GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller

The AFTERGLOW® family of controllers breaks new ground in form, features, and radiant aesthetics, delivering gamers an experience sure to have them glowing.
Average Customer Rating:
5.941
5.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (165 reviews)
10 stars
32
9 stars
24
8 stars
15
7 stars
6
6 stars
7
5 stars
6
4 stars
13
3 stars
10
2 stars
17
1 star
23
80 out of 15352%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Review 1 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
AWESOME CONTROLLER
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
CassandraD11who
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is literally perfect. Great performance, great design, and perfect for game play. The only problem is that sometimes when you turn on the Xbox the controller, although plugged in doesn't turn on unless you unplug it and re-connect it again.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Decent Controller- Looks Cool
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/13
purplewalrus
Location: Florida
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this controller for Christmas a few years back. I love how the LED's look with the clear plastic, the buttons are spaced the same, and the controller is more curved than a regular 360 controller is, making it more comfortable. But the buttons will start to be faulty after a while. On mine, RT keeps thinking it's being pushed down on, RB doesn't click anymore, and the face buttons shake a little. But, this controller will last for a year or two, which is pretty long compared to the craptastic Mad Catz controllers i owned before. I would recommend it as a gift or for yourself, it works for a pretty long time and is very comfortable.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Great Controller
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/13
Lynnette73
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
We bought this one as a second controller when my son's friends came over to play. We had purchased another off brand wired controller and it was junk. This one works great, is pretty cool when you are hitting people in Skyrim in the dark and once it's broken in, plays great. It's hard to line up archery shots at first until you play with it for a while. I'm thrilled with it, and I'll be purchasing another one soon for those "Minecraft moments" when friends come over.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Good for the price, but not good enough.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/13
Dabigkidinjeans
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got the controller brand new a few days ago. My other controllers were busted up so I thought I'd get this. Stuff on the box said it would improve my game, like with the smart track analog sticks. The controller looks really cool with how you can light it up but that was just for looks. Overall I found that the analog sticks were really sensitive, which actually made my accuracy worse. this wasn't a very good controller for competitive gaming. Then I found out about the voice chat issues. I tried talking to friends and they said I sounded worse than normal, loud background noise caused by the controller. Not very good for talking to friends at all. The controller is made simply for looks, if your a casual gamer and don't talk to people much, and your on a tight budget, get it. but if your competitive and like to not get muted by everybody, I wouldn't go with this controller. Returning it already. Not good at all for being competitive and having friends.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 5 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/13
Lovexbox
Location: Alaska
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love it it works perfectly!!!!! just to much money I wish it would cost 20$ And in different colors. :(
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Great Controller
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/13
99waystoDie
Location: Greensboro, NC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love the design, the feel of it, and the fact that it's wired, meaning I don't need to charge it or (god forbid) buy batteries. The lights are distracting when you're trying to shoot zombies or kill a dragon or something, but there's a button on the bottom where you can simply turn them off. The price was what drew me to this controller in the first place. It's a few bucks cheaper than the regular wired xbox controller, and it works better in my opinion. I'd buy this again, and I have already recommended it to all my friends.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/13
Stealthbomb3r9
Location: Milford, MA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is definitely something worth buying. It costs less than the wireless controller, and it looks much cooler. The performance is also great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Dont Waste Your Time.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/13
drewfurrdayz
Location: Oregon
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
You are better off getting a Microsoft controller because this one is made really cheap and the lights are blinding.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 9 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Cheap, but hard to use.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/13
JoeDaGuitarGuy
Location: Marysville, Mi
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I saw if for only 20 bucks so i thought id try it instead of 40 for a normal controller. As soon as i started using it i first spent 5 minutes trying to figure out how to turn off the controller's lights. At first i felt the triggers jump back faster after pressing them so i thought it would be a better controller for shooters. But as soon as i started my game, i came across the problem that gives this a 3/10. It has a huge dead zone in both sticks, and after years with brand new controllers, if throws off your aim alot because you cant use precise aiming, because there isn't an area with low sensitivity on it, thats replaced with dead zones. only get this if your unfamiliar with This Gen. controllers.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Don't buy this
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/13
ASaladPuncher
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Right out of the box this thing felt like a Happymeal toy. It has an uncomfortable design and is very cheap. The buttons are non-responsive at times and it's near impossible to use. If you're looking for a wired controller just buy the Microsoft one.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chazzygr
Edmond, OK
 
Please wait while more information about Chazzygr is loaded.
