GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rock Band 3 - Game Only

Rock Band® 3 is the next generation of the ultimate social and interactive music gaming platform developed by the category's leading pioneers, Harmonix Music Systems. Featuring innovative game modes and instruments, Rock Band 3 will change the way fans think about and play music games.
Average Customer Rating:
8.333
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1275%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Review 1 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Great Fun For The Whole Family!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/11
Chipster1974
Location: Warner Robins, GA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
What a blast. I bought this game and the keyboard for it and it's a lot of fun. I'm a family man and this game is great for the wife and kids to join in and spend an evening rocking out. Also, my wife and I have thrown dinner parties followed by a couple of hours of Rock Band. I don't enjoy it nearly as much for solo play. It's just so perfect for groups. I haven't tried the harmonizing yet as I only own one microphone but I think another couple of microphones are going to be on order soon. It's just a blast to play in a group. The graphics are decent but that's not what you buy the game for. It's not going to blow your mind like God of War III eye candy. That's not to say the graphics are bad. They are good for what the game is. I really enjoy this series and hope they continue making the games and the instruments. The only instrument I've played on pro level is the keyboard. It's really quite a bit of fun to try out. Overall, I'd say if you like to have friends over or have a family this is a great game for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Nice try Shadowdemon
Posted on:8/18/10
IDGE
Did you not read the whole paragraph? Not only are there 80 new songs on the RB3 disk, all RB1 & 2 game disc songs can be used, plus DLC. Me and the guys I play w/ will have well over 700 songs going into RB3. No way Guitar Zero can touch RB on song list, period. I don't think the graphics are any better or worse than GH. Besides its a music game, not a FPS, or RPG, graphics are secondary to gameplay, and RB beats GH there too. Sorry, Song list, game play, not to mention better instruments, conclusion - RB = kick aS$, GH = fail.
20 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Rock On!
Posted on:10/20/10
Stadd
Location: San Diego, CA
I get chills just THINKING about this game! XD I cannot wait for it, and I have already preordered it. Being a former pianist, I'm excited for the keyboard peripheral, and I'm totally psyched for guitar and bass pro mode (since I'm learning guitar now and would like to learn bass).
I only hope that they kept the items and hairstyles and faces from the old games, just maybe modified them to be more realistic...I fell in love with the options and just hope they're still available, and plus like some variety, haha. I love the loading screen things though...totally want to see my guys interacting and getting their gig ready. XD
This is the only game release I've ever really followed in my life, so I'm super excited!
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Rock Band Still the Best in the Industry
Posted on:6/19/10
Ravenmist
Better Graphics then Guitar hero as always, anyone who says otherwise must prefer blocks for heads or something... And Rocks bands music library DOES dwarf Guitar heroes. Look past the stuff on the disc, if the disc came with 10 songs I'd still get it over Guitar Hero. Rock band has over 1500 songs you can download and play and are on track to top 2k this year, real songs, not user created gibberish, Guitar hero might achieve that number sometime next decade at the rate they are going... Harmonix (the creators of Rock Band) also created Guitar Hero, they are the true talent in the music genre, end of story. I can't wait for Rock Band 3, so many awesome additions to the genre, the real guitar and the added keyboard look like a blast. Harmonix are the innovators in the genre for music games and always has been. Anyone I personally know that's played both prefer's Rock Band for the obvious reasons.. Long live Rock Band! ; )
Review 5 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
RB3
Posted on:8/17/10
IsshinRyuBB
Maybe you should learn to read better...The description clearly states the game has over 2000 songs from 80 different bands, including ones never before seen on band games. With all of these extra songs as well as the new instruments and gaming modes, this game is going to be crazy!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Most innovative game I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/10
pimperor
Location: missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Rock band 3 is a huge step forward in music games. To combine real instrument teaching into a game, is something I have been waiting for a long time. From what i've played so far the pro keyboard mode is awesome. The best teaching tool I've used so far, I tried the books and videos in the past. Always got bored or put it off due to losing interest. So far i've made noticable improvements and am having fun. The setlist isn't as bad as some say, they were chosen for reasons. Their will be future dlc songs anyways so the variety will change over time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
the greatest music game in our life time
Posted on:6/13/10
awongkh
Instruments: although we are getting tired of stocking our homes with A LOT of plastic instruments. I believe rock band 3 would be one of the reasons to add another instrument to the collection sadly. however, if you consider it, the new keyboard in rock band 3 will function as a standard keyboard as well so technically we are investing on a real instrument. and with the pro mode, gamers will be able to learn how to play REAL instruments, so thats another plus for adding new instruments to the collection (again sadly). Song variety: as for songs, true guitar hero does have 90+on-disc songs on their future title, rock band has in fact one of the largest music libraries in the market today and is expanding every week thanks to weekly updates and rock band network. also, the songs from past rb1 + 2 will be exportable to rb3. in other words, even w/o the downloadable songs, loyal rock band owners(gamers who owned both rb1 + 2) will hav a total of 200+ songs!!!! CONCLUSION: with many more features that cant be fully explained, rock band 3 looks to be a great game for the next level of music games!!!!
Review 8 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/10
anonymousguy95
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Game=flat out awesome. no music game beats it. it has some of the best music from all genres. road challenges and career goals are challenging, creative, and all around fun. 83 great songs that everyone will enjoy. so to the creators of rock band 3, you guys did a heck of a job thinking WAY outside the box
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/10
Zeet
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Have in hand and love it! Better then the previous ones.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gees
 
