GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle

EA SPORTS Active 2 with Total Body Tracking will feature an innovative wireless control system powered by motion sensors in leg and arm straps that provide complete freedom of motion. Additionally, it will feature a heart rate monitor that provides constant on-screen monitoring, allowing users to capture intensity and optimize performance over time. Users will be able to track and share their workout data online through automatic uploading from their online connected console to their personalized EA SPORTS Active profile. EA SPORTS Active 2 with Total Body Tracking will make working out simple, fun and effective wherever you are.
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
Review 1 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
Good workout. But dang...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/11
fenderbender
Location: West Virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok. I am overweight and I absolutely LOATHE working out. But I want to look and feel better and my doc says I could get off the BP meds if I lose some weight, so...here I am. Like others have said this still needs work. The sensors don't work sometimes, but I've been using this since Dec. 27, 2010 and its only happened a few times. This game kicks my butt hard! I started out on the 9 week program on medium intensity. everyday the workout kept getting longer and more intense. The end of the program the workouts were about 50 minutes long and very intense. I would just lay on the floor after the cool downs not able to move. I always thought my legs were in pretty good shape, but I guess not. almost every exercise in the 9 week medium intensity program had some form of lunge, jump or squat. If your legs are your focus this will work wonders, but I was wanting to loose some serious weight. I was 230ish when I started but I can't I get seem to get lower than 224. I've only been at it for 12 weeks though. I'm not really watching what I eat either. That would really help. I am getting more tone, mostly in my legs, but I can see and feel it in my arms too. I can also wear some pants that I couldn't wear before so I know its working. This game is perfect for me. I hate working out and usually don't stick with it very long, but I keep using this 4 days a week like it wants me to. I tried Wii Fit for a while and got bored really fast. When we got this (and the PS Move) we sold the Wii.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
What a fun way to workout at home!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/11
BusyMommy
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I purchased the Active 2 for my PS3 because I needed something that I could do consistently from home. Wisconsin winters make it difficult to take the baby for stroller walks. I love the fact that I can work out in my family room and at the same time I can keep an eye on my son while he plays on the floor. I like the variety of workouts...no monotony here.
There is room to tweak things; a few adjustments can take Active 2 from good to great.
-There is a little lag time from the body sensors to the screen. Making sure you properly adjust the bands helps.
-The graphics are good, but they could be more polished.
-It would be great if the journal would include more specific entries for nutrition; if the program could evaluate nutritional choices rather than asking for overall opinion on how I did, it would be more useful.
-I would have liked an option for choosing a specific nutritional plan to coordinate with the fitness plan for a more comprehensive program.
-Also, body measurements would have been a nice touch to input for the graphs. (you can view a graph when you input your weight.)
-A fun feature... you can upload your own songs for the workouts...but for those not as tech savvy, it would have been better if the program had a few standard melodies to choose from instead of just the one song.
Overall this product has met my standards and expectations. I look forward to using this as one of the tools used for achieving my fitness goals. I would recommend this to anyone who has a difficult time leaving the house for exercise, gets bored easily with the same routine, or loves to play games. I don't typically enjoy exercise, but I like sports and games. This is a great way to incorporate exercise in my life without the dreaded treadmill.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
It's SO close to awesome . . .
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/11
CheapTechnoNerd
Location: San Jose, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Summary: If it's cold outside &/or you need something to nag you into exercising, get this.
B- (It feels like it's still in beta, a fairly polished beta, but still beta.
Pro: It works. I've lost almost 10 lbs in 2.5 weeks, and I feel great!
Con: There is at least one exercise out of the 20+ exercise set that won't register. :(
I'm a 45 year old ~280 lbs 6'4" male that's pretty sedentary and a little chubby. I saw that EA Sports Active 2 (EASPA2) was on sale for $48 (MSRP $99!), so I picked it up (it being pretty chilly outside sealed the deal.) If it weren't for EA's email newsletter, I would never had heard of the product, and I surf 3 PS3 websites daily (where's the advertising EA?) So I get it and opened the box (BTW: keep the box, there's 5-7 things inside you'll want to store later.)
I'm disappointed that there's a USB transmitter instead of BlueTooth (I have a PS3.) I know BT has enough bandwidth for heart rate monitors because my wife has one (not a deal breaker.) The Right Leg, Right Arm, Left Arm monitors are pretty straight forward. Be SURE that the indictor lights are at the top when you put these on. I wait to turn them on until the game asks for them, so I can confirm the right monitor is on the right appendage. Also, the monitor bands (which are comfortable and seem durable,) are backwards. The tab brushes into the chest, not away from it (minor quibble.) A stretchy band with handles is included for resistance. It's a little ghetto, but it's better than nothing. I'm going to upgrade to some 5/10 lbs hand weights (which the game allows for, nice touch EA!) The enclosed booklet is near worthless. It would've been nice if EA when into detail about each program and what it entails.
