GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 11

Celebrating its 20th year, the franchise that captured 22 Sports Game of the Year' awards has raised the bar yet again with NHL® 11. Powered by an all-new Real-Time Physics Engine, NHL 11 lets you create highlight reel moments as you experience adrenaline-pumping NHL action with bigger hits, broken sticks, and faster dangles. Whether you're beginning your career in the Canadian Hockey League, dominating rivals in the EA SPORTS Hockey League, or assembling Hockey's Ultimate Team, any moment can be a WOW' moment with NHL 11.
Average Customer Rating:
8.545
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
10 stars
27
9 stars
12
8 stars
5
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
44 out of 5580%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 11
Review 1 for NHL 11
one word, BEST GAME EVER!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/11
Crosby87
Location: Moscow, Russia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
10 times better than NHL 10. I love this game. MUST BUY
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 11
Getting more and more realistic....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/10
Elshupacabra
Location: Holt, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Game play is pretty awesome. Same controls as last year, maybe with a few more controls. The broken sticks work well and don't happen TOO frequently. The Hockey Ultimate Team is actually surprisingly entertaining, while the whole card packs thing is sort of odd in my opinion, I actually like it. The CPU trading seems to be a lot smarter now, making it almost impossible to make a trade that doesn't involve superstars.They also upped the realistic aspect of it by incorporating a lot of the CBA rules into the GM mode, with waiver moves and the like. The only thing they seemed to skimp on was recycling the game commentary from last year. While some of it IS new once in awhile you'll be playing a team like Phoenix and they'll say something like "Maybe this is the year Phoenix makes the playoffs" (they made the playoffs in 2010). But other than that, it's a pretty solid, entertaining game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NHL 11
Best and Worst
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/10
HeadMonkey
Location: Toronto
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As much as everyone likes to say EA and NHL is going downhill with each year that only half true. This game is awesome and has much needed improvements and additions.
The new dekes are very nice especially the jumping one to avoid those laydown spammers. Broken and lost stick are nice changes up the pace of the game. The new faceoff system is OK annoying to get used to. Stats are better done in "be a pro" in regards to the game time scaling . Battles in front of the net are more interesting with the ability to take the puck off the goalie(not sure if its new but looks more intense).
Unfortunately there are still shooting/goal glitches but its hard to eliminate them all in sports games. And in "EA hockey league" the injuries affect stats as opposed to taking you out of the game, good but, people abuse this and after the play just start checking players to the point of injury. EA has said this time they will fix glitches as they find them and punish cheaters and people who abuse flaws in game code. It doesn't seem like they have.
The inclusion of an online code for online play is stupid can only be used once on one account so if you share your game/xbox with family you still need to buy a new code ($50 last time i looked) or if you buy a used copy. As-side from a few "minor" gripes the game plays very well is fun looks great and is a big improvement on the previous ones (in my opinion anyways)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 11
Good Enough
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
BZ06
Location: Buffalo, NY
.This game is a really good game. There's just two problems I have with it. One is that it's really hard to score a goal. I dont think its me because ive been good at every other NHL game that ive played. But almost every shot I take is saved by the goalie. And you may think "yeah thats what a goalie does". Well ive made shots that the goalie wasnt even looking and I knew i would score, but then the goalie just reaches over and grabs it. Also the other team makes a lot of shots when my goalie is looking straight at the puck and then just lets it in. But other than the goalies, the other problem i have is the graphics aren't the best, especially during a relay. I mean how many times has a puck flew off of someones stick when they didnt even move. Thats right, none. But if you dont focus on the replays or the goalie level its a great game. I still love playing it and I also love shootout mode and goalie moade. This whole game is so much fun and I reccomend it to anyone
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 11
excited
Posted on:4/16/10
done worry bout it
NHL games are alot of fun but i want to see some new realistic featurs. i think it would be more realistic if there was stick breaks. if you get slashed, take a shot, exc.. your stick breaks and u have to press a button to let go of the stick and try to play without one or get a new one at the bench. and i would like it if there was more prospect games and once drafted you play in the ECHL then AHL and then go up to the NHL. it would also be cool if you could customize player stick colors. after the period i think they should have the guys walking into the locker room not standing there and when there is a fight there should be players on the ice and on the benches. there should be refs circling the fight being ready to break it up. Once in a while the net should fall out of course and have a puck stop and the refs will fix it and they should show tht. for create a team you should be able to customize a logo and have ALOT of options. not the same ones everywhere.
