GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn

FINAL FANTASY® XIV: A Realm Reborn is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) for Windows® PC and PlayStation®3 that invites you to explore the realm of Eorzea with friends from around the world. Form a party and adventure with a multitude of players from across the globe. Forge friendships, mount chocobos, and board airships as you and your companions create your own unique stories in Eorzea. Set out alone or enlist the aid of friends as you undertake epic quests, battle familiar FINAL FANTASY monsters, and acquire unique abilities and equipment. All the classic elements from the series that you have come to know and love are waiting! Embark on the adventure of a lifetime to help reforge the fate of Eorzea!
Average Customer Rating:
6.977
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (263 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
9
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
29 out of 4367%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Review 81 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Great comeback
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/13
Stereo
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Forget the fact they are swamped right now on the servers, that will be fixed within the next few weeks or sooner. That is part of the course for MMOs. What surprises me is the fact that Square Enix came back from their attempt in 2010 and completed redeemed themselves when any other company would have dropped the game and moved on. All their hard work has payed off and I am definitely enjoying myself with what I have been able to play. Once they increase server capacity everything will be great in my eyes. If you played 1.0 or not, you should do yourself a favor and try this game until at least level 15 before you make an opinion on this game, it's well worth the cost as I have it for both PC and PS3. Love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 82 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
What!?!
Posted on:7/17/10
minty9
You have to PAY to play!?! Rediculous!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 83 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
FFXIV Super Beautiful and Super Boring!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
TheRageCarrier
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The launch on PC was a disaster and and it's the same thing your getting on PS3 so here we go. The game is ridiculously beautiful. I ran it maxed out with no lag. Unfortunately that was the only thing keeping from uninstalling this pile of trash. There is NOTHING to do in this game. There is no auction house, no mog house or whatever the heck it was called in XI, the crafting system is clunky and antiquated it also has no recipe list leaving you with the fun of clicking on random mats going I wonder what I can make with this!). The controls and combat are a massive improvement from XI but the games a 100% grind fest. You are limited to the amount of leve quests you can do per day for crafting and job leveling. Which means if your a hard core gamer you will be grinding trash mobs all day long to continue advancing at a poor rate. I have friends that in hopes of future content have leveled past 20 etc.When I ask them "So what are the dungeons like? etc" They can't really give me an answer because all anyone really CAN do is grind trash mobs for trash mats to grind out your profession. and with no real auction house good luck selling that junk. The profession system while slightly more interesting than your average MMO is also completely inefficient compared to your average MMO. FF-XIV is like a launched beta rather than a completed game. So months from now if and when they decide to add some content I may go back and take another look at it. Until then... DC universe might be cool..or I can just play Cataclysm at least that's completed.
Oh yeah and storyline there really isn't any. And what little you do get is few and far between. (I don't care about storyline but some of you do)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
daveh1230
 
