GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn

FINAL FANTASY® XIV: A Realm Reborn is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) for Windows® PC and PlayStation®3 that invites you to explore the realm of Eorzea with friends from around the world. Form a party and adventure with a multitude of players from across the globe. Forge friendships, mount chocobos, and board airships as you and your companions create your own unique stories in Eorzea. Set out alone or enlist the aid of friends as you undertake epic quests, battle familiar FINAL FANTASY monsters, and acquire unique abilities and equipment. All the classic elements from the series that you have come to know and love are waiting! Embark on the adventure of a lifetime to help reforge the fate of Eorzea!
Average Customer Rating:
6.829
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (261 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
9
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
27 out of 4166%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Review 81 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
to the fan boys
Posted on:7/7/10
rasaki
xbox 360 CPU 3.2 GHz PowerPC Tri-Core Xenon Memory 512MB of GDDR3 RAM clocked at 700MHz Graphics 500 MHz ATI Xenos ps3 CPU 3.2 GHz Cell Broadband Engine with 1 PPE & 7 SPEs Memory 256 MB system and 256 MB video Graphics 550 MHz NVIDIA/SCEI RSX 'Reality ff14 CPU Intel Core 2 Duo (2.0 GHz) RAM Windows XP: 1.5 GB Windows Vista / Windows 7: 2 GB Graphics NVIDIA® GeForce® 9600 or higher VRAM 512 MB Radeon™ HD 2900 or higher VRAM 512 MB thats the min to run ff14 also 360 was promised ff14 in 2005 and they got ff11 so there's a fan base already there iam sure it will come out maybe a year later iam not a 360 fan boy i got a ps3 but just for FF14 its a little bit cheaper than upgrading my PC ATM. If it doesnt come out for 360 iam sure most people will just buy a new video card or just not play it.
Review 82 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Saved!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/13
ras6019
Location: Manassas VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So if you are like myself, you couldn't wait to get your hands on the new release. I mean, I enjoyed FFXI, but nobody wanted to play the game. Let's sit in the same place and lvl up....boring. So when I heard you could play this game with a party or without, went back to when I first opened Zelda...it's GOLD!! And then the reviews came out. After reading, felt like someone kicked my kitty. I had no intentions of buying. BUT WAIT... they improved it and released on console. SO happy. So far, do not have anything to complain about. Did a really nice job!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 83 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
pay to play?
Posted on:7/22/10
Anonymous
Why should we pay to play this game when we are paying the freaking 60 dollars already! Its rediculous these days.. All game industrys want to do is suck money out of gamers pocket. Its stupid!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Shadowreaper
 
Please wait while more information about Shadowreaper is loaded.
Additional information about Shadowreaper could not be loaded.
Posted 9/16/10
Yet another person that's never heard of an MMO before. Servers, updates, and man hours all cost money. Stand-alone games like the regular FF games do not require a fee because there is no need for these things.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 84 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Not Fun, and Migraine inducing Graphics!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/13
gf1981
Location: Danville, Virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game gets a 3 because of cut scene graphics and leveling system are good. Overall gameplay graphics are horrible with a grainy look to the game, and repetitive missions that are beyond boring (even for an MMO). Game was said to be designed using a controller, even if you are on pc. It doesn't have that feel at all. In summary if you like to level up all classes on one character in a game, at the cost of playing horrible missions and graphics this game is for you! One of the worst games I have played in a long long time!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 85 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
I don't need a sentence to say this game is EPIC.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/13
KidJinxx
Location: West Hartford, CT
Like many others I was fortunate enough to be chosen as a Beta Tester for Phase 3, and was able to experience the awesomeness that is ARR. Like all Final Fantasy games, this one has wonderful graphics; from the city of Ul'Dah the to wilds of Black Shroud. Gameplay is a bit tedious I will say, when playing on the PS3 (but thats only because I hate cycling thru the command bars").Aside from that if you are a long time MMO lover or are just picking it up you will surely enjoy it!! Try it out!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 86 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
FFXIV Realm Reborn 2.0 Review
Posted on:8/19/13
caryjet
Location: LA
As an avid player of both the FF series and FFXIV (First version through the recent Beta Phase 4), this game shows unbelievable improvements and alterations. The overall quality of the game undeniably triumphs its predecessor, with an entirely new layout and general character setup. On both PS3 and CPU (with successful cross-platform integration), this game will prove to be one of the greatest MMORPGs of this video game generation. Step up to the challenge and see FFXIV 2.0 bring entirely new and improved aspects of gaming straight to your fingertips.