Additional information about Chazzygr could not be loaded.
Posted 12/30/13
This is absolutely inaccurate. I have this controller as well and I actually prefer it over the Microsoft ones for the 360. I is very well built and very comfortable in the hands. The buttons are perfectly responsive, and the analog sticks are very smooth.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/13
BlitzMonster71
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This has to be one of the best controllers on the market. The design is cool and it is comfortable A little expensive but worth it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Chatpad won't fit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/13
tclman12
Location: Memphis, TN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased this controller in blue and it worked great until I tried to plug in my keyboard/chatpad would not fit. You should buy it but not if you are an online gamer.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 13 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/13
Hammy94710
Location: Idaho, ID
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I got this for my birthday with my Xbox 360 and it is great! Sometime you can see the movement in the controller.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Not for every game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/13
Sevenindasun
Location: Charlotte NC
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is my favorite controller of all time, for tiger woods pga tour that is.. I have bought a new one every year for every tiger woods pga tour game since 2011... It is a must for golf fans who want to play online.. It never shanks, always hits dead straight and once broken in you can get lots of power on your swing... Only problems are I have to buy a new one every year, I treat them with care but they have all died, wont turn on... Not great with plug in headsets unless u are using a turtle beach, the Microsoft headset gets and gives lots of echo... Not great for fps, I use my regular ms controller for skyrim because the afterglow is a bit off on the radius... A little lag, a little tight, a little overturn, all in the same motion... So in summery, if you play tiger woods pga tour this controller will make you a great golfer but I wouldn't use it for any other game....
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 15 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
One of the worst controllers i have bought yet.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/13
SOBKsAsian
Location: California
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is one of the worst controllers i have bought to this date, the reason i say this is because of the controllers joystick sensitivity. It has an incredibly sensitive joystick which means that this controller is over all harder to play shooter games where good accuracy is needed. Also the way the controller is shaped makes it feel like its a foreign controller when just holding the controller. When I speak of it shape I mean that the bottom of it has become a little bit more extrude and fat. But overall to me the only good thing about this controller was its led installments which is what makes the afterglow brand so popular.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 16 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Stunning
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/13
JHall77
Location: Missouri, MO
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller because I heard any wired Xbox 360 controller would be compatible with a computer. It wasn't (however I also didn't look much into it like downloading compatibility software or stuff like that). When I play the controller on the Xbox however I love it. The cord length is AMAZING. My couches are far away from the TV and yet I can lay back and play it. It's a great alternative to wireless controllers where I am constantly running around for batteries. Buttons don't stick, joysticks don't squeak, the light is so awesome in the dark, and also you can turn them off if you find them distracting at points (I haven't wanted to turn them off yet though). I highly recommend buying this controller.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Very cool. Game on.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
dudefromnolawithanxbox
Location: Sandpoint, Idaho
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got the after glow controller today and it's great! Works just as well or better than any other controller out there! The LEDs are very vibrant and cool. Also, when you don't have your after glow on, it is very cool to see all the components like the rumblers work. Very cool. Game on in your favorite color.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
BAD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/13
GOLDENKNIGHT13
Location: CO-OP
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I HAD TO STOP MY GAME WHEN MY MOM PASSES BY AND I ALWAYS DIE ALSO IT BREAKS EASLLY. DONT BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Great Controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/13
ColeC
Location: NJ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is awesome, i first bought a regular gamestop plug in controller but it broke within a week. so i bought this controller and 2 yrs later its great. its worth it! plus it lights up and looks amazing get it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Great for the price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/13
MissMir
Location: Waterbury, CT
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I only bought this controller because my child decided to play lets hide mommy's xbox controller and have it disappear forever. I bought it because it was cheaper than paying the extra twenty dollars on an controller especially with limited budgeting. It works very well it doesn't move on its own when using the analog sticks, you can shut off the afterglow light if your eyes are that sensitive, I haven't had a problem with it yet I think its great for the price for anyone who is looking for a cheaper controller, I like that you can see through it. I've had this controller for about a week and as for the other reviews that I have read how the controller may not be compatible with the headset (not sure about it since I don't have one either). Its light not too heavy but just right. It worked very well when playing movies or playing The Darkness II. I don't think the controller vibrates when playing a very action filled game like a first person shooter game. Over all I have no problems with it I think it works very well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>