GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

F.E.A.R. 3

Alma returns in F.E.A.R. 3 but this time her sons Point Man and Paxton Fettel introduce divergent co-op, giving players distinctly different abilities affecting their own play as well as the experience of their co-op partner. Gamers participate in single player or co-op modes as Point Man, a genetically enhanced super soldier originally introduced in F.E.A.R., or they can play cooperatively as his conniving brother Paxton Fettel, whose incredible telekinetic power has given him life beyond the grave. The game is developed by Day 1 Studios, developer of the original F.E.A.R. console games in collaboration with Monolith Studios.
Average Customer Rating:
8.469
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
19
8 stars
9
7 stars
7
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
56 out of 6488%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for F.E.A.R. 3
Review 1 for F.E.A.R. 3
Great but not the best.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/11
Genjio23
Location: Claxton, Ga
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Fear 3 was an overall nice game. The graphics were indeed slightly dated but that is an easy thing to overcome depending on how you rate a game. This review will contain spoilers from Fear1-3 so if you do not wish for certain aspects of the game to be revealed then skip the story section of the review.
Story: For those confused why Paxton Fettel is working with Pointman is the fact he wants their family to be complete again. He does not hate his brother even though *spoiler from Fear 1* Pointman put a bullet in his head. Pointman has conflicted emotions through the game although he does not talk the can be conveyed through scenes and generally facial expressions (what few he makes lol). Another mistake this game made was the fact Alma is dying. Alma a woman so powerful it even remarks in the second fear that her influence can affect an entire conteneint (Only one city ingame it seems). You go through all 3 games waiting for the ultimate showdown of good and evil and get a very subpar ending in the third. The grading system while playing co-op was a total blindsight. While playing with my friend not once did we believe the points would decide the outcome of the game, so we shared all corpe bonuses and rotated on Alma dolls. If we had known it was suppose to be a competition we would have all out abandoned each other ingame and tried to rack up the most points. The AI in this game is also fairly down graded from the one in Fear 2. Beckett being another problem i had with this game, he spent the whole second game rocking everyone and survives 9 months in almas company (Gone basically insane) and he gets killed by paxton? I could have accepted this if you were able to fight Beckett first. You know? Pointman vs Beckett to see some true FPS action going on. But instead Beckett is posses by Paxton and blown up upon paxton leaving him. This was very poorly executed. The final confrontation with Alma is also a big disappointment. Not only are you graded to see who wins but there is no fight. The gave soul king in multiplayer the powers of Paxton basically so why not have an epic 1v1 fight Pointman vs Paxton in an all fight to see how winds up beside Alma in end. Then comes the birth of the child, you could go with that the child absorbed all of alma's power (long stretch though). In Pointman's ending he takes the child and Alma sheds tears as she fades away. This ending while not satisfying is good enough, could have been better. So it could be said that Pointman will raise the child as his own and teach it to be good i suppose. Paxton's ending is very lame. Takes the baby then eats alma to gain her power. There could have been alot of changes made to this game but as it stands the story was good enough.
Gamplay: As stated by others the regenerating health bar makes the game too easy when combined with Reflex. You can stay in reflex a max of 2 minutes gunning everything in a 360 down before it runs out. Paxton is severely weaker than pointman in the game. If the player cant possese someone their score will decline greatly. In the end my friend playing paxton had the highier score due to me having to actually stand back and wait for him to get a body and kill 2-3 targets before entering combat. With Slow-mo an enitre room can be taken out with ease. The multiplayer is fun except for soul survivor and you know the other. Contractions and Soul King are funnier than most FPS multiplayers.
Graphics/Sound: Graphics were degraded, the graphics look like they cam about some time between Fear 1 and Fear 2. The sound was done nicely. As far as the scare tactics go there were 1 or 2 that were even notable as appose to the first and second game.
