GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 11

Celebrating its 20th year, the franchise that captured 22 Sports Game of the Year' awards has raised the bar yet again with NHL® 11. Powered by an all-new Real-Time Physics Engine, NHL 11 lets you create highlight reel moments as you experience adrenaline-pumping NHL action with bigger hits, broken sticks, and faster dangles. Whether you're beginning your career in the Canadian Hockey League, dominating rivals in the EA SPORTS Hockey League, or assembling Hockey's Ultimate Team, any moment can be a WOW' moment with NHL 11.
Average Customer Rating:
8.379
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
9
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
25 out of 2986%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 11
Review 1 for NHL 11
NHL 11 IS A MUST-BUY!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/10
doublem14
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
NHL 11 has definetly showed why it has won 22 sports game of the year awards. First off, EA Sports did a fantastic job with the new hockey ultimate team and new physics engines. One of my favorite new things that they added this year was the broken stick physics. With the broken sticks, it makes NHL 11 seem more realistic. Another plus to this game is that EVERY HIT IS DIFFERENT. You can deliver the most bone-crunching hits you've ever seen. Now to my favorite thing about all EA Sports video games; Be A Pro mode. This has been greatly enhanced because you start out in the OHL and make your way up to the Big's. However, if you don't feel like being selected by a random NHL team, you can always do pick-a-team and play in the preseason to try to stay in the NHL. One down side to this game is that there isn't much of a difference between hockey ultimate team and regular online, besides the fact that you can get great players from around the league. Overall, NHL 11 has definetly lived up to being one of the best sports-game franchises.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 11
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/10
Kings15
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
NHL 11 is awesome! I really like the new physics engine, broken sticks and the new checking is awesome. Gameplay is better, seems more uptempo that last years. The Ultimate team is AWESOME! At first I thought it would be like doing a fantasy draft in GM mode, but it's completely different! Much more detail to this years, Jr. Leagues are now included with actual players! Unrestricted free agency is now here too. I like the soundtrack, has some techno and some real songs that they actually play in NHL games. Online play is flawless, all my other sports games are somewhat delayed when played online. Here it's exactly the same as single player. Haven't tried the Be a Pro mode yet, hoping it's been improved. Would be pretty cool to have a Sims feel to it and actually walk with your player around the NHL clubhouse, seeing the equipment trainer instead of going to the store, talking to coaches about playing time where it could have a negative or positive effect on your playing time. Stuff like that. The EA sports makers should take a look at some of the older sports games and incorporate some of the things the 2K series had back when they were on top.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NHL 11
NHL 11
Posted on:5/12/10
seang1994
I love NHL 10! NHL 11 is probally going to be the best hockey game. Me and my cousin were talking and we thought of some things that should be put into the game. In NHL 10 they have create a player and create a team so i think they should put a create a family, so before faceoffs when the announcers are talkin about your stats they can talk about your family and show them in the stands. They should also make it so when you make a skater they actually say your name. It would also be more realistic if they made it so your stick breaks, some goals are challenged like real games, fights break out after games, if a player gets injured the medic actually comes out and checks on him. I also want it to be like real life, where you go out on the ice and play the warm-up before a game and have a daily practice every day. These are just some of the many ideas that I think NHL 11 should have. And even if these things arent in the game I'm still going to buy it.
