GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West

Follow a gripping, surprise-filled journey as two dissimilar characters form an uneasy partnership in order to survive through a perilous, post-apocalyptic America. 150 years in the future, war and destruction have left the world in ruins with few humans remaining and nature having reclaimed the world. Mysterious slave ships harvest the dwindling population and take them out west, never to return. Trip, a technologically savvy young woman has been imprisoned by a slave ship but manages to escape using her mental prowess. Monkey, a strong, brutish loner and fellow prisoner also gets free by virtue of his raw power and brawn. Trip quickly realizes that Monkey is her ticket to freedom and is her only hope to survive her perilous journey back home. She hacks a slave headband and fits it on Monkey, linking them together. If she dies, he dies and her journey has now become his. ENSLAVED centers on the complex relationship between the two main characters. Players take on the role of Monkey, utilizing a mix of combat, strategy and environmental traversal to ensure he and Trip survive the threats and obstacles that stand in the way of their freedom.
Average Customer Rating:
8.654
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
10 stars
15
9 stars
20
8 stars
10
7 stars
4
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
50 out of 5296%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Review 1 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
This game is the greatest game known to mankind
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
Janson
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I liked this game even before I played it.The game looked awesome just by looking at it.Its $12 and is one of the greatest games ever.Why spend $40 on a call of duty game when you can pay 12 for a game thats 3 times as much fun and is three times better .Why get ripped off when you can get an awesome game .TRUST ME BUY THIS GAME YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
NHL 2001
5.7 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RPG3Guy4356
Suprise Az
 
Please wait while more information about RPG3Guy4356 is loaded.
Additional information about RPG3Guy4356 could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
i love this game
Posted 2/9/13
:D Very good game to add to a starting ps3 game collection :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
great game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/11
angryman
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Reading the previews, and listening to the hype for Enslaved made me very anxious to pick it up. Enslaved is a great game with a mix of a good story, and great characters this is a definite buy. The story is really short but still worth checking out..
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
KRATOS WHO?... God of War What?...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
Holly
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you're a fan of this line of designers - the same crew who made Heavenly Sword, you know that they can bring it. Many of us were a little disappointed when there wasn't a follow up to heavenly sword. Yet this team of designers is on their stuff. I have to give them that. When I downloaded this demo, I did it with the intent that I'd just try it. I had nothing else to do, and I was just bored. This game starts out FROM THE JUMP, with tremendous action. I even let a friend try the demo out and she was on the edge of her seat trying to make the little deadlines that are therein. The characters are amazing, the voice-over's are truly smashing! I can see this one wooing over those of us who truly love a good love story. I wasn't too impressed with the main character being named "Monkey" but hey.... This demo is worth the download and the only way I can see this not being a smash is if it's short. Otherwise - I've got to have this one. THANK YOU THANK YOU for bringing back great gaming guys.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Brilliant adventure game with good story fun chars
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/11
AdrianEpic
Location: Lynnwood, wa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first got this game I wasn't too sure about it. The way the game starts out is a little weird, on board a ship with it blowing up, barely giving you time to get on your feet. You won't figure out what's goin on with the story at first, and don't let that deter you from playing it.
As the game opened up, I started loving it.. More attacks are added, projectile weapons, a very cool interactive ability with the sub character that allows you to command her to distract enemies, etc, in key times where you'll need to navigate past them to be able to destroy them..
All in all, it's like a beautiful recreation of the prince of persia experience, with extra game play elements like stealth and cooperative puzzle solving, and a futuristic theme. One of the best action/adventure games I've played in a couple years to be honest!