All in all it is worth buying and playing a few times. The multiplayer has potential if they add more maps and potentially new modes and maps.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for F.E.A.R. 3
Can't Wait
Posted on:4/3/11
Genjio23
Location: Claxton, Ga
I enjoyed FEAR 1&2+ Reborn greatly. I hope FEAR 3 will pull a Mass Effect and the sequel utterly out matches the other installments. I enjoy each game FEAR 1 had better scare tactics while FEAR 2 had a more sophisticated AI in combat (for the most part >_>). But all in all I can't wait for this game to come out. And to use The Hammer on some enemies :P
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for F.E.A.R. 3
Beast.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
krazieman75
Location: New Jersey, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
best game ever better than the other F.E.A.R. games.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Im the best
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for F.E.A.R. 3
Co-op is underused by game companies
Posted on:6/14/11
ThePunisher
Location: Cary, NC
I love that this game will have co-op. I have a friend in a wheelchair and sometimes I'll go to his house to chill and we like to play Xbox but there aren't many games we can buy one copy of and play together. I think the co-op looks amazing in this game. Its nice to play on Xbox live but the experience isn't nearly as good, when you are sitting right next to your best bud and it's you two verse the world. A good co-op experience with a close friend tops 9.9/10 of the experiences you can have on Xbox live. Not enough games utilize the possibility of co-op in games. Two thumbs up to the makers of Fear 3. It looks amazing and I'm so happy a mainstream game is going to include co-op in its game.
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for F.E.A.R. 3
You WANT Scary - Don't use the Flashlight!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/12
JohhnyUndead
Location: Ex-Military Utah & NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've played the game enough to know that it's a fun game, well worth $20.00 easy. But then again I've only played through 5 levels. If your looking for a horror game, this is probably the best one on the market, believe me....I've been looking for one for a long time. I guess this generation of Scary is based upon let's say Sci-Fi "Jason X" for example...yeah he's bad & looks cool, nobodies gonna mess with him type of scary. I want Scary as in Wes Craven or Stephen King Scary, a real thriller. I wish I could create a truely amazing Experience with my own game & technology. I got off topic there, But the point is If you are wanting a scary experience, that game has not come out yet...so do what you can to spice up the "scariest Game out there" by either Adjusting the screens brightness - darkness level & sound, & just try to be in the game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for F.E.A.R. 3
Unfortunate
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/11
Quakerterian
Location: Indianapolis, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved the first game and the second game was fun, but this one just upset me. You can't just make nonstop action that is unnecessarily difficult and then go 15 min. of shaky pipes and shadows jumping (sounds better than it is). Nothing came to fruition and i just ended up getting bored halfway through the game. The graphics were good, but that can't sell a game anymore. I guess I'm a bite of a snob when it comes to games but I had it for a month and just didn’t want to play it ever. Just rather wait for another expansion pack for COD Black ops.
Multiplayer was a huge let down since you can only play with 3 other people. I prefer to play with a big group of people I don’t know, broaden my horizons, and this just forces to get to know every kid with a microphone that thinks he can yell whatever he wants. None of my friends bought the game so I didn’t play the coop which i guess could have been a saving grace but like i said before, I just didn’t care.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for F.E.A.R. 3
Not disappointing at all
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/11
FEARFOREVER
Location: Middle of Nowhere
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Release was pushed back so many times that I thought about not buying it. I was really worried the delayed release was just a sign the game was terrible. I was wrong. I was not disappointed at all. Interval 09 needed some work. The ending was cheezy, anti-climactic, and not really the epic ending you would expect after working through a game like this (but this seems to be the usual ending to the games in this franchise). I guess the FEAR is in the battles and gettting to the end. I have no complaints about getting there. Each Interval was original, surprising, and fun. The AI is all over you. The music is perfect. I couldnt ask for anything more from the graphics. There is a lot of talk about the first two being scary - - I never agreed with that. But I had to turn the lights on while playing parts of two different intervals with this one. That's saying a lot. I would (and have) suggested this game to others. I highly recommend it now. I cant believe it hasn't crossed the 9.5 rating mark yet. It will. 'Til then I'm patiently waiting for F.E.A.R. 4!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for F.E.A.R. 3
A fitting climax but is the game itself ?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/12
justchilin94
Location: centre, AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Day 1 did a goodjob of handling the shooting mechanics and the level design. Im sure Monolith was proud. Great music, levels, ending, coop, and gore. Yet the game itself is quite short unlike the other 2 and takes away illusions that the other games had and replaces it with shadows on the wall. The shooting and combat is just as good as the other games but with 20 ranks and great story room I dont understand the shortnest as a F.E.A.R. fan that was dissapionting. Coop was great and I love that part im sure we'll see another game nothing ends in 3 anymore I just hope they go with a longer campaign. As a F.E.A.R. game its great but to be the end of a terrifying story that (trys to scare you in a paranormal story just without using paranormal events like that makes any sense i miss the flying chairs and tables of the other 2) its a letdown except for the final mission which makes up for the shortness by giving us a F.E.A.R. kinda ending.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for F.E.A.R. 3
Everything I hoped it would be
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
Rylian
Location: Port Townsend, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is thoroughly creepy. Creepy enough to make me have to put the controller down after half an hour of play just so I can relax my hands from their iron grip on the controller. It is, at times, brown-trousers scary. More than once, I'm staring at the door I know I need to go through to progress and I'm thinking to myself "I really don't want to go through that door. No, I REALLY don't want to go through that door."
