GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rock Band 3 - Game Only

Rock Band® 3 is the next generation of the ultimate social and interactive music gaming platform developed by the category's leading pioneers, Harmonix Music Systems. Featuring innovative game modes and instruments, Rock Band 3 will change the way fans think about and play music games.
Average Customer Rating:
8.294
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
12
8 stars
6
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
29 out of 3485%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Review 1 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Great fun and value
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/11
Furian
Location: BG, OH
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Rock Band 3 is, to date, the only music game you need. Excellent game play, continual updates, and an incredible diversity of tracks all combine to make this a truly outstanding game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Rock Band 3 Good or Bad?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
Huynhuynh
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: party gamers
the game it self is good but they took off the 1v1 2v2 kinds of playlist and will make the game boring eventually unless u buy more songs :/ and Do Not Buy this game online when i bought the game online the case was broken but the game was ok did not have any scratches from what i noticed
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Love music games but
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/12
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Rockband is over-rated. I'm sorry but i believe it's true. The setlist that comes on disk isn't that good at all on this game. The graphics are okay but really haven't changed since the first rockband. Rockband 3 also has MAJOR lag issues when playing on HDTV's and even when calibrated there is still noticable lag. It is cool how there is a lot of clothing and materials for your character. Also there is A LOT of DLC . But i suggest that you wait for the next installment because this game has its many flaws
 
My Product Recommendations
ION Drum Rocker Xbox 360
9.5 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Too much fun!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
rob35aaa
Location: Rhode Island
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game provides a wide variety of music including DLC updated weekly. Fun to play with a group or solo. There are so many goals and achievements that keep the game interesting.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
good game but not as good as the other 2
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/11
agentj1056
Location: laredo
i loved many things in this game like the songs and the improved charecter creation and the gamplay remained the same exept for minor tweaks but other than that the game is the same as part two but they made the online multiplayer almost imposable to play becouse almost every person you play with dont know how to start it also the pro mode was a nice touch but dosnt feel right but something that i think was the best was the keyboard especially pro keyboard but since its a dieing genre theres real little keyboard players left. i recomend to buy this game if you throw partys often or like to play with friends
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
NEEDS FIXING
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/11
ninjafree
Location: OR
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I think rock band needs in update i think if they target the younger people they could get a better sale i hate the fact that it is almost all rely old music it needs more up to date music it would make the game a hole lot funner to play.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Worth it.. barely
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/11
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game was a HUGE disapointment for me. I waited a long time for it to come out and it turns out that the setlist wasn't very good.. in my opinion. also this was the easiest of the three rockbands to beat which really sucks. Another thing wrong is that they got rid of competitive play.. COMPLETELY which i absolutetly hate. However, they did add somethings to the career mode such as goals to enhance what they dropped. They also added the "PRO" mode which is great.. if you want to spend over $300 for good drums(which i'm lucky to have), $100 for pro guitar and keyboard. Overall, its an okay game, but a let down in my opinion
 
My Product Recommendations
ION Drum Rocker Xbox 360
9.5 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
The Best RB/GH game yet!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/11
panthersfan1997
Location: North Carolina
When I first got this game I expected it to blow my mind and that's exactly what it did..the graphics for this game were so so but the amount of good songs on there were unbelievable...And the addition of pro instruments along with the regular instruments is great...if you want to learn how to play the guitar or piano/keyboard or Drums get this game it is alot easier to learn because it's fun to practice...you can play along to songs which makes it alot more entertaining and enjoyable while you practice..instead of sitting in your room and being bored this game will have you coming back for more. And if you buy the real guitar for the game it will work on it and also if you plug it into an amp...one thing I didn't like is the fact if you try to move the strings when you hit a note and try to give it a whammy sound to it, it will penalize you on your score because you end up touching other strings when you do that and it thinks you actually missed the note...other then that very annoying thing this game is a win and everybody should buy it whether you're really into this kind of stuff or not
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
For A Dying Genre Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/11
tgwake1
Location: chicago
This game is perfect for: party gamers
A fad that has been going on for years is slowly coming to a close. The music game specifically Guitar Hero and Rock Band are running low on customer enthusiasm. We all know Activision has said no more Guitar Hero, but no word has been on Harmonix closing it's doors. I am happy this game has innovated the genre and the playability. The graphics are amazing, and the song selection is top notch. It is the most fun with a group of friends. Without them it tends to get boring.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Still Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/11
MrNinja
This game has the best setlist of any music game I have played so far. All the songs are fun to play, even the weird ones. Yes, for the record, "Crazy Train" is just as epic as you imagined. And yes ,"Space Oddity" is the song from "Mr Deeds". Anyway, the Career Mode is really strange now, but it seems easier to understand everything, so that's good. I don't know how Pro Guitar works at all. They brought back The Endless Setlist, which is annoying. You can now save your own custom setlists in Quickplay and send them to your friends using XBOX Live. If you are a Musicophile, you should really buy this game. Final selling point: "Bohemian Rhapsody"!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Great Party Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/11
Victorious
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Pros:
- Plenty of music to download from the market place
- Improved graphics and great stage effects
- Excellent sound quality on songs
- Very long replayability
- New instrument added (Keyboard - Not included)
- New instrument modes (Go pro and test your true skills!)
-New Drop-in Drop-out features allow your friends to join and leave without ruining your fun
- Most other rock bands can be copied over into your rock band 3 library
- Use of real instruments can be used fro pro modes (Drums & Keys)
Cons:
- Song list isnt as great as the others in my opinion
- Downloading songs can get a bit pricey
- Buying pro instruments can get pricey
Summary: Rock band always has and always will be a great party game. This one is no exception, with all of the songs available on XBL there is no reason why you cant rock out to your favorite songs with all your family/friends. The music store has a huge variety of songs, songs you wouldnt think people other than you have even heard of. This game is a steal at the price and the additions they made including adding in a Keyboard and the new pro modes, you will be playing this game for countless hours with or without others rocking with you.
Verdict: This is a definite buy for all of you Rock Band/ Guitar Hero lovers out there, Dont miss this one! Try your hand at some of the new pro modes and actually play that six string!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Decent
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
athletes21
Location: Bethel, CT
When I first got this game last December, I was hooked. This is the first rock band/guitar hero game I had for the Xbox (others I have on wii) and was amazed by the interesting and relaistic graphics. However, this is not the best music game out there. Pros: Good graphics, some classic songs that have never been on other music games, music store has many great selections, and many can play at a time. Cons: This game has about ten-fifteen good songs, but the others are terrible. In the newer music games, like this one, you do not need to unlock most of the songs through career, they are already there, which I do not like. Also, I felt that this soundtrack attracted people that listen to newer rock than the older Boston, Rush, Lynyrd Skynyrd type of rock. Out of all of these games, I suggest Guitar Hero 5
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Love the stringed guitars
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/11
ajax0014
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I am an actual guitarist and I played these games, as well as Guitar Hero. I personally like Rock Band better because on the guitars you can move your fingers down to the buttons closer to the body on solos. Also, the new guitars with actual strings is so much more fun, I now have another guitar, that I can sort of practice songs on by either playing with my amp or by playing the game. A genius idea, however, Power Gig came up with the idea first so I recommend you check out their game too, it is also very good.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KEWB
Tipton, Indiana
 
