GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty: Black Ops

The biggest first-person action series of all time and the follow-up to last year's blockbuster Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 returns with Call of Duty: Black Ops.Call of Duty: Black Ops will take you behind enemy lines as a member of an elite special forces unit engaging in covert warfare, classified operations, and explosive conflicts across the globe. With access to exclusive weaponry and equipment, your actions will tip the balance during the most dangerous time period mankind has ever known.
Average Customer Rating:
7.811
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,316 reviews)
10 stars
605
9 stars
328
8 stars
155
7 stars
114
6 stars
92
5 stars
59
4 stars
47
3 stars
32
2 stars
56
1 star
97
1,173 out of 1,58574%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty: Black Ops
Review 1 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
It rocked my world
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/10
AssassinDm
Location: not telling you
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I loved it's story mode with suprises at every turn you can never tell what will happen.I sugest this game to every single gamer in the whole wide universe. i have also played the online witch is fun and lots costumization cod points make it a little trickier but still fun.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
costimuzation trailer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
add me on psn and buy black ops!!!!!!:)
Posted on:10/21/10
maddestroyer971
Location: california
hey u guys i just came home from gamestop because i pre-ordered it i cant wait i was planning on getting WaW but not anymore because i feel like black ops is going to be a better game.I mean it has zombie and new multiplayer modes plus u can buy ur weapons and the storie mode looks exellent this game is going to be the best cod after i buy black ops im planning on buying WaW
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Hardened Edition
9.1 out of 10(44)
 
 
 
 
 
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
Call Of Duty Black OPS PS3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/10
ps3gamer226
Location: Downey CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the best call of duty game on ps3 currently and i had alot of fun with it just like the mw2 befoure it was hacked. story is great zombies where awsome and the multiplayer was very fun im going to keep playing this game intil i get new call of duty next year recomeded this for hardcore gamers and my friends.........
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Black Ops
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
best shooting series ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
captingamer6458321
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game is so awsome i never stop playing it i love the zombie i played all the call of duty and is so good beside they have alot guns the multiplayer is cool but monder warfare 2 is much better and story mode is much better in world of war and black opsit took me 1week to finish so that is my review hope you enjoy
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
Best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/10
viper9999
Location: pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game but it could be longer i got my call of duty black ops on tusday and i beat it in two days.But out all of the shooting games i will always pick call of duty
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
World at War and Modern Warfare 2 done right
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/10
MAC44
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Black ops has taken most of the best games in the call of duty series and meshed it into one game. I just finished the campaign, played zombies, and I just finished my first match in multiplayer as well. I think personally, that zombies is the best game mode.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Black ops multiplayer gameplay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
49 of 58 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
BaltimoreRaven16
 
