GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mortal Kombat

After centuries of Mortal Kombat, Emperor Shao Kahn has finally defeated Raiden and his allies. Faced with extinction, Raiden has one last chance. To undo the Emperor's victory, he must strike Shao Kahn where he is vulnerable...The Past.
Average Customer Rating:
9.248
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (376 reviews)
10 stars
135
9 stars
42
8 stars
12
7 stars
5
6 stars
4
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
189 out of 20692%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mortal Kombat
Review 1 for Mortal Kombat
great fighting game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/14
batman7837
this fighting game is one that should be owned and will deliver for hardcore mortal kombat fans and the casual fighting fan.i wasn't a hardcore fighting fan but when I played this game I became one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Mortal Kombat
Mortal Kombat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/13
alanawesome
Location: San Diego
After learning some lessons with the unsuccesfull MK vs DC , now Netherealm Studios give us what we want , Blood , Gore , real Fatalitys , our all fav characters and tons , tons of new stuff , MK is just a really complete game at the overall with a Brand new story mode that is really cool and its one of the best ever made on fighting games , gameplay its just perfect , controls are great for every single carácter , if you want to you can have training and learn every single move of you fav character and fatalities , we have the classic arcade ladder with classic bosses and a Brand new tag team ladder , also we have a tower of challenges with more then 500 challenges and the Krypt to unlock content , online mode is good but still have some lag problems with the servers , we have a new King of the Hill Mode that its basiclly like if we were on the arcade playing this , winner keeps playing , loser goes to the end of line , its good , overall this game its awesome , if you loved MK 1-3 you have to get this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Mortal Kombat
MK 9 Perfect fight game of the Year Award
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
MKDante
Location: Seattle,WA
Best Mortal Kombat ever Period.... MK fans must play best fight game in ever.... Stage finishing moves are best in all MK history and combo moves well this game shines
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Mortal Kombat
Jaw Droping-IGN Stunning-G4TV
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/12
LamBro3
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Thisis simply the best and most advanced fighting gane that i am blessed to own. There is so much action and so many things to do youll never get rid of it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Mortal Kombat
Use freddie Kruger.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/12
NastyD
Location: New Jersey, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The graphics are amazing and it's better than DC universe. And I like the fact that you get to use Freddie Kruger. He can beat anyone if you know how to use him.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mortal Kombat
MORTAL KOMBAT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/12
dagomaga
Location: colorado co
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is game is the best fighting game in the world. they thru out the bad characters stepped up the graphics and blood and you get the best fighting game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mortal Kombat
decent game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/12
nickname23456
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i play this game with another person. i think it is more fun with another person. the game has a lot of blood. yea , thats basically it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mortal Kombat
Prepare to be Wowed
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/12
ronniedonnie719
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As a big fan of the Mortal Kombat series, this one defines what all future Mortal Kombat installments should and will look like. The X-Ray move is a great edition to the game, each character having his or her own unique X-ray move. I must say that I am very glad a picked this game up. It's very addicting and very challenging. High Recommendation for all "fighting game" and Mortal Kombat fans alike.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Mortal Kombat
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/12
gamefreak1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game. I am a huge mortal kombat fan. I like all the characters in this game but scorpion is my favorite. I like scorpion in all of them and he has always been my favorite. This game is perfect for people looking for a good hand to hand type fighting game. The finishing moves are brutal and very cool. You can see the other players bones in x ray type and when the finishing moves happen, alot of bone crushing and alot of crunching noises. Its an amazing game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Mortal Kombat
The Worst Game Ever Made
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/12
rahmer17
Location: usa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After an hour of playing this game and hoping that it would start to work it still hasn't. The combos only work about half the time (even in tutorial mode) and the controls are very unresponsive. The graphics and sound are good but that doesn't matter when the game is unplayable.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
guy1010101010101010101010
Online, On my computer
 
Please wait while more information about guy1010101010101010101010 is loaded.