Review 87 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Not again...
Posted on:4/14/11
MrGamer1985
Location: CPNY
FF has and always will be one of the GREATEST RPG franchises....thats the start. Unfortunately FF keeps bringing back the MMO version of RPG's, like others I am not a fan. This is going to keep true RPG fans away. We need depth and story, not a free for all with other players. FFXIII was a failure and I think they are trying to hard to bounce back....in that case, bring back the simplicity of earlier games....they are recieved better and sell more. Please Square....no more of this garbage
5 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 88 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Very Excited
Posted on:7/30/13
LoveRPG
Location: West Chester, PA
I had the privilege of participating in phase 3 beta on PS3 for 5 weeks. The game is visual amazing. The game play is easy to learn but will take time to master. The developers have stated main storyline will get you to 50, the max level on one job. I played Lancer to 35 (beta max) and enjoyed the job. It was great for soloing while I used Duty Finder to do amazing dungeon runs. Crafting and gathering were exciting once I understood the complex interactions between all the skills and traits. This game as a lot of content and SE will add more in time. Gear up and hope to see you on the battlefield!
Review 89 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Release Date - Q4 2012 (October - December)
Posted on:2/1/12
NoItAll
Location: Michigan
For those that post wondering when the release date for this will be, use GOOGLE or your favorite search engine.... wikipedia and other sources state that it is slated to be release October 2012. It was delayed because of major overhauls being done and FF XIV 2.0 is being released on the PC... After FF XIV 2.0 comes out on the PC, then it will be released for PS3. It is not exact when the PS3 version will be out as they are still working on 2.0 for PC, so that is why they cannot put an exact date... just chill and research things first. Wikipedia is a great source as well for answers to these types of questions.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 90 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Servers Packed 24/7
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/13
megazero255
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Since beta started for this game there was nothing but positive things coming from other beta testers across the country. since then its finally out and this game is full of our expectations of what a FF game should be like, amazing worlds and AWESOME music. Completely new game from the 2010 version. recently this game everyone is dying to playing but the servers are ALWAYS packed day and night. I can keep on going about this but i'd break my keyboard mid-way...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 91 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Blown Away
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/13
Dead2Rights
Location: PA
i played 1.0 and it was not the best thing but it was good and when i heard it was getting a make over i waited patiently. i got into open beta and i was blown away! this is now my favorite mmorpg *sorry ragnarok* the story is great the combat is nice and the world is beautiful. it really feels like final fantasy. i loved final fantasy 11 but this is 10x better then that. so if your into final fantasy and like online games and have extra money on you why not give this a try?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 92 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Epic game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/13
Meyoname
Location: Las Noches
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Not too many MMORPGS released have a story worth its weight in salt. In this case, it has a story the caliber you would expect from something bearing the Final Fantasy name. Though the lack of voice acting kind of throws it off, it still is a awesome game. I will say though for PS3 players: GET A USB MOUSE AND KEYBOARD. Typing with the controller is a hastle.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 93 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
I hope this game is Turn-based...
Posted on:10/22/11
Doozer
Location: PA
I really cannot say I "liked" FF13 when I played it for the first time. I wasn't awe struck or excited whatsoever. When I played the original FF on the NES, FF7 on the PS1 and FF10 on the PS2 I was hooked instantly.....
I don't like how these games have been changed over the years. I really wish Square would go back to their roots.
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
billy09er
Ma.
 
Please wait while more information about billy09er is loaded.
Additional information about billy09er could not be loaded.
I feel your pain.
