GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only

Return to the beloved Johto region first introduced in the Pokémon Gold and Silver Version games for the portable Game Boy system. Several new enhancements for the series, such as updated graphics and touch screen features, and enrich these timeless adventures. Both games feature detailed graphics that spotlight the unique environments and hundreds of Pokémon that players can encounter and catch. Players can even see and interact with their favorite Pokémon outside of battle, selecting one from their team to follow behind them as they travel through the Johto region.
Average Customer Rating:
9.21
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 1995%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Review 1 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
AMAZING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/12
justcallmesonic
Location: cape coral florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is an amazing remix to the pokemon gold game the graphics are just pure amazing the gameplay is great and my favorite that they made this game so big and it turned out perfect
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jamthis12
Tucson, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about jamthis12 is loaded.
Additional information about jamthis12 could not be loaded.
Posted 4/22/13
10/10!!!!!!!!!!!The post game is just as fun as the main one, you don't see that much with gen 5 and there are just so many rewards from beating red plus ho-oh is awesome
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
The game of the season.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/10
#1 fan Alyse Rawls
For all you pokemon lovers out there this is a wonderful and and exciting game for adults and kids everywhere. No matter where you go there's always an adventure you can never end or stop this game! It doesnt stop at a the adventure at a different point like "Super Mario Brother's" the fun never stops. It's a very addicting and appropriate game. It's about a trainer training and catchin pokemons from all around trying to be the altimite champ of the history of trainer's. You can also trade and battle with trainers around the world and with other DS's or DSI's. Also you can use pokedex (only available with game not sold sepretly) it's a very convenient way like if your DS or DSI is about to die you can use the pokedex go on your adventure like always, but not with your trainer only with the pokemon you choose to download you can always change the pokemon later on. Like I said this is the game of thee season for everyone!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
26 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SmashX3000
united states
 
Please wait while more information about SmashX3000 is loaded.
Additional information about SmashX3000 could not be loaded.
look's REALLY COOL!
Posted 9/19/11
pokmon heartgold look's soo cool! i want the game SOOOOO bad! the trailer looked sooo cool! if i get i want to get Ho-Oh to lvl 100! i mean it looked SOOO COOL!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/12
Rdris12
Location: Baltimore, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I can never hate on a pokemon game and this is no exception. Not only is it a remake of my favorite pokemon game of all time but rather than just a rehash with better graphics, it added some decent content without ruining the original story line. Probably my favorite function is that you are able to challenge trainers multiple times and find that their pokemon have grown stronger and sometimes have even evolved. You can even challenge gym leaders a second time! The pokewalker feature was nice but not necessary to enjoy the game, so don't feel too bad if you didn't manage to get one if you bought the game used. I used it during my first play through occasionally but honestly haven't touched it since. I can play this game again and again. With around 200 pokemon at your disposal, you can have quite a bit of variation in your team, which is always nice if you plan to play it again and again like I do. Just play it! I've bought the dang thing on three separate occasions and I regret nothing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Stunning remake of a classic game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/12
f1freaK
Location: Ithaca, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Remember back in 1999 when Pokemon was a massive craze over here? I certainly do. I put so many hours on Pokemon Gold cartridge, until the internal battery ran dry. When I got my DS, I needed a Pokemon game (cause lets be honest, it ain't a nintendo console without 1 or 2 Pokemon games). I saw this at my local GameStop, and thought i'd give it a go. When I started the game, a flood of good memories and old times hit me hard. Game Freak really outdid themselves with HeartGold and SoulSilver. The music sounds just awesome (they didn't butcher the Dragon's Den song. Yay!). The graphics look amazing on the DS, even the old 2004 big grey DS, they still look awesome. The animations are beautiful, the battles are awesome, and you'll have a fun time going around Johto (first time players, I won't spoil the awesome surprise you get after you beat the Johto region). All I want now is for Game Freak to do a remake of Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald for the DS, and I would be one happy gamer. Why are you still reading this review, just buy it and enjoy the game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Loved it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/11
Minecraft4Life
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played the original game as a Child, and I must say, I was taken back. This game is truly nostalgic for people who DID play the original. Better graphics, music, more things to do, what more could you ask for? I definitely recommend getting this game if you are a True lover of Pokemon.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
very fun and entertaining game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/11
Drunkensoldier7
Location: Hesperia, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game has a lot of old school elements mixed in with this generations graphics and technology very good gamplay and still like to train all pokemon.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
OMG one of the best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
Anonymous
Location: Greenwood, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So far I've beaten it and still i love turning my DS on and playing it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Better than the old verision
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
muffythecat
Location: Boonton, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The remake of Pokemon Silver and Gold was the best. It has better graphics, new things you can do throughout gameplay, and you can even catch the legendary Pokemon from the Hoenn region.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
xBARRA51
Seattle, WA
 
