GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Otomedius Excellent Special Edition

The lovely ladies of Otomedius Gorgeous arrive in the US for the first time in Otomedius Excellent!, the highly anticipated sequel to the Japan-exclusive arcade hit! Featuring heart-pounding classic Gradius-style shoot-em-up gameplay, a dazzling array of stunning visuals, and thrilling multiplayer action, Otomedius Excellent! is sure to be the must-own shooter of the year.
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 250%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Review 1 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Closest we're gonna get next to R-Type or Gradius
Posted on:4/6/11
hossjuice
If youre a fan of shoot-em-ups keep an eye out for this one.
Yeah it has young girls with huge boobs instead of spaceships, but at its core its a shoot-em-up (shmup)!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
7force
Chicago, IL
 
Please wait while more information about 7force is loaded.
Additional information about 7force could not be loaded.
Posted 9/20/11
Technically, since DeathSmiles was actually challenging (unlike Otomedius), it was the closest thing we're going to get to R-Type or Gradius, in terms of domestic releases. Akai Katana Shin came out this year and was excellent, too bad it probably won't be localized. (and isn't region-free)
Customer Avatar
Fluffsamasprime
Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about Fluffsamasprime is loaded.
Additional information about Fluffsamasprime could not be loaded.
Japanese Shooter
Posted 4/19/11
I greatly enjoyed DeathSmiles and several other downloadable japanese shooters, and now I can't wait to play this.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Attempt at a fair preview
Posted on:7/22/11
LesserAngel
Location: Pennsylvania
Otomedius Excellent is a Gradius spinoff, so if you like Gradius, you'll probably like this as well. If you're not familiar with Gradius, it is a side scrolling shooter game where you control a ship, gather powerups, and navigate through a stage while dealing with enemies until you get to a boss you have to destroy. The one major difference between Otomedius and the Gradius series is the scantily clad female characters that pilot the ships in Otomedius, so I wouldn't advise buying this for kids or the immature, or if you have something against scantily clad female characters. The characters and their ships are each based off of ships from previous Konami shooters (with a few exceptions), examples being the Vic Viper from the Gradius series, the Flintlock from Xexex, and even a Castlevania based character planned for DLC being one of the exceptions. From what I've been able to gather, Otomedius Excellent seems to be easier than the games in the Gradius series, so if you're looking for a challenge this probably wouldn't be your best bet. Basically, if you like side scrolling shooters, the anime art style, don't mind the possibly easy difficulty, and don't have anything against the suggestive themes, you'll probably like Otomedius Excellent.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Another Shmup into the collection
Posted on:5/23/11
BlazeTekeshi
Location: Toa Baja, PR
I have played most of the Arcade Shmups, and I'm looking forward to getting this game. I highly recommend this game to players that love these types of games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Hard Corps: Uprising
9 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
I hope Otomedius G comes out as well...
Posted on:6/6/11
Blueriver
Location: Columbia, MD
Last month, when I visited South Korea for my friend's wedding, I had a chance to play this. Korean version of xbox360 can play Japanese games as well without any problem, so one of my friends bought it directly from Japan. Well, I am a Gradius series fan, I AM getting this. It's rather weird mix of spaceship with cute girls, but it worked pretty well and it was really fun for me. Even DLC contents shouldn't be missed. It's just too bad that we cannot see the previous one, Otomedius Gorgeous.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
CE Content
Posted on:5/27/11
LesserAngel
Location: Pennsylvania
From the information I could find, the Collector's Edition will include the Soundtrack, an art book, and a pillowcase. Not bad for the extra $20.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LesserAngel
Pennsylvania
 
Please wait while more information about LesserAngel is loaded.
Additional information about LesserAngel could not be loaded.
Took long enough
Posted 6/19/11
Gamestop.com finally got around to posting the CE content, so my work here is done. I'm a little confused by the Game Stop Exclusive content though. Aoba Anoa already pilots the vic viper, so what's so special about the Gamestop Exclusive?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
While we're waiting...
Posted on:10/10/11
Alexpte
Some other shooters that weren't mentioned yet were Trouble Witches Neo and Triggerheart Exelica, both which are on the Xbox Live Arcade for 800MSP each. I agree with everyone else though about getting Deathsmiles (Limited Edition) and Espgaluda II Black Label (Platininum HIts), they're both really amazing. I really recommend Otomedius Excellent and these other games to anime and shooter fans. Now all that's left is getting Touhou on the Xbox...
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
7force
Chicago, IL
 
Please wait while more information about 7force is loaded.
Additional information about 7force could not be loaded.
Touhou on XBLA
Posted 10/31/11
It won't happen, ZUN announced years ago that he's not interested in commercial success and wants to keep the series "low-key." I don't even see how that's possible with the fanbase. He also works for Taito, and has even hidden a model of Reimu in Magic Pengel. Really, it's his loss.
Customer Avatar
BlazeTekeshi
Toa Baja
 
