GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective

Ghost Trick Phantom Detective will be coming to Nintendo DS and DSi in Winter 2010. Brought to you by Shu Takumi, the original creator of Capcom's Ace Attorney series, Ghost Trick Phantom Detective tells an intriguing story, depicted with rich animation, combining logic puzzles and elements of humour that those familiar with the Ace Attorney games will know and love. The story of Ghost Trick Phantom Detective starts with the protagonist having already been dead. Gamers will be entertained for hours with over a dozen chapters full of mystery and surprise as the spirit world collides with real life.
Average Customer Rating:
9.2
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
4
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
Review 1 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
This is an awesome game of murder mystery!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/11
mysterygameinrockingirl
Location: Ct
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is one of the best games ever. All of the character have real personalities, cool looks thanks to the character artist, stories, and ways that connect to your character, Sissel. In this game while trying to find out your own mystery, you meet unique and strange people that somehow connect to your own murder. Including the fact that you must save others from their deaths with your GHOST TRICKS!!!!!!! I am now obsessed with this game. I recomend this to anyone 11 and up because of the language used, but this is the best intriging, confusing (in a good way),mystery game I've ever played!!!! PLAY IT!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
Looking forward to it
Posted on:10/11/10
yyr57695
I played a demo version at New York Comic-Con. The animation is very smooth and fun to watch, the writing is great and the gameplay is unique. I've never played Phoenix Wright, but this game is looking like it'll be a winner, and Capcom always delivers quality anyway...I'll be buying this!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sicklestar22
 
Please wait while more information about Sicklestar22 is loaded.
Additional information about Sicklestar22 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/31/10
You should really check out the Phoenix Wright Series - The games are really fun and certain parts are really funny. There are actually five games in the series and they are all mostly about solving several cases by collecting evidence at different locations, interviewing witnesses and catching them in lies, interviewing the defendant, and going to court to defend the defendant and to declare them innocent. You should really try them!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
This is an amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/11
xxxxgamerxxxx
Location: Ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is an awesome game! I love it! Every new chapter I had chills, and the story is amazing! The graphics really tell the story along with great detail of the human characters! The backgroung settings and stories are amazing! In some way all the lives of different people lead Sissel into finding out who he really is! I also love saving people from their deaths! It's really lots of fun! The story got a little confusing when you try to fing out who Sissel really is, but in the end, every story, every mystery, and every death intertwines until you find out that Sissel is a ------. Ooops, I can't tell you that. You'll just have to find out for yourself! I love this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
The Greatest Story in a Videogame, Ever.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/11
Luvinthisgame13
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Considering that this games director was the guy that made Phoenix Wright, it should come as no surprise that this game has one of the best and most immersive stories around. But the thing that sold this game for me was that, compared to Phoenix Wrights episodic structure, this game is one whole fluent narrative from beggining to end. And speaking of fluent. THE ANIMATION. Oh my God. The best animation, ever. I swear, in would pay $30 just for the animation and to watch those characters dance around the screen. Trust me, this is the most impressive animation you will EVER see. Just look up a trailer if you don't believe me.It is very true that this game is anime-like, and those who dont appreciate that style of storytelling might be a bit turned off to this game. The story very nice with little or no plot holes at the end, though the revealing of a certain characters past could have been better in my opinion. Now for the gameplay. It is unlike anything you have seen before, but I consider it to be a chain reaction type of thing. you go back to four minutes before a persons death and try to prevent it by interacting with objects in the environment. It is very simple if you look at it, so the fact that the developers could make something as simple as this feel varied and never tiring is a huge plus on their part. The sound and music are very nice as well, and always seem to complement the games mood perfectly. Ive never been a big fan of game soundtracks, (Minus Zelda games) but this game has got some very nice tunes to it. I told you what i liked about the story, but i cant reveal much more than that due to the fact that i would never want to reveal anything about this games amazing, AMAZING story. But i will say that th characters are varied and their development is very nice, and the game closes itself decently at the end, but compared to the rest of the game the ending is a bit lacking. Once you beat the game, though, theres nothing else left. Im afraid, even though this a lengthy 12-15 hour adventure, when you are done, you are done. Basically thats everything I can say about this game. I will give it a 9 but please note that this game was SO close to a 10, its just that ending that fell a bit flat for me. Thats all.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
Ghost Trickery Never Was This Much Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
icarusunderwater
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective is a blast. I pre-ordered the game and they got it in today, and since I have put it in my DS I have not stoppped playing it. Everything so far is superb about this game, and also it's from the makers of Phoenix Wright so you know it's good, and filled with mild humor, and puzzle solving. I recommend this game to any fan of Phoenix Wright, or to anyone who loves a game with a unique plot filled with puzzle solving. Hands down one of the best games I have picked up recently!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
Awesome game!
Posted on:12/20/10
Storm911
I've played the nintendo channel demo, and this game is really cool! Anyone who plays the ace attorney series, or liked puzzle games, will definatly like this. Even in simply the demo version (which involved breaking the fourth wall) there was a good way to get a feel for the game. Some things to note is that each chapter/level thing has a time limit, and there are multiple ways to solve them. There are also some things they put in just for fun (Like punting the dog!). All and all, the game is really cool, and I'm planning to get some time in the future.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
THIS GAME IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/13
Soul58
Location: waldport or
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game because I love ghosts and when I started playing it I couldn't put it down. There is a lot of puzzles and also lots of mystery. As you play it all of the things you do will make sense and you will find out who Sissle really is
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
Awesome!
Posted on:6/12/10
ExploderReviews
I was reading NP the other day and they said that this will be from the guys that made phoenix wright games. It looks awesome, kind of like scribllenauts combined with a detective game, except your dead... Apparently you can control over 100 items, so it looks like there will always be more than one path.This looks pretty good!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
A Shocker for A Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/12
4Clover
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is probably a marvel for a DS puzzle/mystery game. It offers the player abilities to manipulate their way around the world. The graphics are amazing when you consider the DS. The story is very in depth with a web of stories connecting into one. Every bit of the game was fun, lasting, and has a mysterious ending which may make you cry.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
Capcom strikes again
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/11
Ragdoll6800
Location: MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In short, great game, great controls, great story, great job Capcom! its a niche game from the PW creators, if your a Ace Attorney fan like i am you should check the game out. Its not LIKE Ace Attorney, but is from the people that brought us the series and they always put out good material IMO.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mysterygameinrockingirl
Ct
 