As the game starts, you'll notice it's slow (get used to it.) It lags, especially when it checks in online. Hard to tell when you've hit the start button. Here's a bummer, player setup. So my wife is the primary user on our PS3 (yes, she is awesome,) and I am a secondary user. So EASPA2 assumes that I'm my wife, there is NO changing this. Come on EA, nobody who develops for PS3 sets there players up like this (even EA!) Apparently the only way to do this is to get the EASPA2 2nd user kit (for $39, really?) or buy yet another full blown $99 kit. Then it is supposed to recognize me as the second user. This sucks because all the accessory kits are out of stock. I ordered mine from EA 3 weeks ago when they were having a 50% off sale ($20 is reasonable.) Not only did my order not register online so I could track it, the EA Tech Support people weren't able to kick it in. I asked how I was going to track my order and they replied "It's on it's way (not cool EA.)
So after I setup my male avatar "Lisa" ( :| ), I was presented with two different types of trainers, two different types of workout programs, and various levels of difficulty. I selected the aggressive trainer for an easy 3 week Cario Kick Start program (3WCKSP). You start out with ~18 min. of ~20 aerobic exercises which ramp up a little every day. It also presents you with a calendar to schedule your workouts. The 3WCKSP makes you do 4 days a week, I wanted to do 7, but it won't let me. That's a bummer, but there does appear to be some form of customized workout (I just would have liked a little guidance on mine, this would have been real handy info in the booklet on how to do this.) I would have liked to concentrated on upper body too (my legs are fine.) The workout is pretty leg intensive, it would've been nice to tweak this too.
So the workout starts, and I'm pretty happy with it. The monitors do NOT do a direct one-to-one feedback to the game. It lags big time, and I'm guessing the game is doing a lot of guesswork to make it interactive. This gets really apparent when you hit the (at least,) one exercise out of the set that will NOT register. Sometimes you can "kick" in the feedback by making overextended gestures, or doing the exercise twice, but at least half of those won't be tricked. It wouldn't be so bad if you had an option to skip or replace the exercise, but you don't. It just sits there like an idiot yelling at you to do the set & hold still. And it will continue and yell at you for at least 4-5 minutes until it gives in, does a rep, then repeats (this TOTALLY sucks.) I wish there was some onscreen feedback of your monitors, so you could determine what the game is wanting you to do, then you could adjust your movements accordingly. There's no pause and return feature either. You just have to quit & lose all your progress, or pre-cognitively check off the problem exercises. Checking them off also sucks, because the game doesn't replace them, and you only get a ~90% workout. This is SO beta, it's not even funny. SHIP A PATCH ! ! ! , this makes an A+ game a B-.
The exercises that don't register (out of the ~50 I've tried):
Alternate Side Lunges (the right lunges don't register well. It almost seems to learn your moves better as you go on.)
Squats with Bicep Curls (you can do them twice to kick it in.)
Overhead Tricep Extentions (if you over-exagerate your movements, it seems to help.)
Bent Over Rows with Tricep Kickbacks (you REALLY have to swing your arms around to get this one to kick in.)
Bent Over Reverse Flys (IMPOSSIBLE, nothing seems to kick this in except waiting.)
Lateral Shoulder Raises (IMPOSSIBLE, nothing seems to kick this in except waiting.)
As the excises continue, some of them are like pushups, which mean you can't easily face the TV (and mine is 5 feet up on the wall.) More audio feedback here would be nice on these (not a deal breaker.) Also, the instructor alternates between doing opposite and mirror moves. Please pick one, maybe set this as an option? When the tutorials talk about things like gluts and your core, use arrows. I have no idea what you're talking about, and it sure isn't in the booklet. There's a couple of times between exercises when the game says "take a water break." It only gives you the normal 3 second pause between workouts to do this, & since there's no pausing the game, it's essentially useless. It's doubly useless because you really need to be in position for the next exercise so the monitors can register you properly (not a deal breaker.) I do love the warm ups and cool downs, it keeps me from getting achy and it's a great muscle stretching.
There's a log where you can enter in nutrition info, but it's pretty sparse. I'd really like to see a fruits & veggie like serving inputs here. Maybe coordinate with a WeightWatcher & Atkins like diet programs for EASPA3? A really cool feature is that you can enter in your own workout soundtrack. I dumped in ~70 songs, but it keeps replaying the first one over every workout. A shuffle option would be nice here (not a deal breaker.)
The good news, it doesn't take long, you break a sweat, you get your heart rate up, and you feel obligated to keep going. My ankles, calves, and laterals are shaping up nicely, I've lost weight, my back doesn't ache and I've stopped snoring! EASPA2 is pretty generous with the trophies, & the online tracking component is detailed almost to a fault. In conclusion, EA get that patch out and start shipping those accessory packs! You've got a potentially great product here that you could almost sell for $99 if you fixed it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
avsh
 