Please wait while more information about BlazeTekeshi is loaded.
Additional information about BlazeTekeshi could not be loaded.
Agreed
Posted 10/19/11
I'm with you on Touhou, it's one of my favorite series.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Otomedius Excellent! lives up to its name
Posted on:8/29/11
Shiro
Location: San Rafael, CA
I've played the original and Gorgeous for 360 already, and Otomedius is an excellent game. This new installation will feature a pair of downloadable characters from the Japan-only Busou Shinki franchise: Arnvald and Strarf, so you'll wanna get this just for the US debut of Busou Shinki's leading ladies! Highly recommended for all shmup and mecha musume fans, 15/10!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Hope there is a limited edition!
Posted on:4/28/11
Jago
Location: Dallas,TX
Hopefully it's not pushed back again. I've been waiting over a year for this! This is gonna be a cool shoot-em-up game. With cute girls and awesome graphics, this will be an excellent parody of the Gradius series! If you're a shooter fan this is the game to get!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SereneMidnight
 
Please wait while more information about SereneMidnight is loaded.
Additional information about SereneMidnight could not be loaded.
Posted 5/13/11
Konami did say to me that there will be something special for fans.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Meh.
Posted on:9/20/11
7force
Location: Chicago, IL
Don't get me wrong. I'm an avid shmup fan. I've imported a Japanese 360 and almost every CAVE 'manic shooter' game for it. I made a 3-foot-long paper-mache model of the R-9 Arrowhead when I was in 4th grade, just for the heck of it. The only shmups in recent history that I distinctly recall NOT enjoying have been Milestone's terrible trio of sloppy seconds (Chaos Field, Radilgy, and Karous) and Raiden III... until I played the import version of this game at a convention and was caught somewhere between an eyeroll and a facepalm. Fellow shooter fans, I implore you to wait on this. DeathSmiles and Raiden IV are $20 now. ESPGaluda II Black Label is now a Platinum Hit, is region-free, and can be imported for $40. Anyone who buys this game before a significant price drop is condoning Konami's ongoing delay of a TRUE Gradius 6.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
IT'S FINALLY IN STORES!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/11
OnceUponaVideoGame
Location: Carmichael, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just picked this up at Gamestop yesterday. I brought this game over to a buddies house where a bunch of us could't wait to tear into it. After about 10 minutes of playing this.... we turned it off and put in something else. This shooter is boring if your a hardcore shooter fan. The graphics and sound are great, but gameplay is slow. This style of shooter was great in the late 80's Early 90's, but after all the amazing Cave and Treasure shooters, games like this just don't measure up. Putting half-naked anime chicks on a slow moving shooter doesn't make the game better. This game is good for a casual gamer but I wouldn't recommend this for a hardcore fan of this genre.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
7force
Chicago, IL
 
Please wait while more information about 7force is loaded.
Additional information about 7force could not be loaded.
Posted 11/18/11
I grew up with R-Type and Space Invaders, and I've been a hardcore shmup fan since 2004 thanks to Gradius V, ESPGaluda, Psyvariar 2, Border Down, and Mars Matrix. (those games introduced me to various styles of play, and hold a special place in my heart.) I agree 100%. This game is a punch in the throat to any true Gradius fan.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Another Delay KONAMI?
Posted on:9/17/11
GeoSword
Location: Katy, TX
The numerous delays that KONAMI is doing reminds me of when they took forever to release AirForce Delta STRIKE (AFD Blue Wing Knights) for PS2. And like that time, I may end up importing this game just as I did AFDS because of its numerous inconsistent decisions by KONAMI US.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
September
Posted on:9/19/11
Fluffsamasprime
Location: Oregon
I could have sworn this game was sapposed to come out last month then this month now its November!? I still plan on keeping my pre-order of it, since I enjoy japanese bullet hells, but come on don't pull a Gran Turismo 5 on me.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Delayed again!
Posted on:9/15/11
Jago
Location: Dallas,TX
After more than 5 times being delayed, I wonder if it will ever get released!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Got it today
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/11
BlazeTekeshi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The moment I got this game today, and started playing it, I loved it. Plays almost like Gradius, voices are still JAP and kind of tough. Overall, I'm happy with this game. Recommended game if you're looking for more Shoot-Em-Ups.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
future rare game?
Posted on:8/25/11
DerdleDoo
Location: Eureka, MO
This is one of those games I'd buy and NEVER open. It'll be worth some mad money in the future.
4 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
7force
Chicago, IL
 
Please wait while more information about 7force is loaded.
Additional information about 7force could not be loaded.
Posted 9/20/11
I'm sure people thought the same thing about DeathSmiles. (which, unlike this, was a genuinely great game.)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Otomedius Excellent
Posted on:10/31/11
Kikkoman
Location: NC
I hope there is no more delay on this and comes out tomorrow.I got my pre order in just for the bonus items.I'm a fan on anime and gradius shooters.It would rock if the game came with a hidden playable japan arcade version.Can't wait to play.^ ^
Review 17 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
Pushed back again.
Posted on:11/1/11
Finboy
This game was supposed to come out today. 11/1/01. i checked yesterday and it said it was still that and i goto look today and its pushed back again. Starting to believe it isn't going to come out at all.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Sega
 
