GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect

The Special Edition Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect. Kinect brings games and entertainment to life in extraordinary new ways - no controller required. Easy to use and instantly fun, Kinect gets everyone off the couch moving, laughing and cheering. See a ball? Kick it. Control an HD movie with a wave of the hand. Want to join a friend in the fun? Simply jump in. Wi-Fi is built-in for easier connection to the world of entertainment on Xbox LIVE, where HD movies and TV stream in an instant. Xbox 360 is more games, entertainment and fun.
Average Customer Rating:
7.831
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
10 stars
76
9 stars
16
8 stars
7
7 stars
8
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
19
104 out of 13676%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
Review 1 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
What they don't tell you
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/11
Raik
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well, the Kinect works. Kinda.
Pros: Well, it does what it says. You can play games with it. It knows who you are...sometimes, and in general is a neat toy.
Cons: It's laggy. You can't play shooters or RPG's with it... or anything else. The pick of the games consist of the children's genre and a Mario Party knockoff.
Also, it required a whopping 6 FEET of OPEN floor space to play it. I'm sure the kids of rich people (or the rich people themselves) might enjoy the novelty of it, and have enough space to use it. Me? A 1-bedroom apartment hardly has 6 feet of space in its whole living room.
People say that the Playstation copied the Wii. Well, ever heard of the EyeToy? It was for playstation 2. And GASP....it did exactly what the Kinect does. You play games with your body, no controller involved. XBOX COPIED THE PLAYSTATION!
Did Playstation copy the Wii? No..... the Wii uses motion controlled by WIRELESS. Playstation is all bluetooth, and uses colored lights, a magnetometer, accelerometer, and incredibly well-defined movement sensors to track motion. In fact, it's the only system that allows CORDLESS MOTION USED FOR SHOOTERS AND RPGs! For all you 360 fanboys dead-set on playing Halo and CoD with this thing, IT WON'T HAPPEN. It's impossible, considering that you CAN'T MOVE.
Does Kinect work? Yeah, it works. It's okay, it's new, it's shiny, it's a giant paperweight with motion sensors.
Will it work in 2 years, when the shelf life for the current gen of systems is over, and micro$oft rolls out a new shiny piece of junk for you to waste money on? No.
At least with the Wii, I had enjoyable sports and party games. At least with the Playstation, I have my motion control AND my shooters and RPGs. With the 360, and it's Kinect, I have nothing but lost floor space and a big headache.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Why the Kinect needs a ton of open space...skip through the first minute.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
8 of 32 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
sk8r4life
Tenesse
 
Please wait while more information about sk8r4life is loaded.
Additional information about sk8r4life could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
okay
Posted 1/11/11
you can put it in one big room you know seriously.
Customer Avatar
dkperson
 
Please wait while more information about dkperson is loaded.
Additional information about dkperson could not be loaded.
Then return it!
Posted 1/7/11
I just wanted to say if you are so unhappy with Kinect, just return it. If it's not too late.
Secondly, MS never advertised that Kinect would work with current gen games not designed for it.....such as Halo, COD, etc...so no need to knock it for that.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
It is good but has some minor issues
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
Angelcon
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I think it is great. It works fine for me except the occasional lag which you would expect from something as new as Kinect. I also have a PS3 and Wii. I have Move for the PS3 and obviously Wiimotes for the Wii. I think it is better than Move for many reasons: 1. You are the controller. 2: You do not have to worry about pressing a wrong button. 3: It's like a combination of Move and Wiimotes. One thing I do have to say though is that it takes off the Wii's initial concept. Really how it works is a large radius of camera that transfers movements to the game. Or simply enough a Wiimote backwards. I would recommend this to people for all these reasons. And back to the Xbox itself. It works great and does NOT get the red rings of death which sadly happened to my first Xbox. What a waste of $300 dollars that was at the time. If you are planning to get a 360, get this for family enjoyment, self fun, and all the neat things that go with it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
Just WOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/10
sutter4clay
Location: Yuba City
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
We purchased the wii when it first came out and it was fun at first until the kids grew tired of it, and my oldest son took it with him to Minnesota when he moved out of state. So with no console or games..not much interaction with the family..until this gem came along.. My girls played it for hours.. The Kinect sports rocks!!! My girls played beach volleyball, played table tennis, threw a discus,did the long jump and bowled..what a joy watching them laugh so hard they about fell down!!! I love this game system I love the hands free aspect of it..I love that it recognizes you!!! Microsoft hit a gold mine with this system!!! I love working out with my girls..and having fun interacting with them!
Before I decided on this system I read all reviews some excellent and some mediocre.. I just came to the conclusion I had to try it after watching numerous commercials for it..and I am so glad I bit the bullet and got it for Christmas!! Those of you still on the fence like I was take the plunge you will be overjoyed you did.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Coop78
Ct
 