Please wait while more information about daveh1230 is loaded.
Additional information about daveh1230 could not be loaded.
This is the death of good games
Posted 1/8/11
This is why I stopped playing FF games. I have played and owned every game up until they went on-line. Seriously, you pay $50 -$60 dollars for a game and then a monthly fee also? Not me. I will never pay a monthly fee to play games period.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 84 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
A Little Something For Everyone
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/13
scualabamafan
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Square hit a homerun with this one. This makes up for Final Fantasy XII and XII-2, both seriously below their normal excellence. This game gives a great pacing of quest for reaching level cap, whether you do it through the main story quests, Grand Company quests, Fate farm, levemetes, or keep tied up in dungeons. The crafting in the game is not the worst and definetly not the best but is a great way to earn extra coin after you've gotten a retainer to sell your items for you. There's enough in this game to keep you interested and playing it because you can readily switch between combat and the other job class you've decided to do.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 85 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Views from a Beta Tester
Posted on:8/19/13
BigDaddyGamer
Location: Oregon
So this past weekend was probably the last beta test before the final release. Luckily my friend, my wife, and I had the chance to beta test the product. Is it the end all of MMORPG's? No. But it is fun, with beautiful scenery, a nice variety of monsters and such to battle, Huge expansive cities to get lost in, and a decent battle system. There are some parts that could be improved on, and I am sure will be addressed as time goes by, but for the most part, its a decent game to play. There is a good amount of customization with the characters, and spells look great when cast. I would try it out if you love the franchise as there is lots of recognizable aspects that make it a typical final fantasy game.I plan to.
Review 86 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Back To The Final Fantasy Feeling
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/13
Jay6683
Location: Baltimore, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After the disppointing release of XIV last year, A Realm Reborn is definitely a breath of fresh air. The game has been redesigned from the ground up, and is no where near what it used to be. The story line immediately drew me in from the begining, it's wonderful to see them tying together the story from the original release into this new version. The music and gameplay is full of that Final Fantasy feeling, I found myself with moments of nostalgia when I rode my first chocobo and listened to that all familiar theme. The gameplay is fun and engaging and familiar to anyone who has played WoW or other similar MMOs; but at the same time has a specific Final Fantasy flavor all its own.Some of the dungeon boss encounters are quite creative. The party Limit Breaks are full of those over the top attacks and animations that bring me back to my days of Final Fantasy VII. There is plenty to do with numerous classes to level (both combat and crafting related), dungeons to run, achievements to obtain and monsters to hunt. In my eyes Square has redeemed themselves from their orginial release and I can see myself playing this game for a long time. I highly recommend people to pick up and try this, I promise if you're a fan of the Final Fantasy series you will find something to draw you in.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 87 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Looking forward to the revised gameplay
Posted on:11/7/12
Yolteotl
Location: TN
First of all, I am like most people where I didn't like the state of the original version at launch. However, after a severe amount of improvements in the previous version I re-evaluated the game when SE did an Adventurer Appreciation recruitment drive that allowed old players to play for free for an extra month this past May and the improvements were impressive considering what they had to work with. A Realm Reborn appears to be even more significantly impressive, with an innovative controller-based user interface, an impressive rebuilt graphics engine, and a much more immersive amount of gameplay. The $60 price-point is just an estimate that GameStop is using (SE has not established a price-point or Release Date), some other price-points mark ARR as $30. GameStop is doing this so that IF the price point is that high ppl wont be alarmed. The subscription is because SE plans on updating the content every month, with a major update every 3 months. Still better to play ~$12/month than micro-transactions or consistent DLC pricing like most games do now, and since it's an MMO u have to choose one of these variances cause of upkeep and updating (and if you achieved Legacy status with the previous version of the game it's only $9/month).
Review 88 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
its gonna be sweet
Posted on:8/20/10
Anonymous
this the reson why i bought a ps3 yee diggg???
5 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 89 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Will have you Hooked
Posted on:8/22/13
Dontlookathis
Location: Louisiana, LA
The game has been totally remastered, so the game is made into a whole new adventure with new features as well. This game will be online, and will have a fee of $12.99 which can also be purchased from Gamestop, or any other place you go to shop for games. The game will continue to provide new features for you and all the players around the world with the monthly fee they are charging. In this game you will be able to also be able to play with PC users, and PC users will be able to play online with you as well which is also amazing in itself. Personally, I will be preording this game this Saturday after buying my new ps3 slim. I look forward to this game, and hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
Review 90 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Pay To Play Is Weak Idea
Posted on:7/6/10
Murda-MeL
I don't believe Gamers an Fans of FF should have to pay to play. 1 your purchasing the game for 60 bucks plus tax. 2 You have to pay for your internet connection, if your a parent you have to pay for your electricity bill. all of this costing well over the 2oo dollar mark. Now they also want Adults an Young adults to pay to play. This is the dumbest Idea I seen in the years of gaming. If your going to make a MMoRPG , you have to also except the fact that its going to be payed by millions of players.(So you don't need a pay-2-play fee for online MMORPG) A Small 1 time fee I could understand, but if to pay monthly is just a RIP OFF!! I'm hopping this is not the case , Cause I been a huge fan of FF for a very long time. Jermel aka Murda-Mel PS3
Review 91 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
SE has done it again
Posted on:3/22/10
Anonymous
They never fail to disapoint me with any of their FF games. XIV will probably be the greatest FF title aside from XIII and of course the best looking MMO. The environments and character designs are gorgeous I can't wait to see more. The new battle system looks to be more fun and challanging along with the new class/skill system Also you guys complaining about monthly fees they are there for a reason. How do you think you get content? How do you think the employees get paid? Actual customer service. Those 'free to play' games aren't as free as you may think. Why do you think F2P games have an item mall? THAT money is what pays for the game to be free. By having a monthly payment, you get more content and better customer service. That simple.
Review 92 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
if you have played all FF online this is for you
Posted on:11/30/11
LANDRAM
Location: madison in 47250
ok so its heard so what thats what makes it fun/grate with out it being heard it wold be lame there for i say thay did a allsome job on this game all the other ones befor this one were to easy!! THIS FF IS FOR HEARD CORE FF/GAMERS #1 real play all the FF online games befor this one!! becas if you play this one and not the others you wont know the story(knowing the story will help you play this game!!! real #2 its a MMORPG so play with others have fun be nice and help thos that need it that way you have more players that will help you back.... (what gos around comes around) as thay say in life that is!!!! real # 3 if you follow this reals you will have fun and you will have lots of players to play with,this game have over 1,000,000 players as of now,more keep comeing so there will allwas be new plays to play with and to lvl up with so dont give up have fun if its to heard thin go online and goggle info, ask in game for help, jist dont give up there is alwas a way to get past a part in any game thank of this game as life if you are stuck in a job you dont like what do you???? most talk to there boss some find a new job,, no one stops working and never works agin there for i say this hase miny grate points to it!!!!!!!! i give it a 100/100 for the way its made and the thanking that was put in to it!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
FINAL FANTASY XIV
6 out of 10(100)
 
 
 
Final Fantasy XIV Collector's Edition
6 out of 10(137)
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 31 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thatguycloud
Wisconsin
 