Please wait while more information about mysterygameinrockingirl is loaded.
Additional information about mysterygameinrockingirl could not be loaded.
What?
Posted 5/31/11
This game is a 10 10 10 10 10!!!!!! This game is way better than a 2
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
Great Game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/11
Rustoferson
Location: Carbondale, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Fluid, colorfull, and exciting!! Hard game to put down!! Execellent story line and progression!! Deffinatly worth the coin!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
An Outstanding Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/14
S0meRand0mPers0n
Location: Saturn's 3rd moon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The best words to describe this game is a diamond in the ruff. I have been playing Nintendo games since I was a little kid and only when I played a free chapter of the game did I learn of Ghost Trick. After playing the whole game straight for many hours, unable to set it down, I realized it was the best game I have ever played. Though if I did have one problem with the game, it would be that no one knows about this game. Oh well, if you are a gamer who likes solving puzzles, unique graphics, a great soundtrack, and a thrilling story, than this game is perfect for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
Ghost Trick Demands Attention
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
NintendoGirl
Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective was by far one of the best games I have played on the Nintendo DS platform. The story itself was unique and captivating, demanding my attention even when I was busy with something besides the game. I enjoy a good mystery and this game was no disappointment. Ghost Trick's graphics were really stunning. The two dimensional images danced across the screen and added so much more life to the game. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a mystery and does not mind getting frustrated by the puzzles that will lie before them.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
The Title of Ghost Trick is Very Misleading
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/11
FistFullofWin
Location: Parts Unknown
While overall I think that Ghost Trick is a good game, I feel that I must make a stand. My score represents my biggest problem with the game, which is the fact that Capcom had lied in the game’s title. In the game you can either do two functions, either ghost (moving from object to object) or trick (manipulating said object). AT NO POINT CAN YOU EVER DO BOTH! This is a travesty Capcom that will not be forgotten!
(Important Note: The reason the game got a score of 2 and not a 1 is due to the fact that the character of Missile the Dog added great depth to the game. In the mission where you resurrect Missile truly shows the potential of games being art.)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 75 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
mysterygameinrockingirl
Ct
 
Please wait while more information about mysterygameinrockingirl is loaded.
Additional information about mysterygameinrockingirl could not be loaded.
This game is way better!!!!
Posted 5/31/11
Hey look, this game is a 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10!!!!!!!!! If you acually paid attention to the plot you would understand more about it. Again this game is a definite 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE GHOST TRICK!!!!!
Customer Avatar
madcatray
 
Please wait while more information about madcatray is loaded.
Additional information about madcatray could not be loaded.
the title isnt misleading at all.
Posted 2/25/11
the term "ghost trick" simply refers to the abilities that the dead have, sissel has the ghost trick to manipulate objects, missile has a ghost trick that swaps objects and etc, ghost has no meaning of being able from moving from object to object, ghost trick is like a word for the abilities that each dead person can do. i hope this clears it up for you and changes your mind on the game, because its an amazing game
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
dsi needs this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/11
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
no matter what system you have this game should be in your collection.
addicting game,has good physics good gameplay and game is just fun to play.
from mom to dad,if you put the controller in there hand you might not great it back .must buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
...I WANT MORE! THIS WAS FANTASTIC!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/11
megaman
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Game was great, I want a sequel, please help and write something to capcom to promote another. Missile's back FTW and developed extremely well, if I could I would give it "4" (note the reference) more stars for him alone. Music was also superb, hope they sell a soundtrack.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
simply a great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/11
bjklol
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
a great game with a fresh innovative and unique concept. The graphics are the best on the system and the animation is so smooth it almost feels like watching cutscenes. The puzzles are fun and interesting. It's just too bad there's no replay value.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
Good puzzles, FANTASTIC plot.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/11
bopbot
Location: Greensboro, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sometimes suspenseful, often charming, "Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective" is a neat little puzzle game with plenty of mystery and complex plot. I couldn't have anticipated the final plot twist.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective
AWESOME
Posted on:4/25/10
TF4Ever
this looks amazing and i am hyped
0 of 1 found this review helpful.