Please wait while more information about avsh is loaded.
Additional information about avsh could not be loaded.
A good buy BUT...
Posted 4/14/13
Sometimes my sensors don't pick up so the character that's suppose to be me doesn't start or complete certain exercises which is frustrating! Otherwise a real workout!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
Great Workout Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/11
nitadarockstar
Location: South Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game gives you a great in home workout. I love the wireless total body tracking system. The trainer motivates you. The workout programs are easy to stick to. I would recommend this game to any who is trying to get more exercise into their daily routine, because most people don't enjoy going to the gym.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
Overall best fitness game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/11
Noods
Location: North Carolina
Active 2 is what the Wii fit wanted to be. Active 2 is the complete full body workout, it will get you in shape with great cardio excercises, upper body, lower body, and of course the abs! Great product, doesn't get much better than this and to top it off EA Sports made it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
The Perfect Workout for a True Gamer!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
Anonymous
Location: Tacoma, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
For those of us dedicated to video games, there is no better way to get in a workout. I hate going to the gym, not because of the other people, the price, or the lack of directionm, but because it is impossible to play my PSP while running, weight lifting, or any other exercise. With this, the exercise is ther game. This game gives you a free personal trainer, a workout plan, and even lets you earn trophies. This is the perfect workout for a hardcore gamer. Buy it!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/11
EAGirl
Location: md
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love working out and doing sports. this is the best way to go.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
Awesome game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/10
Author
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
In case you don't want to deal with the slow pace of Wii Fit, this is absolutely the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
Great game, But!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/10
wantsalot
Location: Lathrop, Ca.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great addition to the PS3 family of games, but it would be better if they offered the ability to purchase additional sensors to include more people at one time (work-out partner). Overall this is a great item, and you will get a great work-out.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
its about time
Posted on:11/15/10
starry
Location: illinois
I think its about time they started making games that get people off their butts and moving around. And it cost alot less then a gym membership. Any one who doesn't like it must like sitting around and gaining weight.
6 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
First game was awesome, this should be better
Posted on:11/14/10
roguemarvel
Location: texas
I loved the first EA sports active. I enjoyed having a workout program that not only made me sweat but had a structured workout plan. I'm most excited about the new straps that create a controller free game and makes sure you are doing the exercise correctly while monitoring your heart rate. If its anything like the first game this will be the best home workout out you can get on a system
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
Hilarious!
Posted on:10/28/10
Tent
Location: Queens, NY
Who would have thought from last decade that people would stay home and pretend there're going out for a workout by staring at a tele. LOL! Its really stupid having made such games like this. Better go out and experience nature itself than bore yourself to death.
8 of 267 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
shaynikki
ny
 
Please wait while more information about shaynikki is loaded.
Additional information about shaynikki could not be loaded.
Weather
Posted 12/28/10
I would totally buy this game to play INSIDE the house..i have a little one that takes naps..i can work out in the house while he is asleep..I'd also be able to work out in the winter when i would not be able to afford a gym membership..
Customer Avatar
sammmmmm
GA
 
Please wait while more information about sammmmmm is loaded.
Additional information about sammmmmm could not be loaded.
it's been happening a LONG time my friend...
Posted 12/4/10
people have been staring at a television to get a workout for a lot longer than the past decade. aerobic shows, exercise shows, and you name it have all been on TV since at least the easrly 80's...the good ole Atari days.
Customer Avatar
Bumtil
US
 
Please wait while more information about Bumtil is loaded.
Additional information about Bumtil could not be loaded.
Rain and snow
Posted 11/17/10
This game should be good esspecially for city people or people who cant always get outside to do stuff do to Snow or rain and constant bad weather. GREAT innovation to make it easier for people to get in shape cheaper than a expensive gym membership.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 13 for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
Sounds fun
Posted on:7/23/10
xSxGhost_WolfxSx
Honestly, this sounds like what the Wii Fit was meant to do. But since I don't have the money to buy a Wii, or the want, i'm sure i'll be picking this up. I'm by far out of shape i'll admit it, but I think this will give me a reason to get in shape, well, other then round XD. But honestly this looks like a good by for young and old gamers alike.
21 of 25 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for EA Sports Active 2.0 Bundle
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10