Please wait while more information about thatguycloud is loaded.
Additional information about thatguycloud could not be loaded.
derp.
Posted 12/27/11
1) This game is NOT from any other Final Fantasy that I have ever played, so the story isn't going to matter. It's not even relevant to XI other than the races.
2) Just because it's an MMORPG Final Fantasy does not mean it's for "heard core" players. I actually barely touched 11 and I'm rather enjoying this game on PC. It's very casual, and relaxed.
3) It took me a while to figure out the quests so I will agree with you that it's frustrating. But honestly, if you read all the dialog, and the quests more than once you're pretty much going to figure out where you're going to need to go.
4) Awesome sound track, I loved the cut-scenes that my character is even involved in and makes noises in. (No pun)
I think this is an awesome game for MMO'ers that are used to Final Fantasy XI, as far as new players.. Well you're going to want to start with your friends. I hope this comes out fairly soon on PS3, I'd love to play with the girlfriend fairly soon. Both our copies pre-ordered and all.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 93 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Why?
Posted on:7/20/11
HungryHippie
Location: Paris, KY
I've played every single Final Fantasy game since the first one was released on the SNES (not the PS1, mind you) up until they started releasing the online versions. Even though I haven't played any of the online ones, I feel as though they have lost their wonderful ability to captivate the player through its great plot. The turn based game play is a bit of a hassle in some respects, but when they started using the turn based system that was very similar to Kingdom Hearts, it began to signal a transition in the franchise that I didn't like.
Why, may I ask, can't Square Enix continue with the tradition that has brought them so much success?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ThiefGold
 
Please wait while more information about ThiefGold is loaded.
Additional information about ThiefGold could not be loaded.
Posted 8/2/11
Not a big deal, just lettin' ya know that the first Final Fantasy was on the NES not the SNES. ;)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 94 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
MMORPG Terrible
Posted on:11/24/11
swiff
Location: Utah
i played this for PC, with my wife and my best friend for about 3 months. hoping and praying it would get better. i cannot say it got any better, in fact the last time i played it about 2 months ago i could NOT even get past the tutorial quest with how much they BUTCHERED it . just keep in mind this is an MMORPG not an RPG. its been out for a year and its awful. i was an avid fan of FF but this was their last chance. never again
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 95 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Very interested
Posted on:5/10/13
TimothyJake
Location: Blah.
I haven't played an MMO on console since Phantasy Star Universe Online, (which I found to be quite entertaining, despite others opinions) So this being an amazing upgrade I hope would be refreshing. I never really got to getting a nice computer to run other MMO's, so one on console will be good enough. I bought a ps3, this being a huge factor in that choice. With the summer release being announced a week ago, this should be coming in the next month or two.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 96 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Limited Edition?
Posted on:9/16/10
Gamekid101
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Big fan of the FF series and im so getting this. Monthly fee doesn't bother me none what is it $15 dollars a month? That's like nothing especially for a beast game like FF. I just wanna know if there will be a limited edition for this bad boy on the ps3 like there is with pc???
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 97 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
2.0 will be worth IT!!!
Posted on:8/20/13
PMDawn
Location: San Jose, CA
Listen everyone...I had an opportunity to beta test Final Fantasy XIV AAR 2.0. I was very surprised of the gameplay. After reading reviews, watching clips, and hearing from others who purchased Final Fantasy XIV 1.0 I was completely skeptic. It's been awhile since I actually enjoyed playing a Final Fantasy game. I was really disappointed with the XIII series, but that's anther story. Playing the beta version had me stuck playing for hours. I don't want to spoil it for people, but after spending a couple of days playing the beta I was sold and reserved my copy right away. I never been sooo....excitied to play an Final Fantasy game until now!!!
Review 98 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Lol @ fanboys
Posted on:7/6/10
_FlaSh_
Who cares if microsoft has a few Final Fantasy titles. What matters most is the fact that the game can still be played like any other video game. I have all 3 systems and they all have strengths and weaknesses as well as a few exclusive titles. If any of these companies has you fighting over them, then they have control over you. Lets defer to another subject on paying to play games. World of Warcraft has millions of people playing and they all have to pay a fee to play as well. If you think that people wont pay to play a game, it seems you may have been mistaken. In regards to FF14 it all depends on the quality of the game and how much they wish to charge players to play for a certain amount of time.
Review 99 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
I'll try
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/11
WWEdude
From the way it looks, this could be one of the best Final Fantasy and yet one of the best games THIS year.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 100 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Eager Anticipation
Posted on:5/31/13
MoonHowler
Location: New Jersey
Having played 1.0 from alpha to the shut down, I can say 1.0 started horribly, truly it was a mess. However, once Yoshi-P got a hold of the game it began to get massive improvements that made it actually enjoyable. Having seen what he did to the horror that was 1.0 before it went down gives me very high hopes. What's more, he keeps his soon-to-be player base up to date with previews and Q&A every month via live letters. From what I've seen from the game so far, it is amazing. They should be releasing an offline character creator around E3 also I believe and I know they already have a game benchmark for those who want to preview what the new game looks like.
<<prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>