Please wait while more information about gees is loaded.
Additional information about gees could not be loaded.
hard
Posted 5/14/11
this game is hard .but why would you put strings on fake gutiar instead of buttons.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Not what I hoped for.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/11
SupertheTiger
As a Rock Band enthusiast I was expecting the second coming of Christ with Rock Band 3. What I got was poor graphics that were a huge down grade from Rock Band 2. The character creation mode is just outrageous, it's impossible to make a character that doesn't look like he's addicted to meth or has been taking steroids for the past year. The roadtrip mode which I assume was made to replace world tour mode was simply too short. Also the lack of online battles was a major downer. I really miss the money aspect of the game. Put simply I pre-ordered this game played it for 1 week hoping it would get better but it didn't. I have beaten the game and gotten all possible achievements that you don't need pro-guitar and pro-drums for.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
One of the best music games there is!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/11
DeathReaper99
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Many people say that music games are dead, and they were right... until RockBand 3 came along. Back in the original music genres you had to buy 30$ track packs so that you could get new songs to play and half of the songs you probably hated. With RockBand 3 you've got over 2000 songs to buy and download so that you can get the songs that you want. Not songs that you will never play. Also the gameplay is smooth and very polished. If you look hard enough you will find that the colored notes are a little different and are more eye catching. The graphics are almost exactly like the original (unless you have one of the best 60 inch plasma screens on the market, a PlayStation 3, and the Xbox 360's thick HDMI Cable... then we will talk about better graphics) Now to the best part of RockBand 3... The equipment. Don't pass up the PRO controllers for anything. They make RockBand 3 what it is, without them... well... it's the same old- same old. But I'll tell you a little secret... If you have any old PlayStation 2 Guitar Hero equipment... It will work with the PS3 version... So you don't have to buy any brand new equipment... If you love music as much as I do, RockBand 3 is the perfect game for you
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Where's the Zeppelin???
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/10
Elea7
Location: Memphis,TN
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Where's the Led Zepplin, the Eagles, more Aerosmith, Pink Floyd, TOOL????? Mudvayne...Korn?? The reeeeally really good stuff. Its like theyre skipping some of the good y2k music too.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Yiroep
 