Please wait while more information about Coop78 is loaded.
Additional information about Coop78 could not be loaded.
Me Too!
Posted 1/4/11
I love It Too!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
Great fun for all ages...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/11
Anonymous
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love my xbox 360. I've owned almost every game console that's ever been produced. So far my xbox 360 has been my favorite, add in the kinect, and well it just can't be beat. If you're a true "gamer" you'll want the xbox 360 and the PS3, they both have a lot to offer. Halo for example can't be played on the PS3, Halo is an awesome first person shooter that any gamer, male or female, will love. The PS3 has God of War, also an excellent game. The only way to play them is to own the systems. Now this may seem like a complete waste of money to some, but for my family it was the only way to go. We however are not going to purchase the PS3 "move" since we have the Kinect, I prefer my body being the controller. If you're wondering what system is best for small children the Wii may be the best bang for your buck, but if you're wanting a system the whole family can enjoy, go for the xbox 360, you won't be sorry. You also won't have to worry about a controller being thrown through your TV.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
PS3 or Xbox 360
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/10
DatWh1teBoy
Location: Florida
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got to agree with RandomFellow. Decide for yourself which is better for you. Everyone games differently. For me, I owned a PS3 for 3 yrs. I hated Microsoft and their Xbox, until I bought one and experienced Xbox live for myself, And it destroys PSN. You get what you pay for either way. Pay a little more for a PS3 with a blu-ray player and web browser, as well as loading your videos to your hard drive and free online. The Xbox 360 cost a little less and does not play blu rays or have a web browser, And cost to play online. But the online with Xbox is lightning fast. You can send voicemails to friends. You can have private party chats no matter what you are doing on your console. Last.FM is great as well for online radio. And the kicker for me is being able to install entire games for maximum performance and load speeds, and this is something that Sony needs to address. Why no game installs Sony? As far as Move and Kinect, they are both great for motion gaming but the upside to Kinect is voice commands with your Xbox 360. Hope this was somewhat helpful for someone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Zing
 
Please wait while more information about Zing is loaded.
Additional information about Zing could not be loaded.
What?
Posted 12/23/10
The PS3 and 360 are the same price. You get more for your money with the PS3. Also, if you happen to have dark skin, the Kinect won't recognize you. Apparently Microsoft doesn't have any African American testers.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
Make up your own mind.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/10
RandomFellow
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I see a lot of people writing "reviews" when they're just ranting fanboys who contribute nothing of substance to the review system, or most likely society at large. First of all, one has to realize that the Kinect is NEW, and as such is going to have its issues and bugs. It's not going to have amazing everything out of the box because the potential has not yet been realized. People are just now developing concepts and once it has additional firmware upgrades and time for developers to create more in-depth technology, it will be much more engaging. Until then, just let things take their course. The 360 itself is a wonderful system. People respond with answers in the form of "Red Ring Of Death so the 360 suxxors" or some drivel. Let me be very clear: I've had 5 (Five) 360s. You know what? I hated it every time I had to send a system in. But I did it because I love the games, the controller is near perfect, and Xbox live is great. With the new system design, the hardware now has a smart sensor to shut if off when it gets too hot, and has self-correcting software akin to android smartphones or linux. I used to be a playstation die hard. HATED everything about the xbox. Until I played it. I had to make up my own mind and I'm glad I didn't listen to fanboys and naysayers when I made the decision to give it a shot. You should do the same. If not, you can always return it and get something else.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
38 of 40 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
al239
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about al239 is loaded.
Additional information about al239 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/4/10
Two thumbs all the way UP!!!! nice job
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
Current Console Gold!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/11
rg350
Location: Omaha,NE
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
To be on the fair side, I have owned just about every console that has been put into major production since the 80's, so I am not going to sugarcoat anything. I think that as far as industry standards on performance, and durability the Xbox 360 and Kinect stand on top of the others. Sure playstation has a blu-ray player, but the game lineup, secure servers, and great feel for the game that the 360 delivers on is flawless compared to the Wii and the PS3... especially in motion control. The Kinect takes a moment to get figured out but I like being the controller, not holding glowing microphone looking paddles or an uncomfortable and not very accurate brick. Want to own the industry, invent something new, and PS3 mimics the Wii in a way superior to the Wii, but too little too late... it's still a same idea motion control that really delivers nothing to be sought on titles or replay value. Get the bigger hard drive, install the discs so it spins less often and check your consoles for dust and debri in a well vented area, and your 360 and Kinect will outlive the copetition for a time to come!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
momoak47
 