Do NOT miss out on this game. I haven't put it down for almost 3 days, I'm on chapter 15, and I cant wait to see what happens next!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Absolutely Stunning
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
Cheery
First of all guys, if you're considering buying this game, buy it new. Publishers only receive about 27 bucks if you buy it new (and that's only if the game costs $60 retail). Otherwise, if bought used, they get absolutely nothing. Support the industry! Okay, anyway, back to my review. You've probably heard the gist of the story, a post-apocalyptic world in which a girl, Trip, enslaves a man, Monkey, to guide her back home after their slave trip crashes. This game was really, really good. Yes, it's very linear, but if you're gonna play this game for anything, it's for the story and characters. Lots of elements remain gloriously ambiguous (i.e. Trip's and Monkey's relationship, the ending), and will really stick with you. Dialogue and voice acting are topnotch. Platforming is really similar to that of Uncharted, and the actual gameplay wise is nothing amazing, but abilities are unlocked as you go along, keeping the pace nice and stopping things from getting boring. The artstyle is definitely gorgeous, and probably one of the most memorable things about it (yes, many gamers complain about placing too much emphasis on graphics, but in the case of Enslaved, it adds a whole new level of depth). The soundtrack is beautiful, and I often stopped playing just to listen to the music (or look at some really scenic views). Overall, I highly recommend this game, but the almost extreme linearity might throw some people off.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Even more excited after playing the demo
Posted on:9/19/10
maniakmedic
I played the demo for this after downloading it from the European PSN and I can honestly say I'm even more excited for the game now. The only real issue I had with it was that at times it seemed that there was a small delay between pushing a button and seeing it translated to screen, but other than that it controls well and looks gorgeous. The colors really pop and I love the way that Monkey moves. If you don't have a European PSN account definitely watch for the demo release on the US PSN this coming Tuesday the 21st. As an aside, I'm a huge Uncharted fan and the platforming elements remind me a lot of Uncharted 2, which is hands down my favorite game. October 5th can't come soon enough.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
It's Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/11
SourPatch
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just bought this game and was a little skeptic, but it was only $15 and i figured what the heck. The graphics aren't the best they are a little glitchy, but despite that the gameplay will blow you away. i mean let's be honest we're not buying the game for the graphics, we're buying it for the gameplay! if you like games like bulletstorm or infamous, then you will love this game. i recommend it 100% i mean come on....it's only $15!
 
My Product Recommendations
Dead Island Limited Edition
9.9 out of 10(114)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Expectations Have Been Raised
Posted on:9/27/10
Gorsinnah
Location: Somerville, MA
Ordinarily, I try to keep my expectations low when it comes to new games like this and though Ninja Theory's track record is solid, with their previous game being Heavenly Sword, I still wanted to know as little about the game as possible so that if it turns out to be good that I'll be pleasantly surprised. Such was the case with the demo to Ninja Theory's newest title, Enslaved: Odyssey to the West. Borrowing loose bits from the classic novel, Journey to the West, the game follows Monkey as he is forced to help the games heroine, Trip, westward to her home. This simple yet effective concept proves interesting as the demo involved her destroying a carrier with Monkey inside and then nearly leaving him for dead when he attempted to break into her escape pod. Monkey lives but awakes to find a Slave Headband, or helmet whatever, that was placed by Trip, controlling him with certain commands and can even kill him if she ever dies. This dynamic will no doubt give us some collision between the two characters due to the undesired state of Monkey being "Enslaved" to Trip against his will.
Now onto the gameplay, the combat was surprisingly well balanced with the camera bringing itself closer to Monkey as he lays waste to enemies, namely Combat Mechs. Using the Power Pole, Dragon Ball fan here, Monkey can button mash some epic combos while also blocking and evading. Though little faults were seen, I did get the subconscious thought of how the camera will affect the viewpoint of the player later in the game when more than two or three enemies are onscreen at one time. More so know that Ninja Theory is also handling the new reboot of Devil May Cry. But at the very least, gameplay was solid and more than enough to make to enjoy the game though I wish that the pipes and handles that you sometimes to climb to progress weren't glowed to show you where to go. This makes me think back to Assassin's Creed where it was left to you to figure that out, making the game less easy and more difficult but for the trade-off of realism.
All in all, it was a very good demo, with full of epic moments and set-pieces comparable only to Uncharted. I loved every moment of it despite some of its "Hey, go here." moments. Ninja Theory has sold me on this product and am looking forward to its full release, on October 5th.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Awsome demo!
Posted on:9/30/10
ReviewPunk
Location: Clayton,NC
Played the demo a couple of days ago the graphics are great the mele moves and combos are smooth i hope it has a awsome and long story line to go along with the demo. cant wait for the game next tuseday.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
its a buy!!!!!
Posted on:9/21/10
ninjaninja
Location: some where in Maine
Just finished playing the demo and it was killer. this game is a must buy.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
A truly Amazing game that passed under the radar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/11
Riozaki
Location: Huntsville,Al
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off let me get off and say that this game completely slipped under the radar even for most hardcore gamers.
Enslaved is an awesome action/adventure game easily rivals others of its nature (god of war, uncharted, castlevania, etc) The game doesn't throw innumerable pitifully mindless enemies at you, so even though the enemies are fewer, they still provide a nice challenge. On that note, even though you may die here and there (enemies and environmental hazards), the game doesn't make dying painful where you have to start all over.
