GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

PS3 Controller

Average Customer Rating:
3.233
3.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
3
6 stars
3
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
11
8 out of 3027%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS3 Controller
Review 1 for PS3 Controller
great controller for the price and being corded
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
Lizardkeeper
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
got it 3 or 5 years ago still going great if you do not mind having a corded controller or no motion senor get one.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for PS3 Controller
Was ok for its price
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/13
Cyberarmorz
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its what I paid for you feel the left trigger button broke id say save your money for a used wireless controller if you want it to last longer then 8 months my controller has died..... Need new controller
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 3 for PS3 Controller
Poor Controller
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/13
TooCool2Kill
Location: Washington
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller as a temporary, cheap one while fixing my regular sony controller, and It was HORRIBLE!!! I play first and third person games like grand theft auto and call of duty, and I could not even aim with the right analog stick, and it broke before my other controller was fixed. THIS CONTROLLER IS A BAD BUY, IT SHOULD BE MORE LIKE 12 DOLLARS! DO NOT BUY AT ALL! (Unless you want to troll someone)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 4 for PS3 Controller
Ooh shiny, but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/13
Luvan1me
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I came into gamestop today to buy myself a regular ps3 sony controller, but seeing as they are almost $50, I thought I would get something a little cheaper. I always liked the afterglow controllers and thought "Oh shiny, but is the gamestop brand worth the $20?" What I don't like about the controller is that the L2 and R2 buttons are pretty springy and heavy so if you play a lot of games that you have to use those a lot (like me) it would slow you down (and tire you out pretty quickly, not good for your middle finger haha). The other buttons feel fine to me when I play and even the overall design of the control feel really nice in my hands (comfortable since I'm an average sized female my hands fit amazingly well which is one thing that bothered me about the regular sony controller). The biggest con for me would be that it can easily break (I just got this controller today, and there are already cracks on the back of the controller BIG RED FLAG there for me, even though I'm OCD about things being taken well care of). Another big red flag for me is that I play a lot of ps2 games on my ps3 (I have an old fat one <3) and YOU CAN NOT play your ps2 games with this controller! It will NOT register the controller at ALL. So I'm going to have to return it tomorrow sadly. I tried using it on the computer as well and it works great, but since I bought the controller to play FF14 on my PC (and I know I'm going to abuse it) I just have to return it because I will be playing everyday with this controller. OH another CON about this controller is you can't turn off the lights. I looked every where (even the screw holes lol) to see if there was any "reset" or "off/on" button; nothing. Just FYI for anyone who wants a time out from those blinding lights haha SO! I would recommend either a regular SONY controller OR any other 3rd party controller (just look at reviews guys) that doesn't scream out "cheap". OVERALL: If you are looking for a controller to use as a backup while your ps3 controller is charging, I say get this if you don't want to spend the $50 on a brand new one. I wouldn't recommend getting this if you are going to use this as your main controller just because I see this breaking in the near future.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 5 for PS3 Controller
dont waste money on this
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/13
bigboss45
Location: arizona phx
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this controller becaus my original had got water in it and stoped working and i did not have the money to buy a brand new one so i bought this one and i tried to play socom online and the analog sticks wont let yuh aim wright and tha triggers are just as bad the R2 jus wont press
this controller is NOT worth $20 dollars
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 6 for PS3 Controller
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/13
slickice13
Location: illinois
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I know every 1 says its a bad controller but its a good cheap controller who wanna spend $50 on a sony controller down side is that the r2 and l2 r placed weird but if you have a big hand this is the controller but if you have a very strong grip then no or hard floors because if you drop it it will crack but I love it more than the sony controller I love you gamestop keep up the good work and plus it has a cord so if you playing call of duty your controller wont die it has a very long cord I play gta iv black ops etc with it and I have to say I love it please buy the buttons aren't that ugly black anymore
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for PS3 Controller
It's Semi-Decent
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
williams20000
Location: Miami
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It works perfectly, but it is too big and the joysticks are way too sensitive and the R2 and L2 buttons are pretty bad
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 8 for PS3 Controller
Not durable
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
Kitsune991
Location: Indiana
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For me.... I need something that can handle a strong grip. This however.... did not fit the bill. I tend to grip a remote strongly when playing a game. It works fine, but it broke easily... It looked like my grip completely destroyed the right side. It doesn't have a strong durability. So if you tend to grip hard on your controller, i don't think you should get this kind of remote.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for PS3 Controller
Bad controller
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/12
TheTroll
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had the controller for a few months as a back up. When my primary died I had to resort to this one. The triggers on the back were weird and the controller just did not feel right. After a month or 2 I ended up crushing the controller in my hands. It just crushed. Cheap plastic, weird design, but a good 2nd controller for the value.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 10 for PS3 Controller
It's not a dual shock...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/12
Mangrove
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
And that's what I like about it. The L2 and R2 took a little getting used to but once you do it's gravy. A lot of people I see don't like the design but I do. With the dual shock my pinkies always fall asleep-The problem has been resolved. And though its wired the cable has more than adequate length. The only thing I miss is turning on The PS3 with my home button. You can't beat it for $20...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PS3 Controller
serves the purpose
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/12
jetzflyhigh319
Location: brooklyn
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the remote works great. for the price. the only problem iv had in the 4 weeks that iv owned it is the leather on the handles starts to peel but for 20 bucks you cant go wrong.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS3 Controller
Anything> THIS THING
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
Jabudhii
Location: SC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
L2 and R2 buttons at a 45° angle, the LEDs are terrible. The controller is made from cheap plastic. The home button is glued on there ( the piece fell off after a month or so). I deem this the worst PS3 controller available.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PS3 Controller
Glass Fall Ps3 Controller
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/12
jeffersonwarhawk
Location: Hawaii
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Problem Glass weak easy break and problem button stuck other black DUALSHOCK 3 strong Good great $59.99
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PS3 Controller
Has it's ups and downs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
kbslam14
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For an $25 controller, it is not bad. i like the slick design, besides the L2 & R2 buttons. not to good if the game involves those two alot like call of duty. it is really hard to use. the wired part of the controller doesnt make a difference that much. but the placement of those two buttons parallel to the top ones would make it an excellant controller. i play ps3 day to day and it fustrates me when i die. but other that that it is good. below is what i recommend.
~kbslam psn id
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 15 for PS3 Controller
its......a last chose for a backup
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/12
kolrick
Location: Chicago, il
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the controller is not the best for any one it brakes FAST my it now just the handle is broken the button get loose and stop working it would be my last chose even for a back up .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 16 for PS3 Controller
Save up for a DualShock 3.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
HudsonVT
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This was the first controller I was able to buy for my PS3. I initially liked the clear, somewhat-lightweight design, but the buttons were aesthetically lacking (read: everything looks crooked except the GameStop logo on the faceplate), and the triggers are awkwardly pointed inward at 45 degree angles. Granted, that wasn't a problem for me the same way that it would be a -major- problem for COD players or fans of any other console shooter, but the triggers also have really awful, low-quality springs that you can see through the controller itself. The other buttons seemed sluggish, but solid. The bumpers were the primary offenders beyond the trigger buttons, but I had no noticeable issues with the analog sticks or D-pad.
After about 10 hours of use spaced out over a couple of days, the right trigger (R2) completely locked inward. By comparison, my GameStop-brand wired Xbox 360 controller (purchased in 2009) lasted me about 8 months of continuous play, and I'd usually log anywhere from 2-6 hours a day of playtime. Even then, its functionality had only ceased due to a wire shortage...not a broken button.
This could very well be the worst peripheral GameStop has directly attached their name to in the past decade, and it frustrates me that a company who has generally provided solid third-party peripheral solutions in the past has had such a dip in quality with this product.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Prodigious1
NC
 
