GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Fable III

We're not philosophers. We just like to play videogames. We don't know the first thing about free will vs. determinism, but we do know that it is your destiny to get Fable III, the latest installment of the franchise that allows you to forge your own adventure through the choices you make. Set five decades after the events in Fable II, the land of Albion has enjoyed the fruits of the industrial revolution, but the fate of the kingdom is in peril. As you are drawn into the revolution, you'll find yourself in a position of power. Whether you use that power for personal gain or for the greater good is up to you; or is it?
Average Customer Rating:
7.67
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (615 reviews)
10 stars
136
9 stars
75
8 stars
76
7 stars
42
6 stars
38
5 stars
10
4 stars
18
3 stars
14
2 stars
15
1 star
16
331 out of 44075%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fable III
Review 1 for Fable III
really great game with good co-op but too short!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/10
zackster147
Location: Rome, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Fable is a really good game and has always been a good since the first one. This is as good as the rest if not better. There is a good storyline with tons of side missions and weapons to find. The co-op has been greatly approved since fable 2 and is actually enjoyable on this time. There are a few bad things though. One the game is way too short and once you beat it it just boring and has no replay value. The other bad thing is co-op seems to glitch sometimes like the guest playing will start hovering and his legs wont move when he walks.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Fable 3 multiplayer game play !
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fable III
...those are improvements?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/12
iNINJA
Location: Acworth, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay, my experiance with Fable III is that of a fan being generally dissapointed. In all the fable games, you really felt a sort of connection to the charecter and the world of albion, like you were in control. Not in this game. Reason 1: no expression wheel. they took it out! Now, instead of choosing from thumbs up, laugh, etc, you get three randomized choices. I ended up waltzing with other dudes for a better price on a sword more than i liked... Reason two: Weapon evolution. While this was cool and made relatively interesting weapons, it eventually took out the variety. evolving one melee weapon evolves the rest, and same with the ranged, etc. They shouldve made it to where all the weapons evolved as you used them, not all at once. And even weapons you haven't bought still evolve simultaneosly, taking out a lot of the variety. It was cool, but the way they implemented it into the game SUCKED. Reason three: the magic. There were SO FEW SPELLS that magic fusing was not worth it. not to mention that only the fire and lightning spells dealt decent damage with speed. Also, THERE IS NO GOOD PATH. If you make everyone happy, THEY ALL DIE. I'm not going to spoil it, but if you become a hero there is nobody around to like you. However, being evil saves everybodys lives and they end up hating you anyway. Also, the quest variety and witty humor was slightly less evident, along with the fact that levelling all the way up is too easy. It still is a fun game, but Lion heads "improvements" almost ruined it. I also prefered the "I'm an Adventurer" approach compared with the "i am king" approach. Oh, and the fact that your guy talks on his own with no control by you is annoying and makes you feel even less connected to this world. So... Don't buy it unless you simply must play a new fable game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fable III
Cant wait for the Pre-Order Sword!
Posted on:10/24/10
Bigjo
Location: Effingham, IL
Cant wait for it! it looks sweet! fable 2 was awesome but im guesin this one will be even better! The sword bonus looks awseome! Killing inocents and you get uprades or w/e on your character!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Fable III
woohoo
Posted on:10/15/10
jason1999999
Location: Pasadena,MD
dude i can not fricking wait it looks awsome xDDDD
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fable III
Overall Great Game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/11
GreenGERMBUBBLE
Location: Northern California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game got a lot of bad reviews that it shouldn't have gotten. This game follows the story line of the rest of the Fable series. You play as your kids from Fable II (2). Your father was the previous Hero and now you take his position. Your brother is a corrupt king that none of the citizens of Albion like. You are trying to get as many allies to help you take over the kingdom and army. And yes, everyone says this and I will to, save your money! I would recommend doing side missions to get money and buying a business or two to get you money. In the end it helps you keep the promises you made throughout the game to your allies. Even though you have the choice between a hammer and a sword, there is a added feature that makes your weapon change to the things you do in the game. I started with a hammer and at the moment I now have an axe. It completely changed. The game was pretty short but if you do everything there is to do its a long game. I would recommend buying this and if ever want to play Fable 3 add me: GreenGERMBUBBLE
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
crazzzymonkey
Canada
 
Please wait while more information about crazzzymonkey is loaded.
Additional information about crazzzymonkey could not be loaded.