I am usually someone who can pick up a story from the beginning, or a ways into a game but this game genuinely surprised me (the major turning point wasn't what I was expecting, and was thrilled to see it go differently. The ending did have a little strangeness to it, but it was surprising. The characters in this game are just completely awesome and you can't help but love the characters. The main character is Monkey and his design is spot on the mark (totally awesome personality and character animations)
My only critique is that it is sort of short, however, if you like achievements or trophies, this game has alot of them.
I highly recommend this to anyone to like an action game with a great story.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Sleeper Hit of the year!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/11
MouseGod
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really enjoyed this game. It has a great story line and characters. The game play isn't frustrating like some games can get, I hate when it takes forever to get through one boss. It had some pretty funny scenes and absolutely beautiful scenery. I was told that it was a really short game but it was pretty normal length gameplay. They did a great job and now its cheap to buy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Too good and entertaining
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/10
mortuarypack
Location: Puerto Rico
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing, the graphics outstanding and the story is very good. The day that I purchased could not stop playing and get through chapter 10. I'm going to play in all modes. This game is like Uncharted 1 and 2, keeps you well entertained and what you want is to finish in one day. I recommend it to all players who love good stories.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dash
mississippi
 
Please wait while more information about dash is loaded.
Additional information about dash could not be loaded.
awesome
Posted 11/19/10
this game has awesome graphics
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Very good game but not without flaws
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/11
TopTear
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game blew me away when i first began to play it. The graphics and the music were phenomenal. The scenery/environments are beautiful. The gameplay is pretty good. You basically fight and stun. Upgrading your health and combat keeps the game fresh. Also there are many hidden things that are not too hard to find. Enslaved has some problems but not that many. It has many framerate issues but it didnt stop me from enjoying the game. Also, the game is pretty short. Its not that short but i beat it in around 8-9 hours and i was taking my time. They came out with DLC which increased the amount of hours of gameplay. Im my opinion, this was a very good game with excellent set peices and i would recommended this to anyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
NEEDS A SEQUEL!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/13
sonygurl23
Location: Davenport, iowa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't normally write a review my review style is I buy the game and play it over and over. But this game I feel in love, and it was just a filler game for me middle of summer waiting for the great games to come in in winter. So I was going through the lower price games to fill my shopping basket so I wasn't really have much faith for it. But once I put the game in I was hooked, the story line was so interesting. The action was intents where it needs to be. And the way it ended justs screams a sequel. And when I found out that they are not got me heated they will make duke nuk'em forever but lose a chance on a really great franchise as this one. Now I am the type of gamer where when I do everything in a game I will trade it in either for more games or for the newest game I have on hold. So I am begging on my knee's please make a sequel to this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/11
oreotitan
Location: ok
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is an outstanding game as far as the story goes. the combat is a bit monotinous but you do have to use startegy to take down certain enemies. the climbing is really cool. but the most amazing feature is the story i felt like i was playing a movie. i would tell anyone looking for a great story to get thgis game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
gameplay
Posted on:9/21/10
gear377
Location: new york
played the demo on playstation 3 awsome ninja theory comes through again cant wait!!!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Good, but a few complaints
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/10
Ghatz
Location: Worcester,MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let me first say that you should buy this game. But the main part of whether you will like it or not is whether you can overlook a few meh gameplay choices for a great story, and great characters like that of either Half Life, or Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time. The gameplay is alright, but the combat gets kind of repetitive, its no god of war in this respect but it gets the job done, and the platforming, by the way I am a fan of any kind of platforming, starts of amazing. But after the first level it becomes point the stick in the direction, press X, over and over, since you really have no freedom as to where Monkey goes, he can only go the right way. Well in conclusion, if you would enjoy a great story, with awesome characters, a lush enviroment with great green colors, for once not grey or brown! Then this is the game for you, if not go buy Halo: Reach.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 19 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Cool
Posted on:7/8/10
Manicania
I'm not a fan of Hack-n-Slash games, but I do think this looks like a good game. I like the teamwork aspect of it, and it looks like it has a good puzzle-solving element to it. The story is original, and as the reviewer before me said, I like the twist on the post-apocalyptic world aspect of it. It's a nice change. I will definitely check it out.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
Looks Good
Posted on:8/11/10
Anonymous
The game looks good. It looks like it will be a very good storyline and will be fun. It may be one of those games though where if you wait a few months the price will drop a lot. You may want to wait to buy it. Also if you wait you can see how people like it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>