GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller

The AFTERGLOW® family of controllers breaks new ground in form, features, and radiant aesthetics, delivering gamers an experience sure to have them glowing.
Average Customer Rating:
3.182
3.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (171 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
57
4 stars
22
3 stars
14
2 stars
25
1 star
41
82 out of 15952%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Review 1 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Looks pretty cool
Posted on:3/19/10
Mrgubgub
I think it would be great to have a few friends over, give each person a different color controller, then play in the dark! If you're new to Xbox and like to play in the dark you should consider buying this because you probably can see what all the buttons are. I don't know about you guys but i might buy this!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
XboxGTisZombieGenocid3x
United States
 
Please wait while more information about XboxGTisZombieGenocid3x is loaded.
Additional information about XboxGTisZombieGenocid3x could not be loaded.
There is reason in the wire
Posted 4/11/11
Well,i was reading some of the reviews on this product and found that some people were complaining about the wire.Well i did some research and found that it is wired because this is not a product of microsoft and therefore,it must be wired.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Holding off... I think.
Posted on:3/19/10
blizzardschill429
I just recently received a new controller for christmas and I love it. Yet I really like the looks of these. Problem is I also liked the look of the modern warfare 2 controllers and those didn't look so "hot" after the reviews. I think I might hold off and watch the reviews then again if I have a little extra money lying around I might get it. Only time will tell I suppose. They do look really sick though haha.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Glow In The Dark
Posted on:3/20/10
Frostquake
I enjoy playing games in the dark, pitch black! I have always wanted a glowing controller, if nothing more then to be able to look at the scheme on the controller in case I get mixed up during game play, and have to decide which buttons to press, and now I have it!
Review 4 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
???
Posted on:3/20/10
xDOOM666x
is it avaible in wireless? i hate wired controllers..
Review 5 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
How Much
Posted on:3/22/10
Anonymous
If I live in say Hamilton Ontario, how much do you think it would end up being with shipping and handling
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Great idea only one problem.
Posted on:4/16/10
Maniac19
Everyone including myself would have owned one of these. The only problem is they're "wired". Talk about shooting yourself in the foot! Everyone knows we're all living in the wireless world of technology right? Guess the manufacture thinks other wise. When these don't sell due to being wired, hopefully they will be smart enough to put out wireless ones and also add a wider varity of colors to choose from instead of only three. Go wireless there isn't another substitute that comes close to feeling the freedom in the palm of your hands!
Review 7 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Looks cool
Posted on:4/16/10
A CUSTMER
this actually looks cool i hope it works though i might buy it if i have some extra money 2 blow
Review 8 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Long Time I've Been Waiting
Posted on:4/16/10
bluedeathva
I have a blue PS2 one I have been waiting for a next gen versions of the Afterglow controllers hopefully these are more durable but ultimately I'd buy one anyway. A blue one that is.
Review 9 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
I like that there bringing them back
Posted on:4/17/10
Anonymous
These things were awesome when they came out for ps2 along time ago. I hope these are just as good and i hope more durable. also to the people that are gonna whine about them being wired. THINK ABOUT IT with all the lights being on as long as you played on it, it would eat batteries by the day. however I do wonder why they have not made a lithium battery pack for the controllers, those would have enough power to last in these controllers without having to recharge by the hour.
Review 10 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
i think...
Posted on:4/17/10
Anonymous
i think theyre wired bc if they ran on batteries the glow would burn out the bateries really fast and then if that happened everyone would not like them for that reason...seams like a lose-lose situation to me but i think theyre pretty sweet im prolly going to get one hopefully they wont break for a while
Review 11 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Dont Whine!
Posted on:4/18/10
Straight_Facts
First off id like to begin by saying dont complain about the controllers, if your acctually going to use batteries instead of the charge pack that is a meer **$, then its your fault that your controller keeps dying! On another note, i think this controllers going to be sick!, and by that i mean amazing, im not a day gamer myself so i play at night which usually means the lights are off as well so i constantly seem to be missplacing my black and red controller since it doesnt quite stick out. these controllers seem to be well made, well colored and i myself will no doubt buy one of these controllers.
Review 12 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
may be ok
Posted on:4/20/10
iZeDunk
i dont just love the lights..... i just have my guide button,AXYB buttons, bumpers, and start and back buttons lit, and i am VERY glad they can be turned off, because they are very distracting. they look cool when lit though
Review 13 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
the after glow controller review
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/10
the crazy monkey dog
the after glow controller was a great experience it has a great shape for comfort but the controller is a little bigger than the normal Xbox 360 controller making it hard to use in an online game such as MW2 when i reached for the fire button i still ended up throwing a grenade also. it collects every button you push then uses them in the exact order you pressed them in (i shot then threw the grenade). then after i have for about 2 months i dropped for the first time ever and it broke on contact. it is a good controller that just needs to be down sized a little and need to be reinforced plastic due to the controller breaking in half after the first drop if they would fix this it would be better than the normal Xbox controller but since they haven't i would just advise staying with the normal Xbox 360 controller for now
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
great controller slow response
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/10
sasquash1984
This is a great return of the afterglow, although it is wired its a little smaller than a standard wireless xbox controller on the top by the bumpers, while playing games like mw2 i had to crank up the sensitivity just to get the cross hair moving. The 3 modes for controller are a nice feature where the previous after glow on the 1 st gen xbox was always on and very bright this one allows you to have it on, off, or my fav active where when it vibrates it lights up, It comes with 7 led's and 3 colors red, green and blue. pros are design color and the active switch, cons would be hard wired (10 ft) thumbstick sensitivity isnt up to par. Overall this is a great controller to have maybe one day they can come out with one that is wireless and has better sensitivity.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
