GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only

Pokémon SoulSilver Version returns you to the scenic Johto region first introduced in the beloved original Pokémon Silver game nearly a decade ago. The richly detailed adventure of Pokémon Silver is now enhanced for the Nintendo DS and Nintendo DSi systems with updated graphics and sound, as well as new touch-screen features and a host of surprises. Pokémon SoulSilver Version brings dozens of Pokémon characters back into the limelight for a new Pokémon generation - and longtime fans - to catch, train and battle.
Average Customer Rating:
9.41
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
10 stars
28
9 stars
7
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
36 out of 3992%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Review 1 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Great but
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/14
RAMB
Location: None
This game is perfect for: party gamers
too overpriced now it costs more than X and Y! Wow. Great Game overall! PS Still waiting for that hoenn remake!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
This game is sooooo much fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/13
Itsmeeeeeee
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I remember I got this game the morning of release. it was 59.99$ but it was worth every penny . It's soo much better than every other pokemon game because there is more pokemon to catch and two freakin regions. After all this game is amazing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Amazingly fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/13
MewTheCasualGamer
Location: Owosso, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's defently my favorite Pokemon game so far. Instead of having just one Region to explore, you have two Regions to explore in this game! You have the main Region, Johto, and then the second Region, Kanto. I would say this is the perfect game for any Pokemon fan out there. Is it worth the price? In my opinion, yes! This game is so fun im trying to get the other game, HeartGold, which is the same game just with a different Legendary and Title.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Great remake
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/13
NotGreg
Does the original gen 2 games justice. Everything is either just as good or better. The fact that you can unlock the old game boy sounds are ingenious. An amazing game and a must have.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Review for SoulSilver Version
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/13
JonVol
Location: USA
SoulSilver was the best Pokemon remake out of all. The game its self is giant. You get to explore two massive regions, Johto and Kanto. The game gets a little repetitive after you have to just keep on battling. The main story was short (I completed it within two days!) but interesting. The game is endless and has a good feeling to it. To conclude, 9/10!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
great for pokemon fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/13
pokemon13589
Location: las vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Its a fun adventure for all kinds of pokemon fans. you can collect train and battle pokemon. and with the pokewalker you can get on amazon you can take your pokemon with you and they can find stuff and play with them.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Greatest pokemon game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/13
SOURSLAP45
Location: California,Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
ok, this is a good game because you have everything you want or need in a Pokemon game. GET THIS!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Best in the Series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/13
SHUCK
Location: PA
Pokemon Gold and Silver were my favorite pokemon games overall. Then when crystal came out, it quickly moved to the number 1 spot. The game gave you tons of post game content, and twice the gyms as any other game that came before or after it. The remakes of this games, follow the storyline of crystal, and add TONS of more things to do. with a terrific soundtrack, great gameplay mechanics, great pokemon battle/walking sprites, and over all length, this game is the best in the entire series. One of the main selling points is the ability to walk with your pokemon. every single one has a sprite to use outside of battle. also, there is a run button on the touch screen that allows you to always have your running shoes on so you never have to hold down b. along with some key items like a radio that will replace the game music with a remix of the classic, and a great item sotrage system in your bag, this game will give you tons to do before you want to put in the action replay and goof around.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Gotta catch em' all!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
TheBatgirl
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Pokemon Soul silver is truly an addicting game! As an old Pokemon fan I found this game to be very nostalgic as it has all the good old Pokemon, from Pikachu to Lugia, and Characters like Brock and Misty! New fans will love this game too!!! Tons of pokemon to catch, badges, to collect, places to explore, and battles to win!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
Anonymous
Location: japan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
amazing game , i am really pleased with the remake of my favorite Pokemon series. There is so many things to do on this game. I have over 200 played hours with multiple pokemon. I love how your pokemon follow you as well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/12
Kliner69er
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was phenomenal.it held all of the aspects provided in the originals as well as adding on wonderful new fratures.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
A very fun game, a good way to rush your weekend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/12
Jalco
Location: Tucson, AZ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is probably the best Pokemon game yet. Much better than Black & White. I love how you can do battles with other people, and trading (Yes I know that you can do that with others too). Gameplay is really good, graphics are great for a Pokemon game, the storyline is also very good. This was my first Pokemon game, and my favorite. If you are looking for a good Pokemon game. Choose this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Alright game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/12
RAMB
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Its an alright games but certain parts of the game the graphics ARE SO BAD i usualy get bored of this game fast but thats because i play it too much, now the sound is alright not the best and the gameplay/story is pretty well set up if you dont use action replay (im using action replay after i get national dex oh and you might wanna do what i did too because if you dont it will mess you up getting your national dex
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
so many memories
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/12
atomicz
Location: LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
im glad nintendo remade all these classic games. this brings back so many memories from my childhood. nintendo has the best exclusives. my pokemon team is flygon, salamence, dragonite, charizard, tyranitar, and typhlosion.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Amazing remake of my favorite game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/12
kingdomheartsfan001
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pokemon Gold version was the first game i ever played. And i loved. In fact after 9 years of when i first played Pokemon Gold i still have the cartridge. I still have Gameboy Color. Now let's get on with the review.
