GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mortal Kombat

After centuries of Mortal Kombat, Emperor Shao Kahn has finally defeated Raiden and his allies. Faced with extinction, Raiden has one last chance. To undo the Emperor's victory, he must strike Shao Kahn where he is vulnerable...The Past.
Average Customer Rating:
8.618
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (330 reviews)
10 stars
95
9 stars
63
8 stars
13
7 stars
7
6 stars
3
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
14
172 out of 19986%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mortal Kombat
Review 1 for Mortal Kombat
A Dose of Nostalgia
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/13
Shanks
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was never a big fan of fighting games, including Mortal Kombat, but I have played Mortal Kombat titles in the past with friends. Eventually picked up a copy of this game to play with my wife (she likes fighting games) and i fell in love pretty quick. The controls aren't very hard to pick up on, the lineup includes all of the classic characters that make the series distinguishable, and the multiplayer fun never ends. After toying around with the solo modes and the multiplayer modes, I have to say there is enough solo play to keep you busy for a while, but the real shining moment is the nostalgia of freezing your best friend (or wife in my case) with Sub-Zero's powers and shattering them into a million pieces in multiplayer mode. I recommend this for newcomers to the series and seasoned vets looking for a bit of nostalgia and hours of fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Mortal Kombat
Hardcore gaming time
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/13
Coolyo
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the best fighting game I've played. Tons of characters (my personal favorite is Freddy Krueger). It is fun to play with friends, not to mention bloody fun. A great game to play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Mortal Kombat
An old friend returns
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/12
DeadSpaceMarine
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After many bad & so so sequels to the series Mortal Kombat returns. It retells the stories of the first 3 games also bringing back the classic character rosters with an updated look. This game also adds the most in depth combo system of any MK game, although most hardcore fighting game fans probably would say its shoddy, but myself not being one I find the game to be great. Its perfect to pick up & play while slowly easing you into the combo system unlike many fighting games. The special moves & finishers are also very easy to pull off after minimal practice. Minor flaws involve the classic cheap boss encounters of MK lore that involves either using complex combos to defeat or cheap tricks. This is in my opinion the best game to grace the series since UKM3. If you are a fan, or even moderately interested in MK, or simply just want a fighting game thats actually easy to pick up & play buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Mortal Kombat
Lazy and terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
YerTeenageDream
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game lacked creativity, and was extremely boring. I loved this game on ps2 years ago, so i was excited to get it on Xbox 360. The version i had then had a great story line of following and training one character to be the best, and had a great multiplayer of good mechanics, fun finishing moves, and creative game modes, such as chess. This version showed a video, then you did a fight with whatever character they give you, then showed another video, then another fight, and so on through the whole thing. The total story mode will takes about 3 hours to beat (way too short). The makers of this game really didn't take any time of effort into this game, in my opinion. It could've been so much better.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for Mortal Kombat
good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
shadowsora108
Location: andalusia AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So I go to my friends house and I see Mortal Kombat. He says it is a good game. After a good 5 minute round it comes to the FINISH HIM screen that every Mortal Kombat fan knows. I enter the commands for scorpion's fatality and view a bloody mess. I find myself thinking why creators think that there is such need for a ridiculous amount of blood in video games. overall the game is a good one.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Mortal Kombat
WHAT!!!?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/12
Blackmombagoku
Location: Ishpeming MI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
When I saw all of these good reviews I thought this game would be good. The only good part about it is the fatalities. The story is HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!! They killed Liu Kang.......AGAIN!!!!!!! And the story doesnt make sense. Raiden sends the future to past raiden(if that makes sense....which it dont) and past raiden messes up bad. Terrible. Only buy this game if you are really desperate for entertainment. It is terrible. Hope i helped.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 7 for Mortal Kombat
good gameplay
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/12
fanoffans
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
