GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PS3 Intercooler Slim

Keep your PlayStation 3 console running at optimal environmental conditions with the Intercooler slim. The Intercooler slim provides increased air flow away from the PS3 which allows the console to perform in a cooler, better ventilated environment ideal for cramped entrainment centers. No internal modification of the PlayStation 3 is required. The Intercooler's unique variable fan speed allows you to easily raise or lower the fan speed whether you're watching the latest BluRay release, or playing the most graphic intensive game. The Intercooler slim is powered by Nyko's patent pending power pass-through technology, requiring no batteries or USB cables to the console, allowing for a clean and easy installation. The design of the Intercooler slim blends seamless with the design of the PlayStation 3 console, and works in both the horizontal and vertical position. Please note: The Intecooler Slim is designed for use with the new slim PlayStation 3. It is not compatible with the original PlayStation 3 console
Average Customer Rating:
5.18
5.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
7
8 stars
5
7 stars
4
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
12
24 out of 5048%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Review 1 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Cool design but made cheap
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/14
Neff91
Location: California
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It broke after like a month because one of the clamps got stuck and jammed it sucks and i would never buy it again
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Great Product
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
DragonSlayerOfSovengarde
Location: Sovengarde
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i play my PS3 for up to 18 hrs a day on the weekends and it used to get really hot. So, i bought this fan and it works FLAWLESSLY. The only problem is that it can get a little loud on high, but not loud enough to interrupt gaming. It has a nice sleek design that looks like it came on the system. This is a great product and if you play your PS3 a lot, and it gets hot, this is for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Pure and utter garbage
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/12
h1r0ll3r
Location: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the worst accessory you can get for the PS3. I ordered one of these thinking it would be useful in keeping my PS3 cool on those marathon gaming binges. It worked however the durability of this is truly pathetic. The first one broke after 2 weeks. I contacted Nyko and they sent me a replacement unit. That one lasted another 2 weeks before dying. I contacted Nyko again and they sent another unit. THAT ONE lasted another 2 weeks before dying. The ball bearings on the fans must be super low quality and the fans on each unit either died or kept making loud grinding noises. Ultimately, I gave up on this item and picked another cooler which works great. I'd stay away from this and even turn it down if someone offers it to you for free.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
it worked for it bit then brokedown
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/12
Rawstern82
Location: South Dakota
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
after about 2 months the fans started buzzing and squealing. in the following week two fans burned out leaving only one working properly. not really worth $20. I would not purchase this item again ever.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 5 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Noisy at first
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/12
Ehwassmyman1
Location: Phoenix AZ
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought it a year ago, it did make that annoying hi picthed whining sound once it warmed up it ran fine. After a couple months use took it off and blew the dust out it, noise went away. My only major complaint is that the manufacturer should have recalled it to fix the cause of the noise problem. Overall the cooler gets the job done.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Will ruin your system
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
marvinthemartian
Location: columbus, ohio
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you have a good decent working system that doesn't have problems, then don't get this. i got it just because I played a lot. 8 to 16 hours a day depending on the day. So, I thought that this might help save wear and tear on it. Wrong..... 3 weeks after getting this, my laser eye goes out. So, I had to spend 50 on a new deck. % weeks after that, the new deck dies out with the same problem. So, I quit using the inter-cooler and replaced the deck once again. 1 year now and nothing has gone wrong at all. SO, I say again... If your systems' fan is not working correctly, or you're just a glutton for punishment and have money to waste, then go ahead and waste your money. if not, then don't bother with this thing.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SPOON13
 