It's gory and dark, and the team really did a masterful job of creating the ultimate horror game. The atmosphere and ambiance, they just nailed it perfectly to ratchet up the tension. The music by turns complements the eerie, frightening environment and the action-packed, run-and-gun combat sequences so well that they set the mood in ways which only some of the best movie scores have done.
Seriously, don't play this at home alone in the dark. You'll be jumping at every sound during your long, sleepless night in bed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for F.E.A.R. 3
This Game Looks Sick!!!!
Posted on:6/20/11
HorrificExperiment
I am a huge FEAR fan and I am really excited that it's finally being released tomorrow. I have been reading a lot of message boards and seeing a lot of hate towards this game...and comparing it to COD and Battlefield. First off this is a horror franchise not a War Franchise. If you want the same old spawn killing camping teamdeath match play Black Ops or Modern Warfare...but this franchise is for the horror fans which I think this genre lacks games in the console world. But I think this will be a great change bringing split screen back and co op into this game instead of the monotonous teamdeath match modes. I hope the campaign is as fun as the multi player looks. As an avid horror fan this game looks like it will be money worth spent.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for F.E.A.R. 3
i thought oct 30 comes out
Posted on:8/18/10
cubsmike
i really thought oct 30 it would come out since its close to halloween and all disappointed to wait longer
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for F.E.A.R. 3
Perfect. In each and every single way possible.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/11
Denimatron
Location: Champaign, Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
F3AR...Where to start, where to start....oh yes! Alright, as hard core fans of the FEAR series may recall, Paxton Fettell was killed by his brother, Pointman (You), in the first game (Obviously FEAR First Encounter Assault Recon) and had the revelations that you were...her son. In FEAR 2, if you recall, You plkayed the role of Seargeant Beckett-the man who took on the world, and came out a shell of his formerself....well...when she...(Word omitted) you, she got pregnant (of course) and has been forseen to have been having a third demon spawn. Of course, this means bad news for the universe, or does it? Find out in the thrilling adventure, F3AR. I personally loved this game so much...I just cant find words to describe how good this was! The graphics were very realistic, and adding the co-op gained major points in my gaming experience (Even though It's only been out for a few hours) and I would recommend this to any of my friends, and anyone in general who wanted a fun game while at the same time a horror game. Get this. You Will NEVER regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for F.E.A.R. 3
F.3.A.R
Posted on:6/20/11
spyro2719
I can honestly say that in two days the final chapter (maybe) of the F.E.A.R franchise is coming to a close. I was skeptical last year when it was previewed at E3, the whole Paxton Fettle as a player thing kind of brought me out of the mood for this game. I'm used to playing as Pointman/Beckett from F.E.A.R, the expansions and 2, FPS is what these games should be, but I am willing to go back and play the game levels as Paxton. I love the story arc and the way they have led this game to be as of F.E.A.R 2: Reborn DLC off of the XBLA. I'm finally glad to see, on the other hand, that the brothers are finally giving their mother her what's what's. Can't Wait for this game highly recommend to anyone who is a fan to the horror genre to play all these games not for the multiplayer but for the story line, it's what made F.E.A.R a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for F.E.A.R. 3
PUMPED UP!!!!!
