GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Samba De Amigo

The samba-inspired rhythm music game made popular in the arcades is shaking its way onto Wii! Keeping the beat with over 40 songs on a Samba-inspired sound track, players shake the Wii Remote and Nunchuk like maracas and compete with friends to see who has the best moves. Throughout the dynamic songs there will be opportunities to strike a pose for extra points. Friends and family will be thoroughly entertained cheering each other on as they anxiously await their next turn.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 989%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samba De Amigo
Review 1 for Samba De Amigo
Great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/11
nintendega
Location: columbus, oh
I personally love this game. i loved it on the Dreamcast and i love the wii version even more. The music is great it features a wide variety of latin music from old latin folk songs to more modern songs like la bamba and even songs that aren't necicarrily latin like are you gonna be my girl by jet. and if you have Wi-Fi you can download from 3 three diferent track packs for wii points.The graphics are very vast and colorful and make you happy as your playing. As far as controlls there kinda simple you just move the wiimote and nunchuck like marachas to the rythem of the song. There is some lag time sometimes but not that much you just have to be directly in front of the sensor bar and by the way this isn't a "sitting-down" type of game you have to be on your feet. I would suggest this game to people who are really looking for a game that utilizes the wiis capabilitys and people who like music and love to dance. overall amazing game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Samba De Amigo
Don't waste your money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/08
tscharron
This game has a great concept, however, there are some major flaws. The idea of hitting marks at a specified time is not new but the way to do that in this game, with maracas, is fresh. The ability to either use the nunchuck with the remote or go wireless and use two remotes is fantastic and other game developers should take note. The responsiveness of the game is where the problem lies. About one quarter of the "hits" are not recorded because the remote appears to not be sensed. It happens with both left and right hands and with player one and player two. Thought at first the remotes might need new batteries, so checked them and then replaced them anyway since they were half strength, no help. Then I thought that the sensor bar might not be picking up the remotes so we changed positions and got directly in front of the TV and stood the specified 3 to 10 feet from the TV (tried several distances) and that didn't work either. After reading reviews on other websites, I did find that others are having the same problems. I guess I should have done more research before purchasing. The graphics are simple but well done. The interface is pretty straightforward. Overall great concept but poor execution.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samba De Amigo
Samba de Amigo!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/11
grady
Location: mobile, alabama
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Great remake of the Sega Dreamcast game,and my only problem is the controls The controls didn't always read me and that caused me to mess up alot, and once you think you have mastered this game you will still have control errors. I had a great time playing with my sister, who is alot better than me at this game,and this a great party game. I really recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samba De Amigo
Shake It {or at least try to}
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/08
Sack Boy!!!!!!
When I picked up Samba de amigo I knew it would be good and it turns out it was. From good vivid graphics to an excellent song list this game was to good to be true. But of coarse there always are flaws in video games and there's no exception when it comes to samba de amigo. My only major complaint with the game is that sometimes on hard the maraca indicators will not keep up with your movements and it's not the controllers or the sensor bar it's the game. But fortunately on medium and easy it works fine. My opinion is to go to training and practice on hard. Overall this is a good game for casual gamers and despite the controls it's kinda worth the *edit* but if you are a hardcore gamer you may not like the way the game controls on the harder difficulties.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Samba De Amigo
Samba de Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/08
gules222
Samba de Amigo is a game about a Monkey wearing a sombrero who plays the maracas. Where do they come up with this stuff? A great successor to one of SEGA's amazing games on the Dreamcast, Samba de Amigo Wii is loads of fun to play. The game itself has a few flaws. The motion controls work pretty well, but if you have played the Dreamcast Version, it will not be easy to adapt to the new style of controls. New players will have loads of fun, however. The controls on the Wii Mote work efficiently better than the Nunchuks, so most of your screw-ups will usually be on the left side. To enhance controls, I HIGHLY recommend the Maraca attachments. They add to the experience as well as help with the controls. The game has a wide variety of songs, but still keeps its Mexican-Style feel. There are hardcore Mexican Songs such as Samba de Janeiro. Even though you might not understand the words, you will be dancing around like a maniac. Then there are more popular songs such as Pon de Replay and Mambo No. 5 which will be really distracting because you will just want to dance to them. There are also themes from movies, such as the Rocky Theme and the Austin Powers Theme which are really exciting to play as well. Some songs, although, such as Livin La Vida Loca focus more on dancing than hitting the notes. There are 6 options from the main menu, Career, Single Player, Multiplayer, Training, Wifi, and Options. In Career, you play through all the songs in the game. There are 4 difficulties, Easy, Normal, Hard, and Super hard. Each has different songs and different characters. In Single Player, you can play different modes such as Quick Play, Love Love, Classic, Survival, and Battle. Multiplayer is basically Single Player but with two people. In training, you learn the basics of Samba from your own personal tutor. In Options, you can change the sound of your maraca and dancing. Finally, in Wifi, although there is no online play, there are Rankings. There is also something call Pay & Play which is DLC. Samba is the first retail game to feature this on the Wii. The DLC are true downloads and save to the Wii Flash Drive. The songs come in packs of 3 and cost 500 Wii Points. Overall, Samba de Amigo is an amazing and fun game. If you are a fan of fun games, get it. If you are a fan of music games, get it. If you are a fan of party games, get it. This should definitely be on the lost of games a Wii Owner should buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samba De Amigo
Looking forward to this one.