Review 4 for NHL 11
This game is almost perfect!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/11
SmartAce33
Location: Oskaloosa, IA
This game is amazing I don't know where to start. The broken stick effect is amazing. The announcers start to repeat themselves late in the 2nd period, but what they say makes the game 5 times better. The online play is awesome, but it could be better by letting the goalies fight!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 11
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/10
Homeboy
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is good. It has added lots of new features like broken sticks, different checks, and its harder to win faceoffs. The crowd gets fired up on a big hit and it sounds amazing. Also, on Be A Pro, the attributes cost less and you get more points after a game so you can finally get your pro good. The graphics are better than the others and over all it's a amazing game. Get it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 11
AMAZING!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/10
ThatGuyWhoKnowsStuff
Location: P-Burgh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the best game ever! You can play online with your friends, and play against other people to win trophies and be named the greatest team on NHL 11! This game is a must buy for anyone who likes any sport games or just anyone who plays anything. Go get this game now!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NHL 11
GREAT GAME, BUT FLAWS W/ ULTIMATE HOCKEY LEAGUE
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/10
JCowp
Location: NJ
Don't get me wrong I love hockey and this game is the best sports game out there, but the problem comes from the new Ultimate Hockey Team. You need to be connected to EA's servers in order to play or edit your team and I keep getting booted by EA's servers mid game and I know it is not my internet connection as i have 100% connectivity. Then when you sign back in it tells you that you will earn less EA pucks (form of currency to upgrade team) because your reputation level has dropped from you leaving mid game. Not only do I lose those pucks for the game I was playing, lose pucks in future games, but that game I got kicked out of, counts against my contracts leading me to spend more pucks to get my team eligible for another game. This is even more frustrating when I am in the middle of a tournament and get booted as this counts as a loss as well and that means you are kicked out of the tournament. I have contacted EA about this issue and they have done nothing, but passed it on to the next person and it is extremely obnoxious. I understand that it is a new feature and will have its bugs, but being booted 5 times in a couple days is too much and it has completely ruined this game for me.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 11
Best Sports Game of All-Time? Posibly!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/11
docbaby80
Wow! EA Canada has already surpassed what gamers could want from a sports game. NHL 11 features broken sticks, a great soundtrack (featuring Bullet For My Valentine, Darude, and The Black Keys), simple controls, and clean, crisp graphics. In my opinion, with all due respect to Madden and FIFA fans, NHL 11 is EA's best sports game yet. If you like hockey, then you should definetely add NHL 11 to your collection. Plus, LETS GO HAWKS!!! CAPTAIN JONATHAN TOEWS WITH AN OLYMPIC GOLD MEDAL, CONN SMYTHE TROPHY, AND A STANLEY CUP ALL IN ONE YEAR!!! LETS!!! GO!!! HAWKS!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
docbaby80
 
Please wait while more information about docbaby80 is loaded.
Additional information about docbaby80 could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Lets Go Preds!?!?!
Posted 5/5/11
I can't believe that I want the Predators to win, but I'd rather see them them win than the Vancouver Canucks
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for NHL 11
Amazing hockey game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/11
parkercm
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been a fan of the NHL series for a very long time and this is by far my favorite game of the series! The detail/graphics are just excellent, as well as the gameplay. I did not get NHL 10 as I did not have a PS3 yet but the goalie mode this game has is challenging but still very fun. The online play is also amazing with absolutely no lag at all. If you are looking for a hockey game, this is one for you. It is a sports game with great detail and you'll have a heck of a fun time playing it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 11
College Hockey Time?
Posted on:8/18/10
Tomcatt20 (Tomcatt37)
I know NHL 10 had many leaguse and NHL 11 has added the Canadian Hockey League. But maybe for NHL 12 or a bonus DLC College Hockey for NHL 11. Or NCAA Hockey 12! Man I would buy that in a heartbeat! NCAA Hockey 12 ALL THE WAY hot seller. Featuring Fauture NHL star Jimmy Hayes (from BC) on the COVER! 14 Year old Bantam Player Review!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 11
this game is awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/10
pat729
Location: philadelphia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
when i got this game i thought it was gonna be like last nhl10 but it is so much better like the graphics and sound were insane. i think this game is good for like every one. its just simply amazing. if your thinking of getting it, get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NHL 11
Very Good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
Randomdude001
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was a very well made NHL game the gameplay was really fun. The goalies are a little to good though there like fooseball goalies no matter where you go they follow, but other than that it was a really good game I would recommend it to any sport gamers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NHL 11
great game for great fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/10
hockeykanada
Location: toronto, ON
fun game, lots of things to do. awesome online play, and non-stop action.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NHL 11
Go Blackhawks!!!
