GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mortal Kombat

After centuries of Mortal Kombat, Emperor Shao Kahn has finally defeated Raiden and his allies. Faced with extinction, Raiden has one last chance. To undo the Emperor's victory, he must strike Shao Kahn where he is vulnerable...The Past.
Average Customer Rating:
9.207
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (378 reviews)
10 stars
135
9 stars
43
8 stars
12
7 stars
5
6 stars
4
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
190 out of 20891%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mortal Kombat
Review 1 for Mortal Kombat
MORTAL KOMBAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:2/17/11
TPLcheeseburger305
Location: folrida
New charcters were revealed cyrax,kano,goro,sindel,jade,lui kang,shang sung,noob-sibot,stryker,kitana,ermac,jax,sonya,and only for ps3 kratos
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Mortal Kombat Official Strategy Guide
3.8 out of 10(6)
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mortal Kombat
MK is coming back in style.
Posted on:10/17/10
DJawsome123
Location: Indiana,IN
OMG i love mortal kombat so much. I played almost of it games. Im going to pre order this as soon as it comes out.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mortal Kombat
Use freddie Kruger.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/12
NastyD
Location: New Jersey, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The graphics are amazing and it's better than DC universe. And I like the fact that you get to use Freddie Kruger. He can beat anyone if you know how to use him.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mortal Kombat
awesome game!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/11
ps3callofdutybro
Location: austin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i think you guys shuld get this game, its very fun for mature people, dont recommend it for little kids . if your into blood and gore the this is the game for you!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
my video i made
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Trugamer87
 
Please wait while more information about Trugamer87 is loaded.
Additional information about Trugamer87 could not be loaded.
wait 4 pricedrop
Posted 4/22/11
this game is great it has nice graphics and good gameplay which is the things that u look 4 when buying a fighter. However this game is not worth the sixty dollars and u should wait 4 the price to drop to say about 40 dollars.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Mortal Kombat
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
Anonymous
Location: Milton PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Game is very gory and very fun. The finishers are spectactular. the sound is amazing with a sound system. The graphics are great with a flat screen and the gameplay is old schol 2D mortal kombat and this game is worth your money.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mortal Kombat
Test your might
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/11
DiesalKeeng
Location: California,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THIS IS A GAME FOR GREAT CHALLENGERS OF MORTAL KOMBAT AND THIS IS THE BEST OUT OF ALL THAT WERE CREATED BY NETHER REALM AND THE BEST IS BACK LIKE ERMAC SUB-ZERO SCORPION AND ALSO NEW ADDITION KRATOS
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mortal Kombat
The beast!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/11
PrydaZ
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This video is the best on youtube! if you watch this you will see why.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mortal Kombat
Im good whit video games
Posted on:3/29/11
FireAngel
Location: New York, NY
i like mortal kombat mlb the show mdoern warfare 2
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
4 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mortal Kombat
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/11
dragnslayerf
Location: California,CA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game was great. It had cool characters and a lot more characters than MK vs DC. The graphics were amazing and the game itself was fun. The best part is probably Tag Ladder, for once Mortal Kombat is 4 players. Another thing for Tag Ladder is that the teammate sitting out can't switch out on his own, the player that's playing is the only who can switch out. So overall this game was and will always be fun.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Mortal Kombat
mortal Kombat rules
Posted on:1/19/11
windwalker26
Location: Torrance, CA
The new Mortal Kombat game is going rock, the line up of characters are going to be awesome. cant wait to see who they reveal for thr rest of the characters of the game. Also Kratos is going to own too anc cant wait to see what his fatality is going to be in the game. Cant wait to challenge you all online too
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mortal Kombat
Fatality!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/11
grady
Location: mobile, alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Lets be honost if you are a button-masher this is definetly not the game for you. To be good in this game you are gonna have to be able to learn your kombatants kombos( yes i spelled it with a "k"), and yeah you dont have to learn everybody's kombos right away but you will eventually want to juggle multiple kombos to inflict more damage on your opponents. The graphics are really good, but some character designs are really dated, but characters like Scorpion, Sub-Zero, Reptile, and Smoke look really good. The story is somewhat interesting and really easy to follow, but you are gonna have to face difficult matches, like 1 on 2 matches and the final boss Shao Kahn( Spoiler), but if you stick to it you will eventually surpass it. The online is fairly decent and dont get to frustrated, because their are alot of competitive players online that will kick your butt. This is a great fighter that will test your skills, and hopefully keep your attention for a while.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mortal Kombat
It will take everything from you.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/14
Sonic889
Location: Bloomington, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Prepare to rage like never before and lose everything you truly cherish. Your girlfriend/boyfriend, your job, your car.......EVERYTHING.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 13 for Mortal Kombat
Having a Blast!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/11
Mettle
Location: Netherealm
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
"FiNiSh HiM!" WOW! I am having deja vu and reliving my arcade glory days with this latest installment of the MK universe. Controls are near perfect for pulling off all the kombos, special moves, and fatalities making this a real treat for all my MK freaks out there.
Graphics drew me in and kept me playing for hours and thats something I tend not to do because I'm what you call a jaded gamer...fighting games just don't appeal to me the way they used to...until I started playing this!
All my favorite characters are in the game and none of that 3D movement around the arena, it's back to 3D characters in a 2D plane and that suits me just fine.
Special effects, sounds, music, backgrounds are all top notch - really immersing you in the game. Hearing Scorpions' "GeT OvEr HeRe!" and Jaxs' "GoTcHa" really bring a tear to my eye. I can't thank the developers enough to include all the nostalgic gameplay details in this MK.
There is so much to unlock that you will be busy for a very long time. All of that plus the addition of KRATOS in the PS3 game makes me just feel all warm inside, but when I play, I expect my opponents insides to be on the outside!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mortal Kombat
Wow, impressive game.
Posted on:3/18/11
RochRx7
Location: Jacksonville, FL
When I saw MK will be coming back out again, I wasn't so excited. MK vs. DC left me bitter about any comeback of the MK series. But I was interested in testing it out because there was a demo available.
So I downloaded it to the ps3 and tried "The Ladder" which is arcade mode in MK terms. The demo gives you 4 fighters to choose from: Scorpion, Johnny Cage, Mileena, and Sub-Zero. I played with all the available characters and tried their combos/specials/fatalities. Let me tell you, I was deeply impressed with the newest installment of the MK series.
It seems they brought it back down to the roots of which made MK popular back in the 90s. The fatalities are brutal, the specials moves look great, the graphics, the stages.. everything brings me back to MK 1-3 and multiplied it by 100x. Now I almost exclusively play fighting games only ie. SFIV, MvC3, Tekken, KoF, GG, BlazBlue etc.. and I can't say enough good things from JUST THE DEMO.
I highly recommend this game. Buy it, pre-order it. Keep it away from your children.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tevin813
tampa
 
