GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rock Band 3 - Game Only

Rock Band® 3 is the next generation of the ultimate social and interactive music gaming platform developed by the category's leading pioneers, Harmonix Music Systems. Featuring innovative game modes and instruments, Rock Band 3 will change the way fans think about and play music games.
Average Customer Rating:
8.333
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1275%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Review 1 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
where is this game at
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/12
brokenpulse
Location: Milan,IL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
orginally i had this game for the 360 but my 360 ate it then i got a ps3 so i was gonna get this for ps3 but literally nowhere seems to have it for ps3 but oh we have it for every other system please help me i wanna gt this game because i bought rock band blitz for the sole porpouse of playing so far away by avenged sevenfold the flight of icarus and the wicker man by iron maiden
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Pick Up Rockband 2 Instead!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/12
Simmmiiin
Location: WI, USA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Rockband 3 is honestly just Rockband 2 with new songs. Nothing changed and in my opinion the songs are worse than Rockband 2's. NOW I know that is an opinion, but I just can't play Rockband 3 for more than an hour. I really only play it if a friend is over, and even then that's rare. Rockband 2 was a much more exciting play and I know I used to play with tons of people on that game. Rockband 3 is a great game for a party or just a kid who wants to rock out. But in my opinion, it was a huge disappointment. The only real change is the songs and the keyboard! I just wish Rockband 2 for the PS3 was available online. It'll be hard to find Rockband 2 for the PS3, but I really recommend you try and search for it instead of picking up this one.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
Ozzyisgod
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a very great game. The graphics are good, the gameplay is fun (just like rockband 2). If you like rock band 2, you should like this game, unless you're a fool!
 
My Product Recommendations
Call of Duty ELITE PS3 Premium Membership
7.3 out of 10(40)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Not what I hoped for.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/11
SupertheTiger
As a Rock Band enthusiast I was expecting the second coming of Christ with Rock Band 3. What I got was poor graphics that were a huge down grade from Rock Band 2. The character creation mode is just outrageous, it's impossible to make a character that doesn't look like he's addicted to meth or has been taking steroids for the past year. The roadtrip mode which I assume was made to replace world tour mode was simply too short. Also the lack of online battles was a major downer. I really miss the money aspect of the game. Put simply I pre-ordered this game played it for 1 week hoping it would get better but it didn't. I have beaten the game and gotten all possible achievements that you don't need pro-guitar and pro-drums for.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Great Fun For The Whole Family!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/11
Chipster1974
Location: Warner Robins, GA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
What a blast. I bought this game and the keyboard for it and it's a lot of fun. I'm a family man and this game is great for the wife and kids to join in and spend an evening rocking out. Also, my wife and I have thrown dinner parties followed by a couple of hours of Rock Band. I don't enjoy it nearly as much for solo play. It's just so perfect for groups. I haven't tried the harmonizing yet as I only own one microphone but I think another couple of microphones are going to be on order soon. It's just a blast to play in a group. The graphics are decent but that's not what you buy the game for. It's not going to blow your mind like God of War III eye candy. That's not to say the graphics are bad. They are good for what the game is. I really enjoy this series and hope they continue making the games and the instruments. The only instrument I've played on pro level is the keyboard. It's really quite a bit of fun to try out. Overall, I'd say if you like to have friends over or have a family this is a great game for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
One of the best music games there is!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/11
DeathReaper99
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Many people say that music games are dead, and they were right... until RockBand 3 came along. Back in the original music genres you had to buy 30$ track packs so that you could get new songs to play and half of the songs you probably hated. With RockBand 3 you've got over 2000 songs to buy and download so that you can get the songs that you want. Not songs that you will never play. Also the gameplay is smooth and very polished. If you look hard enough you will find that the colored notes are a little different and are more eye catching. The graphics are almost exactly like the original (unless you have one of the best 60 inch plasma screens on the market, a PlayStation 3, and the Xbox 360's thick HDMI Cable... then we will talk about better graphics) Now to the best part of RockBand 3... The equipment. Don't pass up the PRO controllers for anything. They make RockBand 3 what it is, without them... well... it's the same old- same old. But I'll tell you a little secret... If you have any old PlayStation 2 Guitar Hero equipment... It will work with the PS3 version... So you don't have to buy any brand new equipment... If you love music as much as I do, RockBand 3 is the perfect game for you
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/10
anonymousguy95
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Game=flat out awesome. no music game beats it. it has some of the best music from all genres. road challenges and career goals are challenging, creative, and all around fun. 83 great songs that everyone will enjoy. so to the creators of rock band 3, you guys did a heck of a job thinking WAY outside the box
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Great game, with a flaw
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
Yiroep
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is great. Such an improvement upon the other games. However, it comes with one big problem. When you try to play with the keyboard, guitar, and bass at the same time, you have to go into all instruments mode. This is OK, except for the fact that the vocals in all instruments mode is always on easy, isn't scored, and can't fail out. So basically it's like the vocalist doesn't even need to do anything. This is fine at parties, but for people who want to contribute their score, they will simply be left out. DON'T LET THIS DETER YOU FROM THIS GREAT GAME. It truly is incredible with lots of innovation, a great soundtrack, and more versatility upon the previous games. It's a lot of fun at parties and is well the massive amounts of hardware to get the full use out of it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Most innovative game I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/10
pimperor
Location: missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Rock band 3 is a huge step forward in music games. To combine real instrument teaching into a game, is something I have been waiting for a long time. From what i've played so far the pro keyboard mode is awesome. The best teaching tool I've used so far, I tried the books and videos in the past. Always got bored or put it off due to losing interest. So far i've made noticable improvements and am having fun. The setlist isn't as bad as some say, they were chosen for reasons. Their will be future dlc songs anyways so the variety will change over time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
How to get the 2k songs.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/10
Atj22495
I saw on a review that there is 2000 songs, but then on the track list there is only 85. How do you get the others. Do you have to download them.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
anonymousguy95
 
