GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Red Faction: Armageddon

A long-dormant evil emerges from the caves of Mars, unleashing Armageddon on the planet's colonists. With this force stopping at nothing to cleanse the planet of life, mankind finds itself poised on the brink of extinction.Red Faction®: Armageddon expands on the critically acclaimed, best-selling franchise with new, groundbreaking challenges. You are humanity's last hope for survival.
Average Customer Rating:
7.522
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
8
8 stars
7
7 stars
2
6 stars
5
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
32 out of 4670%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Red Faction: Armageddon
Review 1 for Red Faction: Armageddon
The game was awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/14
AwkwardZombieXD
Location: Hebron,kentucky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I will be honest saw the game at GameStop didn't think it looked good but my Dad got it instead. I tried it then stayed up till midnight beating it total 1 death on easy. The character models where awesome better than most. Weapon models where just as good. The map was almost completely destructible but you can repair anything. My one and only complaint is the part that if your trying to get somewhere the Berserkers will sometimes destroy the floor so you have to use the Nano forge to fix it but its all manageable. Best thing in game would either be the 'Mr. Toots rifle", a rifle that is a rainbow unicorn who upon pulling the trigger shoots a rainbow that vaporizes anything in its path out its.... u get the picture, or the story line.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Red Faction: Armageddon
This Is going to be a bad-A-- game,IF...
Posted on:5/9/11
SikNtwizDeaD
Location: anywhere
I played the demo and I had to play it again. IT WAS SHORT, but my fifth time through I just used the magnet gun. That is by for my favorite gun, NO, weapon ever!!! Props to Violation on crafting it. The Mech suit is just the right size also. As always the controls are just out of sink. but for all the destruction you get it is worth the learning curve.I cannot wait for this game. I got to play the demo again, Seriously!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Red Faction: Armageddon
A great game with some replay value
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/11
scar12166
Location: Seneca, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was really hesitating to get this game but my local towns redbox picked it up so I spent the two bucks for the one night. I was surprised to find that the game was excellent.
This is my first Red Faction game so I cannot really make a comparison with the others, but this one is definitely a must try. Red Faction: Armageddon has a unique story drawn campaign that always seems to remind me of the Halo flood levels (Critters and story are very different though).
I didn't try out the other two variants the game offer (I wanted to try out Ruin Mode but you have to buy the game new or buy a code to unlock the full thing) but campaign kept me busy for the day I had it.
Graphics are excellent, has very creepy background sounds, and the gameplay offers some interesting new features, like the Nano Forge.
Overall the game is a definite try. I recommend renting it first just because it is really only a campaign game (Though it offers a New Game plus to start over with the same unlocked features).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Joshington
 
Please wait while more information about Joshington is loaded.
Additional information about Joshington could not be loaded.
Seriously?
Posted 7/18/11
"This is my first Red Faction game so I cannot really make a comparison with the others"
Stopped reading there. Not even going to explain what's wrong here.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Red Faction: Armageddon
Different and weird... but not necesarily bad.
Posted on:10/10/10
KingWyvern
This game looks totally different from the other red faction games. Now we no longer fight the past allies turned evil EDF, but aliens? It seems every game with a gun has aliens or zombies. Although, there must be a reason a lot of games do it. While I admit that the whole alien, demon, and zombie thing is pretty annoying, it is also pretty fun. This switch might loose old fans and bring up new recruits but all together I think we should just let the people making the game do their jobs and provide us with a fun experience however they see fit. An example being the switch from mining to demolution, or 1st person to 3rd person. Both pairs of changes being very good and sucssesfull in their own right. I think it may be different, but if you just wan't to write a preview "buzz" to complain, which is not really a buzz of excitement at all, then do the rest of us a favor and don't say anything about a game you probably won't buy.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Zeratul
 
Please wait while more information about Zeratul is loaded.
Additional information about Zeratul could not be loaded.
