GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Darkstar One - Broken Alliance

In Darkstar One - Broken Alliance, command the mysterious spacecraft, the Darkstar One, allowing near infinite customization capabilities using the latest and even mysterious alien weapons and technologies. Blast into space for in-your-face 3D combat in full 1080p High Definition, explore over 300 alien worlds, buy and sell cargo or services, all while exploring a vast and beautiful universe in a quest to uncover the mystery behind the main character's father.
Average Customer Rating:
7.222
7.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 956%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Review 1 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Shows a good space shooter would work.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
USArevenge
Location: Maryland
Dark star one puts you in command of a fighter aircraft, where you can explore a galaxy, do missions, attack freighters, kill pirates or even mine asteroids. the idea of the space shooter goes back a long long time, the most known one was probably freespace, darkstar one tries to be as good as it but falls very short. many think consoles couldn't do it because of the lack of inputs but darkstar one plays very well but the problem is it gets boring fast. the main story is linear and unimaginative almost every mission is the same, even side missions are on of a few possibilities. before you beat the game you will probably be bored of it. the voice acting is pretty bad and not synced at all to characters, subtitles are off pretty well as well. over all it's worth the current price ( $15-$20) but It isn't worth much more. the game gives me hope we will see a good space game come to xbox with epic combat, missions and maybe even multiplayer.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 2 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Well.. Where should i begin?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/12
iLLNaStyOne
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Not much to say about this game. I picked it up after completing Mass Effect 2 for the 5th time. I just was on a space kick and felt maybe this would fill the void. Not so.. After reading decent reviews i thought i'd give it a try, but it just never caught my interest. Gameplay is very bland, graphics are nothing special and sound is ridiculous.. In a bad way. Only thing i liked about this game was the achievement it gave me for crashing the ship into a planet. It was the only way i could end my boredom and i was rewarded for it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Repetitive gameplay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
wolverine7
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dark Star one has some interesting concepts but doesn't deliver at all when it comes to variation in gameplay. The game is extremely respetitive and fails to deliver any real excitement. If you enjoy flying around outer space third person style the whole game than you will probably like it. But this game is nothing compared to mass effect.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Better then I thought it would be!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/12
SlyMC182
Location: Madison Heights,Mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game because I wanted a space game to hold me over untill Mass Effect 3 comes out. And it is good. It has its faults just like any other game, but the game play is fun and the story was interesting. I had a good time upgradeing my ship with weapons and equipment and the game is fairly long so you can not go wrong for the price. If you are looking for a good "space sim" give it a try.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Decent for $20
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/11
MaqDiesel
Location: columbus, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
For paying $20 for this game I can not be mad. The controls are somewhat aggravating though, compared to normal flight simulator games (I still make flight errors on this game due to being used to flight games). The story line is somewhat weak and slow, with little direction on what to do sometimes (I've been stuck twice just roaming around trying to figure things out). Granted I've made it through the tough spots trying to figure things out. The aircraft is customizable with different guns, missile pods, haul, wings, and engine. Upgrades are available as credits are earned and upgrades are made. Though having its bad spots I give this game an 8, its worth $20 I don't know if i would spend much more on it though! Good for kid gamers as well, there is no language in this game and is kid friendly.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Good concept, Bad execution.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/11
JunkGamer
Location: Lakewood, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love the concept of this game: Fly back and forth between solar systems trading good, fighting space-pirates and trying to stop an alien invasion. The execution of the concept on the other hand, is somewhat disappointing. Almost every battle will function the exact same way, except for a few story missions. There are somewhat frequent glitches and issues with side-quests, and the controls are a bit awkward for anybody who's used to standard flight layouts. It's rare that you're dropped a tiny piece of the plot, and then it takes an enormous amount of work to get to the next one, usually involving protecting some kind of incredibly weak ally with awkward navigation. The voice acting is some of the worst I have ever heard; It somehow manages to beat Dynasty Warriors to that title. All of that said, this game isn't unplayable it just takes patience and a high tolerance for repetition. If the concept in this game were married to the rest of the gameplay from Mass Effect if would be an amazing game, but as is it's pretty mediocre. If you're looking for space battles, go with Project Sylpheed instead. If you've played that and wanted something less exciting, try this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