Please wait while more information about Prodigious1 is loaded.
Additional information about Prodigious1 could not be loaded.
NYKO Raven
Posted 1/12/12
I am updating my previous review to include a great alternative for a cheap PS3 controller. I recently found and purchased a NYKO Raven controller for a comparable price to this controller. It's wireless and rechargeable. It's not perfect and not a DualShock3 either, but it's probably a better alternative. I checked this site at http://www.gamestop.com/ps3/accessories/ps3-raven-wireless-controller/78240 and it's currently not available, but it can be found online elsewhere. I personally prefer buying items in-store, but I'm glad I found and bought that controller online.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for PS3 Controller
It's not a good controller...Any alternatives???
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/11
Prodigious1
Location: NC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this controller a while back so I could play co-op games with my brother, which is the aspect of gaming that appeals most to me. I had it for about a year and never liked it. Performance in-game wasn't too bad, but aiming with the right analog stick in shooters like Army of Two: The 40th Day and Borderlands was definitely not as smooth as with the DualShock3 that came with the system. Also, I never liked the feel of the controller in my hand. It seemed too narrow and brought my hands too close together. The buttons were small and the triggers were offset, so design gets really low marks from me. Maybe the design is good for a kid's smaller hands, but that would be a major problem given the next problem I have with it: the durability. My brother and I are not the type of players who abuse controllers, so I was disappointed with the rate this controller fell apart. All the buttons got sticky within about 6 months. The spring back in the L2 button actually stopped working and we had to pop the button off and operate the arm inside the controller manually via a twist tie. Also, using fairly reasonable grip pressure, the controller seemed to always have new hair-line cracks in the plastic. The cracking eventually led to the controller literally breaking open my brothers hand while he was playing. We taped it back together and did so again every time a new break occurred. Eventually the handles were terribly out of form and we had to trash the thing.
Now on to the worst aspect of the controller: I have to recommend it by default because there aren't any viable alternates short of the DualShock3 for $20+ more dollars. Ideally I'd like a more durable and wireless controller for $20 - $30 but that's not going to happen. Other cheaper controllers will likely have similar durability issues and the wireless ones are total battery hogs. On a positive note, this controller seems slightly better than the knock-offs from the DualShock2 era. When I go in to replace the one I just trashed, I can either shell out the money for a DualShock3, or get another one of these and hope to get more than a year out of it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PS3 Controller
Suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/11
minuteman6
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I saw this controller, I thought " Man, this is awesome." It was, for about 30 minuets. After figuring out where I put the USB (About 29 of the 30 minuets), I was going to COD online. That's when I noticed the triggers. When I got on, the R3 button didn't work. So, I got shot multiple times, and crushed the fricken thing.It might seem unrealistic, but its true.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PS3 Controller
its okay but is hard to shoot with
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/11
momo1234
Location: CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this and well lets say i didnt like it at first but then i got used to is so its a matter of time
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 20 for PS3 Controller
Only get if you are very desperate
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/11
noizl
Location: Kalispell MT
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
it was horiball the trigars are missplaced do not get
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>