GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Yakuza 4

Yakuza 4 recreates the real underground world of Tokyo and lets you thrive in an intensely deep crime action game where four men cross paths over a woman and dead man.
Average Customer Rating:
9.6
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
6
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yakuza 4
Review 1 for Yakuza 4
GREAT GAME
Posted on:3/13/11
Sarij
Yakuza 4 is going to be an OUTSTANDING game! To anyone that is curious if you must play Yakuza 3 FIRST, let me tell you that yes it will help you understand more of the characters and story....but NO you do not need to beat Yakuza 3 first! The Yakuza series can be compared between a mix of god of war/dantes inferno(button mashing with crazy cool combo's) and fallout/star ocean(between missions you can talk to certain people and do certain things you may not be able to after you complete the next mission). There are plenty of fun mini-games to do for when you get bored of the RPG elements, and Yakuza 4 will have even more than 3!! Also, if you want to get into the Yakuza series and get completely caught up with all the stories, Yakuza 3 comes packed with the cutscenes from Yakuza 1 and 2. So you can watch them and be fully aware of what happened in game 1 and 2, and then you have 3 to lay and enjoy! Yakuza 4 is going to be such a great game, if you have read this entire 'review' and are interested in the least, I suggest renting/buying Yakuza 3. you will not be disappointed!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yakuza 4
I would choose this over GTA V any day
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/14
YakuzaFan15
Location: Knoxville, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is the best game I have ever played. I would definitely choose it over Grand Theft Auto because unlike Grand Theft Auto there is a lot of stuff to do. This game is also pretty appropriate compared to Grand Theft Auto. You can explore an accurately re-made Tokyo. This game also accurately portrays Japanese society and culture. Out of the things to do, to name JUST A VERY FEW you can visit hostess clubs (these are not inappropriate, all these are is where you buy a girl a drink and talk to her), get in randomly generated fights, buy weapons, get girlfriends, just plain explore, get drunk, and even shop in malls. You can be a good guy though, all the things you do are YOUR choice. Also get Dead Souls if you want this game with a new story and ZOMBIES!!!! Pretty much a better Dead Rising. This is my favorite game ever and get's a 10/10 in pretty much every aspect from me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Yakuza 4
Can't wait for Yakuza 4!
Posted on:1/10/11
ColumbiaLion
Location: New York, NY
When I finished playing Yakuza 3 it left me feeling like I just had to play some sort of sequel to it. I was very excited when I heard Yakuza 4 was coming to the states as an exclusive. Yakuza 3 had everything I look for in a game, ranging from the gameplay to story to sound. Looking at the previews/trailers it seems Yakuza 4 will not disappoint loyal fans as well as new gamers to the franchise. This is going to be a great game that you should definitely get!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
The Last Guardian
10 out of 10(28)
 
 
 
 
 
 
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
ColumbiaLion
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about ColumbiaLion is loaded.
Additional information about ColumbiaLion could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 3/12/11
Well, you're clearly entitled your opinion. I have played it and while fighting was where most of the action was in Yakuza 3, it was not without its fair share of mini games and side adventures that will also make an appearance in this game. What I look for in a game that leave a lasting impression on me for me to consider it "good" are a nice soundtrack, cast of characters, storyline, and mechanics. Yakuza 3 delivered in all those categories and I anticipate Yakuza 4 will as well. Keep an open mind.
Customer Avatar
mo1233
usa
 
Please wait while more information about mo1233 is loaded.
Additional information about mo1233 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
doesn't look good
Posted 3/7/11
i played the demo i think the game has very poor graphics and all u do is fighting with bunch of people . but am not sure about the game if the only thing u do is fighting with bunch of people am not buying this game . if u don't belive me u can play the demo.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for Yakuza 4
CAN'T WAIT
Posted on:7/14/10
Anonymous
I'm so excited that Yakuza 4 is actually comming to the states. I loved the second and third one. Wish i had the first one. The Yakuza series has one of the best storylines for a game. I just hope the fourth comes out good. All I can say is that i am glad i got the PS3 because these are one of the best games. =D
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TRIIMARK16
 