CAN'T WAIT TILL FABLE 4
Posted 7/7/11
This game was the best out of all the fables so fare although i did have a slight problem with the whole weapon display but im not going to complain because fable is the bomb and that's never going to change.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Fable III
Buy Used, or less than $20
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/11
Sytx
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Some love this one, some hate. The core elements are still there, make decisions and stuff changes, you have weapons and kill stuff and have to do with the guild again. Beyond that it's very different. The leveling system is like "RPG's for dummies", you get points you use to open chests that contain your skills on a "Road to Rule" or something. The Navigation is bad, the little gold cocaine trail is still there but not the map from your inventory and my cocaine dust occasionally glitches. All the jobs are essentially the same thing. It feels so simplified like it's a game for toddlers now... but the rating is still M so no idea. The quests feel shorter and the sense of humor seems drier. Also the weapons don't feel equal at all, I can go on a killing spree easily where in the previous it was more difficult.
The first and second are great, buy those and enjoy before you try this one. I do recommend it, but mainly just to see what happens in the story line for those into that aspect.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fable III
Stop your whining.
Posted on:8/19/10
tyler teh t!ger
I'm looking forward to Fable 3. Like with every game's sequels, features are added and removed. I personally liked Fable 3 a lot. Moreso than I liked Fable, because I could do so much more with my character in terms of appearance, weapons, and areas. Yes, Fable had the great but seemingly unoriginal sword-and-bow combo and although it was great fun, Fable 2 gave that up to give Fable fans something more: progression. How many games have you played in which its sequels actually span over decades like Fable does besides from the obvious few such as the Elder Scrolls and Metal Gear Solid series? The simple fact that the Fable universe expands as we play through it and it ages as we do is unique. Maybe it will become its downfall and Fable 3's more action/adventure-than-rpg formula will burn the CD to the ground, at least the way it is moving is unique for its genre. Appreciate the game for what it is and stop trying to make every RPG stick to what we fondly remember Morrowind and Diablo 2 as. Just because "it ain't broke" doesn't mean we can't fix it by changing it around. I'll definitely be getting Fable 3 because I want to see if its changes were worth it.
25 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
what we fondly remember?
Posted 9/12/10
morrowind and diablo 2?!?! They don't even come to mind when i think of great rpgs or what to compare by or even as classic rpgs. Fable is a great series, its own gem. It takes what few games have attempted and destroyed it and built a whole new standard. BTW fondly remembering, ChronoTrigger, Secret of Mana, Zelda 1-4, DragonWarrior 1-4, Breath of Fire 1-3, x-com on ps2....yall didn't know that???
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Fable III
Juvenile Story and Content
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/10
Loyalist
Location: WV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
For a Mature rated game, I found the story and content to be very immature and juvenile. Graphics and sound are superb, as well as the voice acting. John Cleese has done voice work for several games now (some of which based upon the Monty Python mythos) and as a comedic actor excels as usual.
Adult gamers may feel their intelligence insulted by the juvenile nature of the game. Farting, puking, chicken suits, and so forth is to be expected. Rather ridiculous really. The story line drives you toward being good rather than evil... however you do have the choice to be evil as advertised.
If I were thirteen years old, I would probably love this game.
But then again... because of some questionable adult content that only the most lonely among the gaming community would be enthusiastic about... I wouldn't be able to buy and play this (MATURE) game.
All in all; A very good game. It is just that Saturday morning cartoons will appear far more cerebral by comparison.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
purplmrnice
 
Please wait while more information about purplmrnice is loaded.
Additional information about purplmrnice could not be loaded.
great game with one huge problem
Posted 11/1/10
this game is amazing but when i enter the pause menu i cant exit it and when i go to the map i cant exit that either. it might just be the disk because i think im the only person with this problem but it really ticks me off me off.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Fable III
Fable Butchered
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/10
kamikaze505
Location: New Mexico
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Strip Fable 2 and replace experience points and expressions with weak similarities and you have Fable 3. No challenge in gaining weapons, armor, or wealth. Instead of working toward a certain outcome/look, it is pretty much laid out for you. Guild seals replace experience points, no inventory like in previous Fables, and powers are determined through gauntlets; unable to assign powers/items to buttons. . Graphics are ok, but freedom is limited more than previous fables. Minor obstacles cause you to go around them instead of just being able to hop/walk/run over them. pretty much should have left the aspects of the previous Fable alone and just choose a solid story line. Not what I expected at all. Sorry to say some of the designers of this new fable shouldn't be designing games. One of the most annoying expressions is the "hold hand" expression. Who ever came up with that is one of those designers who shouldn't be designing. I anticipated this new Fable to be awesome, only to be let down.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fable III
They killed it
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/10
gamestopcustomer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game doesn't derserve the title Fable. The developers completely destroyed all that made Fable completely unique. THey took away the multi-colored expirience orbs and replaced them with Guild seals. THat is ridiculous. That is what made that game hard. You had to budget your expirience, in this game that factor is not present. THis game is far too easy and short compared to it's predecesors. Yes I thought it was pretty good at first, yes I was excited about it from the moment I heard about it but it was overhyped. It wasn't really that great. If you are into renting things then I would say it's a good rental game but not worth buying. The developers need to bring back the expirience orb system and go back into their roots and see what made Fable amazing in the begginging instead of trying to change everything. It was way too easy for it's targeted age group and I am severely dissappointed in it. Way to kill a franchise developers.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fable III
It looks AMAZING
Posted on:8/18/10
K-Jeezey
First of all I don't think that anyone should criticize anyone as this is a preview thread and not a place to make others feel bad about themselves. On to the game, I first heard about this game around December and have been longing to play this for a very long time. I'm most excited about the new weapon system in which weapon appearances and effects are customized based on what you use the weapon for ie: Using a sword to kill Hobbes for instance and committing evil deeds with it will make it obtain a red glow and drip blood while doing extra damage to Hobbes. I also heard that about halfway through the game you also become the Ruler of Albion and you have to make morality decisions that determine the fate of Albion itself!
