GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

God of War: Ghost of Sparta

In his quest to rid himself of the nightmares that haunt him, Kratos must embark on a journey that will reveal the origins of lost worlds. Armed with the deadly chained Blades of Athena, he will have to overcome armies of mythological monsters, legions of undead soldiers, and amazingly dangerous and brutal landscapes throughout his merciless quest.
Average Customer Rating:
9.37
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (122 reviews)
10 stars
31
9 stars
16
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 out of 5494%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
Review 1 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
Gonna be the best game ever!!!!!!!
Posted on:11/1/10
DOmiNicanBoy21
Location: New York
I am a huge god of war fan. I own all 4 and now 5 god of war games and cant wait for this one to be shipped to me. This game will give us fans insight on Kratos' past and possibly foreshadowing a possible next game in the God of War series. I played god of war 3 and was confused about the ending and how he was no longer there and how there was a trail of blood leading to the ocean. Any way cant wait to play this game and for all you people who havent heard of god of war, buy a ps3, a psp, and all the games cause its completely worth it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
God of War Ghost of Sparta orgins trailer
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
Finally one to break the Chains!
Posted on:9/14/10
Khimeran77
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
For me personally, gaming is about sinking into a comfortable couch after a hard days work and turning on your gigantic sized, super high definition television and playing one of your favorites until the early hours of the morning. I find it hard to play my PSP unless I am away from my system, which isn't that often and of course, work doesn't count. So the PSP hardly gets any use. This changed when God of War: Chains of Olympus came out. This was a game that I would play, even while on my comfortable couch and in front of the major gaming system. I didn't need to be "portable" to play Chains! With that being said, it is easily my favorite handheld game. It is the franchise, it is it's predecessor and it is the track record that makes me anticipate GOD OF WAR: GHOST OF SPARTA. Maybe now, there will FINALLY BE ONE TO BREAK THE CHAINS!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
God of War Ghost of Sparta King Midas Gameplay [HD]
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
The Dramatic Story of Kratos's Brother...
Posted on:10/26/10
Johomie14
Location: Inland Empire, West Coast
I owe and beaten all the God of War games multiple times. I am God of War fan! This game tells the story of Kratos's brother Deimos. The past of his left behind brother is revealed with this strange God of War finishing touch. Is this the last game?
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
See these! You'll Change your mind! :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
vynnie
ohio
 
Please wait while more information about vynnie is loaded.
Additional information about vynnie could not be loaded.
the best game ever!
Posted 10/31/10
it isa awwwwwwsome game
Customer Avatar
Juice415
San Francisco
 
Please wait while more information about Juice415 is loaded.
Additional information about Juice415 could not be loaded.
This Game Is Epic
Posted 10/30/10
I Just Beat This Game Last Night And Let Me Tell You This Game Is Epic. The Story Is Great, The Game Is Long And It Looks And Plays Great. If Your A God Of War Fan This Is A Must Have!!!!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
BEST GAME ON PSP FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/10
GhostOfSparta
Location: somewhere on the internet
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is the best on the psp. when i heard about it a few months ago i immediatley rushed down there to preorder it. after these months of waiting i was not a little bit dissapointed. twice as long as chains of olympus, double the enimies on screen, great story, super cool new weapon (Arms Of Sparta) this game has it all. the graphics were so good i kept thinking i was playing on a ps2. a tip of my hat to sony, great game keep it up. if you love god of war and dont have a psp go out and buy the bundle its that good, you will not be dissapointed my friend not at all.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
nice little trailer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
Best psp game demo in the playstation store!
Posted on:10/1/10
bizgamer99
Location: PR
Just when I started playing the God of War: Ghost of Sparta demo I thought this game is the best psp game demo in the playstation store!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gohard
atlanta
 