Please wait while more information about TRIIMARK16 is loaded.
Additional information about TRIIMARK16 could not be loaded.
OMG CANT WAIT
Posted 12/23/10
I FELL IN LOVE WITH YAKUZA 3 AND YAKUZA 4 IS COMING OUT ON MY BIRTHDAY LUCKY ME NOW ALL I HAVE TO DO IS WAIT ...... ITS TOO HARD!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Yakuza 4
Very good game with replayability.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
Rrurui
Location: California
Yakuza 4 is brawler / rpg / open world game with tons of mini games and goodies that will draw you in to play much more even after the story is over and done with. The gameplay mainly concerns fighting that can end with devastating finishes. The game always seems to be able to throw things out in order to keep the experience fresh and alive. This game has a fairly gritty story, but is filled with tons of humor for a great experience. This game has so much to offer it can almost be a little overwhelming at first, but stick with it and you will be rewarded with an experience unlike any other. Some complain that the story line is too confusing, in my opinion, it is not. The story is rich and enticing and will catch you off guard at every twist and turn. If you are thinking of giving this game a chance, do so, you will not regret it. Great job Sega, I will be patiently waiting for the release of Yakuza 5.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Yakuza 4
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
jwing1692
Location: Fayetteville, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a lot of fun. Of course it's not without its problems, but this game is worth your time. One of the only problems I have with this game is that their are no English voices, so unless you speak Japanese you'll be reading a lot of subtitles. Other than that though there is a lot to love and a lot of fun to be had with this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Yakuza 4
FINALLY!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:12/26/10
r3Dij3Di808
Location: haleiwa, HI
its about time sega has made the right decision, after so many online petitions to bring ryuu ga gotoku 4 (yakuza 4) stateside, im happy it is finally official. having played ryuu ga gotoku 4 densetsu no tsugumono, im sure all the fans of ryuu ga gotoku (yakuza) and new players alike will definitely enjoy spending countless hours playing this one. I am so happy to hear they brought back the hostess bars in this edition... most of the time spent playing is actually in the hostess bars... and the onsen (hotspring)?! yups thats right, hanging out with hot japanese hostess modeled after real top hostess across tokyo at a onsen. the fighting system has been rebuilt and the story is freaking AMAZING. it will make u keep on guessing what will happen next and is sure to keep u on your seat for hours. ITS A MUST BUY!!!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yakuza 4
Going kick but yes
Posted on:10/12/10
KingSank
I play all them 1,2,3, beat them all i can't wit to Number 4 to come to the USA
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yakuza 4
Recycling has never been so good!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/11
vlwimb84
Location: Louisville, KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay, yeah there is a LOT that resembles Y3, but the unique splitting up the gamer now playing as 4 different people and not just one completely makes up for the recycling of some of the aspects for the series' predecessors. As far as plot strength, playing as different characters made a helluva difference. Instead of desperately trying to tie a story to one person and have it not only *make sense* but tell the story well, by having different characters this gives more leeway for creativity as well as support a foundation for a good story.
I liked the dialogues, and yeah the language is "coarse' but these characters are mafia-esque folks...hey sure aren't gonna talk like choir boys.
I LOVED the opening song and even all the grocery store music, etc. in the game as well. If anyone knows of a soundtrack or something PLEASE let me know!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Yakuza 4
Another Classic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/11
AJM76
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you liked 3, you know what to expect and you will love this one. New characters, a few new locations and the continuation of the awesome story. If you didn't play 1,2 or 3, Sega was nice enough to include a summary of the story for you so you won't be lost. Some will say not enough as changed since 3 but really, when a game is as fun and as HUGE as 3, why would you want to mess with the formula. I couldn't wait to get my hands on this and I'm happy to say it hasn't disappointed me. Support the cause and keep these games coming to the US.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yakuza 4
special and amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/11
dogs1234
Location: New Mexico,NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the yakuza games, is one of my all time favorite games on ps2 and ps3, the story will just amaze you, and you will feel what each one of these characters are going through and what they feel, it does help if you have played the first one, i reconmaned it cuz it helps to understand the story and characters a little better, all tho you can just remenisce through each of the games to understand each one. i'am very glad that the first three stuck with the original japeness voices and english sub, tho i didnt mind the first one that was in english voices, it just makes the atmaspher more apprecaited when it comes from a different background, to say the least yes you will have repetive fighting, but that shouldn't stop you from playing a unique culturle game in its own way.. try it out for yourself and see how this game is very unique.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
icecoldshinigami321
 