Posted 2/20/12
Couldn't agree more. FF7 is still the best FF in my opinion, FF13 being the worst. They should at least make Rpg's that are turn based and able to control all of the characters, on the side. Like Lost Odyssey.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 94 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Very interested
Posted on:5/10/13
TimothyJake
Location: Blah.
I haven't played an MMO on console since Phantasy Star Universe Online, (which I found to be quite entertaining, despite others opinions) So this being an amazing upgrade I hope would be refreshing. I never really got to getting a nice computer to run other MMO's, so one on console will be good enough. I bought a ps3, this being a huge factor in that choice. With the summer release being announced a week ago, this should be coming in the next month or two.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 95 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
BEST MMO EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/13
scubaloc
Location: St. Louis, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game perfect in anyway it play great, the graphics on it is sooo gorgeous the music is soo beautiful i can just be on it listening to it for hrs the game is freaking fun n addictive alot of different things to do in it overall THE GAME IS WORTH BUYING TRUST ME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 96 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Don't read the reviews from 2-3 years ago.
Posted on:8/20/13
Anonymous
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Don't allow the reviews from 2010-11 scare you away. A Realm Reborn is just that, reborn. This game has been completely overhauled from the development team to the story and beyond, it's an entirely different game. Having played 3 of the 4 recent Beta phases, I can assure you that this game successfully scratches my MMO itch and my nostalgic Final Fantasy itch. Now, if you don't enjoy MMORPGs, then this probably isn't the game for you, because that's what it is through and through.
Review 97 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Eager Anticipation
Posted on:5/31/13
MoonHowler
Location: New Jersey
Having played 1.0 from alpha to the shut down, I can say 1.0 started horribly, truly it was a mess. However, once Yoshi-P got a hold of the game it began to get massive improvements that made it actually enjoyable. Having seen what he did to the horror that was 1.0 before it went down gives me very high hopes. What's more, he keeps his soon-to-be player base up to date with previews and Q&A every month via live letters. From what I've seen from the game so far, it is amazing. They should be releasing an offline character creator around E3 also I believe and I know they already have a game benchmark for those who want to preview what the new game looks like.
Review 98 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
It's Great!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/13
GoodGuy
Location: Maud, Texas
I've never played the original, but this one is off the charts! For me MMORPGs aren't thing, but I love FF. So I had to try it! The music is absolutely incredible, game play is easy, graphics are good, but it is a massive game, so it is understandable. I would play this game all the time if I didn't have to work. I would recommend this, controls are unique, but it takes under an hour to get use it! I would recommended!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 99 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
bull.
Posted on:7/14/10
Lolwut
If I'm gonna buy the game for that price then I am not going to pay extra. This is not the 360, it should be free.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 100 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
The greatest MMO to Role Play and sink deep in!
Posted on:8/26/13
HuqzZz
Location: Savannah, GA
Just like the previous Final Fantasy online (11) game, you will only need 1 character to learn and experience everything in this game! which is great for those who are frustrated on leveling from level 1 again to try out each gameplay experienced. The point of an MMO is to play with a large scale community which FFXIV has heavily focused on by making solo play very difficult, though as a reward (much larger rewards) for participating along with groups, you will get a lot of stuff both rare and plentiful loots. Thats what FFonlines bread and butter to such an addictive experience is, though, as for having to remake from over consumers demand, this game gets even better. Pretty much all the basic stuff that are newly revealed from previous mechanics&functionality over other MMO games have been implemented in a way of the Final Fantasy world's developed. This game is most recommended to all new MMO players who want go deep in the Japanese feel of Role Playing and all RPG fans... because of how this game is made to be very involved in game community, you will most likely feed into the role playing community to the point you'll feel even more involved with your characters development in more ways than just combat experience. This is how legit Role Playing in an MMOs could get for you, which makes this games replay value worth to invest. Square-Enix does want us players to feel a part of the FFXIV world, and also in a Japanese style epic dream! plays even better than FF12 if you catch my drift ;) very smooth and alive the characters. Get it soon!
<<prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>