GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ōkamiden

Ōkamiden is a picturesque action adventure game for the Nintendo DS. Taking place a few months after the events of Ōkami, Ōkamiden will follow the adventures of Chibiterasu - a young sun god who is summoned to protect the land. Following in the footsteps of its parent Amaterasu, the sun-god-turned-wolf in Ōkami, Chibiterasu takes the form of an adorable wolf pup for the mission ahead. Chibiterasu will join forces with a rich cast of characters to fight off a new threat that has leeched the world of its vibrant color again. Beyond the battles, Chibiterasu and buddies will come to realize their inner potential and accept the kinship that comes with being the children of great heroes and gods.Using the DS stylus, you will wield a celestial brush controlled by Chibiterasu. This powerful tool can attack enemies, paint helpful objects and structures into existence and help Chibiterasu perform exceptional feats that will change the world before your eyes. Chibiterasu's partners in the game will have unique abilities of their own that help you conquer puzzles and face an onslaught of perilous challenges. By blending vivid myth, artistic action and the innovative Nintendo DS, Ōkamiden has all the makings of a handheld classic. Ōkamiden takes the best elements of the Ōkami series and combines them with invigorating new features delivering an extraordinary adventure sure to please fans of the series and newcomers alike.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
6
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 out of 1984%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ōkamiden
Review 1 for Ōkamiden
I am cautiously optimistic.
Posted on:11/4/10
Colin1
Location: Honolulu, HI
The original Okami game was a masterpiece in nearly every way. It is by far my favorite game, and I have played it five times through, each time getting just as much out of it. It is beautiful and inspiring, as well as fun. I am hopeful that this game will live up to the standard set by its predecessor. From what I have seen and heard about it so far, it appears that it will do a good job, but my concern lies in the capability of the system. The first game had unrivaled beauty, and play through time ranged from 70 hours the first time to about 40 each following time. From what I have seen of DS games in the past, it seems like it would not be possible to pack that much content with the graphics it has into a game for this handheld system. Still, I remain cautiously optimistic that this will be a wonderful new addition to the series.
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ōkamiden
Okami Goodness, Smaller Package
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/11
Malg
Location: Orlando, Fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
For any fans of the original Okami game I really recommend this purchase. Okamiden packs all the major aspects of the original in a hand-held title. A few sacrifices were made but there are also new systems as well. Okami has always been compared to the Zelda series and Okamiden is much like Link's Awakening. Both are hand-held titles that live up to the greatness of their console brethren. The game offers new dungeons and a familiar overworld to explore. The cast is full of charming characters that create a great story. The amazing music returns and sounds great on the portable system. Obviously, the graphics suffer a bit from the jump to the DS but they look great for a DS title. Also of note for any 3DS owners, the game looks even better since the stretching smooths out some jagged edges and the resolution improves the brightness and quality of the visuals. The circle pad also works better than the D-pad.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ōkamiden
Excited but Worried
Posted on:1/24/11
PhantomKnight
Location: my buisness not yours
I am happy that Okami is finally getting a sequel. From the begining the brush work powers of the mighty sun god belonged on the Nintendo DS. Moving the game to the wii helped with the brush powers but made the rest of the game slower and clunkier. I'm worried that by moving it to the DS that the brushwork will be improved but the rest of the game wilol fall short of the origonal. I've looked at some previews on the story and I can already tell it's a shadow of the origonal. Face it sequels are almost never as good as the origonal. The biggest problem with the stiry is that the origonal okami was meant to be a stand alone game not a series. In addition because this game is being made on a handheld the graphical power will be weakend and the game will be shorter with a less expansive enviroment. Al of these issues remove much of the charm of the origonal. So to conclude my preview I have to say that this game is unlikley to match the origonal on any front but I hope it will be good all the same.
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rossco
Vermont
 