Please wait while more information about BaltimoreRaven16 is loaded.
Additional information about BaltimoreRaven16 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/10/10
Ok do game stops have the hardden edition in there stors yet?? or will they
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
florence, sc
review
Posted 11/10/10
If I give modern warfare 2 a rating of "10"; Then I have to give call of duty black ops a rating of "4". Problems with Black ops. Sluggish game play, Online play is so bad it makes me dizzy, The offline mode is slowish also. The frame rate is too slow to play the game very long.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
theres only one good thing
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/11
blackfang21
Location: New York
this game is terrible. the story is like a terrible action movie from the 80's and the online is boring after so long. the only good thing is zombies, but i think the black ops maps stink. the only good maps are the ones from WAW. also, for some reason everytime me and my friends try to connect in a party, it kicks us out. also, do you want to know why so many little kids play this game? because its so childish! the colors for every map are like hippy land, and if you really pay attention, its just corney. exploding rc car? REALLY? that is definitely for the little kiddies. if you want a good but realastic game buy BBC2, or Battlefield 3 because after CoD 5, everything just went downhill. and watch a video of cod 3 if you like, and see that they have been using the same engine for how many years now?
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
Not what I expected
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/10
weter
Location: Albany,NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was sort of a letdown to me. Before it came out i was extremely excited because I saw many of the videos on the customization in multiplayer and i heard about zombies. However, it reminded me and felt like I was playing WaW. The graphics look like that from World at war craft compared to the memorizing graphics of modern warefare 2 and COD 4. I was very disapointed, however the actual gamplay was very good. The guns were very balenced compared to the modern warfare series and the customization is sick. All in all i thought this game lacked graphics and after playing modern warfare 2 i realized that treyarch has to step it up. I miss Infinity Ward because i know and everyone else knows that if they made another game like Modern Warfare3 it would blow Black Ops away. And i bet u they would put customization in it like crazy!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Hardened Edition
9.1 out of 10(44)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
9.5 Black Ops is awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/11
GameRat0r
Location: NC
The first game I played, from the COD series was COD WaW but of course this was 2 yrs ago (not meaning i got it when It came out) and I liked where it was going.Then I bought COD 4. And I was like woah.... this game is pretty SICK. I never thought it could possibly EVER get better, so of course if you buy the 1st COD: MW you have to buy the 2nd. SO I bought it.AND LOVED It BUT... no ZOMBIES..... other than that I loved that game to death, everyone in my family accused me of being addicted to COD games.SO guess what I got for my birthday last year (actual release date of COD BO :D ) Call of duty black ops. SO I'm like ok ok nothing big gonna happen just sum campaign and multiplayer.... boy I was wrong THE ZOMBIES IZ EPIK in teh house. Oh my goodness. Multiplayer was awesome, I don't see why people say there are ALWAYS noob AK47 FAMAS noobs. But err that just means you lack skill. Call of Duty Black Ops IS worth buying.It definitely is I also suggest *Accidently* clicking that Pre- Order button for COD MW3.GO CALL OF DUTY!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
This is the best C.O.D yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/10
EpicMonsterGameReviews
Location: Liberty Township, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the greatest game I have ever played! The online gameplay is perfect! But there is one very very minor problem...the reload sound of the MPL submachine gun is alittle weird, it kind of sounds like someone is clacking cans together! But all in all, the game is perfect...everything, down to the details on you characters hand, is all amazing!!! But don't even get me started on the Single player mode!!! I feel this campain is alittle easier to follow, as with Modern Warfare 2, I had no idea where my next mission would be! Black Ops Campain makes me feel like I have been sucked into an action movie, that I don't want to get out of! This movie is soo fantastic! And the zombies, ohhh the zombies; could there be any better mini game. It is a whole step up from W.A.W zombies; with improved graffics and new characters!!! This game is fantasticly, Amazingly, AWESOME!! So if you havent bought your copy yet, go out and buy it right now!!!!
***Still not sure? Then visit my youtube page for more gameplay: AwesomeBradley96 ***
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
Black ops is one of the Best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/11
erivera1994
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Despite all the hate going around about this game, it is one of the best FPS out. This game has so much to offer. This game is jammed pack with content. With Multiplayer to zombie mode, to dead ops mode, to theatre mode, and to one of the best COD Campaigns yet. Treyarch as upgraded the graphics this time around. The game looks great. Campaign is as epic as ever, and online is super addicting. It has the most balanced perk system in any COD game yet. Killstreaks dont stack anymore which prevents Camping. Online is great as always. Now Zombie Mode is freakin awesome. Super awesome to play especially with friends. Ascenscion has to be my favorite map yet. Im really happy they added theatre mode to online. As a youtuber myself i make alot of video about video games. Theatre mode has helped me make videos by uploading thing straight to youtube from my PS3. Super Awesome. Now what other COD offers this much content? Black ops is Definitly my Favorite COD despite what everybody else says. This game is a must buy. Highly recommend!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Montage of ME! it's put together using theatre mode clips
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
I have already played some of the campaign
Posted on:11/2/10
Irishsnipr
Location: NC
I played some of the campaign yesterday on xbox 360 and it rocks. here is a youtube video i made of me playing the zombie mode on black ops. cant wait till monday night for the midnight release so i can play it online.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
me playing black ops zombies
19 of 32 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
BloodGod180
 