Posted on:7/17/10
R0GUETR00PR
I have gotten every fear game on its release date sense the first game!!! Every time I have played it I jumped, yelled ran, etc... I own all of them FEAR FEAR Files and FEAR 2! I am looking forward to another game by Monolith. My only worry is that the Co-op will take away some of that horror, do to the fact that there is some one else there to go around the corrnor or engage the horror from the ceiling! Thats one of the biggest reason why this game is so scarry your alone! Regardless I am sure this is going to be a insanely scarry, fun and epic game!!!!!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BLiSSanator
On The Road
 
Please wait while more information about BLiSSanator is loaded.
Additional information about BLiSSanator could not be loaded.
Please make a good Multiplayer
Posted 1/16/11
I played for one of the best teams in the ranked F.E.A.R.2 community and from the beginning completely fell in love with the magic of its multiplayer. The downfall started once less people got on. I will buy this game and play it till the end of days if it just works on its Multiplayer...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for F.E.A.R. 3
Great Game, Better Co-Op!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/11
Ghoul1979
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has a great campaign which is enhanced by allowing you to go through it with a friend. That is only the beginning because all the game modes in are available in single player or competitive or cooperative multiplier!!! And there are some GREAT game modes. For fans of ZOMBIES, there is a survival type that is very similar. It is the only survival mode in a game I would say that is as fun as zombies!!! This is a shooter that has great shooting mechanics and perfectly natural physics. No clunky slow feel. You have a profound sense of power at the controls. It plays the way you want it to play. I play cod, battlefield, l4d and other great shooters and this one is on the top of the pile for me. IF YOU LIKE COOP THIS IS A MUST BUY. I love coop and this game will give me and my friends - and hopefully you - long hours of challenging gameplay.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for F.E.A.R. 3
OMG, OMG, OMG!!!
Posted on:3/25/11
Merkie
Location: Whitefish Bay, WI
I have both F.E.A.R 1&2 for 360. I absolutely LOVE games that scare the sox's off me, make me want to sleep with the night light on and in general, really make me think, to strategize to get through the game with minimal use of a walkthrough. I started playing 1 and had to turn the sound down, all I listened to was my shoes hitting the pavement. Some of the cut scenes were scary but I lost interest along with the same old same old cut and paste graphics. I dug out another great scary game Fatal Frame (a great xbox game if you are looking for something until F3 comes out), and then finished Alan Wake. After reading all the reviews on this site (and a few other sites) I have decided to start F.E.A.R 1 again from the beginning, finish that game and dive right into F.E.A.R. 2. If I am going to lay down what I consider to be major "cake" ($59.00) for F.E.A.R 3 in this economy I want to make sure I am getting my monies worth and then some. It looks like I won't be disappointed. I appreciate the honest reviews I always get from this site for any game I am considering for purchase and look forward to getting a great game to add to my collection.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Fatal Frame II: Crimson Butterfly
10 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for F.E.A.R. 3
Awesome game for shooter fans
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/11
o0smil3y0o
Location: texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
F.E.A.R. 3 does not do much to change the shooter genre (with exception to fettel) but what it does do, it does extremely well and i had loads of fun with this game. the gameplay and controls are rock solid and it's packed with action. you will have a blast playing through the campaign. i had an even more fun time playing with a friend because the co-op is very unique. although it is not that scary, the game does a good job of delivering a creepy atmosphere through good visual style and even better sound design. the game's multiplayer is not for everyone but it has very innovative modes and ideas. there is no team death match or capture the flag, but it does a good job at capturing the essence of F.E.A.R. which is an achievement in its self. it will not last as long as games like call of duty, but it is very very very fun in my opinion. also there is an awesome point system that use in all modes, which at times can take away from the atmosphere at times because it feels a little arcade like, but it does make it that much more fun. all in all this is a great game that i would recommend to anyone that loves shooters, and is a nice change up to the franchise.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for F.E.A.R. 3
Oh yeah!
