibly the ps3 version of ffxiv 2.0 will come out march 2013 and the beta for the it will be some time during the fall.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 93 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Let's be patient
Posted on:8/9/12
lunardream3
It's true, most people talking about this these days are either bashing it, or complaining about how long it's taking to even get a release date. Believe me....I understand what everyone is saying. Much of the hate Square Enix did bring upon themselves with the 2010 release of FFXIV. However, in case you are not yet aware, it has made drastic improvements since then. I have little doubt that this will even seem like the same game everyone couldn't stand back then. So please, I understand your pessimism, but from what they've shown in their updates they do deserve a chance. Now, I understand why many are complaining about the lack of a release date, but I refuse to complain. I much prefer they take their time and put more effort into what it is their creating. If it will take a while, so be it. Not only that, but in my opinion Square Enix has a habit of taking on way to many projects as of lately. Of course I can't imagine how many people are working for them, but they still admitted that some of their games are being put off for now to focus on other titles. For example, some big projects they are working on right now include this, Final Fantasy Versus XIII (though like with this, who knows if and when it'll be released at all, at least under that title), Final Fantasy XIII: Lightning Saga (they say they're going to be talking about it later this year), and Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance which they finally finished. Some of the games I'm aware of that their putting off in favor of these are: Kingdom Hearts 3 (they say because they want to put their full attention on Versus XIII), new additions to the Final Fantasy VII series (they predict it to double in size, yet I doubt they've started working on it), and on top of it all they never seem to miss an opportunity to take up even more projects that other companies didn't finish; such as the new Tomb Raider and Sleeping Dogs. I don't know how they do it, nor do I think it's very smart. I have to agree with some of you, I do wish Square Enix would take a look at what Squaresoft was and why it was so successful, same with the old FF titles. I also wish they took a hint from Mistwalker Studios, many of their old staff from Squaresoft work their now, Mistwalker has only released about 5 games so far and each one has come out stunning in it's own way. They clearly take their time and it shows. Square Enix seems to be in a way, rushing, and looking to release quanity over quality. They also seem to be releasing more and more games that seem to be them experimenting with new combat and art styles, and we have to pay the price. This is what they have testers for. I just hope they don't make yet another mistake with FFXIV, they really have a great opportunity here.
41 of 45 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Oboewan
Glen Carbon, IL
 
Please wait while more information about Oboewan is loaded.
Additional information about Oboewan could not be loaded.
Posted 5/28/13
From the PC beta tests, it is already better than the original FFXIV. I can say that what I have experienced puts this game well beyond where I expected it to be. I can't wait to beta it on my PS3 and see how it works. :)
Customer Avatar
LadyArriko
 
Please wait while more information about LadyArriko is loaded.
Additional information about LadyArriko could not be loaded.
Amen
Posted 9/6/12
Exactly what I tell people. Odds are, it will be out in 2013 at some point lol At least theres a definite year! FFXI did the same thing and I am positive by tweaking XIV and spending so much time on it, when it is released everyone should be pretty well satisfied. With that said....@lunardream3 - want to be in my "linkshell"? We need people with this mindframe on XIV! haha :)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 94 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Final Fantasy XIV | 2.0 Updates
Posted on:6/26/12
KingSettsuo
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Look i'm not going to sugarcoat this preview buzz. Final Fantasy XIV released on "PC" almost two years ago was a complete failure not only as a Final Fantasy, but also as a game. It barely met the requirements to even be called a game. Now most people who decide to look up this game will most likely get reviews from 2010. It will have almost the exact same synopsis as described above. They will flee in terror at the sight of a reviewers opinion. Ah, but that version has long been dead. With recent updates it's already a completely different title then it was at it's initial release. It's not only playable, but an extremely fun MMORPG in it's current state. Oh, but that's not it. PS3 will feature the 2.0 update to final fantasy out of the box which will include way more features then it already has including PvP, RvR, player housing, etc. If it's like FFXI it will continue to be played even after the world itself has forgotten about it. So don't trust reviews from 2010 because that phase has been dead for to long now. Yoshi P is dedicated to bringing us an enjoyable Final Fantasy MMORPG and won't stop working until we're satisfied. So give it a chance and enjoy the work he's putting into it for our sake.
100 of 108 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JOKER17
 
