GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light

In the small kingdom of Horne, Brandt awakes on the morning of his 14th birthday.Today is the day he becomes an adult, and the custom of the realm says that he must go to the castle to present himself to the king.Yet when he arrives at the castle, he finds the king distraught and the youngest princess missing, abducted by the Witch of the North. With no one else to turn to, the king makes a shocking request: will Brandt save the princess? And thus Brandt's adventure begins...
Average Customer Rating:
7.8
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 1080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Review 1 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
A DS game not to miss. Period.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/11
BrettK
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Final Fantasy: 4HoL is not a remake of Final Fantasy, let me be clear on this NOT A REMAKE. It has a lot of features the original had, but, oh so many more are packed into it. It IS however an original tale and a very well done game. It's tough, it requires more than just spamming attack or magic, and you'll need to actually grind, something absent in a lot of recent RPGs.
The story is very old school and traditional, it's not "bad" per say, but if you're looking for deep story, you're not going to find it here. There is character progression in the sense that everyone will grow to trust each other etc. and the 4 heroes will split off and come back multiple times in the tale; It is kind of bad seeing as when your designated healer leaves you're pretty much out of luck.
This is where the job system comes in, or Crown system, you obtain crowns throughout your tale, these crowns let you switch jobs on the spot, your healer may not be my healer, your mage may be someone different, it's a very good concept, think FFIII on the DS and you have your concept of such classes. These crowns have gems slots that you'll be picking up throughout your journey that you can equip, these will give you boosts to your stats from the class. You'll level up each class individually so expect a lot of grinding to all of you completionists out there.
One thing you will notice VERY quickly is the inventory space. Each of the 4 heroes has 15 slots, 5 of which will pretty much be saved to armor, mages can expect less because you need to carry spellbooks. This feature is a welcome change for me, as going in with 99 of everything, prepared for any battle made things too easy, to add, nothing stacks, a potion takes up a slot, and another potion will take up another slot, meaning if you give 1 person all the healing/status effect items and he goes down, you can expect a wipe. Plan accordingly. One thing to add, as you equip items, you will see each item you will see it on your character. Putting on a crown will be different for each class, putting on a set of armor will all look different. It's another welcome effect.
The battles have changed significantly as well. Gone away is MP, replaced by AP (action points) Each character has 5, and depending on what move you do it will use X amount of AP. Doing "Boost," a defensive stance will give you a point back, as well as random AP awarded for getting psyched up.
In battles you'll notice a lack of summons, sadly, these are gone, although I'd do anything to have them back, they make the game more quick paced. Classes all have their own abilities as you level each one up though, so expect some special moves in there. Fights are fast paced, and done well so it does take the sting away from grinding, but I will warn you, you're going to need to do it a lot. This game is in no sense easy, you'll find yourself stuck with no way to progress until you've gained a few more levels, even if you don't run from every encounter, you'll still need to do some.
Sound and graphics in FF:4HoL is at a crossroads for me. The graphics are wonderful, it feels like a storybook my parents read to me when I was a kid. Music has changed, nothing will sound familiar, there is no prelude, there is no infamous battle theme... no victory fanfare. Nobuo is absent as a composer, replaced by another who did everything different. This alone was enough to almost make me pass it up. Although the composer isn't bad at all, multiple times I found myself humming the tunes as I walked in a dungeon or overworld. Sound effects are well done, as they have always been, no voice acting this time around which was another downer, if voice acting means I don't get to name my heroes, I would gladly give up that simple option.
I will not comment on multiplater, as none of my friends have played it, so there was no co-op, although it did look promising, 4 player questing is always fun and probably adds a lot of depth to the game.
All in all, this game is amazing, it's a unique styled game that covers a brutal and deep fighting system. It is a wonderful experience that will take dozens of hours of your life away, and you'll gladly give them up as you get lost in this Fantasy. A definite buy.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
"Destruction of a Classic?"