Please wait while more information about Rossco is loaded.
Additional information about Rossco could not be loaded.
2 player
Posted 3/9/11
i would love it ever so much if this had WI-FI so we can talk to friends or play vs or something that has to do with 2p. I would say yes i would love to have it for 2 (or more) players.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Ōkamiden
Okamiden is Great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/11
LKCgurl
Location: TX
Okamiden is great, it's beautiful first of all especially if you consider that it is a DS game and most DS games are all pixilly and not very pretty while Okamiden is colorful with their own unique style. The music is great, a lot of the songs from the first game are included which is nice. The gameplay is really fun although I find it gives you a lot more help than it did in Okami which is good for younger gamers, but sort of lowers the experience for gamers that want a challenge. The puzzles are good and there are plenty of them. There are some pretty cute cutscenes and other extra stuff. Overall I think Okamiden is great for anyone who wants a fun game to play, it's not as great as Okami, but it still lives up to my expectations.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ōkamiden
Looking Forward to it
Posted on:10/8/10
Jeshii
Location: Belleville, MI
The original Okami was filled with a spectacular storyline, beautiful graphics, numerous sidequests and unlockables and wonderful music. I fell in love with this game for it's originality and it's amazing appearance. And I feel that Okamiden will be the same thing. A wonderful game that has returned to the shelves. The original was amazing, and it's a delight to play [over and over and over], though I don't think you'd need the original for this game. It stands on its own in a way, and will shed its own rays of sunshine through the hearts of those who buy it. I'm definitely looking into preordering it, and it's a legend worth waiting for.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted 10/18/10
I had the chance to play the Japanese version of this game, which is awesome. But the English version is coming out in Spring 2011, that I think is a little bit too late, cause the new games on 3DS system would be more attractive.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Ōkamiden
SO excited
Posted on:11/2/10
Dekonmaru
I can't describe how excited I am for this game. I've played Okami on the Wii many times over because I love it SO much! It's pretty much one of the greatest games I've ever played. Okamiden should and will be amazing.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ōkamiden
So cute...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/11
Jawbone
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is adorable, no question about it. Amaterasu has had a baby, as have all of the other gods, and they're all. So. Cute.
The style that the original Okami was in still exists, but is more pixelized, which isn't too surprising, since it's on a DS. It's still a beautiful game, all things considered. The music is great, but the annoying.. talking... babbling... thing that the characters did is still there, too.
The controls take a few minutes to get used to, and are pretty well explained. (All but the camera. The three arrows on the touch screen allow you to move the camera around, in case you were wondering.)
The battle style is similar to the way it was before, and isn't too complicated. The puzzles are interesting, as are the boss fights, and nothing is too difficult to figure out, given enough time and thought.
Some characters from the previous game are still there, like Issun, Sakuya and Susano, and the game follows pretty much the exact same path as the last game. (You don't START in the same place, but it's the second place the game sends you to, then it continues to send you around to most of the same places as the previous game.)
Characters from the previous game that were lost are mentioned in this game, which I thought was absolutely wonderful. (Rao is mentioned in the city on Rioshima coast. :3)
Basically, it's a cool game. Short, simple, fun to play. Nothing overly complicated, and is good when you just need to cool off for a while. I definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoyed the original Okami.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ōkamiden
Looks Promising~!
Posted on:1/9/11
PockyStix
Location: Dover, NH
Okami on the Wii BLEW MY LITTLE MIND. This is the first time since BioShock where I've had such high hopes for the sequel. I certianly hope that this game gets better advertising than Okami did. I believe that the DS controls will bring a wonderful aspect to the gameplay. The graphics are compromised a bit, but if you can't play a game for the joy of playing it, why bother? But I really do have High hopes for this sequel, with the wish that We hear some more Japanese mythology. I can't wait to see the character of Chibiterasu in action~!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ōkamiden
The bundle better come to the US
Posted on:9/16/10
okamidenisawsome
Location: baltimore
I fell in love with the original when is was randomly suggested to me at a local GS, and I have been obsessing and raving about it ever since it was announced as a rumor. Despite that it will not be able to release on the 3DS it still shows strong signs of the game that die hard Okami fans know and love! My greatest hope and fear for this game is that the amazing bundle may not be released here in the US! I don't bother looking at bundle packs very often because it's rare that they offer much worth buying but this is absolutely amazing! If you haven't seen it you need to, it's got everything that the people who truly appreciate the unique genius of Okami could ever want.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ōkamiden
Must Play for Okami Fans and DS users!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
Nyxsiern
Location: Minneapolis, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Though a bit easy to play for hardcore gamers, the puzzles and charm from the first Okami is all wrapped into an adorable little package in this game. Its a bit frustrating in the start but well worth the effort and I hope Capcom will continue the series! All these games are some of the most beautiful endeavors on the part of game developers today and I hope to see much more from this underrated series. Really a must play just as the title implies!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ōkamiden
One of the best games I have ever played!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/11
RascalandLily
Location: Rogers, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
In most games the places are all the same and its the same things over and over, but in Okamiden you have to change the scenery to find clues, treasures, and help get where you need to be. One of my favorite parts of the game is the music. Each area has its own music so its not the same old music the whole game. If you like games that take some time and has a great storylines, then this is the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ōkamiden
Multiplayer NOT NEEDED!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/11
Halfhowl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Why all the hype for multiplayer? Okamiden is one of those few, rare titles that stands alone, and does NOT need a multiplayer aspect. Sure there are two characters in play at most times, but multiplayer would only allow for pointless mini-games that would NEVER add to the experience.
Like the original, it has great visuals, a few frustrations, but leave the party games to stuff like Mario. Okamiden, like Okami before it is meant to be a title that tells a story, not a chance to show off how strong your kung-fu cheating is.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ōkamiden
WOOT!
Posted on:11/22/10
BlueFlameWolf
Location: ky
Im so excited for this game, been raving bout it ever since i hear the rumors! Personaily i dont think the game will be the original, the classics always turn out to be the best of the bunch, but knowing this is made by capcom an seems to fallow the same design style, i know this game will not be a let down! The fact that it is being put on the DS will just make it so much more fun! I just hope capcom will decide to put the 1st okami on DS as well like they did with the WII!
My only concern is the game wont be as long. Okami was a LONG game, which personaily i love, you defently get your moneys worth. But i havnt seen many DS games that were long an kept you going, the ONLY one was pokemon, an possibley a couple others...hopefuly this wont be like spyro an beatable within 6hrs :s but either way i still cant wait for the release! Iv already preordered mine, i just wish the collectors edition was available here in the US :(
Review 14 for Ōkamiden
My New Favorite Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/11
Killaterasu
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have experiance in every single gaming genre, and this one has it all. Action, Adventure, Puzzle, Role-Playing, etc. I love this game, and I am sure you will to. From the music, to the fighting, the cute funny cut scenes, to even the celestial brush. It is just a great game, for casual and hardcore gamers alike. The boss battles are great. My favorite is the one against Kurow, not because it is easy, but because it is the only one where you don't need to solve some puzzle to defeat him. Just a straight up brawl. The art style is great and the graphics are great. Gameplay is just nice, you will want to play it twice, because after beating it the first time, there are a few prizes you get to use in the story mode. Chibiterasu is so cute, you will fall in love with him. I highly recommend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ōkamiden
The cutest DS game is also really good?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/11
Osprey
Location: Cleveland, OH
I have been looking forward to this game since it was announced. The graphical style works as well on a DS as it did on a TV. The combat works well though the partner characters really don't add anything except a few more attacks in battle but really just help out to flesh the story and interact with other people in the world. The most charming part of Okami and this game was the visual style which is just as unique and wonderful on the DS which surprised me. Along with the visuals the one think I liked from Okami was the interaction between the characters which thankfully was kept up in this game with the humor dialogue that is almost perfect. The downside is that once you beat the game I really don't see any real replay value but definitly worth purchasing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ōkamiden
Excellent On-The-Side Game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
Raineblk
Location: Sacramento
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game in the spur of the moment seeing as there were not many DS games I hadn't tried... I LUVED IT! This game was so flexible! You can play it during your spare time. It isn't like Rhythm Heaven where you can play any game, any time, or like Pokemon which can take up ALL your time... OkamiDen was perfectly in the middle. Although the puzzles can become challenging and the cutscenes may go long, this is no reason to deprive your best friend, boy/girlfriend, or relative of the magical Celestial Brush! DS was an excellent platform for the game considering it's dual screen technology and stylus! I felt very satisfied when I finished: Great story, touching dialogue, intense fights, and a LOT of drawing! Besides, Chibiterasu is so stinkin' cute!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ōkamiden
Ninja Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/11
zero567
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is really touching & cute. If you ever played the original okami & are looking a pleasant twist this is your game. Even first time players can get into the game.The music makes you feel the seen with the goofy song or sad touching song. The graphics could have been a little Smoother. Also some spots in the game are easy to get stuck at. But over all its a game that i could play over & over.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ōkamiden
I'm so confident in this game.
Posted on:1/13/11
RadiantArtist
Location: Beaverton, OR
I'm so confident in this game that I actually pre-ordered the game, I just wanna play this soooo bad. Also I get free stuff! :D
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
sk8r4life
im not going to tell you
 