Please wait while more information about Yiroep is loaded.
Additional information about Yiroep could not be loaded.
Posted 11/26/10
You do realize that sometimes the artists don't cooperate, right? Not to mention for Disturbed there are already TONS of DLC for them.
Customer Avatar
Atj22495
 
Please wait while more information about Atj22495 is loaded.
Additional information about Atj22495 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/4/10
I know. I can't believe that there is not one disturbed song or tool.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Great game, with a flaw
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
Yiroep
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is great. Such an improvement upon the other games. However, it comes with one big problem. When you try to play with the keyboard, guitar, and bass at the same time, you have to go into all instruments mode. This is OK, except for the fact that the vocals in all instruments mode is always on easy, isn't scored, and can't fail out. So basically it's like the vocalist doesn't even need to do anything. This is fine at parties, but for people who want to contribute their score, they will simply be left out. DON'T LET THIS DETER YOU FROM THIS GREAT GAME. It truly is incredible with lots of innovation, a great soundtrack, and more versatility upon the previous games. It's a lot of fun at parties and is well the massive amounts of hardware to get the full use out of it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
Ozzyisgod
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a very great game. The graphics are good, the gameplay is fun (just like rockband 2). If you like rock band 2, you should like this game, unless you're a fool!
 
My Product Recommendations
Call of Duty ELITE PS3 Premium Membership
7.3 out of 10(40)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
I cannot wait 4 this
Posted on:10/14/10
specialkrp
Location: Nashvile, TN.
I cant wait 4 RB3 been a long time coming, and I know its gonna be sweeeeeet!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Pick Up Rockband 2 Instead!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/12
Simmmiiin
Location: WI, USA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Rockband 3 is honestly just Rockband 2 with new songs. Nothing changed and in my opinion the songs are worse than Rockband 2's. NOW I know that is an opinion, but I just can't play Rockband 3 for more than an hour. I really only play it if a friend is over, and even then that's rare. Rockband 2 was a much more exciting play and I know I used to play with tons of people on that game. Rockband 3 is a great game for a party or just a kid who wants to rock out. But in my opinion, it was a huge disappointment. The only real change is the songs and the keyboard! I just wish Rockband 2 for the PS3 was available online. It'll be hard to find Rockband 2 for the PS3, but I really recommend you try and search for it instead of picking up this one.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 17 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
RB Convert? Maybe
Posted on:10/14/10
SavagePixie
Location: California
OK. I've never played RB, I am a GH player. BUT I am totally blown away by what this contains. I can't wait for this to come out so I can buy it. The only game I've ever been excited about was GH Metallica - huge Metallica fan - but I am anxiously awaiting this release!
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Hands down better than Guitar Hero
Posted on:8/9/10
Onirazael
Rock band has a library of over 2000 songs, plus you can export your old Rock Band songs to it, including your DLs. With the addition of the Keyboard AND all the upgrades they are making, I cannot wait to buy this game! This will be a must buy.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Wondering
Posted on:10/12/10
Iceman90
Location: Burke,VA
i have the new GH warriors of rock band bundle, would i be able to use the instruments in this game??
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Meteorgun7
Milwaukee
 
Please wait while more information about Meteorgun7 is loaded.
Additional information about Meteorgun7 could not be loaded.
Most likely
Posted 10/25/10
I don't see why not.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
looks great
Posted on:6/13/10
ironbeast95
to reply to what shadowdemon or whatever his name is he is very wrong in the sense that rock band three has less music than guitar hero warriors of rock because rock band 3 is also going to have a library that has over two-thousand songs in it and the guitar hero will have at the most about thirty or forty. plus, the rock band library will add songs weekly. So it DOES dwarf the guitar hero. oh yeah rock band three is going to be AMAZNG!!!!!!!! people like peter frampton, kiss, and a lot more are going to be on it. just thought i would put that out there P.S. been a fan of the series since it came out, if you still think guitar hero is the better series, think again!!!!!!!!!!
1 2 3 next>>