Please wait while more information about BloodGod180 is loaded.
Additional information about BloodGod180 could not be loaded.
Pre-Ordered
Posted 11/5/10
I pre-ordered this game back in July!
Customer Avatar
xM4Owng3x
CT
 
Please wait while more information about xM4Owng3x is loaded.
Additional information about xM4Owng3x could not be loaded.
Cool
Posted 11/5/10
how did you get to play? are you a morderater for treyarch?
Customer Avatar
dragonratboy
TX
 
Please wait while more information about dragonratboy is loaded.
Additional information about dragonratboy could not be loaded.
WHAT?????????????????????
Posted 11/4/10
thats call of duty world at war zombie mode not call of duty black ops
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 13 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
EPIC
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/11
NjSwizz97
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its a very good game, campaign is fun but multiplayer is way better zombies is also fun too especially when your playing with your friends, would recommend you buying this but Modern Warfare 3 is coming out so i suggest you buy that instead :D
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Watch
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/11
gamerat123
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At first, I didn't like the game and I didn't want to play it, but when I first played it, I LOVED it. The game is addicting and fun. Plus, my personal favorite weapon, the FAMAS, returns from Modern Warfare 2. I thought this couldn't get any better. Believe it or not, I was wrong. The multiplayer is fantastic. The ranking system is excellent and the online multiplayer is the best part of the game in my opinion. But why is it a 9, but not a 10? First, I think the Co-op on the Zombies can be a little shallow at times. Second, there is a couple of noobs on the Online matches sometimes and they can be really annoying. Overall, if you LOVE Call of Duty, then Black Ops is just the game for you!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Black Ops Online Gameplay
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bossman123
cedar park,tx
 
Please wait while more information about bossman123 is loaded.
Additional information about bossman123 could not be loaded.
black ops is beast
Posted 8/21/11
i cant want to see mordern warfare 3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
Black Ops will send MW2 6 feet under
Posted on:11/3/10
Anonymous
Location: Lakewood OH
Black ops will be 100 times better than Mw2 and Medal of honor with all the new feachers in Black Ops like customizable charter and the zombies comming back it will be a thriller.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
9 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
Call Of Duty Black Ops is the best game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/11
VENDALISM
Location: 5311 5ave
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Call Of Duty Black Ops is one of the best games of year. It is also considered the best first-person shooter. My opinion for this game is that call of duty black ops should be the overall best games of the year. If your looking for a perfect game for a relative or yourself, I recommend you to buy call of duty black ops to have a risky, and action moment. Thanks for your coaperation for reading my statement.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DarkRade17
Idaho
 