Review 6 for NHL 11
NHL
Posted on:7/8/10
Anonymous25
There are a lot of things that need to be added to this game. But EA is putting just a few new things at a time i.e. new stick breaks which should've been incorporated in the game a long time ago. They have all these brilliant ideas but are only adding one thing at a time so that people will go out and buy it the next year just for one or to more "new things" I think that this game is going to again be unrealistic. Just look at the hits, that is definitely not what the NHL looks like in real life. There may be three or four BIG hits a game in the NHL and in this game every time you skate down the ice you get crushed and that's just not realistic in my opinion. They need to add things such as goal reviews, scrums around the net after the goalie covers the puck, training camp (like Madden) and more than one referee. That is just to name a few things that need to be added or changed. Once they do some of these things then I will consider buying NHL games again.
Review 7 for NHL 11
Very Addicting Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/10
Shinrai
Location: Orange County
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just to start off, I never played NHL games before until recently and I don't watch NHL on TV so my review is unbiased. Well the other day, me and my friend decided to rent NHL 10... and WOW was it amazing! We played all day and I have never played a game like this that kept me wanting to play more. It's challenging and also frustrating since you have to aim your shots to make a goal. But when you do score, you just want to stand up and go WOOOOOOT! Anyways, this made me want to buy NHL 11 right when it came out, and it is just as fun and virtually the same as NHL 10. It seems a lil slower than NHL 10, but I think they are trying to slow it down and focus more on the shooting part in this game. If you want to have a fun and challenging game, then look no further!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 11
Hands down amazing!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/11
brayman
Location: McKinney, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is BY FAR the best NHL game thus far. A thing i noticed in NHL 10 was that on breakaways, you couldn't get too close to the goalie without it glitching up on you. they fixed that with 11 and the breakaways look and feel so much better. on one negative note, i did notice that when playing on your defensive end, it tends to get a little slow but once you get on the offensive end (at least in Be A Pro) it would be just fine. the hits have been taken up 2 levels from NHL 10. so fluid. the controls are more fine tuned (as if they weren't already in NHL10). A lot more designs in Create A Team mode (like for the logo and layouts of the jerseys). one thing i do want to see in NHL 12 is customized goalie helmets and dislodged nets. but other than that, this is the best game for any hockey nut or plain fan of hockey to buy and play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 11
NHL 11
Posted on:4/25/10
VeteranHeadsetDudeWhoKnowsWhatHesTalkinBout
I think EA has done a fantastic job in the past with NHL games- but there is a lot more to hockey they have left out. Add in some stick breaks, loose nets, goalies that lose their sticks and stuff like that. Not too often, because that would be dumb, but just every once in a while. And, add some more ability to dangle-"Skill stick". Its boring to dangle the defender the same way every time, because there are only so many options for dangling. Add a bigger stick selection, uprgrade your ability to uprgrade your season/franchise team like in MLB the Show and a couple Madden games (Transportation, Stadium, Advertising, etc...). Then, I think EA should add a new online mode which allows you to go one-vs.-one with someone else online, and you use your created character. Maybe two-on-twos too, but add more personal features with your "My Pro". It's a great game, but add to it. Please dont just update rosters and add a few more helmets to choose from.