Posted on:12/25/10
yazzledazzle
Location: Attica, IN
Oh man, I played the first two and I would have the lights out and surround sound on. Holy cow, sounds buzzing all around... sweeeet! This is a very good story line as well. Can't wait to get my hands on #3!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for F.E.A.R. 3
Ugh. What happend here?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/11
CGold
Location: Berwick, ME
The first two F.E.A.R. games are excellent experiments in mixing horror and action in one barrel and seeing what comes out. The first game had great mechanics but I felt that while it was very atmospheric, it wasn't all that scary (save for a few moments here and there). Still, it was quite and interesting ride. The second game, Project Origin, had inferior gameplay than the first but was a better overall game due to the scares that were riddled all throughout the game and a plot that kept on escalating at a neat pace. And a VERY bizarre ending that usually leaves most players with the feeling of wanting to have a shower afterwards. The newest game, F.E.A.R. 3 or F.E.3.R. if you want to be silly, has neither of these. Sadly. The "story" here, written by 30 Days of Night creator Steve Niles, picks up sometime after a few months after the original in which Point Man, the main protagonist of the first game and now sporting the looks of the homeless and a Nord, being reunited with his ghostly brother Paxton Fettel. It seems now Alma is pregnant and now it seems that her new spawn might just bring about the end of the world and stuff. Can the brothers get there in time to see the birth and on top of that, will Point Man stop the birth from happening? One of the immediate problems with the story is that it's so sparse. Outside of a few cutscenes here and there, there's no real excuse to go on. On top of that, one of the side characters from the first game, Jun, returns but seems to have been replaced with someone else, seeing how she now has the personality of a flower in comparison to her stoicness in the first one. The aforementioned cutscenes are really nice to look at, however. Another strike about the game is this: Outside of a weird moment involving a shopping mall, THERE IS NO SCARES. ON A FRANCHISE THAT HAS BULIT IT SELF ON MIXING BOTH ACTION AND HORROR, YOU ADD TOO MUCH ACTION AND FORGET TO PUT IN THE HORROR AND ATMOSPHERE. IS THERE SOMETHING WRONG WITH YOU?! Oh well, the gameplay it self can make for that right? Not the case here. Sure, the Co-Op is fun and the shooting feels good but it all ends up feeling lackluster and too much like other shooters these days. The first two games differentiated themselves by letting you carry up to the 3 weapons, had armor and health meters, let you make cover, carry the guns you had from the beginning and let you find things that could help make the signature Slow-mo of the series and your health increase. Here, there is regenerating health, there is a two weapon limit, you end up loosing all of the weapons you gained in the previous level, upgrades to your health and slow-mo is now done via a "point" system, judging how well you did in a level and there is now a sticky cover system, similar to the last two Killzone games. Outside of the cover system, I felt these changes were a dumb idea and it made the title feel generic. The AI here is actually REALLY good here, however. They take cover and flush you out with grenades or swarm you and hose you down with bullets. Also, the mech battles are are really impressive both in terms of challenge and spectacle. And playing as Fettel can be fun, what with mixing up the gameplay and being allowed to smush people to a bloody pulp. I was also frustrated with the fact that the game uses the whole "Online Pass" stuff that I hate, due to the fact I do NOT have Xbox Live and cannot access some of the more fun multiplayer modes. The graphics on display here aren't really all that impressive, in comparison to the muddy, creepy wreckage of Project Origin. Sound is okay here, save for one bit when it gets awesome with the useage of Danzig's Mother that plays at the end credits. If you want a good shooter, go get Crysis 2, If you want a good horror action game, get Dead Space 2. Just avoid this and hopefully we'll get a F.E.A.R. 4 or something along those lines that retcons this to oblivion.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nexus
Connecticut
 
Please wait while more information about Nexus is loaded.
Additional information about Nexus could not be loaded.
Posted 4/21/12
I've recently said this in response to someone else's review. They put all of the "scare" into Patell's character. Since he's dead, he sees the random Alma appearances, the shadows creeping by, the feint images appearing and disappearing out of nowhere. I don't know why they decided to do this solely on one of the characters, but I assure you that creepy feeling is still there. They just force you to play co-op to see it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for F.E.A.R. 3
Great Gameplay.. very short :(
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/11
Anonymous
Location: Little Rock, AR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My girlfriend and I bought this game because it looked cool (and it was on sale for 39.99). The gameplay is great and very fun, especially on split screen co-op. The shooting is very smooth and graphics are quite good. The story line was good and kept you intrigued. I guess the only problem with it is that we in beat it in two nights (about 7-10 hours total). It seems that there could be an alternate ending, depending on how you "progress" through each level. Bottom line.. if you're looking for a good story line shooter, and you don't mind a quick run, then this game is for you. If you are looking for a lasting or high replay value game, it's not. I never played the game online..
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>