Please wait while more information about gohard is loaded.
Additional information about gohard could not be loaded.
Ghost od sparta demo
Posted 10/8/10
i think that there should have been more weapons and it was as good as i thought it was
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
Better Than MGSPW.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/13
mrawesomeguy
Location: Earth
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I Love This Game More Than MGSPW And You Don't Know How Much I Love MGSPW.The Graphics Are Beautiful,While The Gameplay And Sounds Are Stunning.The Story Is About Kratos Attempting To Free His Brother,Deimos.But Thanatos,Scylla,Erinys,Millions Of Enemies, And The Piraeus Lion Attempt To Stop Him In This Awesome Quest Of Vengeance.God Of War: Chains Of Olympus, Is Nothing Compared o This Game.Check Out My Other Reviews On MGSPW,God Of War:Chains Of Olympus,And Spider-Man:Web Of Shadows On PSP.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Watch the Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
The best game for the PSP ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/11
Kratos1213
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
God of War:Ghost of Sparta is an excellent game for the PSP or any other system.The graphics,game play,sound,and the appeal is all outstanding.Once you play,you can never get enough,I love this game,You play as Kratos throughout the game.The adventure is amazing you stumble into All sorts of monsters,All from different parts.Trust me,this is an outstanding game.You'll be shocked by all the surprises in this game.Bottom line,This is so worth $30.00.I would recommend this to any hardcore gamer,or anyone who just likes great adventure games and bloody fights.Trust me,buy this game,and you will NEVER regret buying this game,it's AWESOME!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
Awesome game but a little short...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/10
DOmiNicanBoy21
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Don't get me wrong this game is awesome. It has great graphics for the psp, awesome sound, and answers many questions for god of war fans. I love god of war but i felt this game had to get more into depth. This game starts as (spoiler alert) kratos going to the city of Atlantis, then goes to sparta, then finds out where his brother is, then goes back to Atlantis. All that was stretched into 3-4 hours. I know all god of war fans in the world are gonna probably dislike this review, but to tell you the truth, i love god of war as much as anyone. And frankly, god of war 3 was also kinda rushed. But I guess the everything covered for that. Anyway, since i am a huge God of War fan, i will give it a 9 cause of the extra insight on Kratos's past. Also at the end when you fight with Demios was awesome, and the extra stuff u got from pre-ordering this game. Also the Demios skin given to us for the gow 3 looks really good with much detail. I really hope this isnt the last god of war game cause I (and all god of war fans) would be deeply dissapointed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
another great chapter 4 god of war
Posted on:9/18/10
ninerfan916
Location: sacramento
today i just pre-ordered my copy of god of war:ghost of sparta. last night i seen the preview of about two and a half mins of the game and i was convinced that this is one of, if not the best god of war chapters to be released. ive had the privelage of playing all the god of wars and they just keep getting better and better. i cannot wait til NOV.2nd comes and the wait is finally over. my girlfriend got me CHAINS OF OLYMPUS a few yrs back 4 xmas and i still have and play it to this day. whoever created god of war is no less then a GENIUS. it takes a heck of a brain to put the storyline and characters together for one heck of a game. according to the previews i seen, GHOSTS OF SPARTA will blow CHAINS OF OLYMPUS out the water. i cant wait til i recieve my copy and i will make sure my psp is fully charged the night before because once i get it i will be stuck on it till my psp battery dies. as of now, I AM COUNTING DOWN THE DAYS.
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
clank
 
Please wait while more information about clank is loaded.
Additional information about clank could not be loaded.
he is a genuis.
Posted 10/25/10
his name is david jaffe. he also made the twisted metal series.
Customer Avatar
rasbury
 
Please wait while more information about rasbury is loaded.
Additional information about rasbury could not be loaded.
ALL the god of wars?
Posted 9/30/10
have you played god of war: betrayal?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
The Best for The PSP
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/11
whydopeopletakemynickname
Location: Salt Lake Ctys, UT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
God of War Chains of Olympus offered things that a psp had never really seen. it offered out standing graphics, amazing gameplay, and a deep and satisfying story, with an epic music score to top it all of. God of War Ghost of Sparta makes Chains of Olympus seem like a practice run. Somehow readyatdawn studios improved on the graphics for this game making it the best looking game on the psp system to date, and amazing it does this with virtually no load time. The gameplay mechanics are about the same as the other games (this is not at all a bad thing) but adds that addition of giving Kratos the ability to set his blades on fire and adding a third "fire meter" to his health and magic bars which recharches fairly quickly. the sound is also some of the best this series has to offer. you will want headphones for this game. The story is deep and satisfying and although it does not offer much to the entire scope of the series plot, it does expain alot of Kratos' anger to the gods. This is not only the best game for the psp, it is a great entry in an already amazing series. it doesnt compare to the scale of God of War III but it still is an amazing game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/10
gamer234
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is the best thing i played this month,the game has perfect graphics,sounds,the game is like chain olympus but the places are better it looks more alive, also the cutscenes were epic,this game is the best god of war games i played, except god of war 1 2 and 3, because i didnt played those yet,i never know how they put this game on a psp,i highly recommend it ,buy it right now
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
My 2nd Favorite Hack and Slash
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/11
BuuZilla
Location: Indiana,IN
It wasn't too long ago I played Ghost of Sparta. And it's not like I wanted to either. I've never been very fond of God of War. It's one of those overrated video game franchises I don't really play. Like Halo or something. Someone recconmended I play Ghost of Sparta and I wasn't too sure about that becauses I haven't even played Chains of Olympus. I played the game and I was blown away. This is not only the best God of War or one of the best hack and slashers, it one of the best games of the decade. The plot is Kratos has killed Ares and is the new God of War. But Kratos has awful visions of his old and mortal self. He goes to Atlantis to find out what theese dreams mean. The story becomes deeper throughout the game and has a plot twist. This is a great game, and I'd buy it if I were you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
FINALLY BE ONE TO BREAK THE CHAINS!
Posted on:9/16/10
Khimeran77
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
For me personally, gaming is about sinking into a comfortable couch after a hard days work and turning on your gigantic sized, super high definition television and playing one of your favorites until the early hours of the morning. I find it hard to play my PSP unless I am away from my system, which isn't that often and of coarse work doesn't count. So the PSP hardly gets any use. This changed when God of War: Chains of Olympus came out. This was a game that I would play, even while on my comfortable couch and in front of the major gaming system. I didn't need to be "portable" to play Chains! With that being said, it is easily my favorite handheld game. It is the franchise, it is it's predecessor and it is the track record that makes me anticipate GOD OF WAR: GHOST OF SPARTA. Maybe now, there will FINALLY BE ONE TO BREAK THE CHAINS!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
Best game ever
Posted on:10/8/10
T2weerd
Location: Puerto Rico, PR
I think this is gonna be one of the best of god of war's story line. When I entered in the PlayStation Store I went to demos I was OMG the god of war ghost of sparta demo is now free ( I didn't have PlayStation plus ) but now the PlayStation plus icon is now gone. When I downloaded it i was OMG OMG OMG this is sick im downloading the god of war demo. And right when it finished I went to my memory stick under games and it was there. When it started the demo it started like chains of olympus you know that chains of olympus starts and a bunch of guys come trying to beat you up. It started like that and I was getting the feeling that this is gonna be like chains of olympus but when I beated up the dudes. I noticed that you have more combos, there are more fighting styles and you can change your weapons to a lance and a shield in the demo. And you can grab the guys like in god of war 3. But I know that this is gonna be a heck of a game when it comes out. I have reserved it and I know that when it comes it's gonna be great. I'm gonna charge my psp to maximum. And there are a bunch of stuff they are going to give when the game comes out. (When you reserve it) Thank you guys for watching this preview buzz and im going to be doing an unboxing of god of war ghost of sparta thank you guys once again and take care.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JSRF
 