I love this Controller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/10
Shadow Rabbit
This is my first after glow controller I was going to buy the micro soft one but I just had to try it, and I do say its awesome I did have to mess with the sensitivity on mw 2 going back and forth to medium and custom but the controller feels good better than the mad catz i trade in I also do lot of night gaming for splinter cell series and I turn off the lights cause some of the older games contrast looks weird with light so the lights be off helps so yeah this controller help with the led's in that sense cause in the dark I forget where the button is while paying attention to the screen, it is a bit slimmer than the micro soft controller but not to much where its uncomfortable and its light weight to so its not weight you down I prefer this controller over most
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Great controller, but missleading
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/10
Dude Huge
The controller itself is very well made. Being a see-thru controller you would think that it would break easily. But it feels just as durable as a regular 360 controller from my playing experience. The one problem that most people might find is that, since the controller is all plastic, sweaty hands will cause you to lose grip on the controller at times. The controller is a tad bit smaller than the regular 360 controller so it might not be the best choice for those with bigger hands. Now onto my main issue with the controller. I bought this controller in store. The box art showed the controller with a "GREEN" glow, like thie products picture shows. But when I got home and plugged it up, the light was BLUE. There is no info on the box that says that the colors may vary like the product's site page. Now there is nothing wrong with the BLUE lights, I just would have rather gotten the color that I was intending on buying. So before you buy one of these controllers, just know that you might not get the GREEN lights like the outside of the box shows.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
worth the money
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/10
footballkid
this controller is worth the money. just like like the regular xbox 360 controller its the same feeling.the colors are red,blue,green, i perfer the red one because it looks sick in the dark.the comfort is the pretty much the same .the leds in it are sick they are really good they have a nice glow and it looks very cool. well the durability is not that great, if you drop it onto a hard surface it would most likely crack, but i would not know so myself, since i have not dropped it. overall this is a great product with a nice feeling to it. it is definetly worth the money, being that is just like a standard xbox controller, which usually sells for more money. i would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great controller, with a little something extra.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
DONT GET THIS CONTROLLER IF YOU HAVE A TURTLE BEACH HEADSET
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/10
cLaRkY26
the controller is comfortable to use and good to use when you get into those intense gaming times. then really cool with the red lights going on and off when you press the trigger to fire and vibrates. theres a feature on the bottom side to select on, off, or fire. but the main reason i dont like it is becuz you can NOT use a turtle beach headset with it. becuz the port on the bottom of the controller dont fit with the plastic part that has the metal stem for it to go into the controller. So i tried to file the plastic frame down where the port is and inserted the turtle beach part and the controller part broke. Waste of $30. So if they can make the frame of the controller the same as microsoft does to theirs then i would buy another and lastly ITS WIRED !!!!!! dont like it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Be careful about this controller.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/10
nicoaguirre69
The first thing you notice about this, is the sensitivity. If you play Shooting games, jack up the sensitivity. This controller gives you far less accuracy than the microsoft controller. It also disconnects randomly. When your hands get sweaty, your hands like stick to the controller and makes in uncomfortable to play. You have to be really careful about moving the analog sticks, because sometimes they dont' move, and sometimes they move too much when you're aiming. In my opinion, the only GOOD part about the controller is the look. The glowing is the only part i actually like about the controller. It also disconnects randomly. it got to the point to where i brought it back to the store, and got a new Afterglow, because it wouldn't connect to my console. So i got a new one, and it did the same thing. I'm going back today to get the Microsoft Wired controller.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 20 for Xbox 360 Afterglow Controller
Step into the (After)glow.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/10
Alpha/Omega
This controller is great, though it does come with some flaws. The first and obvious one is that you can lose grip on the sides of the controller since it is made out of clear, smooth material. It also cannot fit a chatpad, so if you like to use those in lieu of typing slowly, then this is not for you at all. The analog sticks also feel strange. If you move them in a small circle you can feel it not going in a full circle and pulling a little so it's difficult to line up shots in a FPS (I don't have many problems with it, but I have missed a shot or two) but once you break it in it becomes unnoticeable. The D-Pad also is a constant pain for some games that use the upper-left, lower, left, etc. buttons on it. For example, in Fallout 3, I found that getting to those hotkeyed items was a hit-or-miss thing, where even if I was holding it in a diagonal spot the controller registered it as left, right, etc. so this isn't a controller if you play games that heavily rely on those buttons. PROS: Cool glow Three settings for the glow (On, off, vibration active) Mic port keeps mic in, so it's hard for the mic to disconnect Glow isn't too intense or distracting Feels comfortable in your hands CONS: Sweaty palms do not go well with this controller D-Pad is unresponsive to diagonal buttons Analog sticks need practice to get used to, and are rough when you first buy the controller. Can't fit a chatpad Overall, this is a great controller to have (especially for night gaming) but I would suggest holding on to a back up for certain games where this controller falters. Also, investing in some grips for the analog stick and sides would not be a bad idea.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Shropshire71
 
Please wait while more information about Shropshire71 is loaded.
Additional information about Shropshire71 could not be loaded.
A Waste. everythinng broke.
Posted 11/13/10
At first I thought this controller was great because it was. Then when I got a regular Mic, I noticed that it wouldn't work, but the Mic would work with my wireless controller. then after about 2 weeks i started having problems with the sticks. What happened was the Right Stick started to register that it was being pushed up when really my finger wasn't even on it. that means I can't aim with FPS games. I do play COD and Halo so this was a huge problem for me. I was able to work around it for a while with the help of a rubber band but eventually that didn't even work. now less then 1 month after purchase the controller wont even connect with my xbox anymore.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>