Posted on:9/24/10
Isaak
Location: California
Tip: prior to providing users with your opinion on a game, consider learning at least a few things about that game. This is not a remake of the original Final Fantasy, and has never once been advertised as such. In fact, it's prominently advertised as the first Final Fantasy game for Nintendo DS which isn't a remake or spin-off. And, in my opinion, it looks like a great Final Fantasy installment
40 of 44 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
One of the best in years.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/10
Akutom
Location: Kirkland, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is what final fantasy used to be. Not an overwhelmingly great story, not super awesome mind blowing graphics, instead an intensely good game with length. The story starts off slow and boring and pretty much stays that way the whole game, which is fine thats not what this game is trying to do. What it is trying to do is give you a terrific experience, which it does fantasticaly. Theres tons of dungeons, tons of items/equipment, and tons of customization. This game packs a huge ammount of hours if you explore and do all that there is offered with bonuses galore and secrets aplenty. Do you miss the day when final fantasy meant you were getting a great game and not some garbage with "purty" graphics? Then buy this. BUY IT NOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Perfectly Final Fantasy
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/10
PaperMemories
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Reading others reviews, I saw that some were unpleased with the game. I had to think other wise. I'm a hard core final fantasy fan game, and this was just the cherry on the top. There is some complain over the graphics, yet I think they did it amazingly, giving it a story book appeal. The new Crown system is very interesting, and will draw the appeal of the Classes back in Final Fantasy fans. Yet, I do have some disses. I didn't like the fact that you could become a different class so simply. Once you got the class, you could become it right away. Ah, didn't like that. Also, I thought the story was just a little too fast. Their actions were blunt and didn't have much reason to it. Also, dungeons can be hard if you don't know what the boss is weak against. Also, you need to buy new armor alot, no matter how stupid it makes your character look!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Back 2 Basics
Posted on:9/18/10
SaintDanger
Location: IL
OK, because I haven't liked a lot of the games that have come out since FF IX, I had almost lost hope. Besides re-releases, the games have all been mediocre. Yeah, graphics were good, but that was about all they had. With either lame stories, or no character development, I'd thought that a new game that looked FUN wasn't going to happen. This looks simple enough to be fun, but interesting enough to keep me playing. It also looks like there will be a more old school challenge to it. None of the FF X stuff where you can beat the game almost in your sleep. Will it be simple? It's on DS, so it won't be giant. But then again, the worlds in the last few games haven't been all that impressive either. I honestly just want my world map back.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
This game sounds great!!!!!
Posted on:7/31/10
geofftd
I pre-ordered this game about 2 months ago and what I hear about it, its going to be a great game. the story board is different from what the original games have. This game has so many new expectations and hopefully more jobs and more weapons. I, from what I haer about this game, is a must buy.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Definitely a worthy addition to the FF DS Games!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/11
Wagram
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is actually a pretty well done game.
Pros:
Unique Art Style - I found it to be highly enjoyable, even if their heads are boulders!
Music - Naoshi Mizuta continues to impress me with his fantastic music. Please be a composer for FFXV!
Crown System - Can change your class at the drop of a hat
Challenging - Don't let the art style fool you. This is a game for people who like a challenge. I personally got stuck on several bosses for quite a few hours. Good luck in the final dungeon folks!
Turn Based Battle System + Towns + Old School = WINNNN!!!
Cons:
Story - It's very basic. If you ever played any of the original FF games like I-III. Then expect something like that because your not going to find something amazing. However I personally would rank the story in this game as better than any of those.
Crown System Style - I thought it was slightly annoying that each character had to use gems (which are pretty scarce sometimes) to gain new abilities for the classes. I suppose I was hoping that it was universal for all characters.