great gameplay along with graphics sound is not impossible to hear great background music a whole lot better than tekken tag 2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Mortal Kombat
The true fighting game series continues to impress
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/12
Dman69
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Mortal Kombat (9) is a great game. This game is so good that it is hard to put into words, but I will do my best to do this game justice. I will start with the story mode. I have not finished the story mode yet, but what I have played is awesome, and it is a very interesting and engaging story line. The basis is that there is a tournament that Kombatants have to fight in to save Earthrealm (at least those from Eartrealm) from combining with Shao Kan's world (can't remember the name of it for the life of me). I won't reveal the ending because I don't want to spoil it (for me or anyone else). Now onto Challenge Tower. Challenge Tower is basically where you battle different kompetitors with varying difficulty and for each opponet you defeat, you earn koins to spend in the Krypt. The Krypt is where you can buy new Fatalities, coustumes, art, music, and other stuff. All though I warn you that when you enter the Krypt, there is a screamer goblin that randomly appears to scare you. Also, there is also the training mode where if you need a refresher, or are just beginning, you can go and train and learn how to use different kompetitors. And lastly, there is the awesome four player tag team matches. This is an awesome addition to the Mortal Kombat game and definetly worth a try with your friends.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mortal Kombat
Sub Zero Rules! Mortal Kombat Lives!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/12
AwesomeShadowNinja123
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of the best Mortal Kombats ever! (other than the original trilogy) It has a great line of characters, you can even get Freddy Krueger! The story is a nice twist to the Mortal Kombat Universe. The combat is good but at times gets frustrating to perform. Also, fatalaties are hard to initiate even if you know the code. Everything's evern more gory, which is awesome! The music is also not too bad! My favorite character is Sub-Zero and he looks more beast than ever in this game! This game has a relatively good replay value, but it can get old.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mortal Kombat
FATALITY LIVES!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/12
MachoMan049
Location: vernon,CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the best fighting game i have ever seen. i mean really who wouldnt want to crack a skull or two. the story is rock solid. the combat is steller. and the fatalities have never been more bloody! online play is impressive especially king of the hill mode. i just love calling some friends over and give them butt woopin ha. i have played all the MK games and this is the best i hope they make anouther one one that has more awsomer fatalities if that is possible comparing to the ones in this one i mean really scorpian and kung lao`s fatality or brutal. but any way i reccomend this to any hardcore gamers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mortal Kombat
Sweeeeet!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
vin5000
Location: wisconsin,WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
One the greatest games of all time. I really enjoy this game except in story mode its really tricky to defeat shao kahn with liu kang because liu kang sucks.
 
My Product Recommendations
Mortal Kombat: Freddy Krueger - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 400 Points
9.5 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mortal Kombat
Online play kills this game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/12
RedWings
Location: West Jordan, UT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Mortal Kombat is a reboot of MK 1-3, as you've probably already heard. And you are going to be impressed by the offline experience. First off, the stroy mode is one of the best in fighting games. It should last you anywhere from 6-8 hours to complete, and there's much more content to come. The story itself is terrific. MK 1-3 with a few twists in between. Then there's ladder mode. You can choose from 26 of you favorite characters. characters (plus DLC and Kratos for PS3 exclusive) and fight your way to the top, and defeat Shao Khan. Each character has an interesting ending, and they can be viewed in the Nekropolis once you unlock them. You can even play a co-op ladder mode with a friend, swapping out players, and pulling your wieght to make sure you come out on top. This was i nice edition, but they go even further, allowing up to FOUR players in offline versus. Then you have your Challenge Tower. 