Please wait while more information about sk8r4life is loaded.
Additional information about sk8r4life could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
me to
Posted 1/23/11
i preordered as well cant wait for this game
Customer Avatar
PrettyGuardianSailorMoon
 
Please wait while more information about PrettyGuardianSailorMoon is loaded.
Additional information about PrettyGuardianSailorMoon could not be loaded.
Posted 1/15/11
Can't go wrong with free stuff. :D
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 19 for Ōkamiden
Looks cool
Posted on:6/6/10
DQ fan
I have a DS and will definitely pre-order this game closer to the release date. I heard about this game about a year ago and couldn't wait for more info. I hope it is as good as it looks. A lot of people are speculating that this game won't be as good as the original. I say we should at least give it a chance.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ōkamiden
So excited!!!!!!
Posted on:1/13/11
BlackRoseDragonDuelist
Location: MD
The story line looks so awesome and in order to understand the story line of this game, you'll have to play the first Okami (either the PS2 version or the Wii version) first.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Komui
 
Please wait while more information about Komui is loaded.
Additional information about Komui could not be loaded.
Posted 1/20/11
A promising sequel to an amazing game. Not only is the brush technique returning, but the art style as well. Definitely looking forward to this plus the baby version of the gods. Whether you want it for the art, the adventure, the mythology or the extreme cuteness, I'm very much expecting this game to satisfy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>