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CotnCandy
Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about CotnCandy is loaded.
Additional information about CotnCandy could not be loaded.
Fable 3
Posted 9/27/10
When I first heard that fable 3 was coming out i wasnt even going to buy it just cause i thought it was getting old and just the same thing a third time but after watching the videos here this is definatly going to be a great game and as soon as it comes out im getting it.
Customer Avatar
bobcas14
 
Please wait while more information about bobcas14 is loaded.
Additional information about bobcas14 could not be loaded.
Want this game so bad
Posted 9/27/10
Fable one was better because you had bosses. It was hard to kill the boss. In fable 2 you just shot him. Yes fable 2 had a lot more things and was better in a lot of things but fable one had a better story to it. But fable 3 should be even better. Note I like the armor that was in fable 1
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 12 for Fable III
A RPG in its own class.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
GaminSince86
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I truely understand why so many people are dissapointed with this game. Like some of the others on here I have played Fable 1 and 2. For what ever reason it does seem like the series is getting worse. I believe people are a little to hard on it, because of their disappointment compared to the first two games. If your thinking about buying this game then you should, because its not as bad as people make it out to be. I personally felt like Fable 2 was the best. Fable III's combat and multiplayer has improved from Fable 2's I think, but where it gained in some areas it lost in others. For me the Fable series is in its own rpg class and has always had the "potential" for greatness. Its not like any other rpg on the market. If you haven't played the series before then I would recommend playing both Fable games for a good rpg experience. As with any game its a matter of preference weither you'll like it or not, but its not a bad disfunctional game that some people are making it out to be.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fable III
Awful!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/13
MariaElena
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I don't usually write reviews. However this is one of the exceptions simply because this game was so awful. Fable 3 was a major disappointment in nearly every aspect. I can see how somebody who has not played the first two Fables might find this one amusing. How somebody could enjoy the other two Fables AND this one just baffles me. The side quests were tedious, the map and menus were confusing and there were loading screens everywhere. Despite being an open world game I felt confined by out of place invisible walls. I felt like the things from the first two Fables that were simple and made sense to be simple became complicated in Fable 3, and things that were more complex that allowed the player to have a more unique experience in the game were dumbed down.Furthermore combat was too easy and the magic was overpowered.Probably the only thing that this game did right was the graphics, but graphics alone cannot make up for all of the game's shortcomings.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fable III
Lionhead did it again
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/10
RPGNUT117
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Fable 3 really does hit all the points that Lionhead missed in Fable 1&2. With the new touch interactions it makes it more engaging an maes you feel as if you are actually that character in the game. I love how the people react to you in this game better than the other two Fable games since its more realistic and not as repetitive. The fighting is really fun and never gets boring especially with spell weaving! Anyone I would suggest EVERYONE to buy this game because you wont want to put it down. Oh and your character actually talks in this game... Oh and the reason the graphics are a 9 and not a 10 is because when people talk out of cut-scenes the mouths barely move (if they move at all) and even in cut scenes the words are a little faster than the mouth it seemed. Just go out and buy it. You will be completely satisfied.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fable III
Truly a great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/11
ViperEye
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think it becomes increasingly clear if you shuffle through the first two pages of reviews that there is a consistent varying of opinions on the Fable Series - and it boils down to this: There are players who understand how to play Fable, and players who don't.
If you've played the series before, you'll find Fable III charmingly familiar, but with some interesting tweeks to the combat system. If you've never played a Fable game before, you should really do yourself two favors - pick up Fable and Fable II, and play them THOROUGHLY. The Fable series is meant to be explored, not played straight through.
There are graphical enhancements that quite stunning. Voice acting is top notch, including Monty Python Alum John Cleese. Your faithful dog is a feature that returns from Fable II, with some minor improvements in functionality.