Posted 4/12/11
clearly you havent played the first Red Faction. jusssayin.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Red Faction: Armageddon
Eye Popping
Posted on:4/18/11
somedirtyangel
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
THQ has been throwing out new titles left and right. Now with their new eye catching logo, THQ looks more friendly than ever. What first caught my eye was the cover art for Red Faction. This says alot, right? Don't judge a book by it's cover, this can go both ways. I'm not saying this is going to be a horrible game, but I'm not saying it's going to make game of the year either. In other words, I'm upset to see the direction that the Red Faction series has gone. First they take it out of this world, then third person shooter, now its like, an action game? This series has really losts it's identity. I loved Red Faction as a first person shooter. Will we see a Red Faction 3? First Person? I think we can expect this to go somewhere, since Volition is making the game, they have made great hits such as the Saints Row series and are currently in the works on a new Saints Row as well as Guillermo Del Toros InSANE. Hope this series goes back to its FPS roots.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Red Faction: Armageddon
what? red faction really!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/11
KonFr4gulations
Location: D.C.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was really disappointed with this game! Red Faction Guerrilla was better in every way. I thought the concept of raids and guerrilla tactics against the EDF was an awesome idea. Add in the great game engine, demolitions skills and challenges great vehicles, tanks, spectacular mars geography and it really kept you playing. Unfortunately Armageddon had none of these things. You are restricted to a boring linear movement, extremely repetitive enemies and a story line which is waaayy out there. Heck! I don't even know what the point of the campaign was in the end! I will never play this game again... unlike Guerrilla which I played over and over slaughtering EDF by the truckload bwoohaha! The best thing I can say about this game is the really crazy awesome weaponry. Also for zombie horror fans this game gives you the creeps sometimes!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Red Faction: Armageddon
Change of Heart
Posted on:5/5/11
somedirtyangel
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
I had previously disliked this game and had everything bad to say about it, based solely on what I have seen. I have to say, after playing the demo I am convinced this is actually in improvement over Guerrilla. It's really quite a fun game from what I've played. I thought the whole monsters or aliens thing was a bit to much, but after seeing it in action it works well with the games tone. The four weapons you use the demo are great, and thats just the demo. Every mechanic worked well, I couldn't see or feel any irritating flaw to the game. Despite how I feel about the direction Volitation has taken with the series, that being 3rd person instead of the traditional first person shooter it was, the game is really good, so far. If you loved Guerrilla theres no doubt that you will be picking this one up, it seems better in every way so far.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thude555
van nuys
 
Please wait while more information about thude555 is loaded.
Additional information about thude555 could not be loaded.
omg fun demo
Posted 5/9/11
i loved the demo is was sick and fun i thought since it wasn't free roam it wasn't gonna be good but i take it back i'm getting it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Red Faction: Armageddon
Very disappointing.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/11
doratheexplorer
Location: Superior, CO
I loved Red Faction: Guerrilla. It was a large, wide open sandbox game that was pretty challenging. Then there's Red Faction: Armageddon, the perfect example of how to ruin a great franchise. Everything that the franchise was known for was taken out of Armageddon; the open world, characters, guns, story, even the enemies. It does have better controls, but other than that this is one of the most disappointing games ever. The story is so cheesy and the characters are so dull, I had to mute the television because of the strange things they'd say, and I'd skip every video there was. The voice acting is okay, but the things the characters say and do is embarrassing. As GameInformer said in their review, "Mars's secrets were better left undiscovered." Seriously, this game is bad. If you are new to the series, then first play the demo, THEN see if you want the game. If you enjoy Guerrilla, you will feel the pain I did. Do not get this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Frosset
 
Please wait while more information about Frosset is loaded.
Additional information about Frosset could not be loaded.
What???
Posted 7/18/11
"Everything that the franchise was known for was taken out of Armageddon..."
Exactly how does RF:A differ from Red Faction and Red Faction II? And how is RF:G similar to Red Faction and Red Faction II?