Please wait while more information about Sega is loaded.
Additional information about Sega could not be loaded.
Release Date
Posted 11/6/11
Not sure why it says it releses on the 8th now cause i went to pick up my copy and they already had it in which was yesterday the 5th
Customer Avatar
strifekun
 
Please wait while more information about strifekun is loaded.
Additional information about strifekun could not be loaded.
Posted 11/5/11
This game says it's already released on Amazon. If they're shipping out copies then I think I might cancel my order here and see what's happening over there.
Customer Avatar
Spanishzombe
 
Please wait while more information about Spanishzombe is loaded.
Additional information about Spanishzombe could not be loaded.
seriously
Posted 11/3/11
I feel you on that bro, I know we've been waiting for at least half a year's worth of delays and then, when its supposed to come out FINALLY, they delay it again... I love video games, but I don't like being the one getting played with when a game is going to come out.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 18 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
I dont plan on getting
Posted on:8/11/11
kingofthegamers
This looks about as bad as wartech so I think this games going to be average I dont plan on getting, at least not till its 5 bucks.
1 of 35 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
7force
Chicago, IL
 
Please wait while more information about 7force is loaded.
Additional information about 7force could not be loaded.
Posted 9/20/11
While Otomedius is pretty abysmal as far as shmups go... I paid $20 for Wartech and enjoyed it quite a bit for what it was.
Still... Despite how crudely you worded it, I must concur that there are far better shmups out there. For $50, one could get Bangai-O: Missile Fury, Radiant Silvergun, Ikaruga, and still have a few bucks to spare for some darn good games on the indie channel.
Customer Avatar
xXyesac100Xx
Earth
 
Please wait while more information about xXyesac100Xx is loaded.
Additional information about xXyesac100Xx could not be loaded.
Posted 9/5/11
There is a certain irony to that statement since I bought wartech for 3 bucks and loved it! :D
Customer Avatar
BlazeTekeshi
 
Please wait while more information about BlazeTekeshi is loaded.
Additional information about BlazeTekeshi could not be loaded.
Posted 8/21/11
Why don't you TRY the game instead of saying you're not going to buy it?
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 19 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
DO NOT GET THIS
Posted on:4/12/11
dolphinboy
Okay one thing this seems stupid and I will never get this and please take this advice.
3 of 172 found this review helpful.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
kingofthegamers
 
Please wait while more information about kingofthegamers is loaded.
Additional information about kingofthegamers could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
I agree with you
Posted 10/2/11
I agree with you,and why when someone writes something good you see 5 out of 5 and when you see a bad one its 1 out of 138.
Customer Avatar
buddyofoo
Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about buddyofoo is loaded.
Additional information about buddyofoo could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Posted 7/9/11
I Agree with you 3,000.00% dolphinboy.
Customer Avatar
AJM76
New York
 
Please wait while more information about AJM76 is loaded.
Additional information about AJM76 could not be loaded.
keep playing your COD
Posted 6/4/11
and get off the website.
Customer Avatar
BlazeTekeshi
Toa Baja, PR
 
Please wait while more information about BlazeTekeshi is loaded.
Additional information about BlazeTekeshi could not be loaded.
Posted 5/23/11
DolphinBoy, I would suggest you be careful of how you review stuff. You need to watch game previews before you start saying if it's a bad game or not. I'm getting this game, and I know I won't be disappointed.
Customer Avatar
LesserAngel
 
Please wait while more information about LesserAngel is loaded.
Additional information about LesserAngel could not be loaded.
Posted 5/8/11
I seem to recall another game that seemed stupid, it was called Katamari Damacy, and that game rocked, besides, you can't really go wrong with a $30 price tag. Though to be fair, this game probably isn't for everyone. Do your research kids!
Customer Avatar
StarwindTheBold
 
Please wait while more information about StarwindTheBold is loaded.
Additional information about StarwindTheBold could not be loaded.
Posted 5/6/11
How about you actually play it before hating on it?
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Review 20 for Otomedius Excellent Special Edition
This game looks horrible!!!!!
Posted on:7/20/11
grunge
DO NOT get this game! It looks horrible! Don't get this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 82 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
7force
Chicago, IL
 
Please wait while more information about 7force is loaded.
Additional information about 7force could not be loaded.
You know...
Posted 9/20/11
While I can confirm that it plays as horribly as it looks, you really could have worded it better. If you want people to take your "buzz" seriously (1 out of 75, congrats), perhaps try taking more than five seconds to jot it out next time and offer some explanation to back your claim.
Customer Avatar
StokedRider
 
Please wait while more information about StokedRider is loaded.
Additional information about StokedRider could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Hey guy
Posted 7/23/11
I'm getting this game. Have you ever played a shooter before? And no, I'm not talking about Call of Duty. Just wondering.
Customer Avatar
LesserAngel
Pennsylvania
 
Please wait while more information about LesserAngel is loaded.
Additional information about LesserAngel could not be loaded.
Why?
Posted 7/22/11
Please, if you're going to tell someone not to get a game because it looks horrible, at least say why that is.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)