Please wait while more information about momoak47 is loaded.
Additional information about momoak47 could not be loaded.
number one
Posted 8/10/12
i have a ps3 and i am going to buy the xbox360 but the ps3 does not have allot of tecnology like the xbox
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
Buy the 250GB Xbox
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/10
smartmoney
Location: San Ramon, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought my Xbox 360 Slim a few weeks ago, and I love it! It has a built in adapter that works amazing! I had an old Xbox 360 and I bought an adapter to go with it. The problem was it would crash in the middle of a game and I had to restart the system every time I wanted to play online. With my new Xbox 360 slim, I haven't had any problems with getting on Xbox Live. The best part is if the internet has problems or the screen freezes or something, the Xbox fixes it and I'm back to playing. My old Xbox I would have to restart and configure and it was lagging and all this stuff, but the 360 slim has none of it! Another great thing is that the Xbox 360 slim is totally silent and has a cooling system. My old Xbox would get overheated ( and actually broke itself ) and was extremely loud. I also have used the Kinect and I think that it is a great advance in technology. The way it records your every move is just stunning and amazing. The Wii and the PS3 Move come nowhere close to it. There are not to many games out for it unfortunately, but it is still beyond belief with what you can do with the Kinect. I invite my friends over all the time and they love to play it! Some other things that are great about the 360 slim is that it has enough memory to store tons of games compared to the 4GB. It also has HDD which the 4GB does not. The last thing is that the buttons on the console itself you just have to brush your fingers against to click instead of pressing them in. I really recommend this product and you have to buy it. The technology is just amazing!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
19 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ozzy2
maryland
 
Please wait while more information about ozzy2 is loaded.
Additional information about ozzy2 could not be loaded.
OOOMMGGG
Posted 12/28/10
tisis the best console ever the chrome black is awsome and kinect sport is the game to play and add me on xbox live wing master533
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
17 games at launch!
Posted on:10/18/10
AraiAkunin
Location: RC, SDakota
With 17 games available at launch, this is just one game shy of the 18 that was released with the launch of the 360 itself. Anyone who thinks that the Kinect device is too expensive, think again. I bought a Wii and enough controllers (including the "chuck") for four people, and the cost really added up quickly. At least with this device I don't have to buy one for each of the players. And my kids love video cameras... whose doesn't? They are so excited that they don't have to learn which button does what or get frustrated when the controller doesn't repond accordingly. Our Wii was played with like crazy for the first few days... then gradually less. It has sat for 6 months and they aren't interested because "the control isn't right". Well, its been gone 3 months now and nobody hasn't even noticed. It went toward the kinect bundle and the kids are going to be so suprised for christmas.
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
Kinect is the BEST! Incredible Technology!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/10
XBox360Forever
Location: Glendale, AZ
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Kinect is awesome. My wife and eye have played it for 2 nights now and can't get enough. Dance Central is extremely fun and you get some great exercise in the process. Kinect Adventure is so much fun with family and friends. There are a lot of games on there to try. I also got Kinect Sports and the Track & Field mode is worth the price. Wait until you see the video replay of yourself playing these games. It's great entertainment. Do now listen to the hate for Kinect on here. There are PS3 fanboys trying to sabotage Kinect's ratings, because the MOVE is selling poorly compared to KINECT. If you want the real deal that is truly innovative. Get a KINECT. The PS3 MOVE is just the Wii with better graphics. We've already played that. Try something different. Get it fast as KINECT has been selling out everywhere.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
A Technological Breakthrough
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/10
NewtronBomb
Location: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
There is nothing more enjoyable than to have people that would not normally entertain the idea of playing a video game as a form of entertainment jump right in and start having fun.
I purchased the Kinect along with the “Your Shape Fitness Evolved” game for my wife, and my home has not been the same since then. Please know that my wife is not a gamer. However, because of the technological breakthrough of the Kinect, no pads or controllers and the amazing AI technology, my wife was able intuitively jump in and start having fun. She was able to do this while pursuing her fitness goals. This is the power of Kinect. This technology is the way of the future. I find it to be amazing. Nonetheless, before you go out and buy the product, make sure you have the room for it. Make sure you can accommodate it. You wouldn’t buy fitness equipment without knowing you have to room for it. Would you? The same thing applies here. Think of Kinect as your virtual gym/playground. As such, you need the room to move. You are going to need a minimum of 6-8 feet in front of you TV. I found that placing it at the top of the TV gives you the most flexibility.
I hope you have as much fun as my wife and I are having.
Cheers,
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
WARNING: May kill Fanboys because it has fact...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/11
starwarsreviewer
Location: Fairburn, GA
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So, from my point of view, I really want a PS3, not a 360, but I have done research on both just to make sure I was making the right decision. First off, how long will this thing last? The Xbox 360 can be very sturdy, but compared to the PS3, this is quit fragile. You may have heard of the Red Ring of Death, a rare issue meaning your 360 is kaput, no more, dead, gone to meet its manufactuarer, an ex-Xbox! Still, this has been solved byyyy.... Replacing the bulb! This way, if your 360 breaks, you will not know! Also, you must keep up constant maitenance. Still, it's ok. The game library. Eh, it's pretty equal to the PS3, with a couple exclusives. The Kinect. No controls? Excellent! The fact that it may screw up at my movement? I can deal with it, but can you? Online. THE BEST! You have to pay for it, but Microsoft does this best! The extras. DVD, been there. Online, been there. Xbox Live Arcade, hey! This could be some fun! The sound. If your afraid of vacuum cleaners, stay away... The overall. A worth it system, but be careful... They are, as I said earlier, pretty easy to mess up. Worth the moolah!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
9 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PS3andXBOXareBOTHawesome
USA
 