Please wait while more information about DarkRade17 is loaded.
Additional information about DarkRade17 could not be loaded.
Best Game Ever!!!
Posted 2/4/11
I love Call of Duty: Black Ops especially Nuketown even though its a small map. I love Zombies and Multiplayer too. The graphics are spectacular and the sound is amazing. I can't wait for a new Call of Duty and the add-on pack "First Strike. Good Work Treyarch!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
this is the BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/10
callofdutybeast
Location: kalamazoo,michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
well i got this game for my birthday and i have to say its the best game ever no call of duty even touches this game its game play is awesome the graphics are awesome and sound is great it could be longer campaign wise but it is still beast and i have it for the ps3
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
Its ok.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/12
Wytheman
Location: Vermont
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The big thing is the online multiplayer. You have to be realy good at it to play. The zombie mode is great too. But sometimes has problems loading. Thats all I have.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
An Excelent new installment of Call of Duty
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/10
Jordaniel
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Call of Duty Black Ops, is everything you would expect from a Call of Duty game. Frantic noisy environments, with explosions, grenades, etc. Compared to last year's Modern Warfare 2, the campaign has improved in my opinion. Infinity Ward did an excellent job with MW2 but the story was lacking in my opinion. It was filled with cliches and multiple protagonists murders. Still MW2 delivered the trademark jaw dropping action moments CoD is now famous for. The levels in MW2 were split in between a more stealthy oriented feel with the 141 and Roach, and the standard fare modern day shooter game play with Ramirez and the Rangers. The 141 levels were so fun and so more involved with the plot that the 141 levels were the ones I was waiting to play while the Ranger levels got boring and repetitive. I want to tell you first off, that Black Ops has an improved campaign. There aren't the stealth levels, but the story and characters, and CoD's trademark game-play make up for it. Yes it is another story about the U.S and Russia, except part of it is anyway, you are Alex Mason a former C.I.A. operative who is being interrogated and is forced to remember events of the Cold War, so you play mostly as Mason in flashbacks. It's similar to the Assassin's Creed premise where everything is in the past. So as Alex remembers his missions, you get to play his flashbacks. The game gets you right into the action, as you are running away from the police in Cuba and assassinating Fidel Castro, I won't say more to spoil the story but, overall the story is very engaging and the flashbacks work well as a device to drive the plot. Also the trademark WOW moments from the CoD series return, while not as incredible as MW2, there are still some very cool set pieces. The pacing of the story is not so great, as the flashbacks tend to jump around but, it does not ruin the game. Also, the AI is dumb. Many times your partners with fall behind waiting to pick off all enemies, while you try to complete your next objective, this was especially frustrating when in one mission, I had to kill two guards below me, I dropped down and knifed them both, I proceeded, with my AI partners still on the scaffold, I continued on until I got to a part where I needed my AI partner to unlock a door. I thought to kill myself and start from the last check point but I had no grenades (for some reason you have them sometimes but not others, in this particular level) and I could not jump off the roof. I had to start the whole mission over. When I reached this section again I merely shot the two guards and my AI partners followed me off the scaffold afterwards with no problems. Aside from those complaints the story is quite good. However how is online, the main feature for most people in CoD games? The online is also great. While I thought that MW2's online was better, Black Ops online mode mixes it up a bit. Black Ops online mode takes heavily after MW2, there is still the leveling system for example. The leveling system is less important this time around, because you still unlock weapons at certain levels but this time you have to pay for them. The game gives you currency for each match you play- depending on how well you do, and for contracts which are objectives that you complete to earn money. Additionally you can bet money in spectator mode, which is fun to watch and you can earn, or lose a lot of money here. So what else is new? There are a variety of new modes, some of which are very entertaining, such as every one only has one bullet and are pitted to the death. There are new kill and death streaks, and old ones were re-named for the time period. There is one kill streak that is incredibly annoying, it's a small remote controlled car that blows up one person, and when it happens to you it is quite frustrating, especially when it happens multiple times. However,you death and kill streaks you now have to buy as well, along with any camo or paint on your guns. Moving on, Black Ops also has zombie mode. This is essentially a replacement for MW2's spec ops. I was a big fan of spec ops because it provided a multi-player experience for you and a friend to play. Zombie mode is still 4 player split screen co-op and is lots of fun. Even if you don't care about Black Ops story or zombie mode, and you just want to play for online you should still pick it up, it is after all what everyone is going to be playing online until Activision comes put with the next CoD.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Call of Duty: Black Ops
zombies or aliens
Posted on:10/20/10
littletrigster
Location: California, CA
In call of duty: black ops is it zombies or aliens?We found a alien skull in the prestige box. Their are going to be aliens not zombies.Zombies is to weak now cod is stepping up their game. Aliens not zombies for once and for all but, their are better weapons so get ready for it all you call of duty fans!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
4 of 21 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 115 next>>