Additional information about guy1010101010101010101010 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/13/12
If you've only played it for an hour, obviously you haven't practiced enough. I suggest you practice a bit more, and then the controls should work perfectly every time. If it's still not working, try another controller.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Mortal Kombat
Kool game very fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
billy09er
Location: Ma.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Many characters to choose from in this Mortal Kombat. The story mode to this game is awesome. Online play is very fun. Versus local play 4 players is fantastic. You can tag team like in Marvel vs Capcom, loads of fatalities, cool stages, great costumes, it has it all. The only issue was the sounding. You might have to increase your volume a little more then usual for this game but its no biggie. Go grab this game today!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mortal Kombat
A Pure Klassic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/12
Mrlespaul
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is pure MK at its finest. The graphics and fatalities look great. But the gameplay is really where its at. This game is just smooth and addictive. There is alot of offline content in this game and it also has a great story mode. This game is great for newcomers and veterans alike. I grew up on MK 1-3 and I gotta say this game really stays true to its roots. If I could only have one game for the rest of my life, this would probably be it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mortal Kombat
MOST EPIC FIGHTING GAME EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/12
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this mortal kombat is the 9th installment to the famed fighting franchise and is by mar the bloodiest most gory mortal kombat game yet. if you choose to partake in story mode it begins with origin of the annual mortal kombat tournament. the mortal kombat is when every warrior from earthrealm, outrealm and the neatherrealm fight to the death to be crowned the mortal kombat champion. you are team earthrealm. which consists of raiden, liu kang, kung lao and a few others. they face very hard opponets during thier journeys from quan chi and ermac to goro and kintaro and even shao kahn. but the story mode isn't the biggest part of the game. the other single player modes include arcade ladder, challenge tower, practice and the krypt and obviousley options and settings. in arcade ladder mode you choose either solo or tag team and you choose your fighters and difficulty. you basically have to fight your way to the top of the ladder and face shao kahn. if you defeat shao kahn you get a story on how each warrior came to be. in the challenge tower (which is my personal favorite) you face 300 challenges to collect coins and make your way up the tower. the reason I love the challenge tower so much is that every challenge is diffrent in thier own way. for example the challenges make you fight without blocking or jumping. some may reward you with gifts with a combo over 5 hits. some even have you fighting zombies. the practice is your basic tutorial to all the ins and outs of mortal kombat. finally there is the krypt. this is where you spend coins you've earned to unlock concept art, damage models, alternate costumes, paintings, music and even secondary fatalities. and the multiplayer is awesome. up to 4 players can play offline and do versus mode. the environmets are one reason why mortal kombat is rated M. from flesh pits and rooftops to a subway and gardens. the new x ray attacks are gruesome and awesome to watch. from breaking skulls and spines to snaping necks and crusing legs these moves require all your super meter but do at least 35% damage. so overall mortal kombat is an awesome fighting game and is highly recommended for any ps3 or xbox360 owner.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mortal Kombat
Good!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
OnThEdGe12
The game itself is great but you have to be good at it. At first I got really frustrated because I couldn't win. It takes quite some prctice
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mortal Kombat
Best fighting game now,it's a must have game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/12
ultrabluesonic
Location: Pasco, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
EPIC everything they really went above and beond, I love that they included Krados,and Fready also all the other ''cool'' fighters
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mortal Kombat
Super Duper Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/12
gamingqueen
Location: bennington, nh
This game is amazing! The roster has a nice variety, not as good a variety as Mortal Kombat Unchained for the PSP, but still a nice variety.
The X-Ray attacks are gorey, bloody and gross. That's how I like my Mortal Kombat. Same with the fatalities.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mortal Kombat
Unexpected in a Awesome way!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/12
DescructionWasTheCase3000
Location: Newport News, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was probably the best in the Mortal Kombat series. One reason why it's one of the best in the series is because of how the game had a connection to all of the Mortal Kombat that were made [not MKvsDC].
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mortal Kombat
Incredible
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/12
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was always worried about buying this game because i thought it might be a waste of money, well i was wrong! This game is great. The X-Ray specials are brutal and gross and the fatalities are even worse! That is the good ol' mortal combat that we have come to know. The story mode is great! I kept playing and playing because it was like watching a movie! Get this game, its a great deal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mortal Kombat
best fighting game i have ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/12
bigdezil
Location: alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
blood,guts,and death what else can you say its what every fan of the title wants and they brought it big time get it now
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mortal Kombat
Good and bad...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
DarkSideAffiliate
Location: peoria, il
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Overall fun game, but im gonna start off with the weak points...
1. Cut scene graphics are horrible
2. WORST story line I've ever seen
3. Lack of exciting charactors
4. The fact that you have to fight 2 enemies at once in story mode
And for the advantages...
1. Good gameplay graphics
2. Freddy is in it! (Although charging $5 for him is ridiculus)
3. Plenty replay value as far as multiplayer/2 player
Overall the game is fun, the story line is beyond mediocore but its great for 2-4 players,
I would LOVE to see a Mortal Kombat vs Marvel or just a MK game with cool charactors like freddy kruger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 16 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>