Anyways, great game! Pick it up!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Not A Remake
Posted on:9/27/10
Xboxkid345
Location: Indiana
If everyone would pay attention this is clearly not a remake of Final Fantasy I. This is a brand new game with a new spin on FF series, not a remake of a previous game
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Not as easy as people think
Posted on:9/27/10
coaldriver
Location: pa
Alot of people are worried about this game being too easy, most likely because of descriptions saying simplistic battle systems. I think they are going for a game anyone can pick up and play. Such as non final fantasy fans. As far as difficulty goes, I've read some previews for this game and people are saying it gets really hard. I'm excited for a new Final Fantasy. It looks great to me.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
A great new RPG for the DS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/10
standinup4wii
Location: IL
This isnt much like the other final fantasy games you might know, and its far different from the original final fantasy, although it is still a great game. Alot of people believe the graphics werent good because they didn't look as "realistic" as the previous 2 final fantasy remakes, but they don't really understand that this game was going for a different art style, one that kind of looks and feels like a story book. Another thing i really liked was the customization, since your characters appearance changes with every armor set, weapon, and sheild you equip/ remove from them. The story was fresh and entertaining, and the characters were original and easy to grow attatched to, just like the characters in most final fantasy games are. Although, the gameplay was different from your average final fantasy game. Instead of MP you had 5 circles. using an item or attacking in battle took one circle, and using magic attacks took from 2-4 circles. One circle would regenerate after every turn. One of the things I enjoyed the most about this game was the crown system. After certain points in the game, you would obtain these crowns which would allow the wearer of them to change to a specific class. These classes would give you specific abilities and stat changes, such as the white mage that makes white magic spells only take up one circle, and the fighter which gave the wearer higher strength. They also learn one new attack from wearing the crown, and can learn more after upgrading the crown. Another great feature about this game is the multiplayer, since you are allowed to take any one of your 4 characters from your game and play in another friends game with them. Not only does this allow you to play co- op story mode, but it unlocks many sidequests for you to play if youve both already completed the game. My only real complaint about this game is that when attacking, healing, or using an item, you aren't allowed to select a target, the game chooses a target for you. This can be a little annoying at times, but its easy to get used to, and adds in a new strategy being that the games target choice is followed in a pattern (EX: healing items/ spells are usually used on the player with the least HP, spells/ bow weapons usually attack monsters in the back, swords usually attack monsters in the front, etc.). Overall, I thought this game was great, and would make a good edition to any RPG fans DS.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
This is the bes ff game for the ds
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/12
rokzstar
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I must say this game is great the visuals of this game is amazing top notch if you buy this you just have that feeling like you made a perfect choice and that you will enjoy hours of play and really will enjoy this is a great game great graphics and its fun makes you wanna go on an adventure of your own and find some friends to adventure with so if you can find this game in store grab it and dont look back and dont listen to anyone i know good games when i see one and this is one of my top 10 so go out now and buy it you wont regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
A new FF game, count me in, a classic FF sweet.
Posted on:9/28/10
Nedriths
Location: Lancaster, Pa
A classic FF with fantasy graphics is something long awaited for since FFIX with a fully functional world map and some nice dungeons.
A class system is just nice, hasn't been done in a while in a main FF series minus the minor paradigm class stuff in FFXIII and the international version of FFXII.
Also, btw to whoever said this is Final Fantasy it should have only 6 jobs. FFV had 22 and FFT had 20(if I counted right). This is Final Fantasy, they do what they want to do, they make every game different and they make every fresh new and innovative. This is Final Fantasy and Square Enix, they make great games. They don't take a game that sold well and just reuse the mechanics to death.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Can't wait
Posted on:6/25/10
Anonymous
Even though i just started playing final fantasy i can't wait until this game comes out! I only have final fantasy III and i haven't yet beaten it but i can tell from what i've seen so far that it is a good game series. EXCITED!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Final Fantasy comes back full circle towards its old school roots having returned to the classic job
Posted on:7/3/10
Paul29RenoNevada
I am excited to see that Square-Enix has gone back to some of the basic yet extremely entertaining styles of Final Fantasy franchise by using its famous side scrooling and jobs system which is sweet.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
nowhere near a remake, but still syched for it
Posted on:10/1/10
Mrhappyface
Location: colorado
after playing ff1 3 different times(nes, gba, and on the ipod) i think i know a remake from a spinoff. this is going to have 24 jobs instead of the original 12( wether you begin with 12 and transform into the next level is still unknown) but still with that many jobs there could be infinite stratagies that could be imployed. Im looking forward to seeing a huge plot twist like in the original ff, and it will still be beter than 13 by a mile if square does what they say theyre going to do
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Destruction of a Classic.
