GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rock Band 3 - Game Only

Rock Band® 3 is the next generation of the ultimate social and interactive music gaming platform developed by the category's leading pioneers, Harmonix Music Systems. Featuring innovative game modes and instruments, Rock Band 3 will change the way fans think about and play music games.
Average Customer Rating:
4.382
4.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
29 out of 3485%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Review 1 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Rock Your Socks Off!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
Hitman09
Location: Gaston,IN
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I really enjoy Rock Band 3, creating a character to creating a band, its a great experience then ever before. The songs on the game are wonderful and has a huge repeat play value and it has a great selection of different genres to Free Bird to Amy Whinehouse even! lol. the game is just great if your a Rock Band fan and of course for the DLC, and not forgetting the Pro Modes, they are crazy and just pure awesome that makes you feel like your really just shredding guitar and being all Jimi Hendrix and such or being a true Neil Peart guy on the drums, OR! get to play keys!!! thats right play bohemian rhapsody by Queen on keyboard, think you got it in you? Rock Band 3 introduces a wireless keyboard controller, seriously Go out and buy it today!!!!!!!!!! :] so you can just rock with friends and of course and maybe family lol ....enough said.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NightLeopard
GA
 
Please wait while more information about NightLeopard is loaded.
Additional information about NightLeopard could not be loaded.
Best Music Game Ever
Posted 11/7/10
This is the best music game ever because of good graphics a great set list a well thought out career mode.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Releasing a game without functionality????
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/10
Rockbander
Location: New Hampshire
This game is perfect for: party gamers
First off, HUGE rock band fan. I have been waiting for them to make real guitars for this game and introduce a pro mode since they started with rock band 1. The problem is, that they release a game, and then they don't release half the game that goes with it. There is no rock band 3 bundle, there are no pro mode guitars yet. Oh but the content for pro mode is available, you just cant use it yet. I am sorry, but this is unacceptable. You do not release a game if the game itself is not ready. I dropped the money for the pre order on the 150 dollar guitar, which happens to be a month and a half release date from the games release? Why? I am sorely disappointed. The game itself is awesome aside from the set list. Which is about 70% garbage music, but its the set list, that was to be expected. Overall there were a lot more changes to the game that make it look cleaner and smoother and the game play is great, but releasing a game without half the game is a little pointless if you ask me.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Rock Band 3 > GH: Warriors of Rock
Posted on:10/7/10
Jukebox
I've played Rock Band 2 almost every single day after the day I got it. In my opinion, this setlist is absolutely phenomenal. Most of Guitar Hero's songs are absolute trash. "2112 Parts 1 - 7" by Rush? Really? That's a poor excuse to add 7 "songs" to their setlist. Guitar Hero's setlist reminds me of when I tried to do things last minute back in high school and ended up with a "C." It seems like they came up with that setlist 2 days before the game came out! As far as DLC, Rock Band absolutely demolishes Guitar Hero. Not only that, but Rock Band now has the Pro Guitar and the keyboard! Guitar Hero, ain't got nothin' on Rock Band! Rock Band comes up with a ton of new challenges, new instruments (including the "pro" instruments), better graphics, a fantastic setlist, better character customization, and MORE. What does Guitar Hero come up with? A new title to the same game. Oh, right, I forgot they added the new feature where you can turn into a monster for more points..Ladies and gentlemen at Harmonix, I congratulate you on this absolutely fantastic game you've created. You've definitely got my pre-order, that's for sure.
32 of 41 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
The Best RB/GH game yet!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/11
panthersfan1997
Location: North Carolina
When I first got this game I expected it to blow my mind and that's exactly what it did..the graphics for this game were so so but the amount of good songs on there were unbelievable...And the addition of pro instruments along with the regular instruments is great...if you want to learn how to play the guitar or piano/keyboard or Drums get this game it is alot easier to learn because it's fun to practice...you can play along to songs which makes it alot more entertaining and enjoyable while you practice..instead of sitting in your room and being bored this game will have you coming back for more. And if you buy the real guitar for the game it will work on it and also if you plug it into an amp...one thing I didn't like is the fact if you try to move the strings when you hit a note and try to give it a whammy sound to it, it will penalize you on your score because you end up touching other strings when you do that and it thinks you actually missed the note...other then that very annoying thing this game is a win and everybody should buy it whether you're really into this kind of stuff or not
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Can't wait
Posted on:10/11/10
Dunker
Location: Utah
Well first off I did like Guitar Hero when it first came out and I got 2 & 3. But when Harmonix sold off Guitar Hero to make Rockband. I started geting Rockband. But I do Have to say when I play rockband I use my Guitar Hero 2 Guitars. But I love how you only need one disc and you can have all your songs from the last ones. Im going to love rockband 3 and with the drop in and drop out. The many more new thing they have done with the game. I like how you came rate the songs so when you do random on the tour the songs you don't like wont be in there.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Initial Experience....
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/10
Distortion