You obviously don't know the Red Faction franchise like you think you do.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Red Faction: Armageddon
Lame and Generic.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
MRJAYinPA
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Gamestop didnt post my first review so I'm going to give it another try, please read. I didnt think this game would be that good, but I had to play it and beat it before I could judge it. I played it, I beat it, and now I can tell you its not good. This is about as average as a game can get. First off the graphics and the gameplay are great, but it doesnt help the fact that the game is LAME. The story itself is not good, the cut scenes are not good and the voice overs are not good. The enemies in the game are WACK and it seems like they stole a bunch of scenes from other video games and threw them ALL together in one stupid cluster of a game. It was very short, I beat it in less than 2 days, it wasnt fun. It was like noobtubing aliens over and over and over, I can go on and on about how bad I thought this was. This is coming from someone who LOVES video games, they really dropped the ball on this one. Ive even messeged the VOLITION developers explaining my discontent for this game. PLEASE RENT FIRST before you kick yourself in the face.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Red Faction: Armageddon
Best. Demo. Ever. Minus The Length...
Posted on:5/11/11
DaBuffalo
Location: Cleveland, OH
I just downloaded and played this demo on XBL...and oh, dear GOD. I have heard a lot of game developers talk about "fully destructable environments", only to find that they meant a few explosive points here and there.. In this game, however, THQ comes through in the best way possible: not only can you destroy, but you can REBUILD and destroy again to your little heart's desire?! And then there's the magnet gun...I think I used an actual weapon for about 5% of the demo...and that's NOT counting the time in the Mech Suit. AWESOME demo...I kinda wish it went on for a little while longer, but hey...a taste is a taste. I'm gonna see about pre-ordering it ASAP...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NUTZJ98
SEMO
 
Please wait while more information about NUTZJ98 is loaded.
Additional information about NUTZJ98 could not be loaded.
THQ fail fest
Posted 6/4/11
So we watched as they destroyed the FPS goodness of Red Faction and went 3rd person. Now they remove multiplayer? I never thought I would see my favorite series of all time, fall down this many shafts. Fail. Good luck in your future though. Maybe one day you'll come back to us real fans.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Red Faction: Armageddon
Best game in a while!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
blazer420
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is absolutely amazing. The campaign is fantastic and very intense. It always keeps you on the edge of your seat and never gets boring. The infestation mode is also amazing. Overall, this game is very good and alot of fun. This game is definetly woth the $60. Go out and buy this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Red Faction: Armageddon
RFA is a huge downgrade from RFG
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/11
xJRichx
Being a huge fan of Red Faction: Guerilla, Red Faction: Armageddon was a very upsetting game. For one, there is no more competitive multiplayer, with the only multiplayer being something similar to firefight on Halo, which i do not enjoy. Not only is there limited multiplayer, but they also removed free roam from the campaign, making it a straight forward campaign with mission to mission gameplay, of just constantly fighting the same monsters. On Guerrilla, there was a large free roam where you could travel around and destroy things on your own. Armegeddon does have a game type called Ruin where the point is to destroy things, but it is only for single player and has a total of 6 maps, and aren't that impressive compared to those of Guerrilla, which you were able to play on multiplayer. RFA was definitely a down grade from it''s predecessor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Red Faction: Armageddon
A certain evil emerges.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/11
Legends4Free
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Many Red Faction fans find it hard to love this game..Red Faction Amargeddon is story based this time, so that means you can't run around and destroy mars whenever you want...which takes away from the red faction hype. Another problem with this game is the bugs. Game sounds chlostorphobic and scary right? WRONG! the only real one you should worry about is the behemoth. Graphics and sound are great. This game is great for a one time playthrough with the lack of free roam. One great tool in this game is the repair tool. If they had that in Red FACTION Gureilla, we'd all still be playing it...don't know how we destroyed/rebuilt without it! so overall, Rent it, beat it, and decide if you want it...Theres better games coming out soon that are worth your 60 bucks...However while i may sound harsh on the game..i'm kinda addicted to it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Red Faction: Armageddon
Yet another 3rd person shooter.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
Togugawa
Location: New Hampshire
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you loved Red Faction: Guerrilla, this is nothing like that. Unlike RF: Guerrilla you won't have to do much thinking and planning. This game is not an open world format. It is a linear TPS. Period.