All in all, this game is an easy 9. There remain some minor glitches that plague a game that contains such a remarkably detailed world, but these are very minor, and very few and far between.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fable III
undecided
Posted on:10/17/10
Haru
I'm a long time fable fan, but I'm also a long time starwars fan. Unfortunately, fable 3 and the force unleashed 2 come out the same day, i only have enough money for one of them, and i already ordered the force unleashed 2, before i knew the exact date of fable 3. So, which one should i get?
seeing as im not sure if you can respond to preview on gamestop, just click helpful for fable 3, please.
88 of 98 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lopsided
My xbox
 
Please wait while more information about Lopsided is loaded.
Additional information about Lopsided could not be loaded.
Let me help
Posted 10/19/10
I have preorderded, but I would get what suits your kind of genre. Star wars and fable are two different games, so go with which one you like best. I don't want to recommend anything because I don't know you, and good luck deciding. Deciding is my favorite part of shopping for video games.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Fable III
Amazing Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/10
Puppeteer666
Location: Kansas City, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is an amazing game. The gameplay is a huge step up from Fable II. It rolls smoothly. It is addicting, how fun it is. You will be spending hours in the game, but you wont be able to put the controller down. If it's not main missions, it's side missions, if it's not side missions, it's jobs. If it's not jobs, it's relationships! Every amazing game has it's flaws sadly. I personally thought that fable 2 was better, for very minor things. Things like, character detail. When you are an evil cold hearted person, It REALLY shows in fable 2. In Fable 3, you can't go TOO evil, it keeps it more realistic. Some people like this though. Also, the game is REALLY short, or atleast for me it was. I do love the fact that you can actually touch people, hold their hand and lead them places, makes you feel like you are in Albion. After all, who doesn't like being touched by a hero? After the very minor flaws, I still would recommend this game to ANYONE that is into hardcore RPGs.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NUTZJ98
SEMO
 
Please wait while more information about NUTZJ98 is loaded.
Additional information about NUTZJ98 could not be loaded.
Not for hardcore RPG fans.
Posted 11/2/10
I just got done reading the last review and couldn't believe the "hardcore RPG" statement. I have got 25 hours in and trust me this is more like Peter Molyneux himself put it: "I'm not sure I even call Fable an RPG anymore, certainly not a 1990s RPG, for sure.
In a way, you could look at it and say it's like an action adventure"
Plain and simple. Don't be fooled by the mass appeal reviews and ratings. This game is hardcore fail in the RPG genre and shouldn't have been listed as such.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Fable III
Expecting a Home Run... Got a single.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
mistercarlen
Location: Michigan State University
Let me first off say that I have never been a HUGE fan of the Fable series. I have played through all three games, and enjoyed them... mostly. However, they seem to get smaller and smaller in scale as the series continues. While Fable III boasts a second "continent", it still seems as though it's right across the street, for lack of a better term, as there is not that much "on foot" travel. The fast travel system is far too heavily relied upon. The gameplay seems hurried and a frantic pace is forced upon you with the storyline of "dethrone the king, or we will all die" which should just be replaced with, "we will all die". Then, without giving away anything, all of a sudden, BAM!!! You're at the final boss! Zero warning. A RPG with an under 10 hour storyline should be unheard of in this day and age, but Fable keeps setting the bar lower and lower in this realm. The scaled back story arc, and the removal of most of your personality choices (You get to choose between good, bad, or rude.... what fun.), and the lack of any real motivation to complete sidequests makes this game just another solid, non-descript entry in the increasingly benign Fable series. But... at least you can still kick chickens.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fable III
A step back from Fable 2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/10
Olsenthedane
Location: Kansas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was expecting too much from the this third installment of the fable series. I know I might be upsetting some of the fable fanboys out there, but I see toilet patties for what they are regardless of whether or not they used to be steak. Not that Fable 3 is a trouser nugget, its just not a steak anymore. It seems with each sequel the franchise takes a step back. Fable 2 had plenty left over after all its flaws to keep it fun and the replayablity high. Part 3 has clunky combat, and a needlessly convoluted inventory and menu system. The much beloved (or maligned) expression system is not just broken, its been destroyed. Basically, everything I loved about part one was broken in part 2. Worse, everything that kept part 2 playable was destroyed in part 3. I'll be taking this plastic mini-frisbee back to gamestop in the morning.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fable III
10/26/10 will be amazing
Posted on:9/11/10
Slade9
Location: Hereford, TX
Well now, how about we all cry about Fable 2 not being the exact same as Fable some more. Seriously people, why wouldn't Lionhead switch it up? I'm fired up for the release of Fable 3 because the Fable franchise gives you a gaming experience you just can't get anywhere else. I love the first Fable, love the second, and will love the third because I know it will be unlike anything I've ever played before.
33 of 37 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 next>>