Please wait while more information about PS3andXBOXareBOTHawesome is loaded.
Additional information about PS3andXBOXareBOTHawesome could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Finally
Posted 2/6/11
Someone who sees things from my point of view. I don't think either console is better, they both have their pros and cons.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
Great Fun Now, Great Potential, Minor Complaints
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/10
ArcaneFlame
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The new Xbox 360 is fantastic. I feel that it's better than my Elite in every way. It's MUCH quieter, has lots more space (though I still wish it had a 1TB+ drive), it has more USB ports, an integrated optical port, is smaller and in my opinion better looking. The fact that I got it bundled with the Kinect saved me some money so in my book that's a win, win situation!
The Kinect: Completely awesome! We've only played Kinect Adventures and Kinect Sports so far but my Sister, my Roommate and I are all very impressed with it. We're in our late 20's to early 30's, we're regular gamers but not what I would call "hardcore." We mostly play Rock Band, RPG's and FPS's. We've all played the Wii and found the Kinect to be much more engaging and natural! Being able to use your whole body is so much more fun! Kicking and blocking balls with your feet or head... having to actually jump out of the way to avoid things... It really does change the game! It has tracked our movements well, is very accurate and responsive, even with two people playing. I don't know what all the early complaints were about lag, I haven't noticed any. I suspect those complainers haven't actually used the system.
You seriously get a good workout using the Kinect... especially if you do any of the track and field games with all the running. I find it hilarious (and awesome) that we all ended up changing into shorts and t-shirts after playing for a short while. We played for 4+ hours the first night we had it and my roommate says that he's still sore two days later!
There were definitely some "this is awesome" moments over the last couple days of using the Kinect. For instance, having it recognize different people as they enter/leave the play area and automatically log them in, load up their avatar and bring them into the game. That is wicked cool! Or when the system recognizes that you've walked away so it turns off the sound and then starts back up as soon as you re-enter the room is also pretty sweet. The voice recognition and the sound cancellation technology that it uses it also pretty impressive.
Now for all my praise of the system there are a few minor "issues" that I've noticed with using it. Navigating the menus can be somewhat slow at times simply because it requires you to hold your hand in the same spot to essentially confirm your selection. Also, occasionally when playing games it will register the motion from your off-hand rather than what you are intending as your primary hand. For example, in the discus throw I've seen some funny contortions and unintended throws because of the twisting of the body. It hasn't been a huge issue, only happening here and there, but it's something to be aware of. I also wish that the Kinect was integrated with the rest of the Xbox dashboard instead of having its own hub. Apparently this is coming in the future but it would have been amazing to have that functionality at release.
I am very excited to see what Microsoft and other developers release for the Kinect in the future. I really want to see Microsoft finish up the integration of Kinect into the rest of the dashboard. I would really love to see arcade and indie games start to use the Kinect as well. In addition, it would be completely awesome if they did make some specialized controllers which could be used in conjunction with connect. For example: a gun controller. Imagine playing Gears of War where you had the option to actually move around in order to take cover and peer around objects but had a gun controller in your hands to handle aiming, shooting, etc. It might not be for everyone but I would buy that in a second if it was implemented well!
Overall, I'm really happy with my purchase. I'm excited about the system as it stands. It's not perfect but it does what it sets out to do, and it does it surprisingly well. I only see it getting better from here as developers use it more and I am really looking forward to the generation two and three games where I expect the Kinect will truly start to shine!
On a side note in regards to the space requirements, I don't understand all the complaints about this. What do people expect? It's a full body, motion capture device! Of course you're going to need space in order to move around and have that work, especially if you're playing with 2 people! It's a fundamentally different system than the Wii/Move! If you cannot accommodate the required space, I'm sorry and that's too bad. But a person's home layout or lack of required space should not reflect poorly on a products rating. It's like buying a huge bed that leaves you with only a foot of walking space in your bedroom and then saying it's a bad bed because of that. It just doesn't make sense. I wish it worked for everyone regardless of their space but this is simply the way it is. For me, I didn't think twice about spending an hour or so rearranging the living room... it was just what needed to be done in order to meet the system requirements. No big deal. I now have roughly a 9' x 9' open area with the Kinect placed on top of the TV which adds another foot or so because of the angle. This is in a modest 2 bedroom apartment and it has worked really well for both one and two players.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
WOW!!!! Get it with hesitation
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/11
JamDude
Location: Colorado
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was a little iffy about the Kinect. I played it at a friends house and loved it. So i went out to get a kinect and a new 360. The 250 gb system is PLENTy of space for anyone! You can get a lot of demos and dlc (down loadable content) The Kinect can use some work, sometimes it wont read you but it will quickly regather itself. It has plenty of features! It has an automatic wifi finder so you can play xbox live! xbox live is awesome! Overall, This system is amazing and if your looking to decide between a xbox or ps3. Choose xbox for gaming, choose ps3 for movies! (I have both) I would get this If you NEED a system!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/11
guitarguy1395
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well I got this for my birthday. I told my mom that I wanted the Kinect and she came home with a brand new Xbox! From the moment I opened it I could tell it was going to be simply amazing. I plugged it in and turned it on, but had to check if it was actually on because it was so quiet. My old hard drive also only took up a fraction on the massive 250gb hard drive! I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to buy a new Xbox.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
crazzzzy
New York
 
