GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

PS3 Controller

Average Customer Rating:
3.194
3.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
3
6 stars
3
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
8
1 star
11
8 out of 3126%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS3 Controller
Review 1 for PS3 Controller
it sux
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/10
starslay66
i know if you want controllers that dont burn a whole in your wallet. but this controller sux. especially if your used to playing with the six axis controller. i recommend getting the six axis controller over this any day. it has a glow to it and it might sound cool to u but dont. its to bright. i swear to god i almost went blind from playing with it. oh and the center of the playstation controller. the button you press to show the options that say turn off system etc. etc. etc. its a sticker for pete's sake. and if it comes off the center button becomes very sticky. the R2 and L2 are freaking hard to push. and sometimes it doesnt even respond. i also recommend people that play call of duty, mag, and grand theft auto to not get this controller. especially if your going online to play deathmatches and matches like those. you will be the laughing stock of the game. and i know alot of those high top gamers high in ranks dont want that. well thats what i think so please take my advice an not get this controller.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PS3 Controller
Good...while it lasted
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/14
bruins4lifeee
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My last controller got old so i decided id get a cheap controller that will serve its purpose so i went to gamestop got this and it worked good sure R2 and L2 are in a weird position but i got used to it then after about 3 weeks on was at the main menu of my nhl ultimate team and i noticed the dpad was being weird then it stopped working then the x button wouldnt work by just tapping then the start button stopped working and now i have to get a new controller i dont recommend this if you need a long term controller
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 3 for PS3 Controller
DON'T BUY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/10
FarttyxMarty
Location: trenton mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i wanted to get 1 other ps3 controller for my friends to play with. when i plugged it in it look pretty cool, it was fine till we started to play mw2. that first mach is how i gave it the name twichy. i couldn't aim because it would shake like a old man with Parkinson's diseases. i tried unplugging it and it did nothing it was a waist of money and dont waist you money on it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Dead Space 2 Offical Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PS3 Controller
Worst controller ever.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
Dudewhat
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was wanting a cheap controller that I didn't have to worry about going dead from a battery. This worked fine for that but the buttons are very difficult to use such as the L2 and R2 buttons. The glow is actually annoying and the sticks feel really stiff. The D-pad wil not let me go to the left at all it feels stuck. The circle on the left side towards the bottom front of the controller broke away and is now bouncing around inside. The home button just has a sticker over it which fell off. This is after a week of use. My original PS3 controller lasted a lot longer and would still be working if the dog hadn't ate it. Over all don't waste your time or money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hemispheres
Virginia
 