Please wait while more information about KEWB is loaded.
Additional information about KEWB could not be loaded.
Posted 5/16/11
Power Gig didn't come up with the idea first. HMX had been working on this since shortly after the release of RB2. Also Power Gig never teaches anything more than basic 2-note power chords and still uses 5-lane gameplay.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
A great all-around game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/11
GamerBro
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
With many hits from many walks of life the soundtrack is amazing. With a great mix of music you will never feel like the music is all the same. With the additions of keyboard and pro instraments rock band has one again set the golden standard for peripherals. The additions also offer an new depth to the game. So once you master guitar you can go learn the new pro-guitar, and after that the drums and pro-drums. The game is accessible yet challenging making it easy for anyone to fall in love with this game; from the novice to the expert this game appeals to not only the masses but your ears as well.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Rock Band Is Part Of Life
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/11
BrutalxGore
Location: Los Angeles
This game is perfect for: party gamers
you can use real instruments to play rockband it has over millions of songs in there music store and the graphics are insane like crystal clear they beat guitar hero graphics..............just go out there buy a copy of rockband3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Fun Game that teaches you real instruments!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/11
BonJohndy
Location: United State, Awesomeville
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is awesome because the graphics are really good, the game play is really fun, the game has over 2,000 songs available, and you can learn a real instrument and multiple singing (Pro Mode and Harmonies). I think this game is one of the best game ever (Better than Call of Duty: Black Ops but that is my opinion). Pro Keys and Pro Drums are awesome and I can not wait to play Pro Guitar and Pro Bass.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Awfull
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/11
Rip23
Location: NY
This game setlist sucks not to mention most of them have been on guitar hero games like "Free Bird" on guitar hero II.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Awesome update with some great music
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/11
TheDoctor
Location: DC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Finally a Rock Band is made with a good selection of music! Music just hasn't been the same since the early 90's, and it was really smart for the developers to finally include a majority of songs that are a lot more musical. The interface was a marked improvement from previous titles (with the exception of The Beatles RB), and I didn't have any heartaches with the goal system.
If a lot of game players don't know the songs, then now finally they can experience the heartache I had when I had to play below average 'songs' from the 2010's! 5 Stars!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
One Fair Reviewer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/11
Cori
Location: Nunya
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The issue you're going to find in everyone elses' reviews are that the gameplay was perfect, the graphics were awesome, the sound was amazing, the new features were brilliant, but the setlist was "okay because it was mainly set or used mainly songs from the 70s and 80s so because I'm not familiar with the songs I'm going to rate this song an 6 and run back to RB2 because they have songs I know."It's so closed minded so if you're confused on whether to get the game or not, get it. You're going to have an experience regardless. If you want to see a horrible setlist get GH:Warriors of Rock (Coming from a serious GH fan)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rock Band 3 - Game Only
Rock Band 3 is Awesome but a few Concerns!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
brokeNYDE
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I got this for Christmas with the keyboard. The Keyboard is fun because you can play Guitar,Bass,Keyboard and Pro Keyboard. But anyways. The Graphics was excellent! The Rockers Reminded Me of Sims! The Songs GOOD they had at least 15 of my favorite songs the rest BLOWS! I don't like the song choices it is not so great! What ever happened to the tour mode did they get rid of it? I would Recommend this to every music game lovers! Out There
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>