GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gunblade NYC & LA Machine Guns

Two fast-paced and beloved arcade shooter games take you to the skies above someof America's most well-known locales. Up to two players control machineguns on twoflying battle vehicles to destroy an android terrorist invasion.First, combat android invaders in New York City with your Gunblade helicopter gunship.Then, climb aboard a futuristic hovering gunship to battle a new force of android enemiesin Los Angeles and West Coast locales such as Alcatraz, Yosemite and Las Vegas.Wii Zapper compatible and a host of added Wii features like online leaderboards forworldwide ranking and Wii Remote vibration complete the experience.
Average Customer Rating:
7.333
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 367%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gunblade NYC & LA Machine Guns
Review 1 for Gunblade NYC & LA Machine Guns
Better Late Than Never
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/12
Electronaut72
Location: Acworth, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It took Sega long enough, but with this compilation we finally have decent ports of Gunblade NYC (1995) and LA Machine Guns (1998). They are simple yet fun on-rails shooters--you fly in a helicopter and blast baddies with an unlimited ammo machine gun. For the most part, these classics look and play just like their arcade counterparts (there's also widescreen support, by the way). I believe the framerate for LA Machine Guns is slightly slower, but it still runs smooth and you probably won't notice the difference unless you have the original arcade machine nearby.
Yes, the graphics are dated and the voice acting is laughable...but the uber-fun gameplay and nostalgia factor are the real stars here. Also be aware that there aren't many extras (just online leaderboards and a ho-hum Score Attack mode), so there's not much to keep you coming back. The Wii is the perfect home for this package though, and it's an invaluable gem for arcade nuts.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 2 for Gunblade NYC & LA Machine Guns
YES
Posted on:7/19/10
Pdidduforce
cant wait i loved these arcade games and now they are on my wii
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gunblade NYC & LA Machine Guns
ausome
Posted on:7/20/10
Master Gamer of 2010
this have alot of types of games i like
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gunblade NYC & LA Machine Guns
REALLY FUN!!! The first time.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/11
PWNER
Location: Utah
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is quite fun the first time you play it. But it takes only 2 hours to beat and then your done. I played this game twice once alone and once in two-player co op which for some reason is not as good as in other arcade style shooters. If you have to play every single on rails shooter out there,,, rent this.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gunblade NYC & LA Machine Guns
one of the best light gun shooters of all time!
Posted on:8/15/10
me ,myself, and i
this is one of my favorite light gun shooters.its simple fast past and awsome. graphically its bad.very chessey,put thats okay.the game is fun and fast and hard.GET THIS GAME!!!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gunblade NYC & LA Machine Guns
A moment in time I never thought would arrive...
Posted on:8/9/10
HunterRudo
Fellow gamers, if you've ever loved any arcade light-gun game in your lifetime, you owe it to yourselves to buy this game! Not only does it contain two of the best, most intense arcade light-gun shooters ever created, but it's literally the only game of its kind on the horizon to be released on Wii for the forseeable future! Even if you've never played either title in the arcade this game is HIGHLY recommended!!!
Review 7 for Gunblade NYC & LA Machine Guns
Faithful to the original arcade games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/11
GAMEmaster9
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First of all, I have to say that I was appalled when I saw this title at the store. The graphics are what you would expect from these kinds of games. But the main reason to have this is the fact that you can change the difficulty in both games, gain extra weapons and you are even able to see how well you do against the world scorewise. The price mightdrive you away but it is totally worth it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Gunblade NYC & LA Machine Guns
Old School Love
Posted on:6/25/10
IcedEarthaholic
Normally I don't pay much attention to on-rail shooter collections. But this? I'm interested. Gunblade was awesome in the arcades, there was nothing like shooting things like a madman and causing reckless and wanton destruction while seeing some amazing explosions back then. One thing's for sure, Sega owned the arcade scene, am glad to see this is coming home.
Review 9 for Gunblade NYC & LA Machine Guns
Classic Shooters
Posted on:8/10/10
devilman13
I don't remember how many coins I put in these machines. I love these game and back in the Day I could beat both with 2 bucks and me shooting both guns at the same time. Just because I can beat it with both gun don't think this game is easy. =P I can't while to see it out on my Wii.