Please wait while more information about icecoldshinigami321 is loaded.
Additional information about icecoldshinigami321 could not be loaded.
extremly good
Posted 9/16/11
this is one outstanding game its interactive the story is long so you wont beat it to fast i never played yakuza 3 my freind told me about yakuza 4 and i played the demo and it blew my mind the only thing you cant do is drive cars actually driving would kill it but yeah its like a jappenese gta.......oh and it kinda irritates me that its all in jappenese and how i gotta read subtitles but youll just get ust to it sooner or later its a brilliant game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Yakuza 4
Yakuza 4 is Outstanding
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/11
ColumbiaLion
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yakuza 4 not only met my expectations but exceeded them greatly. As in my preview of the game on this page, former titles in the series have everything I look for in a game and Yakuza 4 had all of them. The story was incredibly well written and woven nicely among the four character roles you take on throughout the game. You can easily form a bond and empathize with each character whether you are playing as Detective Tanimura trying to find out what really happened regarding the death of his father 25 years ago, Saejima seeking retribution, or as the classic Kazuma Kiryu to name a few. The voice acting is very good and the soundtrack really gets you in the moment. Similar to Y3, there are a TON of side games which are really awesome. Among my favorite were the batting cages and you are even able to train your own fighters are you take control in helping a dojo. These fighters you train are then automatically controlled in battles you enroll them in and you can see how effective your training was. To me it was mind blowing how well the story flowed. It was seamless; all the characters were relevant and the plot twists kept me on the edge of my seat. A lot of the action here is in a brawler style like Y3 except I think the mechanics here are better and there are so many new combos among the new characters it was familiar yet refreshing. Casual gamers or hardcore gamers would be glad they got this cinematic and memorable title. I highly recommend it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yakuza 4
YES
Posted on:12/4/10
djizzle
Location: Washington, WA
yesi cant wait for this game to come out, i played 1,2, and 3 and they were all great and i can tell that the 4th installment to this series is gonna be great because we can play as 4 people now and sega has added more things to do. I'm happy that the hostess bars are coming back cause i was bummed when it was cut out of the U.S. version. Can't wait to get my hands on this game
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yakuza 4
Most underrated game in the U.S
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/12
LegendaryKing3
Location: Anaheim,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yakuza 4 has everything from going on dates with the lovely hostess to bashing the heads of street punks.This game is and will be one of the best PS3 games in history that has a great story,combat system,and graphics.Great sequel to Yakuza 3 may even be better.Each character has their own fighting style which adds variety to the game.A must own if you have a PS3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yakuza 4
Amazing Game, The Series Never Fails To Deliver Gr
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/11
skynet1217
Enter the world of the Tojo Clan and take your firsts to the streets of Tokyo. Yakuza 4 is such a great game. If you played Yakuza 3, you like this one even more. It has almost everything Yakuza 3 had and improved it and even has some new stuff, giving you tons to do. The story is thicker and better than Yakuza 3, it has even more drama and philosophy. If you like crime stories you'll be sure to enjoy this beautiful crime drama about events that tie 4 men together over a murdered yakuza and a mysterious woman. The cut scenes are pure quality with amazing Japanese voice work and are almost as long as Metal Gear Solid 4. Combat is better, and with four main characters with different fighting styles never makes it boring. The fighting feels smoother and just all around polished with some nice effects with the special moves known as "HEAT Actions" which play out like a mini cutscene. The game's location, Kamurocho, has been improved. There are roof tops, sewers and more to explore and the everything just looks better. There is so much to do apart from the main story. There are tons of mini games(batting cages, golf, arcade games ect.) side stuff, sub stories, hostess girls hearts to win, train fighters, compete in tournaments. Some new stuff is a hot springs, table tennis and the stuff that was cut out of Yakuza 3 is back like Shogi and Majong Parlors and of course the Hostess Clubs. There is even an mode where you can scout for hostess club girls and train them. Each character has their own adventure style besides fighting style. You'll discover the unique things each character has to do as you progress. So if you go through one play through and complete all the side stuff, you'll get 130+ plus hours to enjoy. Also, there are some modes you can unlock as well as a DLC Coupon with new copies of the game giving you even more to do. The game is just packed and will give you a great experience in a Japanese universe.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yakuza 4
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/11
PorkRock
Location: Sacramento, CA
Yakuza 4 is Awesome
If you enjoyed Yakuza 3 then you will enjoy 4
Yakuza 4 plays, looks, and sounds just like 3
Graphics, Controls, Sound are all the same from Yakuza 3
even the read along dialogue is still the same
fights start the same way as well
walk down the street and get ready to rumble
something new this time around is the fight styles with 3 new characters
Each of the 4 have different styles and abilities
Akiyama being the fastest with an almost exclusive Kicking attack
Saejima being a Bulldozer with more durability
Tanimura with parries and grappling attacks
and last but most Important Kazuma returns with his well rounded style from Yakuza 3
all 3 new charcters are just as likeable and deep Especially Akiyama
Story is Very Strong and a lot more darker and violent this time around not quite a soap opera like the third
open world with plenty of things to do out of main story missions such as side missions and activities
even if you have never played any Yakuza game you can still jump into 4 and have fun without getting confused but just in case you want to know about the previous games there is a movie library of the previous 3
Pros for New Players: graphics, sound, Story, Open world with lots to do, deep likeable characters
Pros for returning players: Darker Story, 3 new characters
Cons; repetitive fights
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Yakuza 4
OH YES!! Finally!!!
Posted on:3/9/11
renny17
Location: Fort Carson, CO
I can tell just by the previews, this will be the BEST Yakuza game EVER!! All the action, side-stories, and fun I've grown to love PLUS all that was missing from Yakuza 3....... TIMES 4!!!!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yakuza 4
Great game, now give us Yakuza 5.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/13
Ekin
Location: Boston
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game, great story line that people would enjoy if they started from the beginning of the series. We just need Yakuza 5 now Sega. I needs me my Yakuza 5!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Yakuza 4
Awsome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/11
antibob100
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok i finaly picked up my copy of Yakuza 4 and the game IS amazing, BUT i think the huge hype of it coming out in america was a little too much. Because i didnt find the game super awsome epic, just awsome. Its pretty much an equal to Yakuza 3, which is one of my favorite games anyways.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KratosKratos
 
Please wait while more information about KratosKratos is loaded.
Additional information about KratosKratos could not be loaded.
YAKUZZA
Posted 3/20/11
If You love story, drama, and just a fan of what gaming use to be, Yakuza is what you need. You get that old school feeling you got from games from the PS2 days. Strong Character development, interesting story with a few turns here and there, and tooons of side mission. SEGA. I love you.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Yakuza 4
ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/12
Hellyeah935
Location: Assisi,Italy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was stunning... I was surprised at how the fighting scenes felt... It was plain awesome...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>