Posted on:9/21/10
Anonymous
When I first heard about a 3-D remake of Final Fantasy, I was pretty excited. However, when they started talking about creating specific names and stories for party members (which also leads to there being a 'main' party member). The real problem is the new job system. Seriously, 2 dozen jobs? This is Final Fantasy. You should have 6 classes: Fighter, Black Belt, Thief, Black Mage, White Mage, and Red Mage. Technically it is 12 when you add in their later class change, but still, why ruin the simplicity of it all. If you want a game with all the fancy new bells and whistles, but still old school FF, check out the remake of IV. Otherwise, just stick with any one of the many FFI ports out there.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 133 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
JesseS
 
Please wait while more information about JesseS is loaded.
Additional information about JesseS could not be loaded.
Ummm....no
Posted 9/26/10
How is this the destruction of a classic?! Final Fantasy is known for its job system, did you skip games like Final Fantasy Tactics, Final Fantasy III, Final Fantasy V, and Final Fantasy X-2? It sounds like to me you only played a select few Final Fantasy games.
Customer Avatar
jpak
 
Please wait while more information about jpak is loaded.
Additional information about jpak could not be loaded.
Are you real?
Posted 9/23/10
This isn't a remake of any sort- it's a non-cannon side game all it's own.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 17 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
really fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/10
arty42
Location: OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the game was really fun but most of the bosses are to easy until you get to the end and you have to fight the king, he was really hard. for the first half of the game all four of you are never together because something happens to the city and two of you escape to safety and the other two try to help the town and then one guy leaves on person and another person gets turned into a cat and when the guy leaves the other person he finds a cat which is that person and the guy the cat was with finds a cat thinking that it's her so he travels to a city to lift the curse and the who lifts the curse ran to some cave while the other guy is goin to a sacred town to try and lift the curse and he gets turned into a vegetable as part of a defense mechanism and the cat has to find a staff to turn him into a animal so now he is a dog so they have to get turned into humans and they do so they say that they can't help him but someone can on a floating city so they jump to at the top of this big tree and he falls but the other person makes it all while the other guy is still lookin for the cat and the two guys meet up in this cave with the cat which is just a cat and then he finds out it's just a cat and they head to this town and get a dragon and fly to the floating city while the abandoned girl is making her way to the floating city and you all meet there and do some stuff and the 2nd half of the story starts.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Disappointing for a Final Fantasy game
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/11
jbl8199
Location: Johnstown, PA
The battle system was just horrible in this one. You couldn't even select your target for attacking, healing, etc. And you only had a very limited number of items you could carry. Also, I didn't really like the whole cartoony look to the game. I'm usually a huge Final Fantasy fan and it's one of my favorite games, but Squaresoft really failed with this one.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Epic 2 The Max
Posted on:7/28/10
Innen
Its a must buy every FF title never lets you down!!!!
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
Sounding promising
Posted on:7/28/10
Razmoudah
When I first heard of it I'd thought it might be another remake of Final Fantasy I, and was cautiously interested. I can say from what I've seen on Gamestop that I'm definitely looking forward too it now, particularly as they don't appear to have made the major mistakes that unbalanced Final Fantasy I in the Final Fantasy Dawn of Souls remake. It does sound like it is going to be more than just a remake, but a complete rein-visioning of the game and that makes it all the more appealing to me.
1 2 next>>