Posted on:9/22/08
Pikmaniak
I haven't been much of a Sega fan, and would normally be disappointed with most of their games, but I can make an exception for Amigo. In fact, I think I'm more excited about Samba, than I am about City Folk! And, I love Animal Crossing! Anyway, I think Samba De Amigo will be putting a smile on many faces, including my own. I've even decided to design a Halloween costume, of Amigo! I must be insane, or maybe just excited about being able to grab the new Maraca accessories and slap em' onto my Wii-motes. (Good thing I have 2!) This is definitely one game I wasn't originally looking to buy, but thanks to videos of gameplay, and an awesome track list, I just can't refuse!
Review 7 for Samba De Amigo
Samba de Amigo Wii
Posted on:11/22/07
the wii master
whats wrong with gamestop the allways have the wrong screenshots. this game is about a monkey dancing or something. its a sega game. here let ign tell u. A Wii update to the classic Dreamcast and arcade music and rhythm game. Playing as the grinning, sombrero-topped monkey, Amigo, players shake the Wii Remote and Nunchuk like maracas, in time with the visual beats of the music on-screen. Samba De Amigo is packed with lively stages and a host of colorful characters.
Review 8 for Samba De Amigo
A classic to the Wii
Posted on:8/19/08
Lilrockerdude
Like everyone has said this a Dreamcast remake that is sure to be a bigger hit than it was before. It's very basic shake the remote and nunchuk to control Amigo (the monkey) and keep the beat as you play some very awesome tracks. It will be a must buy for any fan of guitar hero and rock band.And as a side note here don't compare or even say that this game was based or anything like guitar hero or rock band because Samba was out years before these two games!
Review 9 for Samba De Amigo
SO MUCH FUN!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/12
Anonymous
Location: henderson, NV
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I love this game! its like dance dance revolution for your arms! its a great party game and the music is fun and very upbeat! its hard not to laugh while playing this game especially when u see the very cute and vibrantly colored graphics!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Samba De Amigo
What the game is?
Posted on:1/29/08
A Customer
Samba de Amigo was a rythm game from the Dreamcast. The game used two maraca controlers which you shakes to the beat of the music. This is not Boogie it is a Dreamcast classic with fun music and addictive game play. Check it out
Review 11 for Samba De Amigo
awesome music ~ easy to play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/11
JENNYMOMOF3
Location: 02907
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
my kids are 6/7/8 and they recieved the Wii this past Christmas along with this game.....this is by far thier favorite game. Super easy to play. It's shaking maracas...who doesn't love maracas?????
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Samba De Amigo
uhhhhhhhh
Posted on:9/22/07
A Customer
This game is such a copy of hoyle casino 5 for the pc. they both have the same screen shots and every thing. If this game is anythin like hoyle casinos i will definetly not be gettin it.
Review 13 for Samba De Amigo
amazing for anybody
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
fflash57
Location: chesterton, indiana
this game is so cool awsome music it is a good workout but so awsome i rented this game from my library so far i have had som much funm with it i reccomend it tottaly
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Samba De Amigo
Samba De Amigo Review
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/11
PS2Gamer1
Location: plymouth, ma
I think this game is great and its fun for everyone party gamers or hardcore.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10