Please wait while more information about JOKER17 is loaded.
Additional information about JOKER17 could not be loaded.
Beta was great!
Posted 7/1/13
Look honestly when the game was first released it was awful.....but now they have completely redone everything and is not even close to the same game as it was before. I been playing the beta and I got to say its really nice and fun. you should give it a shot even tho it failed at the beginning, its now a new game....
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 95 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Gave them time
Posted on:6/4/12
OneOz
Location: South Carolina, SC
I know how bad it was but i am will to gave them a chances. i did not play it when it drop because of them damned requirements. i think they had a deal with the hardware companys or something. but i will gave them a chances maybe after a mouth or 2 after the drop date for the ps3
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 96 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
waste of money
Posted on:5/31/12
gaiaxzero
Location: new york
i bought this when it first launch, i played all the beta, i played all the updates, now it seem they are trying to incorporate some of the stuff from ffxi to turn around the slump there in. People who buy this game will be disappointed, even with patch 2.0 in the works I can not see my self playing this game ever again even with there new legacy subscription, this game has lost its appeal with so many different changes didnt make this game fun but more of a complex mess. Save your money for something interesting and a longer appeal this game no matter how they try to overhaul it will just be a waste of hrs and hrs of time.
1 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MP4LIFE
Las Vegas, NV
 
Please wait while more information about MP4LIFE is loaded.
Additional information about MP4LIFE could not be loaded.
Respect....
Posted 10/1/12
I understand if you were upset at the release. I played Alpha, Beta, and Commercial, then I quit. Instead of bashing the game without trying the recent patches and turning potential players away. Try playing the resent patches and/or 2.0. I started playing XIV again about 2 months ago, and I love the new systems and all, and that was hard to do with my hatred of how the game released. The game is under new leadership and he's listening to the players. So pls don't just bash and turn ppl away from a good game that's gonna get better when 2.0 comes out. Instead at least describe what you didn't like and what you did so people have a better understanding.
Thank you.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 97 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Yea... Not so much
Posted on:4/5/12
Dustjh22
Location: Terrell, tx
I love me some final fantasy. I have them all downloaded or owned. However the last online final fantasy (11) was not only incredibly expensive for such an awful game, but as said it was an awful game. Final fantasy is not W.O.W. and I don't want it to be. People have whined about the (not so turn based) fighting style, and I was one at the beginning but it leads to new fighting styles an multiple ways to win ur match. Enix needs to quit with the online multiplayer world of warcraft stuff and stick to what they've been doing... Stunning graphics and original stories. That's what got people to love the series
8 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 98 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
World Merges and Updates........
Posted on:3/25/12
AsHeSnEoCoN
Squarenix is trying desperately to fix the problems that have plagued this game since it's release. I did not buy the pc version at launch so have nothing to go off as far as the horror stories everyone has heard. Since I have been playing they have started charging the monthly fee and have had a world merger. As far as I personally can tell, the game "seems" to be headed in the right direction. If the PS3 version 2.0 actually ever comes out, it could be the thing to bring this game back to life.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 99 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Wait for 2.0 and PS3 version
Posted on:2/16/12
FoSsil924
Location: New York NY
I played this at launch and it was TERRIBLE! ! Graphically it's by far the best looking MMO out and i mean the BEST nothing is even close ,but that being said it's probably one of its main problems.The game is so beautiful just to play on PC u need a high end PC or a gaming rig.This will not run on a good or decent PC.Next problem is community............it dosen't have one and you can play for hours and see maybe 3 people playing it .I came back about 4 months ago to check it out and the worlds are empty which leads to not being able to update gear or weapons.The game still didn't have an AH just an area to sell stuff using your NPC (Market wards)and since worlds are empty your not finding anything.Don't preorder until it's official and your better off waiting a month or so after PS3 version hits stores because like i said you need a high end PC for this game so i seriously doubt a PS3 or a 360 version can handle the game.(I know no 360 version)
3 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 100 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Release Date - Q4 2012 (October - December)
Posted on:2/1/12
NoItAll
Location: Michigan
For those that post wondering when the release date for this will be, use GOOGLE or your favorite search engine.... wikipedia and other sources state that it is slated to be release October 2012. It was delayed because of major overhauls being done and FF XIV 2.0 is being released on the PC... After FF XIV 2.0 comes out on the PC, then it will be released for PS3. It is not exact when the PS3 version will be out as they are still working on 2.0 for PC, so that is why they cannot put an exact date... just chill and research things first. Wikipedia is a great source as well for answers to these types of questions.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>