Story-6
What can i say. Pokemon doesn't have much of a storyline. However it's still the same thing. Your dad is dead and your crazy mom that sits in the kitchen the entire game sends you on a crazy adventure and along the way you have to fight a terrorist organization named team rocket and your mom dosen't care that you can get hurt because she's to depressed about her dead husband and steals money from her own son/daughter and buys something useless. And the cool thing is that after you beat the Pokemon league you can travel to the Kanto region and you have to beat the Kanto gym leaders. And after you do that you travel to Mt.Silver, and at the end prepare for the most hardest boss in Pokemon history.....
Gameplay-10
The game has the same old RPG styled gameplay as any other pokemon game.. You capture pokemon and train them to fight other pokemon. Working your way up all the way to the pokemon league. There also is a game corner you can play at. However instead of the original slots and card flip the games has been replaced by "Voltorb Flip". I was kinda disappointed. Since i was really looking forward to the slots. Bit no matter. Aside from that the gameplay is really good. The Pokewalker was an amazing edition to Pokemon. I would always take it to school and link with others. If it wasn't for the Pokewalker i would have given the Gameplay a 8.
Graphics-8
The graphics are good for the DS but i seen better. When grading video games i don't care to much about the graphics. The sprites look clean from the front and the back. When i had Pokemon Gold version the back sprites looked ugly and weird. But starting from the 3rd gen games the front AND the back sprites looked clean. And i have to say the animations look very smooth. There's not much to say about the graphics.
Sound-9
Honestly i LOVE the soundtrack from every pokemon game. Except the 3rd gen games. And this one is no different. It contains memorable music. I just love "New Bark Town" and the "Champion Theme" I even hum to New bark town sometimes. I just love the Pokemon soundtrack. It truly is amazing.
And that concludes my review for Pokemon SoulSIlver Versoin
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
VERY MAD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/12
deox15
Location: dubois.PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok I cant tell what the game itself is like because gamestop ONLY has pre-owned ones on here and when I got mine there was NO cover, and the game looked like it was taken apart and glued back together. I started it up and it said a corrupt saved data and attempting to load last save. and so I load the last save and tried to save and it crashed. and I tried to delete the last data and it crashed again. CHECK YOUR GAMES BEFORE YOU SEND THEM GAMESTOP!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MewTheCasualGamer
Owosso, MI
 
Please wait while more information about MewTheCasualGamer is loaded.
Additional information about MewTheCasualGamer could not be loaded.
Chill out, Bro
Posted 11/23/13
Dude, chill out. You could always just go into Gamestop and demand a different copy. Just because Gamestop gave you a bad copy doesn't mean you gotta give the game a bad review. I myself got a preowned version of this and it works fine....
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
A great game to pick up.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
pokeman1994
Location: boiling springs, sc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Crystal, gold, and silver was my favorite series of all time. This game brought it back better than ever. It is a great game for any pokemon fan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
Epic Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/12
PokeFanatic2090
Location: tillamook,OR
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I played this game and it was EPIC! I didn't get to finish though but it was amazing! I felt like I was in another world when I played this game! I reccomend you buy this game right NOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
best pokemon game on ds and one of the best games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/12
emilio123123
Location: new york,ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the return to johto and kanto was amazing. graphics-very basic and great and no pixalized pokemon music:awesome i love the gym/elite four music, champion music and just music in general. gameplay-great classic storyline to stop team rockets evil plan and it was great to walk with your pokemon again lasting appeal: this has to be the longest pokemon game ever johto badges,stop team rocket,defeat champion,get kanto badges and the best part defeat red. but the my favorite pokemon game is emerald so if you have a still have game boy i suggest picking up emerald otherwise ppick this game up now
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pokemon SoulSilver - Game Only
THE BEST GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/12
dbzut
Location: gameworld
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is i meen wow its great, you can do everything just like the old show! And 16 badges, thats the smartest thing ive heard to put in a pokemon game! And theres always something to do, i use to have it and i sold it for pokemon white version and that was the moat unsmartest thing i ever done. i recommend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>