Please wait while more information about crazzzzy is loaded.
Additional information about crazzzzy could not be loaded.
it is worth it.
Posted 1/29/11
let me tell you, the xbox 360 its self is amazing. now i have the kinect and it just depends on the type of gamer you are, i personally was amazed, but im not that type of gamer i like Halo and call of duty games. so im going to trade myn in, but its an amazing thing if you like to get interactive.
Customer Avatar
jdub123456789
 
Please wait while more information about jdub123456789 is loaded.
Additional information about jdub123456789 could not be loaded.
Should i get it?
Posted 1/27/11
i have a ps3 at the moment, and my connection is ok, but i never feel like im getting the full experience, and for some reason i cant go over 780p, even though i have an hdmi cable. I am thinking about selling my wii, and gettiing this. plus, all of my friends have an xbox. is is worth it?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 16 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
Awesome
Posted on:11/1/10
Bey0ndSkilled
Location: Ft lauderdale, Fl
Ive been a Xbox 360 user for 3 years and I've gone from arcade to pro to elite so I'm probably going to get this 1 to it seems really great (better than the Wii and PS3 wireless stuff) ,you don't have to have anything in your hand when you play so that's good
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
STOP THE PS3 VS. XBOX360 WAR!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
Ipodboy90
Location: New York, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ok, I see bad reviews about both consoles always, everyday, and PS3 has bad reviews and this product, but STOP THE WAR!! I own the XBOX 360 and PS3 but to me, BOTH SYSTEMS ARE PERFECT!!!!! Both systems has good games in this system, you get Halo, Gears of war, and Fable, PS3? God of war, Killzone, Uncharted, INFAMOUS, Little big planet and more. These games are good. If you want good gaming online, go with the XBOX 360 but if you are a hardcore gamer or want to be alone, get the PS3. Controllers? Both controllers are so comfy if you want a big or a easy-to-operate controller, go with the XBOX 360, but if you want a small controller or want inverted Call of duty controller (L1 to aim, R1 to shoot XBOX 360: LT to aim, RT to shoot.) go with the PS3. Online? The XBOX 360 needs your money for online (Pay $10, $25, or $60) but on PS3, Sony lets you save money. Want endless online play or a better server? Go with the XBOX 360. Want to save money? Go with the PS3. Many people say PS3 was hacked, both systems CAN be hacked any day, who knows? Excercise? Kinect is a good gadget for the NEW XBOX 360 and while PS move needs a stick. Want a good excercise or want no stuff needed? Go with the Kinect, but want a same-as-kinect with the move stick? Go with the PS move. Last but not least, the hard drives, old XBOX 360 comes with 20GB, 60GB, 120GB, or 250GB. Old PS3 has 20GB, 40GB, 60GB, 80GB and 160GB. New XBOX 360 offers you three choices, 4GB, 250GB and 320GB (Only on Gears of war 3 bunble). New PS3 comes with 120GB, 160GB, 250GB, and 320 GB. Want a console that takes less space? Go with the XBOX 360. But want upgradable or bigger drives or want games to take up lots of space? Go with the PS3. SO, QUIT THE WAR NOW AND STOP ARGUEING ABOUT BOTH SYSTEMS!!!!! BOTH SYSTEMS WINS THE WAR!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
15 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