300 challenges that are made to test your skill (and patience). I didn't really care for it, not because it was challenging, but because these challenges never taught you anything about the game. Many of them take away your characters abilities, like bocking and special moves, but you NEVER have to worry about this happening in the real game. And the reward is hardly worth the frustration you will endure due to many cheap deaths. Then you have the Krypt. The Krypt is bursting with unlockables which you can spend your Koins that you get for completing the game on. Problem being, most of these items are concept art and music, and you can;t see what you're paying for until you spend your Koins. So many people end up looking online for Fatalities and Alternate Outfits, the things you actually want. Oh yeah, FATALITIES ARE BACK! Each character has their own unique and brutal ways to "Finish him" and everyone has their favorites. Even babalities make a return to MK! The offline experience for Mortal Kombat is near perfect. What fighting games should be in 2011. But what about online play? The reason many people play fighting games in the frist place. It can be summed up like this: It's laggy. VERY laggy. A lot of fighting game suffer this, but Mortal Kombat's lag is almost unbearable. You have your 1v1, tag team mode, and King of the Hill. King of the Hill is a spectator mode of sorts, where a large group of players can join a room and fight. The most recent winner is the king. This was such a good idea, but with all of the different players in the room, it reates even more lag. You can join chat rooms, where you can challenge other players to fight you. But overall, the online play is a game killer. The offline play is terrific, and if the online play matched it, this would be one of the best games of 2011. But because of the lag and balancing issues, I have to give this game a 7. If you're a Mortal Kombat fan, then you'll like this game. That's a no brainer. If you're a fan of fighting games, you'll like this game too, but just accept that it's different from other fighting games out there. And if you're just getting in to the fighting game genre, especially competitively, there's other things out there.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 13 for Mortal Kombat
This game is AMAZING!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/12
DeathSavior
Location: michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love all of the mortal combat games. But this one is the best fighting I've ever played. Its the best game ever madde!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Mortal Kombat
FROGET STREET FIGHTER THIS IS GAME IS AWESOME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
andyboy595
Location: California, Ca.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've always loved the Mortal Kombat series and this is the best one out of all of them. The fatalities are brutal and the kombat is fun especially when you learn how to do big combos. I really love this game, however the multiplayer is slow, so it takes a while to find a match. Over all I highly recommend this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mortal Kombat
Try it using combos.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
Mucio
Location: Modesto, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played this game and its great with almost all characters desired from Mortal Kombat. Good to have training to learn to use combos and I learn from character Smoke. Recomended to hardcore gamers.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Mortal Kombat
Gnarly !!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
Cano102293
Location: Manhattan, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There's nothing bad to say about this game. It's awesome I totally recommend it. Graphics gameplay and characters were great. Game won't disappoint and is a must have for the 360
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mortal Kombat
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
ROCKYROAD25
Location: LOS ANGELES, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This might be one of the best fighting ever. Mortal kombat has a good story to it and it will always put a smile on your face when you would play it. The only complicated part is trying to do specific moves because you have to remember the combination of buttons, but after a while you memorize them. Other than, that this is an epic game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Mortal Kombat
mortal kombat is back!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/12
sonnycorleone
Location: spring hill,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this mortal kombat is a godsend,finally with a very good and interesting story mode,the great fighters, and new x-ray vision attacks.this game is so great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Mortal Kombat
Best fighting game I've played!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/12
Coolyo
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
No joke on my review summary. This game has great graphics, great characters, and great gameplay! Get this if you want something that came back a couple years later and didn't lose it's epicness.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Mortal Kombat
BEST GAME EVARRRRRR!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/12
Biggestsonicfanintheworld
Location: the place you don't wanna know
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love the game,it is the best because it has amazing graphic content (the blood and gore) the fatalities,kombos,kharacters,and the stages ARE AWESOMEEE! *WARNING* if you are considering buying the game,prepare for a long story mode,VERY graphiced blood and gore,and the BEST TIME OF YOUR LIFE!! *HINT* for people who already own the game if you DON'T have quan chi or cyber sub-zero,I will tell you how to unlock them.For quan chi you have to COMPLETE the STORY MODE,and for cyber-sub-zero you have to get to his chapter also in STORY MODE,I believe it is chapter 18..maby but not sure at the moment. I L O V E T H I S G A M E ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>