Please wait while more information about tevin813 is loaded.
Additional information about tevin813 could not be loaded.
mortal kombat is the best alive
Posted 3/23/11
man i love it so much i like the x rays i love everything about it i cant wait to get it imma play it all the dang time its better on ps3 we god the god of war king baby yeahhhhhhhhhhh yayyyyyyyyy i love ps3 hardcore gamers get mortal kombat and for the xbox lovers sorry you cant have our god of war player i love it lol
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Mortal Kombat
Finally.. Mortal Kombat is BACK.
Posted on:3/21/11
InfamousxG
Location: Cranston, RI
I'm gonna be honest with you guys.. I wasn't really a fan of Deadly Alliance or Deception or any of the other MK's after Ultimate Mortal Kombat. But after playing the demo they released on PSN, I am now a happy MK fan again. The feel is there, and the gore is there. The past other MK's for some reason didn't feel right for me. There was something missing.. I'm not sure of what it was. Could've been just the characters stiff movements when kicking or sending a punch at their foes.. could just be me, I don't know. In my opinion this game will kick the life out of Street Fighters rear end! Street Fighter 4 got boring FAST for me. After only a couple of minutes I got bored of it. Now when I played the demo for MORTAL KOMBAT.. I played it for hours and STILL not bored of it. I'm anxious to get online when the full game comes out next month. WOOP WOOP.. I'm ready.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
HpJunter202
NY
 
Please wait while more information about HpJunter202 is loaded.
Additional information about HpJunter202 could not be loaded.
looks good
Posted 3/27/11
there are many fighting games out there but this game is from an alsome movie and if thats not enough the graphics look alsome. I really hope that here is gong to be another game because one game for an alsome movie is just ot right
Customer Avatar
akeem4senator
margate FL
 