YES!!!!! a 250GB kinect bundle
Posted on:9/15/10
turtle9beach4headset8user
Location: Boston, MA
i hoped they would announce a 250GB Kinect bundle Microsoft did the right thing cause then u would have to buy a separate HDD and its would cost $430 for a 250GB HDD and a 4GB Kinect bundle now its just $400 i mean u need a HDD on Xbox 360 u cant live w/o it i mean xbox is great for movies TV shows Music Games and online play o yeah everyone who wants gold or needs to renew soon do it now and i mean it on 11/1/2010 there raising the price of gold to $60 bucks a year and u can get it if u renew $40 before the price goes up but overall the slim xbox is great my brother has one in his apartment and its super quiet and wont get rrod as fast as the big xbox's do or wont get it all and im getting this for my birthday
 
My Product Recommendations
 
15 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Derek2
Idaho
 
Please wait while more information about Derek2 is loaded.
Additional information about Derek2 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/26/10
Not to mention, people with only a 4GB system (as opposed to the 250GB HD) are unable to utilize the full multiplayer potential of Halo: Reach.
Customer Avatar
DEREK
PLUBLO CO
 
Please wait while more information about DEREK is loaded.
Additional information about DEREK could not be loaded.
AWSOME!!!!
Posted 9/16/10
I CANT WAIT IM SOOOOOOO HAPPY YAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 19 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
No controller?! So awesome! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/10
hellokitkat77
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Our family, being the technology nerds we are, have finally bought & set up our Xbox Kinect. A-MA-ZING!! We love this system. Yes, there is a slight delay & the games are a bit child-ish...but with new technology comes some problems. All will & can be fixed within a few months. Nothing is perfect the first time around. Oh freaking well.
We have had lots of fun so far & look forward to continued great times with this rad technology. Great job Xbox! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Xbox 360 250GB Console with Kinect
Awesomesauce!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
TehChEEz1113
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The new X360 is awesome! It is my first Xbox and I am VERY happy with it! I have had a Wii for the past 3 years and I got kind of sick of it. So, I decided to get an Xbox. It was totally worth it. It's SUPER quiet and scary fast. No lag at all! It also depends who's on PSN or XBL. If you have more friends on PSN, get a PS3. But, if you have more friends (like I do) on XBL, get an Xbox!!! :D Great system! Worth the money! Also, Kinect is B.A!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
darkhero
brampton,ontario
 
Please wait while more information about darkhero is loaded.
Additional information about darkhero could not be loaded.
kinect = TERRIBLE!
Posted 12/24/10
kinect sucks. i just dont see what the point of it is. like who cares if the stupid animal or whatever does what you do. as a matter of fact, it is the STUPIDEST idea ever!!! i'd rather play the wii instead of this! and don't even get me started on that. please, to everyone who reads this, remember these words: DO NOT BUY KINECT! IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY$$$!! thank you for reading this.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>