Location: Cocoa, FL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I picked up my Rock Band 3 copy last night during midnight release, and immediately came home to pop it in and play. The first thing I noticed was the menu overhaul. Band mates now sign in on the title screen, or on any other menu screen. The first thing it ask you to do is make a character. Cookie cutter Rock Band characters, the majority of the options same from Rock Band 2 with very little additions. Band naming is the same, and can make your own logo and add substitute band members. I noticed after making these that above my controller slot and X-Box live name, I gained fans. Rock Band 3 has a fan system in which everything you do nets a small amount of increase due to the addition of goals. As you play Road Challenge and even solo quick play, you can accomplish goals which you can view anytime, and rack up your fan base to move up in Tiers. Also, these accomplishments and the gaining of achievements unlocks loads of character add-ons you can access through the editor. All my DLC loaded up with no issues for the most part, which is a relief due to the amount of DLC I have purchased. They stayed true to their word, songs which you dislike can be "hidden" so you'll never have to play certain songs if you wish not to. I played "Dead End Firends" by Them Crooked Vultures first, and the response timing is good with no lag issues or hard ware malfunctions, and the sound quality is amazing as to be expected. After the song was finished, you are given the opportunity to rate a song from 1 to 5 Stars. The higher the stars, the more often you will see the song during random set list. Pro-Mode was great, and defiantly adds a new lair of experience to the game and should bring in a more higher number in terms of player base. Over all, my initial experience has been amazing, and am very pleased with my purchase. The song list for Rock Band 3 is as says above, and in my opinion adds a nice variety to the game. I hear complaints of not enough metal songs, but If I wanted more metal, I would buy more Megadeth or Iron Maiden. DLC solves that issue fairly well.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Great Party Game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/11
Victorious
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Pros:
- Plenty of music to download from the market place
- Improved graphics and great stage effects
- Excellent sound quality on songs
- Very long replayability
- New instrument added (Keyboard - Not included)
- New instrument modes (Go pro and test your true skills!)
-New Drop-in Drop-out features allow your friends to join and leave without ruining your fun
- Most other rock bands can be copied over into your rock band 3 library
- Use of real instruments can be used fro pro modes (Drums & Keys)
Cons:
- Song list isnt as great as the others in my opinion
- Downloading songs can get a bit pricey
- Buying pro instruments can get pricey
Summary: Rock band always has and always will be a great party game. This one is no exception, with all of the songs available on XBL there is no reason why you cant rock out to your favorite songs with all your family/friends. The music store has a huge variety of songs, songs you wouldnt think people other than you have even heard of. This game is a steal at the price and the additions they made including adding in a Keyboard and the new pro modes, you will be playing this game for countless hours with or without others rocking with you.
Verdict: This is a definite buy for all of you Rock Band/ Guitar Hero lovers out there, Dont miss this one! Try your hand at some of the new pro modes and actually play that six string!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
So realistic it costs extra.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/10
UpgradeJ
Location: Union City, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game first of all is just great if you already have the instruments from previous games even better. HOWEVER if you don't already have instruments Pass-it-up as hard as you can it's not worth if you don't got the stuff. The previous instruments actually aren't as expensive as before but you still have to buy them just to play and if you want the full experience your gonna have to cough-up a little over 500 bucks (guitar, pro guitar, drum set, game, and microphone)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Worth it.. barely
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/11
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game was a HUGE disapointment for me. I waited a long time for it to come out and it turns out that the setlist wasn't very good.. in my opinion. also this was the easiest of the three rockbands to beat which really sucks. Another thing wrong is that they got rid of competitive play.. COMPLETELY which i absolutetly hate. However, they did add somethings to the career mode such as goals to enhance what they dropped. They also added the "PRO" mode which is great.. if you want to spend over $300 for good drums(which i'm lucky to have), $100 for pro guitar and keyboard. Overall, its an okay game, but a let down in my opinion
 
My Product Recommendations
ION Drum Rocker Xbox 360
5 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Pro Mode!
Posted on:7/8/10
Titan Lord
So, my friends are always asking me, "Why don't the cymbals do anything different than the toms?" and now I can show them that they do because in Pro Mode you either have to hit the cymbal or tom when needed in a song!! I am very exited!!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Stepping it up.
Posted on:8/13/10
nik323
Ever since Rock Band arrived, no music game has ever made it close to beating it. It has the largest Library of any game. Its a must have for Music lovers.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Love the stringed guitars
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/11
ajax0014
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I am an actual guitarist and I played these games, as well as Guitar Hero. I personally like Rock Band better because on the guitars you can move your fingers down to the buttons closer to the body on solos. Also, the new guitars with actual strings is so much more fun, I now have another guitar, that I can sort of practice songs on by either playing with my amp or by playing the game. A genius idea, however, Power Gig came up with the idea first so I recommend you check out their game too, it is also very good.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KEWB
Tipton, Indiana
 
