GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Power Gig: Rise of the SixString

Power Gig: Rise of the Six String is the next evolution of band based music games. The game introduces players to a world where music is power and heroic and villainous rockers battle for control. Each player takes on the role of one of these rockers as they attempt to unite and retake the world from the oppressive rule of the Headliner. Gameplay allows up to 3 players to take on the role of a guitarist, drummer, & singer.The game utilizes a set of revolutionary new instrument peripherals headlined by the SixString Guitar Controller. The SixString evolves guitar controllers from buttons to real strings, giving players a more authentic gameplay experience and providing the option to make the experience even more real through Power Chord mode, which integrates songs' real power chords into gameplay. The game also uses Seven45 Studios new drum controller, which will revolutionize how games play drums as well. Both of these peripherals together give players a more true-to-life, immersive, and unique music performance experience. The game also ups the authenticity factor by featuring hit master recordings of songs from major artists whose music has never before been available to play within a music game.
Average Customer Rating:
5.25
5.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
2 out of 450%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Power Gig: Rise of the SixString
Review 1 for Power Gig: Rise of the SixString
this happened once before lol
Posted on:7/30/10
FrenchToast475
this is gonna be like what happened when rock revolution came out. with rock band 3 and guitar hero wor this game wont make it in the long run....youll see it on the 4.99 rack in no time.
15 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
2hrDance
 
Please wait while more information about 2hrDance is loaded.
Additional information about 2hrDance could not be loaded.
I agree, bad timing...
Posted 9/30/10
True, if you’re trying to sell a new "type" of music game, don't freaking release it at the same time a new Guitar Hero and Rock Band are coming out. Plus if their description listed all the songs, it only has 20, they have some great songs don't get me wrong, but it doesn't take long to master them and get bored with them, and if it doesn't gain popularity it won't have many songs to buy and download like GH and RB.
I don’t know about the game play, so can’t comment on that but I don’t think it will have the success it wants.
It is truly welcome to prove me wrong though!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Power Gig: Rise of the SixString
forget about the other reviews!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/10
65h70n
Location: B.C.
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i don't know where everyone is getting what they say about this game. its awesome. i think its because your all used to playing guitar hero and rock band that you cant play a real guitar.the game play is cool because its like playing an actual guitar. its also considered an instrument so you cant say that its not. i don't know why everyone says that the sound sucks because its a music game! the sound needs to be good. the game gets really hard later on unless your hands are fast. i can play it over and over again without getting bored. over all its a good game and i would recommend it to anyone who is waiting for a real guitar game. DON'T LISTEN TO THE OTHER REVIEWS!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Power Gig: Rise of the SixString
What is this man???
Posted on:7/6/10
BrianLancastersGay!!!
I think this game sounds way different than anything out. I don't really understand if it's like Rockband or Guitar Hero with playing aong with real songs or if it's to make your own??? I would try it out. Give me more info...
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Runbash65
Nacogdoches, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Runbash65 is loaded.
Additional information about Runbash65 could not be loaded.
Don't Do It
Posted 10/9/10
Trust me, this game will probably have a bit of successful time, but soon it will be forgotten and ignored for Guitar Hero and Rock Band. Also, Rock Band's already announced that they've been working on a pro guitar project for the past 3 years.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Power Gig: Rise of the SixString
Hard On YOU!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/10
Choplick
Location: Charleston, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you were into the other music game guitars and never bothered to pick up a real guitar yourself, then your probably going to be disappointed. This game can be hard. For me and my small fingers, having one of them anywhere off center between frets resulted in a no-go-note. You will need to adjust your finger tips to sensing the very small frets on this games tiny guitar, if you don't lose feeling on them from pressing to hard in the first place. I found myself getting lost on the frets many times. This game is in no way easy to pick up and play without guitar experience. I'm sure I will enjoy the game once I get a feel for a real guitar, but until then I'm going to have to avoid throwing the guitar at the wall. If you have no intentions of getting the SixString then you should have no intentions of buying this game. I'm sure the songs on this game are or will be available on the other games. Plus this games interface is horrible and loading times are the worst. You cannot start a song over without reseting a gig(all songs picked, up to 3) and if you only add one song to your gig you will still be able to brush your teeth before its done loading. I am not looking forward to playing this game further, but I will have to since I want to pick up the Fender Stratocaster(A real REAL guitar) when it comes out so maybe by then I'll at least be able to play normally without killing my fingers. All in all I don't think this game is worth it if you only want to have fun and you have other music game experience.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Power Gig: Rise of the SixString
stupid...
Posted on:10/20/10
warcraftisawesome
Location: MN
ok really what are they doing here? i honestly dont see how this is going to work are they going to have you sit there holding the guitar the wrong way just hitting the first four frets on the E string? No guitar experience needed probably because you will be playing a fake guitar that makes no real sound not even the right way. instead of getting this just go learn how to play real guitar if not stick to rock band.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Power Gig: Rise of the SixString
Not What I Expected...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/11
MrNinja
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had no idea, this game was so weird. For starters, the note track is far to the right and the notes are really small, so you have to sit really close to the TV to see them at all. The story is awesome, think T-rated Brutal Legend. The weirdest thing about this game is the setlist. The only songs on here that are good, in my opinion are: Layla, Lay Down Sally, Crossroads, She's A Genius, Cherub Rock, Tick Tick Boom, and a couple others. But, it's still worth it, if you're a guitar game fanatic!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Power Gig: Rise of the SixString
Worst Game Ever
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/11
Playstationfan99
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I got this game for Christmas I was expecting something revolutionary, something that would change music games. I was wrong, In this game you can't play real notes on the guitar, it is just like guitar hero with the colored buttons but instead of buttons it has strings. The setlist is terrible and if I were you I would stick with guitar hero or rockband. No wonder this game is $8!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10