Review 10 for NHL 11
High hopes
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/10
Sluggishnut
Location: Washington, State
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Incredibly difficult game. NHL 09 was destroyed by over used curve shots and overly aggressive players. NHL 10 was fantastic. And now NHL 11. Where do i begin. They made this game so over complicated that its ridiculous. The penalties kill this game like usual. Its nearly impossible to score or even pass to one another. Its not so bad once you get the hang of it. But compared to the last 3 NHL games this is by far the most different and difficult. They took out the Dangler player type and added a Two way forward. The attribute points and the cost of them are incredibly high. And your character customization is the same. You still have to play as Cavemen look alikes. The team practice mode is awesome, and the uniform customization is also fantastic. This is a very hard game to learn, but once you do, its tollerable. Only for Hard Core sports gamers.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 11
This game is Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/10
17bro
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first got this game I was wondering how it could even compare to NHL 10. I heard about the new broken stick feature and I was wondering how good it could be. When I played it for the first time I was shocked. Everything about this version seemed better. The graphics were better. The controls were easier, and most of all, everything was much more realistic. In NHL 10, sometimes something would happen that would never happen in real life and it would really anger you off, but now you don't have to worry. EA Sports really knew what they were doing when they made this. I recommend this game to any one who likes hockey or other EA Sports games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NHL 11
NHL is Still the Best EA Franchise Out There
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/10
CapsFan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
NHL has always been a great franchise. This game has great graphics, a good soundtrack, and i haven't stopped playing it since i bought it. All of its features keep you constantly into the game from normal franchise to its new ultimate team which is my personal favorite. The only downfall to this game is getting use to the controls but the complex controls just make you feel more into the game and is worth taking some time to learn because once you do it'llbe nonstop fun until NHL 12 comes out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NHL 11
I LOVE this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/11
GeneralNolan
Location: Boston,MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is AWESOME! I love how they added ultimate team this game along with all the cool new face-offs and cool checking these things are awesome. the graphics and sound are amazing. hope this helped with anything.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NHL 11
Awesome hockey game (not a hockey kinda kid)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/11
Pyro61895
Location: EB,NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I dont like to watch hockey at all! but i have to say that this game is impressive. Its pretty easy to get used to but i would download the demo first just to make sure you like it. This game has great online and offline game modes. Team play is ehhh not its best but i could get used to it. Everything else is just perfect.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NHL 11
it's awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/10
wuzup
Location: new york, ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i always play be a pro its my favorite it's mainly for people who can play for a long time it's not that it takes a long time but it is very addictive the graphics are amazing I would totally recommend this it's for any real nhl fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NHL 11
GREAT GAME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/11
CodGamer5463
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game for anyone even if u dont like hockey. The gameplay is great and I think the creators really made it like ur in the game and also its so realistic. The graphics and announcers are really great to. They no wat there talking about and dont say the same thing every 2 minutes. My favorite part about this game is the new ultimate team. U get to manage ur team like ur the real owner with managing the team. But the even more fun part is playing as ur team battles online or the computer. This game could b for hardcore gamers online or people who just wanna pla for fun. I would definately recoomend this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NHL 11
The Best Sporting Franchise Delivers Again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/10
Wiggidy
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
NHL 11 is yet another triple A title from EA Canada. This sporting franchise offers everything from GM Mode (franchise), Hockey Ultimate Team, Online Team Play and the EASHL. The depth and strategy in this online 6v6 hockey experience is unmatched by any other sporting franchise. Team up with friends and battle for the Stanley Cup or go alone in single player and dominate the league. NHL 11 offers the best sporting experience out there (and I'm not even a hockey fan).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NHL 11
NHL 11= EA's Jewel
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/10
RablerRableRable
Location: STL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
great game, new physics engine is great. ultimate team is a good new edition. although you will most likely need to put forth real money(microsoft points) to get a good team. o well great game. BUY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NHL 11
EA puts out another great hockey game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/12
xmengamer82
Location: Maine
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
played NHL 11 & NHL 12 i don't hate either and i bought NHL 11 around last October and have put in well over 800 hours into it.
the game is deep it has so many modes and things to do you could get your 25 bucks out of it in less than a week.
the big three modes are the be a pro mode, you can choose between being a NHL pro and playing or creating your pro and starting in the junior cup then get drafted by an NHL team.
hockey's ultimate team allows you to build your team based on who and what cards you get from the in game store, the pucks are earned by playing games and also by selling cards on the trading market.
finally the online mode is ea sports hockey league, where you create your player and join or create your own team and play other gamers for monthly playoffs as of 4-3-12 the number of people on the eashl has dropped quite a bit but their are still a good number of players on most of the time late at night 8pm-3am (eastern time)
IF YOU BUY THIS GAME USED YOU WILL NEED TO BUY THE ONLINE PASS TO ACCESS THE EASHL AND THE ULTIMATE TEAM MODES REMEMBER THIS WHEN BUYING.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NHL 11
best nhl game EVER!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/10
thegamerboy
Location: bristol nh
This game is perfect for: party gamers
graphics are great has all the correct players you can play for the cup right away.to get full use of the game you need xbox live. i think it is ea's best game for hockey yet you get to controll the way the player moves and shoots there are way more dekes the goals can be called off you can jump over players when they fall themusic that they have in the menu is actually real hockey music unlike in 2k10 and 09 . overall this game is great get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>