Please wait while more information about KEWB is loaded.
Additional information about KEWB could not be loaded.
Posted 5/16/11
Power Gig didn't come up with the idea first. HMX had been working on this since shortly after the release of RB2. Also Power Gig never teaches anything more than basic 2-note power chords and still uses 5-lane gameplay.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Fun Game that teaches you real instruments!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/11
BonJohndy
Location: United State, Awesomeville
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is awesome because the graphics are really good, the game play is really fun, the game has over 2,000 songs available, and you can learn a real instrument and multiple singing (Pro Mode and Harmonies). I think this game is one of the best game ever (Better than Call of Duty: Black Ops but that is my opinion). Pro Keys and Pro Drums are awesome and I can not wait to play Pro Guitar and Pro Bass.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
I'm back
Posted on:9/22/10
SgtSpud
Location: Denver, Colorado
If you read my preview on Power Gig and came here well GOOD FOR YOU!!!! THis game, like guitar hero warriors of rock, will be 1000x better. Seriosly get this game. =)
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
so many lights
Posted on:8/16/10
Anonymous
I think they are trying to kill us with all the flashing multi-colored lights in the background.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Undeniably the best music game franchise... ever.
Posted on:10/20/10
Anonymous
Location: Akron, OH
I got an advance copy of this game. The keyboard was a nice addition to the franchise, but the major upgrades are in the features and framework of the game. The music sorting and filtering options are enough of an upgrade to justify the purchase. The new road challenges are a fantastic addition and do a superb job of integrating your music (DLC purchases, RBN purchases, disc exports, etc.). The soundtrack is solid, and appeals to a wide variety of genres and styles.
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
citylife650
California
 
Please wait while more information about citylife650 is loaded.
Additional information about citylife650 could not be loaded.
RockBand 3 Sucks!!!!!
Posted 10/26/10
Why is it that there is NO SCORE DUEL RANK OR EVEN JUST A PLAYER MATCH?????? Where both players can play with the same instrument.... WWWhhyyy?? This game suckss!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
good game but not as good as the other 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/11
agentj1056
Location: laredo
i loved many things in this game like the songs and the improved charecter creation and the gamplay remained the same exept for minor tweaks but other than that the game is the same as part two but they made the online multiplayer almost imposable to play becouse almost every person you play with dont know how to start it also the pro mode was a nice touch but dosnt feel right but something that i think was the best was the keyboard especially pro keyboard but since its a dieing genre theres real little keyboard players left. i recomend to buy this game if you throw partys often or like to play with friends
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Decent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
athletes21
Location: Bethel, CT
When I first got this game last December, I was hooked. This is the first rock band/guitar hero game I had for the Xbox (others I have on wii) and was amazed by the interesting and relaistic graphics. However, this is not the best music game out there. Pros: Good graphics, some classic songs that have never been on other music games, music store has many great selections, and many can play at a time. Cons: This game has about ten-fifteen good songs, but the others are terrible. In the newer music games, like this one, you do not need to unlock most of the songs through career, they are already there, which I do not like. Also, I felt that this soundtrack attracted people that listen to newer rock than the older Boston, Rush, Lynyrd Skynyrd type of rock. Out of all of these games, I suggest Guitar Hero 5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Awesome update with some great music
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/11
TheDoctor
Location: DC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Finally a Rock Band is made with a good selection of music! Music just hasn't been the same since the early 90's, and it was really smart for the developers to finally include a majority of songs that are a lot more musical. The interface was a marked improvement from previous titles (with the exception of The Beatles RB), and I didn't have any heartaches with the goal system.
If a lot of game players don't know the songs, then now finally they can experience the heartache I had when I had to play below average 'songs' from the 2010's! 5 Stars!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
For A Dying Genre Great Game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/11
tgwake1
Location: chicago
This game is perfect for: party gamers
A fad that has been going on for years is slowly coming to a close. The music game specifically Guitar Hero and Rock Band are running low on customer enthusiasm. We all know Activision has said no more Guitar Hero, but no word has been on Harmonix closing it's doors. I am happy this game has innovated the genre and the playability. The graphics are amazing, and the song selection is top notch. It is the most fun with a group of friends. Without them it tends to get boring.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>