Please wait while more information about akeem4senator is loaded.
Additional information about akeem4senator could not be loaded.
MORTAL KOMBAT!!!!!!!
Posted 3/27/11
can't wait 4/19/2011. just like the good old days waiting for MK. pre-ordered mine with the strategy guide, but when i purchase it i may not read the guide all i'm going to do is get right into the game. GET OVER HERE. everybody on the count of 3 just shout MORTAL KOMBAT. 1-2-3 MORTAL KOMBAT.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 16 for Mortal Kombat
best MK yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/11
GNR4LIFE
Location: Alexandria, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
when i first heard a new mk was coming out, i was stoked. the story mode can get frustrating, especially when its a one-on-two fight. And i do have to admit the ending was a little stupid. But still, the meat of it was good. Then theres the challenge tower. its like a second story mode, but a lot longer and makes you way more angry. thers 300 levels in it. However, if you have enough koins, you can skip levels. And if you beat all 300 levels (or at least skip through all of them) you get a third attire for mileena. Trust me its worth it. Arcade modes pretty beast but it gets old after a while. And now theres a four player max limit so you can play tag-team matches, another great new feature. Gonestly, i think the fatalities could be better and gorier, but still im not complainig. Id recomend mk to someone who likes to beat other people to an ungodly limit. Take my advice and buy the game. Oh and for the ps3 you get Kratos from God of War. He has his GoW moves so thats kinda kool.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Mortal Kombat
Intense, nonstop, beautiful, violence.
Posted on:3/25/11
Zeph
We PS3 owners have a nice perk of being able to download the demo for Mortal Kombat. The demo is impressive in its own right. The environments are alive, and the fatalities are brutal. It plays very well preferring the use of the D-pad over the analog stick, and the gameplay is better for it. This game is everything a Mortal Kombat game should be, and I would expect that this game gets not a single critic rating below 8.0 at the least. For those who understand this lingo... this game is metal, purely metal.
Oh yeah, and we get the PS3 exclusive God of War character Kratos too, which is awesome because he epitomizes what Mortal Kombat is all about.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mortal Kombat
Mortal Kombat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/13
alanawesome
Location: San Diego
After learning some lessons with the unsuccesfull MK vs DC , now Netherealm Studios give us what we want , Blood , Gore , real Fatalitys , our all fav characters and tons , tons of new stuff , MK is just a really complete game at the overall with a Brand new story mode that is really cool and its one of the best ever made on fighting games , gameplay its just perfect , controls are great for every single carácter , if you want to you can have training and learn every single move of you fav character and fatalities , we have the classic arcade ladder with classic bosses and a Brand new tag team ladder , also we have a tower of challenges with more then 500 challenges and the Krypt to unlock content , online mode is good but still have some lag problems with the servers , we have a new King of the Hill Mode that its basiclly like if we were on the arcade playing this , winner keeps playing , loser goes to the end of line , its good , overall this game its awesome , if you loved MK 1-3 you have to get this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Mortal Kombat
There are many great characters
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
dyslexicboy111
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In the game Mortal Kombat 9 for the PS3, the graphics are amazing. There are a bunch of characters to choose from and there is story mode. This is my 1st ever Mortal Kombat game for any system. I was never a Mortal Kombat person so I decided to try this out and it's great. They have tutorials (incase you don't know how to play) ,they have a move list and other great things to choose from. The best part for me was the story mode. The story mode takes a while to beat but it's worth the time. I couldn't turn off the PS3 since I was too into the game. There are many fatalities as well. Story mode is hard for beginners, even if you put down "Story Mode Difficulty: Beginner". It will be hard because of Shao Kahn.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mortal Kombat
I only have one problem with this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/11
jbl8199
Location: Johnstown, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I know I'm going to get a lot of thumbs down for this, but the online sucks. I love everything about single player, but I just can't stand online. The constant dropped matches, the hate mail you get weather you win or loose, and people always picking the same characters(for me it's Scorpion, Smoke, Kung Lao, and Sub Zero). If you don't mind fighting the same few characters all the time, then by all means buy the game, but I like a little variety. Not to mention the wait between matches is pretty ridiculous unless you join a room, but even then you get declined half the time and end up having to wait anyway. I would definitely recommend this for single player, but if you aren't a patient person, then I'd just get this game for the single player and stay away from the online. Other than the online, I have no complaints.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gmaeboi
 
Please wait while more information about Gmaeboi is loaded.
Additional information about Gmaeboi could not be loaded.
MK9
Posted 8/7/11
why johnny cage have a different x ray then the one on the first trailer
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>