The new Privateer Game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/11
Akivar
Location: Augusta, KS
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This Game is a Great Game for those who are looking for a Space Ship game with Options to Upgrade and Advance; as well as, being able to Go through a Free Roaming Galaxy and Do What you want. I haven't Tried being Pure Evil in the game but you've got a lot that you can do to keep you entertained. The Story Mode is Well Written with some backstory to help pull you into the universe. There are a lot of things to keep you occupied such as Smuggling, Piracy, being a Mercenary, Station to Station Trading, Escorting, and Killing Pirates and Claiming the Unvierse as your own. Playing through the story you'll typically be a good player, however the more you do to increase your reputation in one way, the more consequences you'll have. For Example if you are Killing alot of Pirates and Eliminating Pirate Gangs, more and more Pirates will attack you as you fly around the Universe. I was kind of hoping for more out of this game though, but I expect a lot out of most games that I play. It would be great if they were able to add more Free Roaming / Social Interaction options. Overall It's a Great Game and If you were ever into Privateer / Privateer 2: The Darkening then this is the Console Game for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Pretty Good space game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/10
Space geek 123
If you are into Star Trek or Star Wars type games, you will love this game. Darkstar One if very close to Star wars battlefront 2's space battles. The controls are a little hard to get used to, but they are pretty good. The words are hard to read, and you don't understand everything, which should be changed. There are epic space battles, great upgrades, and even better graphics. The storyline can be a little confusing, but it's good enough. As long as you remember all the instructions, you will be okay. One thingIi do not like is that you can not control your character, only his ship. The aliens aren't has varied as other space games thought. I would personally wait until the price lowers, because it is pretty expensive new. Like I said, this is a great space fighter game and I strongly suggest buying it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Great 1st person space shooter
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/10
Kr1msyn
This game is just awesome. if you enjoyed games like Colony Wars for PSone and X-the threat for pc you'll love this game. This game puts you in the shoes of a guy who just inherited a one of a kind space fighter from his recently deceased father. What makes this ship so unique is you actually get to level it up much in the way you would a character in an RPG using ancient artifacts. Allowing you to equip better weapons and gadgets to make your already lethal ship all the more deadly. You also get to engage in a variety of side missions and activities which rank you up in one of the 6 classes you can play as which are, bounty hunter, mercenary, merchant, smuggler, killer and pirate. As you play through the game you unravel the mystery surrounding your fathers death and make some great friends and even greater enemies along the way, but be wary because not everyone is as they seem. Overall Darkstar One is a great game with a captivating story and innovative control scheme and i definitely recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
grunge
 
Please wait while more information about grunge is loaded.
Additional information about grunge could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Not rlly a first person shooter
Posted 10/4/11
This isn't exactly a first person shooter. If you are gonna a shooter it is more of third person shooter, but excellent game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Best Space Action/Trading Game To Ever Hit the Consoles
Posted on:6/26/10
X3 Pilot
When i learned that DarkStar One will be coming out for the Xbox 360 i breathed a bit easier, finaly a Space Action/Trading game will be coming out. This is going to be the only game of this genre to come out for the Xbox 360. The original DarkStar One already came out for the pc in 06 and it was a superb game unlike games like X3 (which required loads of time and dedication not that I didnt master the game) it was very simplified for the more casual gamer to get into.
Review 11 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Should be Good
Posted on:5/26/10
Anonymous
Was a great game back on the PC a few years ago so should be even better with some updated graphics and a few game-play tweaks.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Darkstar One - Broken Alliance
Should be Good
Posted on:5/26/10
Anonymous
Was a great game back on the PC a few years ago so should be even better with some updated graphics and a few game-play tweaks.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.