Good for hours of shooting and destroying stuff with good weapons and vehicles. And the sledge hammer is still a fun way to squash enemies and break stuff. The nano forge repair is cool too but there is not much use for it in the campaign mode.
Replay is better than most TPS as you have the option to keep all your upgrades when bumping up the difficulty level.
Infestation mode is fun until the higher waves which were clearly geared for co-op play.
I was hoping for another open world game but ya can't have everything.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Red Faction: Armageddon
Pretty Dang Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
Walawdog
Location: Bluefield, WV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have never played any of the previous Red Faction games, so I am rating it as a stand alone game. I rented it from the Red Box so, it was definitely worth the 2 days that it took me to get through it. I liked the story line, but on some missions, I forgot what my purpose was and just enjoyed killing things and blowing stuff up. The graphics are pretty good and the cut scenes are enjoyable. The different kinds of weapons were a huge plus and I had a blast trying out all the different ways of killing the enemies. The magnetic gun is a fun weapon and pulling down structures to crush your enemies, or tagging them with it and then having them pulled off a cliff or smashed against a building was a riot. Anyone who gives this game a 1 after only getting through the first level didn't give the game a chance and should be ignored. I liked this game A LOT better than say Call of Juarez the Cartel.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 16 for Red Faction: Armageddon
why all the hate?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/11
affliction377
Location: minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
great game by thq i do not understand all of the bad reviews personally i really enjoyed the game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Red Faction: Armageddon
Series as a whole
Posted on:4/12/11
Zeratul
If all of you keep judging on how its a playoff of gears, stop and go play the first Red Faction. It came way before gears and could easily tie into this one, seeing as the plague was affecting miners(underground) aliens, ect. with a whole new engine this game will be amazinggg.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Red Faction: Armageddon
How in the world? Or "worlds" in this case...
Posted on:6/11/10
MPC 2117
All right! just from the preview vid I can tell that this is going to be one heck of a ride! Although I am a bit confused, if there is some kind of volatile species living within Mars, how would it get to Earth and make it so that YOU, on Mars, are humanities last hope? Although my sixth sense is telling me that this is Capeks work from the first game, I won't talk about that for risk of spoiling anything. Anyway I hope they keep things similar to RF: Guerilla. I'm not saying it didn't have faults, but I really like how that game was put together. I think the story might have a few problems though because if there were any HUGE problems on Mars after the events of RF: Guerilla, I'm pretty sure that there would be no possible way for it to get to Earth and endanger humanity, because the EDF would just step in and take over again. I mean defending Earth is their job, right?
Review 19 for Red Faction: Armageddon
The Same, The Different, All Good.
Posted on:1/22/11
VentedGlitchMaker
Location: ---
I love how this game has undergone significant changes throughout it's history but still retained enough to make them relevant to each other. In other words the fact that you can destroy everything, and that this game has changed perspective from a FPS to a third person and from an open world to a linear path. Makes fans of the series able to enjoy each one in a different way. Destructible environments should be in every game! Looks good.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Red Faction: Armageddon
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/11
ZzGHOSTzZ
Location: PITTSBURGH P.A
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
finally a great game that im happy to spend 60 dollars on i didnt like the last red faction so i didnt even think about this game till xbox put the demo on xbox live then i new i had to have it the story is great and mason is a great character i beat the campaign it was great the graphics were great i havent played the online modes yet but im stoked for it go out and get it you wont regret it like i felt when i got home front
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>