Please wait while more information about JSRF is loaded.
Additional information about JSRF could not be loaded.
Game Rocks!
Posted 11/5/10
I downloaded the demo on PSN and THIS ROCKS.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
PsP still pounds away, but shorter than usual
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/10
EvilNick
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me start by saying "more of the same" BUT if its not broke dont fix it.
The gameplay was amazing, the graphics were out standing, and the sound i found my self taking one ear bud out because it was so powerful. All these aspects aside there was the one flaw; the story. I will say the story was not bad by ANY means, but just didn't fit anywhere in the actual cannon of the story. It was good and kept you going but really very sparse. Your looking for your thought dead brother, now lets stretch that out for about 4 hours of play.... yes about 4 hours! this was one of the shortest games I ever played on my PSP. I would say honestly wait until this game is 20$ or split it with a friend because you wont wait long for your turn. I turned this game on saturday night, played spurratically, and completed it sunday morning. Game was great but i just wish it was a bit longer and fit more into the actual story than it did.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
AMAZING
Posted on:10/11/10
AfterDeathTurmoil
I Believe this is gonna be one of the greatest God Of War games ever I've played every one and when I played the demo i was like OH MY GOD
this game is gonna be amazing. I Pre-Ordered as soon as i could and Can't wait until it gets here
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Joshua6639
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about Joshua6639 is loaded.
Additional information about Joshua6639 could not be loaded.
BEST GAME EVER!
Posted 10/19/10
this game is going to be awesome god of war sparta i'm totally getting it it's $40.00 that's a lot of money but i'm still getting the game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
BEST GAME EVER !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/12
darkman96
I got this like over 2 years ago and it's awesome I like that you can upgrade your weapons when you have enough orbs this game has really good graphics and really good gameplay too. I also like this game because it has a good storyline too so I reccomend that those who don't have this game should get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
Short game with a lot of replay.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/11
damienmma
Location: Tennessee
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This God of War, like any of the games in the series, is really short. It will take someone casually playing about 10 hours to beat and a hardcore gamer between 6 and 8. The good thing is that there are a ton of unlockables after the game is beaten so it gives it a replay value.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
Great Game!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/10
CerberusThanatos
Location: Fairbank, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game. I beat the game and couldn't stop playing. I would definitely recommend this game to others. It's only the second GoW I've played, but it has cemented GoW as a great series in my eyes and I will definitely be buying the rest of them.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for God of War: Ghost of Sparta
WOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/10
MrFresh07
Location: Cape Coral, FL.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I honestly thought that Chains of Olympus was very off topic I mean first I was in Attica fighting soldiers and a Basilisk and then I end up somehow in Hades and going off to see my daughter and all of a sudden I have to save the world. However I am currently playing this game now I am in the Halls of Damnation and so far this game is great I have gotten really far and the best part is that this game is so long I think that it is almost twice as long as Chains of Olympus. So good job God of War creators and keep it going, hopefully you'll make another God of War soon.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>