Please wait while more information about anonymousguy95 is loaded.
Additional information about anonymousguy95 could not be loaded.
2000 songs
Posted 12/10/10
@Atj22495 you have to go to get more songs on the main menu and it will take to the playstation store and there will be a ton of songs and albums and track packs. i also believe each song is $2.00$ plus tax or whatever
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Where's the Zeppelin???
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/10
Elea7
Location: Memphis,TN
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Where's the Led Zepplin, the Eagles, more Aerosmith, Pink Floyd, TOOL????? Mudvayne...Korn?? The reeeeally really good stuff. Its like theyre skipping some of the good y2k music too.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Yiroep
 
Please wait while more information about Yiroep is loaded.
Additional information about Yiroep could not be loaded.
Posted 11/26/10
You do realize that sometimes the artists don't cooperate, right? Not to mention for Disturbed there are already TONS of DLC for them.
Customer Avatar
Atj22495
 
Please wait while more information about Atj22495 is loaded.
Additional information about Atj22495 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/4/10
I know. I can't believe that there is not one disturbed song or tool.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 12 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/10
Zeet
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Have in hand and love it! Better then the previous ones.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gees
 
Please wait while more information about gees is loaded.
Additional information about gees could not be loaded.
hard
Posted 5/14/11
this game is hard .but why would you put strings on fake gutiar instead of buttons.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
WHERES THE DAVE
Posted on:10/25/10
BHShockey5
Location: knoxville, TN
when is rock band going to put Dave Matthews Band into the game? such a great band and songs would be so much fun to play
3 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cordial
 
Please wait while more information about Cordial is loaded.
Additional information about Cordial could not be loaded.
Dave on PowerGig
Posted 12/2/10
DaveMatthewsBand is on PowerGig. He supports PowerGig over Rockband. Which would mean he doesnt want his music on RB.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Rock On!
Posted on:10/20/10
Stadd
Location: San Diego, CA
I get chills just THINKING about this game! XD I cannot wait for it, and I have already preordered it. Being a former pianist, I'm excited for the keyboard peripheral, and I'm totally psyched for guitar and bass pro mode (since I'm learning guitar now and would like to learn bass).
I only hope that they kept the items and hairstyles and faces from the old games, just maybe modified them to be more realistic...I fell in love with the options and just hope they're still available, and plus like some variety, haha. I love the loading screen things though...totally want to see my guys interacting and getting their gig ready. XD
This is the only game release I've ever really followed in my life, so I'm super excited!
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
RB Convert? Maybe
Posted on:10/14/10
SavagePixie
Location: California
OK. I've never played RB, I am a GH player. BUT I am totally blown away by what this contains. I can't wait for this to come out so I can buy it. The only game I've ever been excited about was GH Metallica - huge Metallica fan - but I am anxiously awaiting this release!
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
I cannot wait 4 this
Posted on:10/14/10
specialkrp
Location: Nashvile, TN.
I cant wait 4 RB3 been a long time coming, and I know its gonna be sweeeeeet!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Wondering
Posted on:10/12/10
Iceman90
Location: Burke,VA
i have the new GH warriors of rock band bundle, would i be able to use the instruments in this game??
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Meteorgun7
Milwaukee
 
Please wait while more information about Meteorgun7 is loaded.
Additional information about Meteorgun7 could not be loaded.
Most likely
Posted 10/25/10
I don't see why not.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
.
Posted on:10/10/10
HaydenLegit
Location: Live Oak, FL
In my suggestion on the setlist I hope they add passion pit song's but not sleepyhead it's way to mainstream and also add some alkaline trio and the academy is in there please
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lzxm
 
Please wait while more information about lzxm is loaded.
Additional information about lzxm could not be loaded.
RB than GH
Posted 10/13/10
rock band 3 is gonna be an amazing music game,not only it improves on how many people play,it still lets you import your rock band 1 & 2 songs,plus all the DLC you downloaded, thats something guitar hero doesn't do,it doesn't even import past games and it hasn't improve its multilayer since world tour ,so you'll pay even more money towards guitar hero rather than rock band,also rock band has better vary of songs on their setlist
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Not buying it.
Posted on:10/9/10
ShadowFlame
Location: Johnstown, PA
most of these games are already in guitar hero. it seems like they just copied most of their stuff from GH. looks like a waste of money to me.
3 of 77 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KidsToday
 
Please wait while more information about KidsToday is loaded.
Additional information about KidsToday could not be loaded.
Posted 11/9/10
GH was made by Harmonix, RedOctane took it over....so if you want to be right you should tell R.O. to make some new additions besides there w.o.r. power ups.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Looks Great
Posted on:9/26/10
Batman
Location: Coal City, IL
Its good there letting players play with a real guitar, but i hope the actually show you how to play the songs and not just make you hit any random note, cause i can play bulls on parade, are you dead yet , chop suey, and painkiller on real guitar and the rock band charts weren't that accurate but niether were the guitar hero charts.
2 of 13 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>