Please wait while more information about Hemispheres is loaded.
Additional information about Hemispheres could not be loaded.
Decent controller, could be better.
Posted 4/5/14
This controller was purchased to last me while I saved my money up for another Sixaxis Controller. It's been an ok controller but I have a couple of issues. My main issue is the latency (time from when you press a button until the corresponding action happens in the game) I've seed my K/D in Black Ops 2 drop dramatically since I bought this controller. My other issue is the R2 button periodically gets stuck, I'll have to tap the trigger in order to fire my gun in one shot bursts instead of holding it down for full auto. Good controller for the causual gamer, but not so much for the hardcore gamer, Especially if you're a FPS fanatic.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for PS3 Controller
Already own it
Posted on:5/23/10
moflo43
This was already at Gamestop, and since the normal PS3 controllers are a whopping 54 bucks, I decided to get this one. I was pleasantly surprised at how good this controller was. The USB port that you connect to the PS3 is very long, and it has built in lights that are a nice touch. The controller itself is very easy to use. The d-pad is a little sensitive, but the joysticks work fine. The buttons themselves are also great, however, the R2 and L2 buttons use a spring, so you might have to time your button presses with those. I found that it fit your hand better than a normal Dualshock controller, and might be better to look at. Overall, if you are looking for a WIRED controller for your PS3 (or another controller in general) you cannot go wrong with this one!
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PS3 Controller
It's not a good controller...Any alternatives???
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/11
Prodigious1
Location: NC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this controller a while back so I could play co-op games with my brother, which is the aspect of gaming that appeals most to me. I had it for about a year and never liked it. Performance in-game wasn't too bad, but aiming with the right analog stick in shooters like Army of Two: The 40th Day and Borderlands was definitely not as smooth as with the DualShock3 that came with the system. Also, I never liked the feel of the controller in my hand. It seemed too narrow and brought my hands too close together. The buttons were small and the triggers were offset, so design gets really low marks from me. Maybe the design is good for a kid's smaller hands, but that would be a major problem given the next problem I have with it: the durability. My brother and I are not the type of players who abuse controllers, so I was disappointed with the rate this controller fell apart. All the buttons got sticky within about 6 months. The spring back in the L2 button actually stopped working and we had to pop the button off and operate the arm inside the controller manually via a twist tie. Also, using fairly reasonable grip pressure, the controller seemed to always have new hair-line cracks in the plastic. The cracking eventually led to the controller literally breaking open my brothers hand while he was playing. We taped it back together and did so again every time a new break occurred. Eventually the handles were terribly out of form and we had to trash the thing.
Now on to the worst aspect of the controller: I have to recommend it by default because there aren't any viable alternates short of the DualShock3 for $20+ more dollars. Ideally I'd like a more durable and wireless controller for $20 - $30 but that's not going to happen. Other cheaper controllers will likely have similar durability issues and the wireless ones are total battery hogs. On a positive note, this controller seems slightly better than the knock-offs from the DualShock2 era. When I go in to replace the one I just trashed, I can either shell out the money for a DualShock3, or get another one of these and hope to get more than a year out of it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PS3 Controller
great controller for the price and being corded
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
Lizardkeeper
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
got it 3 or 5 years ago still going great if you do not mind having a corded controller or no motion senor get one.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 8 for PS3 Controller
It's not a dual shock...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/12
Mangrove
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
And that's what I like about it. The L2 and R2 took a little getting used to but once you do it's gravy. A lot of people I see don't like the design but I do. With the dual shock my pinkies always fall asleep-The problem has been resolved. And though its wired the cable has more than adequate length. The only thing I miss is turning on The PS3 with my home button. You can't beat it for $20...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PS3 Controller
It is a good low price controller but..
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
chaddercheez
Location: bakersfield,CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its a good price but the design is terrible. if your fast action game relies on r2 and l2 dont expect this controller to help. the buttons for l2 and r2 are kinda stuck out so you have to push it in aways just to hit the button, but other than that its pretty decent
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PS3 Controller
Friend purchased this and...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/10
allofmynicknamesweretaken
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
A close friend of mine purchased this for his PS3 system and refuses to play with it. The glow in the controller is so bright that if you turn it the wrong way it will blind you for a quick second. It's very obnoxious. Also, The cord is very short. I'd say it's only about 5 feet long. You may think you're saving by purchasing this, but you really aren't. The R2 and L2 buttons are in very awkward positions, and sometimes unresponsive. All in all, just buy the controller for Sony until someone makes an off-brand that isn't terrible.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kdizzle20
 
Please wait while more information about kdizzle20 is loaded.
Additional information about kdizzle20 could not be loaded.
Totally worthless...
Posted 11/29/11
^agree with the above!! It does break on carpeted floor/ the lights are very very annoying/ the ps home button does not work at all/ the r2 and l2 buttons very rarely work/ the sticks are very sticky/ the d-pad malfunctions constantly/ the rubber grips fall out on both sides allowing you to touch the inside of the controller/ the list goes on and on... Please do not buy you would be doing yourself a great disservice!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for PS3 Controller
Anything> THIS THING
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
Jabudhii
Location: SC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
L2 and R2 buttons at a 45° angle, the LEDs are terrible. The controller is made from cheap plastic. The home button is glued on there ( the piece fell off after a month or so). I deem this the worst PS3 controller available.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS3 Controller
serves the purpose
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/12
jetzflyhigh319
Location: brooklyn
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the remote works great. for the price. the only problem iv had in the 4 weeks that iv owned it is the leather on the handles starts to peel but for 20 bucks you cant go wrong.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PS3 Controller
Suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/11
minuteman6
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I saw this controller, I thought " Man, this is awesome." It was, for about 30 minuets. After figuring out where I put the USB (About 29 of the 30 minuets), I was going to COD online. That's when I noticed the triggers. When I got on, the R3 button didn't work. So, I got shot multiple times, and crushed the fricken thing.It might seem unrealistic, but its true.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PS3 Controller
Was ok for its price
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/13
Cyberarmorz
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its what I paid for you feel the left trigger button broke id say save your money for a used wireless controller if you want it to last longer then 8 months my controller has died..... Need new controller
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 15 for PS3 Controller
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/13
slickice13
Location: illinois
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I know every 1 says its a bad controller but its a good cheap controller who wanna spend $50 on a sony controller down side is that the r2 and l2 r placed weird but if you have a big hand this is the controller but if you have a very strong grip then no or hard floors because if you drop it it will crack but I love it more than the sony controller I love you gamestop keep up the good work and plus it has a cord so if you playing call of duty your controller wont die it has a very long cord I play gta iv black ops etc with it and I have to say I love it please buy the buttons aren't that ugly black anymore
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for PS3 Controller
Poor Controller
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/13
TooCool2Kill
Location: Washington
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller as a temporary, cheap one while fixing my regular sony controller, and It was HORRIBLE!!! I play first and third person games like grand theft auto and call of duty, and I could not even aim with the right analog stick, and it broke before my other controller was fixed. THIS CONTROLLER IS A BAD BUY, IT SHOULD BE MORE LIKE 12 DOLLARS! DO NOT BUY AT ALL! (Unless you want to troll someone)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 17 for PS3 Controller
Dont Buy This If You Play COD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/11
Hever007
Location: Pomona CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I Just Bought This Yesterday And I Don't Like It. My Other Controllers Broke So i Went To Go Get a New Controller And i Saw This On This On The Wall And I Thought This Would Be An Great Controller But Once I Got Home To Play Black Ops I Could Luckily Get a Single Kill And Don't Get Me Started With The Trigers. I Just Hate The R1 R2 L1 L2 The Controller Is Too Big In "MY" Hand So I Can Hardly Shoot. And When I Try To Snipe It Just Moves To The Side Or I Get a Another Hit Marker. The Only Thing Its Good For Is Browsing The Dash Board. So Over All I Do Not Recommend This To And That Plays Hard Core Games.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
 