Please wait while more information about SPOON13 is loaded.
Additional information about SPOON13 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/19/12
Why blame this product for the abuse your system had before & it's inevitable failure? Your system was already under extreme usage, as you said, so it was bound to fail regardless of you having this intercooler or not.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Worked good for a while.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/12
dead430955
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It worked good for a while until it just completely stopped working. The fan started to make an insanely loud noise and it just quit within a week of use.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Don't like
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/12
arquitt2007
Location: spokane valley, wa
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I thought this would help with over heating but instead it seems to make it worse, I just played online for about two hours and my ps3 is so hot that i had to shut it down and unplug it. Wouldn't recomend it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Perfect Cool low heat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/12
jeffersonwarhawk
Location: Hawaii
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Love Perfect Cool low heat save live ps3 will never cool easy break need add cool good ps3 cool feel great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Expensive Noisemaker.....
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
ChefSauron
Location: Fayetteville, NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought the Intercooler Slim with a brand new PS3 Slim. Worked fine from what I can tell for a while but after a few weeks it started making noises when I turned the PS3 on. Now it has gotten to the point that whenever my PS3 is on the Intercooler Slim is making this really loud constant noise. From use the plastic inside must of warped and brought the fan closer to the side. Also with the extra strain on the fans it gets super hot blowing nothing but hot air.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Great for all PS3's in a TV Stand!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/12
THEGAMER423
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
In my basement I have an entertainment center/TV stand. That is where I put my PS3. The fan at start up I admit is a little loud but after 45ish seconds it quiets down. This is for all people who have their PS3's in closed spaces. It can improve the lifetime of your PS3. I love the design of it because it hooks right on the back of my PS3 and is like and addition (on the PS3 slim) This is a great product and I can see with it more years of life to my PS3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
trouble shooting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/12
crested
Location: TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I agree with the bad review because its true it is a bad product and it does break less than a month. For everyone that bought this product will know about the loud struggling noise, its freaking annoying. The one thing that anyone can do is fix's that loud noise. Thats what i did and its back the way i first bought it. Basically, what u have to do is dismantle the inter cooler and soak the fans with WD-40. Had trouble putting it back together but to reinsert the fan panel push the black and gray cables down. Well for me, it was a good product is if u fix's that loud noise. LoL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Only because you can't put in a zero
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/12
DubGamer
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Really I thought this item helped my system to work smoothly but like in other reviews, the fan grinds against the casing after not even a month's worth of use. To make matters worse, it did the complete opposite of what it was supposed to. I sent in my PS3 twice because of this fan. The hard drive overheated each time because of this fan alone. I finally got my system back, completely repaired, and after one hour of play, it overheated and froze. I would NEVER recommend this item to anyone and I hope Gamestop takes it off their webpage to avoid any less business. Try running a fan in the room your playstation 3 is being used most, just a room fan and that should help more than this thing.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
works ok but its wake the dead loud
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/12
Deepum
Location: Pittsfield, MA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought two of these fans for myself and my brother and at first they worked w/o a problem but that did not last. It was'nt two weeks till the fans started screaming like a wild banshee everytime either one was acctivated, I mean loud enough to wake my sleeping girlfriend! The fan takes about 2 full minutes to finaly warm up and go back down to a normal operating noise level. Besides that major problem the fan does keep the temp down, I used to have to turn my system off after about 2-3 hours because of overheating/freezing but know I can keep my ps3 on all day/night without worry. But realy the start up noise kills it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
It works pretty good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
MrKing
Location: Keyport, WA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this thing can be noisy, but i don't care. if your one of those it needs to be perfectly silent people, then don't get it. the point of the fan is to cool it and of course its gonna make noise. people say it breaks cause there the ones who don't clean it. just like that other guy said spray silicone and then blow it out.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
bad buy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
tmvmichigan
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had 2 of these fans. the first one made grinding noises and the second one never shuts off unless I unplug the ps3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Lasted not even a month
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/11
FullTimeGamer
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this product because I thought it would be good to cool down my system then later I found it it actually does nothing at all!!..
And it lasted about half a month and it started making these grinding noises! I was scared because I thought it was my PS3 doing that but I found out it was the intercooler, so I took the intercooler apart checked all the wiring seemed fine checked all the fans seemed fine their seemed to be nothing wrong with it until I put it on my ps3 and turned the system on and all of sudden grinding noises!
I do not recommend this product because IT WILL BREAK on you..
I guess you have to wait tell they come out with a new intercooler one that actually works and does something and worth your money and time!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
THEGAMER423
 
Please wait while more information about THEGAMER423 is loaded.
Additional information about THEGAMER423 could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Take It back.
Posted 4/6/12
Most of the time if you have a defective copy of something you should be able to get another, or in-store credit within 30 days. (I know this works with games, not sure about accessories)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
A helpful device to reduce your ps3 from over heat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/11
Kingcool
Location: manassas,va
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The cooling system works very well as it increases fan speed when im on bluray or playing a very intense game. I don't have to worry about my ps3 getting heated and can focus solely on gaming.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
Doesn't Last For Very Long!!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/11
Reaper76
Location: Lexington, NC
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this with my PS3 system and it worked for awhile but didn't last but for a year. For a serious gamer who loves playing, this product isn't for you. However if you only play once in awhile it might be ok but you absolutely can not be a gamer and use this, we don't just play for a couple of hours and be done we play for hours upon hours, and this Nyko cooler can't handle game play like that, the one I had for my old PS3 was awesome it lasted, it seemed like forever and I expected the same for this one, and it has already stopped working the warranty ran out and 2 days after that it stopped working. I see now why the warranty is only for a year. Us gamers need a Cooling System that can handle lots of game play not just a couple of hours at a time!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PS3 Intercooler Slim
I'll tell you what helps !
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
Hugh
Location: Roseville Mi.
Age: 55-65
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is or gets kind of noisy , get some good brand silicone spray and blast down the fan port and then somehow blow them out , wipe off good and this will be silent as Hitman on a mission ! 2 speeds , I only use it on low you can feel the warm air repelling fron the inside of your system , there is nothing wrong with this lil' guy after you follow my simple instruction , ( Only Spray when needed )
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>