Please wait while more information about xBARRA51 is loaded.
Additional information about xBARRA51 could not be loaded.
One of the best!
Posted 7/30/12
This game was by far one of the best pokemon games, not only is it a remake of the original gold and silver games, but the story line is really amazing and venturing in to 2 regions is pretty awesome. heartgold is what a pokemon game should be, great gameplay, good graphics and a challenging plot . I would recommend buying this game to any pokemon fans who like a long lasting appeal for these games because it is a game you won't finish in a day, unless you never stop playing it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Best Pokemon Game EVER.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/12
Thereviewer3333
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the best! they have so many surprises! (SPOILER ALERT) Like fighting red and going to kanto. there are so many secrets and you can get every starter from every series except diamond and pearl! Every pokemon fan who doesn't have this game i'm disappointed in you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Totally lasts a long time!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/11
Mt01
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is a never ending fun game, battle 1,000 people in the game and in connecting battles. It's one of the most popular games ever to this day. For most people I say that you should get this game, It's worth $40. be warned............ you might never sell it. And I mean it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Excellent Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
Leechinator76
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is a great game from the 4th Generation. It has great starters and while all Pokemon games have relatively the same story line with a small twist every game still has great story lines. This game is one of the few that have real storylines that are interesting in the game. The Pokemon are great and the game isn't one you can finish in one day. This game has a story line even after the Elite Four and is good to have because of how fun it is. It makes it even better that you can go to Kanto and get all 16 badges and be Champion of both regions. Their are lots of Legendary to find even later in the game so this game takes along time. Excellent buy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Pick It Up!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
Smackeroni252
Location: new milford,connecticut
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Pokemon Heartgold is the remake of Gold version. I really enjoyed this game a lot but, I didn't play the original game. The graphics are the best for pokemon games. Also the touch screen ability is SO helpful!! The soundtrack for the game is really good. I'm pretty much done with the game and I love it! Definitely pick this up at the store.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
eg11
 
Please wait while more information about eg11 is loaded.
Additional information about eg11 could not be loaded.
love it
Posted 7/10/12
i love it but i had some bad things with it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
this game is awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
pokeguy01
Location: Fort Worth,TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game. It is the best pokemon game ever created.It's diffrent because you get to walk around with your pokemon, there is ALOT of legendary pokemon, you get to face Red, and there is TWO regions to go to which means 16 badges. The only parts of the game I didn't like was the fact that you couldn't go to alot of famous spots in kanto, there was ALOT of team rocket grunts in the golden rod radio tower,and by the end of the game,you could barely train your pokemon because the wild pokemon were so week and how do you beat red with facing level 50 pokemon.Despite the few flaws, I highly suggest this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JadeHydra
 
Please wait while more information about JadeHydra is loaded.
Additional information about JadeHydra could not be loaded.
Not true.
Posted 5/2/12
If you already have all 16 badges, having only level 50 pokemon shouldn't happen. Use Exp. Shares and Lucky Eggs and train in Mt. Silver or Victory Road. You can also rebattle the Elite Four once you get all 16 badges, which is great training. You also can store Gym Leader's numbers in your PokeGear and have rematches with them. There's always going to be a way to get your pokemon to level 100. And if you can't do it, Buy an Action Replay!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/11
kingdomkey
Location: Owasso,OK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is AWESOME!!!! You get to catch the legendary pokemon Ho-oh and Kyogre at the end. But if you beat the pokemon leauge and get the silver wing you can catch Lugia level 70. Fun Fact: Lugia can cause a 40 day storm with a flap of it's wings!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
One of the Best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/12
FoxBro
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love Pokemon Heartgold Version and here is why. Gameplay: Just like Diamond and Pearl but a whole lot better. You get to explore the Johto region and later Kanto Just like Gold version. Catch pokemon all over the two regions and have one of your pokemon walk behind your character. Catch many legendaries from different kinds of regions. I thought nintendo did a great job on that. Graphics: Pretty mediocre graphics for a nintends ds consle. Also alike to Diamond and Pearl. Sound: Outstanding! Really catchy music for people and pokemon fans. I also thought nintendo did and awesome job on the music. I think this is one of my favorite pokemon games ever. So if I were you I would find the nearest gamestop where they have it and go by this amazing game now!! :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
great classic turned new
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/12
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i love this game even if its newer. i was a pokemon freak when i was very young. i loved every pokemon game. i think the classics were better but now when i played this one it felt like it was classic. this game is very calming and a little more challenging but thats what adds the fun. i would definatley rate this a 10/10 for all pokemon fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Poor!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/13
TheKingMan35354778376
The game didn't even work when I bought it. I don't know whether i should blame the game or just be ashamed at gamestop for selling something without checking to see if it works
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Best game in da world!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/12
pokemon64
Location: california
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is the best game ive played sinse i saw on tv i broke my piiggy and ran to gamestop...lol live next to game stop O.O hehe...anyways i picked chicorita and beat the game.....best game ever, cause like i love the jhoto part
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
Much better than any Pokemon Game released
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/13
jamthis12
Location: Tucson, AZ
Well even Black and White and thier sequels look bad compared to this.It includes elements of Gold and Crystal to make a masterpiece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10