Posted on:7/1/10
Anonymous
I absolutley love the NHL 10 game and so looking forward to the best sports game out there, WAY better then Madden. Just a few changes I request they do for this upcoming game. I just wish they would have more detailed goalie masks to match the actual players and allow you to edit and create the goalie masks with colors and designs. Then I would love for them to upload every goal horn and celebration song for accuracy to each and every nhl team. From Chelsea Dagger for the Blackhawks to The Zombie 200 for the Bruins. I have dowloaded a few off the internet and modified in the system on NHL 10 but would rather not have to make those changes. Wish they would add the Canadaian and US National Anthem as really sets the tone for the game especially in the playoffs. (Like when Edmonton fans sing the anthem). And make each stadium different and more difficult to play in like they did years ago in NCAA Football as louder and crazier crowds at Madhouse on Madison, and the Wachovia Center. Oh and finally put the green aand blue guys near the penalty box in Vancouver.....LOL Hope someone from EA Sports read's these suggestions. Thanks
Review 15 for NHL 11
nhl 11
Posted on:5/30/10
machine gun 92
i really was stunned when nhl 10 came out. it was an overall great game for the ps3. it had so much improvements from nhl 09 but here's some suggestions for nhl 11. a choice between networks that are broadcasting: nbc, versus, and even regional networks such as fsn pittsburgh and wgn (chicago). differing commentators verying on the network: eddy olchek and mike emerick or paul stiggerwald and bob errey. and lastly, they need reginal boards logos. such as in pittsburgh: american eagle and giant eagle. and lots of other stuff maybe they can go to all of the arenas and copy them down. and less of the hockey equiptment sponsers. oh, and one more thing maybe they could show sponsers during replays, powerplays, or other stuff. and i almost forgot. maybe they could have intermission reports with stats replays and other scores such as madden 10.
Review 16 for NHL 11
Getting better?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/11
Bruinsfan
Location: Midland, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The gameplay has gotten more realistic each year with NHL. This year's game features broken sticks, boarding calls, and booth reviews for goals. It's really realistic but the goals scored aren't. There are still the glitch goals that are always scored and those need to be fixed. I really like NHL11, but I might actually like NHL10 more. If you like updated rosters and the OHL, go ahead and buy this game. If you don't want to spend the money on NHL11, get or keep NHL10 and you'll be just as happy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NHL 11
Not worth $59.99..........
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
ryan13canada
Location: Vancouver, BC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is maybe the best "NHL" Games by EA Sports since The PS2 version of NHL 07. This has hardcore hitting and the difficulty can be changed if you find it a little easy, the AL can be kind of dumb if you set it on All-Star or lower, but alot of neat extras in this game. The Be-A-GM is much more deeper than before, making a 10 player deal, and draft picks 5 years ahead... I still have an issue with some Overalls on players, but that is easily resolved with just Editing players. But infact the game has been refined alot, it still in my mind is nowhere close to real NHL action... The perfect price in my mind would be anywhere from $34-$45... anything above and I'd just recommend NHL 10, which is still a very good title.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NHL 11
CANT WAIT!
Posted on:3/12/10
@#%^
We all know that NHL 10 was great, imagine what NHL 11 will be like. Maybe even better graphics. I would love to see them put the actual goal song of the NHL teams like for example the Chicago Blackhawks goal song is Chelsea Dagger so they should use that as there goal song. I also hope that either Jonathan Toews, Stamkos, or Drew Doughty should be on the cover based on there youth and talent.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NHL 11
Online Features
Posted on:8/12/10
Phlyers02
The whole team play system was fun in NHL 10, but one thing I wanted to do was to be able to invite a friend in versus mode so he can be on you team. When I select versus mode, I can only play against one person (whether it is a friend or not), but I would really appreciate it if they added an invite button so I can play ranked matches with a friend on my team.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NHL 11
WOW....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/10
Tigerbait37
Location: Northern Virginia, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Spectacular change that really caught my attention. The graphics look really good and it is fun. The Faceoff has been redone but i think it is also an improvement. The one bad thing is that the game lags when trying to find u a opponent. A great game and a must buy....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>