Please wait while more information about AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA is loaded.
Additional information about AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA could not be loaded.
Sucks
Posted 7/27/12
dont buy it if you by it you are relly despret
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for PS3 Controller
Save up for a DualShock 3.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
HudsonVT
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This was the first controller I was able to buy for my PS3. I initially liked the clear, somewhat-lightweight design, but the buttons were aesthetically lacking (read: everything looks crooked except the GameStop logo on the faceplate), and the triggers are awkwardly pointed inward at 45 degree angles. Granted, that wasn't a problem for me the same way that it would be a -major- problem for COD players or fans of any other console shooter, but the triggers also have really awful, low-quality springs that you can see through the controller itself. The other buttons seemed sluggish, but solid. The bumpers were the primary offenders beyond the trigger buttons, but I had no noticeable issues with the analog sticks or D-pad.
After about 10 hours of use spaced out over a couple of days, the right trigger (R2) completely locked inward. By comparison, my GameStop-brand wired Xbox 360 controller (purchased in 2009) lasted me about 8 months of continuous play, and I'd usually log anywhere from 2-6 hours a day of playtime. Even then, its functionality had only ceased due to a wire shortage...not a broken button.
This could very well be the worst peripheral GameStop has directly attached their name to in the past decade, and it frustrates me that a company who has generally provided solid third-party peripheral solutions in the past has had such a dip in quality with this product.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Prodigious1
NC
 
Please wait while more information about Prodigious1 is loaded.
Additional information about Prodigious1 could not be loaded.
NYKO Raven
Posted 1/12/12
I am updating my previous review to include a great alternative for a cheap PS3 controller. I recently found and purchased a NYKO Raven controller for a comparable price to this controller. It's wireless and rechargeable. It's not perfect and not a DualShock3 either, but it's probably a better alternative. I checked this site at http://www.gamestop.com/ps3/accessories/ps3-raven-wireless-controller/78240 and it's currently not available, but it can be found online elsewhere. I personally prefer buying items in-store, but I'm glad I found and bought that controller online.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for PS3 Controller
ps3 turbo fire bluetooth controller
Posted on:5/2/10
jake pichola
everyone should definetly get this controller...........it is awsome you can program 8 different buttons for 3 different rapid fire speeds. this controller is great for shooting games like call of dut modern warfare 2 and battlefield bad company 2 , two of my favorite games. GAMESTOP IS AWSOME FOR PROVIDING THIS CONTROLLER!!!
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PS3 Controller
dont waste money on this
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/13
bigboss45
Location: arizona phx
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this controller becaus my original had got water in it and stoped working and i did not have the money to buy a brand new one so i bought this one and i tried to play socom online and the analog sticks wont let yuh aim wright and tha triggers are just as bad the R2 jus wont press
this controller is NOT worth $20 dollars
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 2 next>>